BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of new and used automobiles. This company also offers factory certified cars. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Frank Boucher VW Kia Mazda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Frank Boucher VW Kia Mazda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Frank Boucher VW Kia Mazda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 30, 1992 Business started: 11/01/1991 in WI Business started locally: 11/01/1991 Business incorporated: 11/07/1991 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708
http://datcp.state.wi.us/
Phone Number: (800) 422-7128
hotline@datcp.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gordie Boucher Jr., Sales/Marketing Mr. Al Bonfiglio, Vice President/CFO Mr. Frank A. Boucher, President Mr. Gordon F. Boucher, Chairman Ms. Debbi Haley, Office Manager Mr. Anthony M. Karabon, Vice President/Secretary/General Counsel Mr. Keith Zylka, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gordie Boucher Jr., Sales/Marketing
Related Businesses
Boucher Kia of Milwaukee Frank Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. Gordie Boucher Lincoln, Inc. Boucher Volkswagen, Inc. Boucher Hyundai Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln of West Bend Gordie Boucher Ford of Menomonee Falls, Inc. Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. Gordie Boucher Ford of Kenosha, Inc. Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln Mazda of Janesville, Inc.
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Services Auto Accessories Financing

Alternate Business Names
Boucher Imports, Inc. Frank Boucher Imports Frank Boucher Mazda VW Kia
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • 9601 Washington Ave

    Racine, WI 53406 (414) 427-4141 (262) 886-2886

  • PO Box 85690

    Racine, WI 53408

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (414) 427-4141(Phone)
  • (414) 427-4140 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Boucher in July 2013 inquiring about a vehicle. Since I was at work at the time the salesmen I spoke with on the phone stated that I could fill out a form online so Boucher would have my information when I came in. The salesman ensured me that the information I submitted online would NOT be used until I was ready to lease or purchase a vehicle, so I filled out the online form based on his input. I decided against leasing or pursuing a vehicle at the time and did not step foot into the dealership. However, contrary to what the salesman told me on the phone, Boucher still ran a hard credit inquiry anyway. This inquiry affects my credit score. I wrote a letter in November to Boucher requesting that they remove the inquiry from my report, which they refused. Now I am stuck with this inquiry on my report due to a deceptive (and potentially illegal) sales technique.

Desired Settlement: Remove the hard credit inquiry from my credit report/history.

Business Response: Dear BBB/Mr. ****,

 
When consumer's fill out a credit application it is to acquire credit.  It is clearly stated after filling out online application that the information will be sent to various lenders.
 
Best Regards,
****** ******* ***

Business Response: Dear BBB/Mr. ****,

 
I understand how you feel. But once you submit an application online there is a check box that states your credit will be pulled. The system is automated. What I can offer is when you're in the market call me directly and I will assist in making sure that inquiry won't affect you when applying for an auto loan. *** *** ****. 
 
Best Regards,
****** ******* ***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I assume your offer only applies to Boucher dealerships. As a consumer I want the option to be able to shop at various auto dealers, not just one. Having this inquiry on my credit history will make it difficult to do that.

Again, the root cause of my complaint is that your salesman lied to me. Unfortunately I am the only person negatively affected by the incident. Please address the root cause of the issue by removing this inquiry from my credit report.

Regards,

******* ****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My windshield has a stress crack in it and they are telling me a little chip did it but when I checked on the internet Kia has a lot of problems with windshield stress cracks that they do not honor. The windshield should be able to with stand pings from the express way if they are made properly. The service manager told me if Kia did not fix it which he pretty much told me they would not do then I said the dealer ship should take care of the problem because they sell the cars. He told me they would not do that said they would rather lose a customer. he said they would pay half of my deductible to keep me as a customer. When he called me 1 hour later he told me Kia would not pay for the windshield and that he spoke with the new car manager and they would do NOTHING FOR ME. I would like them to take responsiblily for what they sell. If I did not do my search and find out other vehicles that Kia made had the same problem as mine I would of had to settle for their explanation but it is not true and I want them to take care of the problem.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to pay for my whole deductible which is 250.00 because I feel they are wrong, because of the research I have done on the internet and the way they treated me as a customer.

Business Response:

Dear BBB/Ms ******,

We verified that the crack was caused by a stone chip through a third party glass company. We stand by our customers and would work with Ms.****** in fixing her issue. Best Regards,

Gordie Boucher Jr.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[They were not helpful, I took my car to Safelite Auto Glass to have my windshield replaced and they said it was a stress crack which started at the left side of the car. Their  service manager said it started in one place and the glass man they brought in said it started at a different place so I really don't think the advice of their third party or the service manager agree so that is not professional. If they want to be helpful I would like them to pay my deductible for the windshield 250.00.   They need to stand behind what they sell on their lot and treat their customer with a little respect. ]

Regards,

**** ******

 

 

Business Response: Dear Ms **** ******/BBB,


Frank Boucher Kia General Manager, ***** ***** brought in a third party glass company to verify if it was due to stress crack or a stone chip. It was determined that the chip was from a stone chip not a stress fracture  issue. Offered to fix at cost.

Best Regards,
****** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[As was stated before the windshield was seen by a nutural party at safelife glass and I was told it was a stress crack and it was replaced. The car dealer never said anything about do it at cost . I was told by the service manager they would do nothing for me. We can go back and forth on this but they are not resolving my issue which is to pay the deductible on my insurance that it costed me to fix the windshield 250.00. They don't seem to want to work with me on this issue as a customer. THE WINDSHIELD HAS ALLREADY BEEN REPLACED. we can not go back and fix it again. I need a complaint filed with the BBB againt this car dealer because they do not stand behind what they sell. They are not even trying to resolve the issue. Please file a complaint because we are not getting anywhere with this issue. Maybe if other people see how they treat their customers and don't stand behind what they sell they will look else where for a new vehicle. Maybe then they will start to treat customers fairly. Thank you for your time on this important matter.]

Regards,

**** ******

 

 

Business Response: Dear ****, I am sorry to hear that you are still not satisfied. We try to go above and beyond for our customers. But, The dealership isn't responsible, nor is Kia for the crack in your windshield. 


Gordie Boucher Jr.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went their on a Thursday night seeking to purchase a new car. Long story short they convinced me to run my credit through them and I agreed. I filled out some paper work and signed some stuff, but they said because it was too late to run my credit they would hold on to all of the information and run it in the morning. I told my uncle about what I did and he said not to do it and that it was a dumb move on my part. So next morning we waited outside until they opened. We spoke to the manager and told him that I did not want my credit ran with them. The manager was pissed off and started making rude comments to my uncle and I. We told him to void and shred all of my paperwork. He grabbed a paper, that looked like my paper but he wouldn't let me confirm that it was my paper with all of my information on it, and wrote void on it. Well yesterday Friday May 11, I checked my credit report to see who all ran my credit. It stated that the dealership still ran my credit after we went their told him not to and to void and shred all of my paperwork. Needless to say I am a little upset over the whole ordeal. I also received a letter in the mail addressed to **** ** *******, my name is ***** ** *******, that my credit had been run. I do still have the letter if it is ever needed. The salesman that I was talking to the night of the paper signing was Ali. And the manager that my uncle and I spoke to the next morning was Brad****.

Desired Settlement: I want the credit check that the dealer ran without my permission to be wiped from my credit score and I want them to be fined. Who's to say that I am not the only person that they have done this to. The whole situation is just wrong and it makes me very upset what they did.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

 That evening we had been negotiating the price of a new *** ***,  and had come to mutual agreement . At no time was the customer treated in any way but respectfully and ethically. As a matter of fact he negotiated a great deal on the ***.  As part of the negotiation,  *****  requested payment information . At that time he filled out a credit application that was signed as required giving us permission to run a bureau. Also, our finance department went through his options with him before he left that evening. We were going to contact ***** the next day to let him know if found the vehicle he wanted as it was going to be a dealer trade.

Regards,

****** ******* **

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a *** *******. We were evaluating whether to purchase the Navigation system equipped model or not. We discussed the purchase with our salesperson. She assured us that there were free lifetime map updates. We asked the question specifically. She even told us how the service department does the updates periodically at oil changes via the USB port. We took the vehicle in for an oil change and some minor warranty issues. I asked for the upgrade. The service department told me they did not do free map updates. They told me that it is too bad if the salesperson told me that. They said if she mistakenly told me that the updates were free, there was nothing I could do about it. The one fellow even told me he had a gps for 8 years and it never needed an update, implying I was being picky. I most definitely would not have purchased a vehicle with a system that required ongoing annual cost. And if you listen to the service person that annual cost would be greater than the cost of a top of the line Garmin with free lifetime map updates.

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealer to honor the salespersons commitment to provide free lifetime upgrades to the Nav system.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******/BBB , after talking with ***** ****** in Service and ***** Sparks (Salesperson), it appears that there may be a little confusion about what updates are required. What she may be referring to is software updates , which are provided when the vehicle comes in for normal maintenance. ***** never promised her navigation updates,  as she was never aware that they were needed.   There are Navigation updates that can be obtained,  but are not available or necessary at this time. They are provided by a 3rd party company.  Navigation updates are very rare.  Appreciate your business.

Best Regards,

****** ******* **.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We specifically asked about the navigation system.   Specifically!   We were told that the service department would periodically do the nav system updates free of charge for the lifetime of the vehicle.  We are not mistaken.  

Regards,

 ***** *******

 

 

Business Response:

*****, We have never provided this service before and we dont even do the service at the store. We hire a company.  Because of our miscommunication if and when a service update is needed for the navigation system we will participate in the cost to update navigation.

Appreciate yourbusiness.

****** ******* **.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I appreciate your offer, however it is rather open ended.

Who decides when the update is needed?

Your service guy told me he had a GPS for 8 years and it still doesn't need an update.

How much of the cost are you willing to "participate" in?

 

 

Regards,

***** *******

 

 

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *******, ***** ***** the General Manager and a twenty year employee of ****** *ia will contact you directly. We want to get this rectified and make this situation a positive one. Appreciate your patience.

Best regards,

****** ******* ***

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1