BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

This Business is not BBB accredited

Honda of Kenosha

Additional Locations

Phone: (262) 891-6300 Fax: (262) 857-3196 View Additional Phone Numbers 12180 77th Street, Bristol, WI 53104 View Additional Email Addresses http://hondaofkenosha.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the purchase of new and used cars, trucks, SUV's and hybrid vehicles.  Services include auto repair and parts.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Honda of Kenosha include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Honda of Kenosha include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Honda of Kenosha
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 18, 2010 Business started: 05/01/2010 in WI Business started locally: 05/01/2010
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Nathaniel Sutton, Owner Ms. Sarah Petersen, Client Care Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Sarah Petersen, Client Care Manager
Principal: Mr. Nathaniel Sutton, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Services Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Know What's Involved Before Cosigning A Loan Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment What is a Credit Report

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12180 77th Street

    Bristol, WI 53104 (262) 891-6300 (866) 950-6193

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 190

    Bristol, WI 53104

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 950-6193(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I drove an hour and a half to purchase a Honda Pilot from this dealership on Friday, Dec 20, 2013. I had a written offer emailed to me with an out the door price on the vehicle we were purchasing. We drive up there and the ***** ******* **** ****** brings up an extra charge of $300 for an Auto Butler package and said we must purchase the package to make up the loss he was taking on the car. My husband and I were so disgusted that this strong arm tactic would be used. We walked out and left immediately.

Desired Settlement: an explanation from the dealership.

Business Response:

We apologize for the misunderstanding in the pricing that you provided. The bottom of your quote should have read "vehicle may not be available as configured". Meaning, if we did not have a vehicle without the AutoButler package applied, we would need to charge you for the package.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Honda of Kenosha clearly does not care about this BBB complaint as they did not even review the "out the door price" they sent me.  I have attached it for BBB review.  As you can see, there no mention at the bottom of quote stating "vehicle may not be available as configured" and there is no mention of the "auto butler" package on this vin #.  I am more convinced that Honda of Kenosha truly does not want and does not care to address what I see in my opinion as deceptive practices towards consumers, especially when the consumers drovw 3 hours to get there.

Regards,

***** *****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

3/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/29/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 05/11/2011 I purchased a used vehicle from the dealer, at this time I was offered to buy an extended warranty from the dealer for $1000.00. I was told I could cancell it at any time. On 08/22/2013, I went to the honda dealer to cancell the warranty. Mr. **** **** completed all the necessary paperwork, he told me to give him a call on 08/26/2013, to see when I was getting my money back. I called until 08/27 and asked what happened, at this time he told me he didn't business with this company any longer that I had to wait till the end of the month "to call him back" after 09/01/2013, I called again on 09/04/2013, he still didn't have an ansewr. He asked to "call him back" on Monday 09/09/2013, i did, still no response. them he asked me to "CALL HIM BACK" on 09/16/2013. I did, he answered and asked me to "CALL HIM BACK" THE NEXT DAY he was not there I left a voice message still didn't return my phone calls. I feel like I'm begging for something when is my money I want back. I purchased two vwhicles from them, do you think I want to go back after being treated like this?

Desired Settlement: Have my money back, for them to have the decency to return phone calss to customers.

Business Response:

*********,

I do apologize for the inconvenience. I have our ****** ******* looking into this for me so that I can get this resolved for you as soon as possible. If you have any questions in the meantime, you are more than welcome to contact me at ###-###-#### or ****************************

***** ********
****** **** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/16/13, I drove to Kenosha and told him that I would like to buy a car, and I stated that I did not want my credit ran by multiple credit grantors. The salesman assured me that he would only run my credit one time, and he would use ***** *****. I told him to only use ***** *****> the salesman assured me he would only use ***** ***** to get me financing. The salesman again, a promise he would only run my credit one time. When I finally looked at my credit report the salesman had ran my credit through multiple credit agencies without my permission. After, sending out letters and talking to Honda of Kenosha several times and over and over again, they have refused to remove these inquiries from my credit report. I also called the credit company who also ran my credit and were told by the credit agencies to tell Honda of Kenosha to remove the inquiries from my credit report. Because Honda of Kenosha ran my credit report go many times I lost over 100 points off my credit score.

Desired Settlement: I want the inquiries removed from my credit report. The inquiries has harmed my good credit.

Business Response:

*****,

 

In most cases the reason a customer’s credit is run by multiple lenders is to ensure that they are being put in the best financial situation with favorable financing terms. However, having this done would not have lowered your credit score by more than 100 points. You see, multiple inquiries from the same type of creditor will not have negative affects if made within a short time frame, typically 14 days, depending on the type of credit being pursued. The theory is that you shouldn't be punished for shopping around for the best interest rates available.
This and more information can be found at: ***************************************************************************

 

***** ******** ****** **** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I bought a used Honda Civic for our teenage daughter from the dealership on May 5, 2012. The sale price of the vehicle was listed at $4588.00. We received a discount on the car and the total we paid for the car after fees and taxes was $4284.83. We wrote a check to the dealership for the full amount. We did not take the vehicle home the day we purchased it due to a repair to the outer CV joint that needed to be made which the dealership agreed to fix at no cost to us. So we actually picked up the vehicle later the next week. The day after we brought the car home the check engine light came on and the car was overheating. I contacted my salesperson to inquire about them finding out what the problem was and fixing it at no cost to us since it had been only about a week since we had purchased it. I ended up leaving him several voicemails and it took him 3 days to get back in contact with me. He told me the car was sold as is and that it was a budget vehicle so there was nothing they would do, it would be at our expense to repair. We took the vehicle to our personal mechanic and were told there were numerous problems, including a cracked radiator that was likely due to an accident with the car that was never repaired before we purchased it . That all resulted in a bill of $813.12 in repairs that we had to pay. Twenty days after those repairs I drove the car one day and it wouldn’t start. I had to get the battery jumped and drove to my local Sears to buy a new battery for $116.03. About a month later we experienced more problems and another repair bill of $704.28 to get the car in running condition. At this point we even tried selling the car and were unable to do so. About 6 weeks go by and the check engine light is on again and I called the dealership to ask them to diagnose what the problem was this time. I took the vehicle in to them I also met with *** *************** ***** ****** to explain all the trouble that we have had since we purchased the vehicle from them. I also asked him at that time if he would consider buying the vehicle back from us for what we had paid for it considering that we had already spent $4284.83 purchase price and another $1633.43 to get the car in running order. He said no he would not do that but that he would cover the cost of the repairs this time and give us a Honda Rewards card with some money on it towards future repairs or service. Again after these repairs were completed, my husband and I attempted to sell the car to a private party, to no avail. We simply could not occur any additional expenses with this vehicle and felt we were going to be stuck with this car. So we took it back to Honda of Kenosha to trade it in for a new vehicle along with our 2010 Accord that we had also purchased new from them. The dealership offered us only $1000 for the car and the ***** ******* **** ****** was totally shocked to hear that we had bought this car from them 4 months prior for $4284.83. Actually the $1000 we were offered was not for the Civic trade-in, it was because we were such loyal customers and had bought 3 vehicles from them in the past 2 years and were going to buy our 4th and our other trade in, the 2010 Accord was in immaculate condition. So it wasn’t actually for the Civic trade-in **** told us because that wasn’t worth anything to them. We tried to get him to give us more and told him as well as our salesperson, **** ****** and *** ******* *******, ***** *****, that we were very disappointed in the dealerships trade-in value for the car seeing how much we had paid for it. We thought it was not a fair deal but knew that we had no other option to get rid of this car. On October 4th, I called the Honda Corporate office at ###-###-#### to file a complaint about the dealership and relayed all of the same information as above to them and was given a case # of ******************. October 9th, I sent a letter to *** *********, ***** ******, explaining our displeasure with what we paid and were paid for our car as well as our experience there at his dealership. We asked that he refund the difference from the $1000 they gave us and the $4284.83 purchase price of the vehicle. We have not received any response. I am attaching a copy of the letter we mailed to him. Again I called Honda Corporate on October 26th, because I had not heard anything back from the dealership or from the corporate office and I was told that my complaint would not go anywhere unless *** ******** ******* addressed it with the dealership. So there was nothing they could do for me. I asked for the regional manager’s information so that I could contact them and was told they would not give me that information nor would they pass along my information to them directly. Ultimately I would like the dealership to pay us back the purchase price of the car of $4284.83 plus the repair costs incurred of $1633.43 for selling us a car that had so many issues with it. I feel the purchase price was grossly inflated due to all the repairs that were necessary. At the least we would settle for a refund of the purchase price of the car. Thank you, ******* *** **** ******** **** **** ****** ******** ** ***** ###-###-####

Desired Settlement: Please see complaint.

Business Response:

On May 5, 2012 ******* and **** ******** purchased a **** Honda Civic with over 190,000 miles from Honda of Kenosha. At the time of purchase they knew the vehicle was an as is purchase. Because we value them as clients we provided them with a dealership gift card  in the amount of $300 and performed some work at little/no charge when they ran into issues with the vehicle.  The situation is unfortunate, but there was no wrong doing in regards to the transaction.  As another sign of good faith from Honda of Kenosha, we are willing to provide them with another $1,634 in store credit on their gift card.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

We have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve our complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer we reviewed appear below.

We are not pleased that it took them numerous requests from the BBB for them to finally respond to our complaint. We are not sure how they arrived at the amount of $1634 and determined that to be a fair amount. However, to satisfy our complaint, we are willing to accept the amount of $1634 if it could be applied to our Honda Financial loans on either of our vehicles, not as an in store credit. We would also return the previously issued rewards card of $300 if that could be applied to our loan account as well. Then we would consider this matter resolved.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* *** **** ********

 

 

Business Response:

**** and *******,

I have been trying to contact you by phone for the past few weeks. Would you please call me at ###-###-####. We would like to do what we can to resolve this matter.

Thank you,

***** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

we finally got in touch with ***** and came to a resolution to our complaint. It wasn't exactly what we were hoping for, but we were just tired of all the back and forth and waiting for them to respond. We are still unhappy with the amount of time it took them to respond to our concerns and think there should be some sort of black mark on their BBB rating.
 
Thank you for your help,
 
******* and **** ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

3/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Dec 26th, 2012 around 8 pm, I had a internet chat session in regards to a **** ***** **** **, stock number ******. Through that messaging we we talking in regards to their absolute best price. The internet chat person proceeded to take my information for the sales manager to give me a call to discuss. The Sales manager, *****, called at 8:18 pm from # ###-###-####. We talked about this vehicle and advised that we were looking to buy quickly, and were looking at other options and dealers, and to give me the best price. He told me that he would sell this for $21,100 if financing, or $21,600 if paid cash. I confirmed on the vehicle, as it was their only **** ***** **** left, every thing else was a 2013. He confirmed and we scheduled a 9:30 am appointment first thing in the morning Thurs, Dec 27. Upon arrival within the first 5 min, ***** said he couldn't sell us that vehicle at that price, as he "misquoted" the wrong version. I advised that this was your only 2012, how do you have the wrong verison. Then he offer to sell a **** **, with less features for that price. After spending 2 1/2 hours there, and then told him to write up the **** ** for the $21,100 that he offered, 10 min later he says can't do that, as it was sold. This sales practices was very misleading, and then his offer on the 2013 he backed out of as well.

Desired Settlement: Desired outcome would be to sell the **** ** *** for the $21,100, or compensation for the time spent ($375), as I took off of work to close this deal today, miles and commute, and now we are still without a vehicle starting over, as the Ford Escape we were looking at sold this morning. This dealers misrepresentation cost us the alternative year end deal on the ford as well.

Business Response:

In regards to the matter with Mr. ****, we replied to the customer's concern via email, and on the review sites where he rated us. Our response was as follows:

We do apologize for any misunderstanding via the chat portal. However the ***** ******* did offer the same trim level *** but a year newer for the same price as quoted for the 2012. We would still be more than willing to sell the **** *** for the same price as the 2012 (same trim level) if you were interested. We however cannot sell the ** for the same price as the ** as you requested. If you'd like to go over what was discussed in the chat we do have record of it and would be more than happy to go over it with you. Again, we apologize for any misunderstanding.

Resolution: Honda of Kenosha is still willing to sell Mr. **** a **** *** ***** *** ** for $23,328 (plus taxes and fees) or a 2013 *** ***** *** ** for $21,600 (plus taxes and fees).

I've also attached a copy of the chat transcript for your review.

 

***** ********
 ****** **** *******

 

###-###-####

Consumer Response:

The phone conversation following relative to the stock #******, their only **** ***** *** ** * **, at the time and the sale manager quoted me $21,100, and scheduled an appointment at 9 am the next morning.   Upon arrival, he said he would not be able to sell that vehicle and tried pushing us into an **, a model down from what he quoted.    Not in the market for a vehicle now, as we went with another manufacturer, but I should still be compensated for this bait and switch.   We wanted what we asked for and was quoted for, not a lower model for the same price.


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** ****

 

 

Business Response: We do again apologize for the inconvenience. However, our offer was to sell you a 2013 model for the 2012 price. That in itself would have saved you over $1,200.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Again, Honda of Kenosha still to this day does not own up to the deal.  I attached the vehicle in question and then the reference to the phone call about the only 2012 vehicle they had in stock.   I was quoted and aligned to purchase a 2012 ***** *** ** for $21,600, and they are offering me a year newer, but lower model **.  They keep saying they are giving me a 2013 for less, they are I not.  I asked about the **, and was quoted for an **.   Then I come in to purchase, and try to force me to a lower model **.  

Regards,

****** ****

 

 

Business Response:

Honda of Kenosha is offering to sell ****** **** a **** ***** *** ** for the price of a **** ***** *** **. I would like ****** to contact me directly so we can have this matter handled as soon as possible.

***** ********
###-###-####

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As advised on the 2/19 complaint response back, that we were no longer in the market now for a vehicle and should be compensated for my lost time.  


What gets me, that the very first complaint centered around the dealer backing out of an offer, and pushing me down to a lower level a year newer.   But throughout this process, the dealer continued to try and sell me a **, when the complaint centered around the ** I agreed on.  


Regards,

****** ****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Basic Oil Change took almost 2 hours. Was promised to complete in 45 minutes during the write up. Two other cars that came after me were ompleted before me. More work were even done to those cars. I was monitoring the technician doing the oil chnage and I know he completed my car before those 2 cars. I saw him drove it out of the service area. I know that the next step was to wash the car but it took more than an hour before it was washed. I don't know if our car was driven somewhere or what. No one is available in the service department anymore, everyone left for the day. I chased the last person washing the car and asked him. That's the only time he washed it.

Desired Settlement: I want an explanation to what happened, who was responsible and what action was taken against the person who did not do his job. I also want to know what improvement is to be done to avoid this situation to happen again.

Business Response:

Mr. *****,

 

I will be out of the office from June 3-June 10.  My service manager is looking into the situation.  When would be a good time for us to meet and discuss this?

 

***** ******

President, Honda of Kenosha

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealer phone pricing and vehicle window sticker do not include dealer installed "accessories". All vehicles on lot and all vehicles sold are sold with these accessories, per discussions with both the salesperson and general manager after we had waited 3 hours, and complained about misleading sales practices. We had to escalate complaints to GM and Business manager to get some assistance. The required additional installed options "window sticker / disclosure" was not posted on the vehicle we purchased. We were made to wait 3 hours with no contact or courtesy of knowing why it was taking so long to buy a car. We ultimately had to produce a photo of the car to "prove" it to manager that the added items sticker was not posted before he would help. We have photos of other vehicles missing the same added items window sticker. This is misleading sales and unethical behavior. Salesperson stated that all cars are setup that way and only a special order could get us a "regular factory-only" equipped car for their advertised price. GM also gave same answer and additional info that they sell all their cars with the same dealer installed options so they can sell the used cars for more when they come back in from leases because of the extra protection the $890 mud flaps, floor mats and paint protection affords them. Salesperson told us his girlfriend is business manager and that the person who gave us the phone price quote is also responsible for posting the additional dealer installed items "window stickers", and that she was just reprimanded for not having them on every vehicle as required by law. His words, He was apologizing that we were misled, but that is the way they setup all their cars. As purchase attempt proceeded, it took 3 hours to get salesperson to help us. We were left alone for hours after we had signed the pre-agreement to buy, and watched as other buyers who were financing were taken to get delivery while our "straight up, cash sale, no trade deal" waited and waited. We even left, got food from McDonalds, ate it at his desk, and he did not notice, except for the Empty bag. It took over 3 hours to buy a car as a cash deal, with a pre-agreed price, plus their add-ons, at which point we had waited enough and wanted to leave. General manager took over and finished delivery, and lowered the costs of the add-ons only after we produced the photos. Business manager (dark haired man at desk) would not talk with us, and would not reply when I directly asked him questions. Ultimately took 4 hours to buy the car, and we had over a 1 hour drive there and back, so this took over 6 hours total. Our local dealer would have been the better deal. Delivery did not include the normal education of the new vehicle features.

Desired Settlement: The dealership needs to re-learn communication, and ethical business practices. This complaint is about misleading selling techniques and dealer installed "items", plus poor communication and delays where they chose to take financing customers over a cash customer. The lack of proper price stickers is unethical. The lack of the salespersons respect and then the accusatory manager style of asking for photo proof is just poor customer service. After the photo was shown and we shared that the salesperson previously told us about the lack of the add-on window stickers and that the person was recently reprimanded, we were rushed through. It felt like they could not get us out of there fast enough. Finance person who took our payment told us that she felt she was in trouble and would be "talked to". If they are too busy and do not have enough staff, they should be up front and communicate. Upfront accurate pricing, Respect for customers and co-workers, and Communication would have prevented our complaint. Thank you, We waited 20 days and have not heard from the dealer, except for a voicemail to congratulate us on our new car, with the offer that we could call back if we needed any help with learning about the new vehicles features.

Business Response:

First and foremost, I would like to apologize for the fact that Mr. ******* did not receive a proper vehicle delivery.  This should have been done and can be arranged (if he would still like one).  I will send his salesperson (or another, if he would prefer) to him, to make sure he is comfortable with the features of the vehicle.

Regarding our business practices:

1)  Mr. ******* was emailed a quote for the vehicle he purchased. The quote states that all prices are plus tax, registration, 249 additional dealer services fee and any dealer installed equipment.  We do pre-install some accessory packages and the majority of our clients like it.  For those that are opposed to the accessories we are more than happy to sell them an incoming vehicle that does not have the accessories installed.  Mr. ******* would have had the same option if he had chosen.  I understand that the addendum sticker, that lists the accessories on the vehicle was not present and for that I apologize.  The reason a picture was requested was because it is our policy to sticker the vehicles upon installation of the accessories.  However, this had not been done.  The accessories were on the vehicle, but I do understand how that could create confusion.  We did end up eating the cost of the accessories because of that confusion. 

2)  On the particular day Mr. ******* purchased his vehicle, we sold 19 cars.   Mr. *******'s deal was the 17th of the day.  The customers that Mr. ******* saw go into the office prior to him were customers that had purchased their vehicles earlier in the day.  I apologize for the wait he endured.  We have 2 business offices to do the required paperwork and they take the deals in the order in which they are presented to the sales desk by the salesperson as complete and ready for final paperwork.  The method of payment by the client does not deterine the order in which they proceed to the business office.  I am not sure what more we could have done to expedite the process on that particular day

 

All in all, I am sorry that the experience was not an A+.  That is the goal with every client we have.  We are also an ethical business and that at no point is our goal to mislead a client.  I believe this is exemplified by the President's Award (Honda's most prestigous dealer award) we won for our Sales and Customer Satisfaction performance in 2011.  However, we are not a perfect business and there are some things we definitely could have done better in this deal to make it a better experience for Mr. *******.  

I am not sure what I can do at this point to make it better for Mr. *******, but I am open to discussing it with him.

 

***** ******

President, Honda of Kenosha

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped out my car for oil changed on May 5, 2012. The service advisor told me my car needed some repair and will cost $561.00. I left my car over the weekend at dealer ship and picked up on the following Monday May 7, 2012. The Honda of Kenosha actually charged more than what I was told. I drove my car home and found out the next morning that the engine hood was no completed closed. I took my car back to the dealership on May 11, 2012. The service manager **** ****** was not nice to me and told me that was not their responsible.

Business Response:

Mr. *****,

 

I would be more than happy to meet with you personally to discuss this issue.   I will be out of the office from June 3-June 10.  Please let me know when you may be available after that for us to meet.

 

Thank you.

 

***** ******

President, Honda of Kenosha

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/15/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The salesman handed me a list of charges that included a charge for "service Fees". I asked what this charge was and he directed me to the sales manager **** *****. Mr ***** stated that this was a State of Wisconsin mandated charge that was required as part of the sale; the state receives the money. He further added that all dealers have this charge and pass it on to the buyer. I stated that I have never seen that before in the automobile purchases I have made. He said all dealers charge it. A short time later I went to the Wisconsin DOT website and produced information indicating that the State of Wisconsin does not charge a service fee but many dealers impose this on their own. I showed this information to Mr *****. He said that all dealers impose a service fee. When I questioned him to the fact that he misrepresented this fee as State of Wisconsin mandated and I was not going to pay it he said I had to or don't buy the car. Furthermore, I had a discussion with the General Sales Manager who said he was sorry for the misrepresentation his employee stated to me but I had to pay it. This vehicle was for my 16 year old daughter and not buying it would break her heart if I did not come home with it. So I paid the $249 and stated to the managers I would not purchase from them again as they misrepresent fee's for the State but keep them for themselves.

Desired Settlement: I should be refunded the $249.00 and issued a formal apology from the owner of the dealership.

Business Response:

Honda of Kenosha follows all state laws regarding the Additional Services Fees charged as part of sales transactions at our dealership.  One of the attachments is a copy of the state required buyer's guide for all used cars.  On this buyer's guide you will see where the $249 is disclosed as required by state law. 

Mr. ******* also signed an internal worksheet that states all charges and fees to our clients prior to them going into the business office to finalize the transaction. (attached to this email as well) This is when he questioned the fee.   At that time he was provided the attached brochure that completely explains  the fee.

At no point do we represent that the fee is state required.  It is why we hand out the brochure. We along with all dealers who charge this type of fee are often questioned about it (hence the reason our trade association created the brochure).

It is a fee that we charge ALL clients who purchase cars from us.  My employees, their families, and even my own family pays this fee when they buy cars here.

If there was a miscommunication or misunderstanding about the fee, I apologize.  As a matter of fact, the discussion Mr ******* had with our General Sales Manager, ***** Gaspar, was to that point.  ***** apologized for any misunderstanding, but did not state that Matt had misrepresented the fee.   At that point ***** stated that if Mr. ******* was not comfortable paying the fee then he understood and we did not have to complete the transaction.

Mr. *******'s complaint states that there was an attempt to deceive him.  If there was, we would not have provided the documentation and clear disclosures on the attached documents.  He also implies that he had no choice but to buy the car,because he had a 16 yr old at home waiting for the vehicle.  Left out of the complaint is the fact that Mr. ******* was strongly considering purchasing a similar vehicle from the Honda dealer in ****** (fyi...their addiltional services fee is 199.99).  We provided him a significantly better deal, hence the reason he purchased from us.  If he did not feel the deal was fair, he could have bought the vehicle from them (as he suggested he would do throughout the negotiation process).

In summary, we have done nothing malicious or unethical.  At worst, it was a miscommunication that was cleared up before any money exchanged hands or any official documents were signed.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Honda of Kenosha's response has many errors as to exactly what took place in their dealership up to and including the purchase of the vehicle.

The internal document that I signed was done so only after Sales Manager **** informed me that the State of Wisconsin received the money for the cost of title searches, repair records, etc. He had an elaberate explanation and that ALL dealers charge it as they pass it on to the state.  When I stated I have not paid it in the past in auto purchases, he said I must have as the state receives it and so I reluctlently signed it. After leaving his presence, I proceeded to go to the DMV web site on my IPhone which gave me information that dealers may charge a service fee but the state does not mandate any fees. I showed this information from my phone to **** who then took a different angle that of they charge this fee to everyone and if I did not want to pay it,  don't buy the car. . I asked him why he lied about the facts of the fee charge and why he misled me. He acted like a little kid caught with his hand in the cookie jar and he kept saying I did not have to buy the car if I did not want it. No rendering of the fact that he lied to me or to even to apologize. I did also receive the stated documentation disclosures but the fact is I was lied to about the fees and the state should be aware of this fact.

Honda of Kenosha stated in their response that I left out the fact of "the deal" I got from Kenosha vs another dealership in Racine. No where in the negiotation process did the other dealership's offer come out to them. On the other hand, the vehicles are simular but have different mileage, color and equipment on them. This could make a comparision difficult and render paying equal or more or less for it in the eyes of the purchaser.  I did state that consideration was being given to this other vehicle and they were in competition. 

This complaint has nothing to do with the deal or non deal I received. It is all about misrepresenting the fee as going to the State of ********* where in actuality it is not true.  After being in sales for almost 30 years now, I know integrity and I live by it.  Apparently this organization has different values.

 

Regards,

****** *******

 

 

Consumer Response:

From: ****** ** ******* [mailto:*************]
Sent: Monday, April 02, 2012 8:45 AM
To: ******* **********

Subject: ID *******

 

Hi *******,

 

I have not heard from Honda of Kenosha other than their communication through you. Their response seems to be consistent with a company that puts profits before customer service. They describe the situation not accurately as seen from their response.

 

Thank you for your efforts in trying to get to the bottom of the problem.

 

Sincerely,

 

****** ** ******* 
**** ******** ****
******* ** *****
###-###-#### cell
 
*************

Consumer Response:

Dear BBB:

 

If you have heard from the company please contact the BBB at

 *****************************or return this letter to the BBB.

 

Have you heard from the company? No

 

Are you satisfied with the company's efforts to resolve this matter? Yes

 

If not, please explain.

Honda of Kenosha has made no attempt to contact me and that is fine. Having satisfied customers is apparently not part of their marketing plan.

 

Thanks for your help.

 

 

****** ** ******* 
**** ******** ****

******* ** *****
###-###-#### cell

*************

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/17/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/6/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1