BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new & used automoblle sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gordie Boucher Lincoln, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gordie Boucher Lincoln, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Gordie Boucher Lincoln, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 30, 1992 Business started: 08/22/1977 in WI Business started locally: 08/22/1977 Business incorporated: 08/22/1977 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street, Montpelier VT 05603-0001
http://www.aot.state.vt.us/dmv/dmvhp.htm

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708
http://datcp.state.wi.us/
Phone Number: (800) 422-7128
hotline@datcp.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gordon Boucher Jr., Sales / Marketing Mr. Al Bonfiglio, Vice President Mr. Frank A. Boucher, Vice President Mr. Gordon F. Boucher, President Ms. Jenny Gawronski, Controller Mr. Gus Hollo, General Manager Mr. Anthony M. Karabon, V. P. & General Counsel Mr. Patrick Myers, Sales Ms. Teri Weinstock, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gordon Boucher Jr., Sales / Marketing
Related Businesses
Boucher Kia of Milwaukee Frank Boucher VW Kia Mazda Frank Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. Boucher Volkswagen, Inc. Boucher Hyundai Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln of West Bend Gordie Boucher Ford of Menomonee Falls, Inc. Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. Gordie Boucher Ford of Kenosha, Inc. Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln Mazda of Janesville, Inc.
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Auto - Emissions Testing Financing

Alternate Business Names
Gordie Boucher Nissan
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • 4141 S 108th St

    Greenfield, WI 53228 (414) 327-6000

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I came in for oil change on Aug 5th, and it was lucky I called ****, the ******* *******, back the following evening, to ask about car insurance. Toward the end of conversation, **** happened to mention a gasket he found on the garage floor after I left and "to not take it wrong" but that it most likely was from my vehicle and I should bring it back in ASAP. It was a good thing I wasn't out of state, as when we went into garage, there was a HUGE oil leak under the car. It saturated the almost the bottom half of floor under car. **** told me to bring it in and told me that it was "simply a plug that ripped the filter"???? I have never had anything like that happen. I returned and two mechanics were very hostilely glaring at me when I stepped out of car. It was very intimidating. **** guaranteed me that he personally checked all the fluids and made sure everything was okay and that the oil was refilled. I left and over the next couple days, noticed a excessive water leaking from the air conditioning unit. I brought it back in on Aug 8th and **** stated "he would put the vehicle up and make sure nothing was leaking". He assured me that "everything was just fine and all fluids refilled." I immediately noticed a chirping sound coming from right front of car when we drove off ..odd that it would start immediately after this. I checked with some mechanics we know and they thought it might be the oil that leaked onto one of the belts. I asked **** if he could check into this and he refused, changing his tune, that he would have to charge me $110 to do so and "guaranteed me that everything was refilled and safe" and "I shouldn't worry about noise". I decided to verify the oil level myself on Aug 9th, and it isn't even filled to the 1/4 mark. Two other guys have checked this and confirmed it. I am asking for a refund of my oil change and I want to come in and personally stand with the mechanic and verify that nothing is leaking nor any harm done to any of my belts, etc. It is too much of a coincidence that this would all happen now, and I'm not going to be taken advantage of again. The thing that really makes me mad is that if **** saw the gasket on the floor, he should have immediately called me to at least warn me, as he admitted he knew I was the last one to leave the station from an oil change. It could have burnt out my engine (which is exactly what happened to my sister's car with this dealership and she had to fight to get it repaired). Real nice. I'm also insisting that the "noise" be checked out. If it is due to oil on one of the belts...then the mechanic should clean it up. That's not my fault. **** *******

Desired Settlement: I would ask a refund of oil change and that they at the very least refill my oil. It is virtually almost empty! I would ask that I be personally present when they fill the oil. Also asking that they reimburse for repairs if any harm to belts, etc due to their carelessness or intentional malicious intent.

Business Response: Dear BBB, After completing the the last oil change of the day noticed the following day there was a bit of oil on the ground, Called her back in just to verify if there was a faulty gasket. Went through vehicle and found everything to be fine. Even though we did nothing wrong because she has been with us for nine years we offered her a refund. Her vehicle is in perfect running order.


****** ******* ***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** *******

 

In regards to the statement "they did nothing wrong":  I happened to call the following day after oil change, and spoke with ****, (please see my complaint), who informed me that "he noticed part of a gasket one of the mechanics left" and "I should bring my car in as soon as possible."  I went out to my garage, and luckily hadn't driven much.  There was a huge oil leak beneath my car (far more than a quart) and this stained amount was verified by another mechanic who also stated and explained to me how gaskets work (this mechanic at an outside service garage).  **** tried to pass it off as a "minor" leak, but I have since reviewed it with other individuals who've inspected the amount of oil on the garage floor, and it wasn't!  Furthermore, when I brought my car back into **** and ****** *******, I asked **** to show me the dipstick.  There was NO oil on it and it wasn't even shiny, but he tried to play me off as a ***** ******* and claimed "there was and you just had to look at the other side".  Again, no shine and no oil!  It would have been virtually impossible not to notice an absent or split gasket before replacing the oil filter.  IT WAS THEIR MISTAKE> and NO, everything was not fine, as evidenced and witnessed by myself and my daughter, where **** had to put it back up on the rack and replace the oil filter and gasket with a new one, which is typically done every oil change anyhow:  I have since found out in detail how the oil change works and what happens is the bottom panel is removed and the oil is drained out.  The oil filter and surrounding ring (the gasket ) is replaced (this is in a separate area).  The panel is put back on after the mechanic replaces the oil cover and filter.  Then, the car is refilled with oil.  They may have replaced the oil filter and gasket, which **** claimed to have done, but NEVER refilled it with oil!   I had to find this out after I drove to gas station and had it checked by two other guys.

SO YES< they made mistakes TWICE.  It is insulting that they would claim they hadn't, and it nearly ruined my engine.  In fact the oil that leaked out from their not putting the oil filter back on, caused such a bad leak, that it covered the entire bottom panel of my car as well as the gasket cover (as evidenced by the mechanic at the outside service garage).

Their other facility down the street, did the same thing to my sister's car, and it destroyed the engine.  They did replace the engine but it never ran right after that.

My daughter was witness to all of above and the outside mechanic can verify the facts.

I do not take them "off the hook" for any future isses/problems related to their poor, dishonest service.  A car can't drive for one minute without oil before the engine is completely ruined, and they should know that.  Furthermore, if they truly felt they "did no wrong" then how can they account for the fact of the large oil leak and the fact that they had to "put another oil filter and gasket" back on????   The outside mechanic I brought it to afterward even stated, "Don't let them tell you that you have problems with oil leaks.  It's nice and dry and tight right now, their mechanic most likely didn't put the filter on all the way or forgot the gasket.  If the service writer noticed the gasket on their garage floor, he should have known right away what that was and called you right away." (which he didn't).  I am a single mom and still have a year's worth of payments on the car and it is out of its warranty period.  For them to take advantage of a woman like that, is PURE SLEAZE.  It's also incredibly sleazy that ****, who remembered my ******** **** *** *** * ****, wouldn't have called me right away when he noticed the torn gasket.  What if we were out of state?  The engine would have been ruined.

PS:  I had a nice Saturn that was in good condition and I had paid off , and **** and his mechanics kept telling me "it had an oil leak that they couldn't figure out".  I did notice it losing oil.  I had to give the car up, because "they claimed there was nothing they could do>"  Now, I wish I brought it somewhere else, as I suspect foul play here as well.

**** *******

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/11/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a used car was told only the right ball joint was loose 10 mins after the we drove the car off the lot my fiance who is the primary on the cars title came back to Nissan and complained that the car did not feel right and was shaking one of the workers at Nissan proceeded to tell him that he had signed the papers and it was our problem now. The next day we took it to a mechanic who said it was not drive able and had to be fixed right away. when the car was further inspected it was found that there were many more problems with it. I tried to call Nisan many times on May 18th I was transfered to 2 different managers the first one said he would call back but never did and the second one told me to wait and talk to a different manager in the morning. All I got was the run around from them

Desired Settlement: To get the money we put into back we had the car 10 mins before it went we were misled by them saying it was a loose ball joint that was a blatant lie anyone with any common knowledge of a car could tell that there was much more wrong. They were extremely rude and not even willing to even try to fix the sitiuation

Business Response: Dear BBB, Apologize for the delay. We did reach out to the consumer and we are working with her on her service issues.


Best Regards,
****** ******* ***

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

They did finally contact us and they fixed the bare minimum of what they needed to do I am still very unhappy with the service

Regards,

******* ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

10/28/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1