Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Frank Boucher Chevrolet, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (262) 886-1010 Fax: (262) 886-6482 8600 Washington Ave, Mt Pleasant, WI 53406 http://www.frankboucherchevrolet.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of new and used automobiles. This company also offers factory certified Chevrolets and Cadillacs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Frank Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Frank Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Frank Boucher Chevrolet, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 30, 1992 Business started: 06/01/1989 in WI Business started locally: 06/01/1989 Business incorporated 06/06/1989 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gordie Boucher, Jr., CEO Mr. Gordon F. Boucher, Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gordie Boucher, Jr., CEO
Related Businesses
Boucher Kia of Milwaukee Frank Boucher VW Kia Mazda Gordie Boucher Lincoln, Inc. Boucher Volkswagen, Inc. Boucher Hyundai Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln of West Bend Gordie Boucher Ford of Menomonee Falls, Inc. Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. Gordie Boucher Ford of Kenosha, Inc. Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln Mazda of Janesville
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Auto Accessories Financing

Alternate Business Names
Frank Boucher Chevrolet Cadillac Saab
Industry Tips
Advanced Fee Loans Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Counterfeit Currency Credit Card Accountability, Responsibility and Disclosure (CARD) Act Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Frank Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8600 Washington Ave

    Mt Pleasant, WI 53406 (262) 886-1010

  • PO Box 85570

    Racine, WI 53408

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 5, 2015, my wife and I purchased a 2012 Malibu from Frank Boucher Chevrolet Cadillac. We used Boucher financing though Well Fargo because the interest rate was lower than what my bank was offering at the time. A price of $12,000 for the vehicle was agreed to. During the process the ECP Auto Armor was offered for $1199 and was turned down because I did not want to increase the cost of the car by 10%. The salesman then asked if I would take it for half and I agreed. After we agreed, the salesman ******** *******, went to setup the protection and came back and said he forgot that Saturday, no one was here to install it and we would have to make an appointment during the week. During the closing I did not notice the price difference because the **** ******* never talked about the total loan just what the loan payment was and we signed the papers. I would like to point out that we had to wait for more than an hour to close on the vehicle and by the time we got in there we just want to sign and go The ECP Auto Armor was never put on. Mr. ***** said not to until this was worked out. I do not believe Mr. ***** and MR. ******* are on the same page. This is the very short version of the story.

Desired Settlement: Cancel ECP auto armor, refund money which was never installed

Business Response: Dear BBB/Mr. *******, Apologize for the delay. We did awhile ago refund Mr. ********

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, but ask that you keep it open until money is received, to date (12/7/15) it has not been received.

******* *******


10/26/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: a power-train warranty was sold to ***** during purchase of her 2007 Dodge Caliber. started having camshaft/crankshaft alarms, as well as stalling out and lack of power. Took in to Boucher to fix, they were unable to so the vehicle was forwarded to Palmen Dodge for repair. vehicle needed a software update and a few valves replaced. the warranty wouldn't cover the repairs as they were not "internally lubricated parts" costing $1288. brought the vehicle back to Palmen after 1 hour of driving due to another camshaft/crankshaft alarms and stalling out again and charged a further $132 diagnostic fee to be told now a crankshaft sensor was bad.

Desired Settlement: refund of warranty cost and interest, or refund of cost of repairs

Business Response:

Dear BBB/Mr. **********, We did reach out to the warranty company and was able to extend a credit to the guest. 

 

Best Regards,

****** ******* ***

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** **********

9/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I verbally agreed a 72 month - term to pay off a new Chevy Cruze 2015 and I found out later(when I was trying to set-up a direct payment) that what I signed in the contract was 75. I called the dealership but Mr. **** ****** was insisting the 75 month term. In our initial transaction, I was pursuinga 0% rate for a 72 month payment, and I had no idea whatsoever that there' s a so- called 75 month- term for any loan. My son was with me during the signing of contract and he heard 6 years being discussed.

Desired Settlement: Let this be a written record/ precedent to any related complaints. If billing adjustments is not possible ( per Mr. ******) , the diiference should be traded off with a written, tangible voucher/service not just lip service.

Business Response: Dear BBB, We paid one monthly payment and our customer is satisfied. Thanks

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

** **** ******

9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke over the phone and exchanged emails with the ******** ***** ******* for Frank Boucher Chevrolet. We never finalized the total cost of the vehicle in which I was interested because I wanted to find about the cost of shipping, and I never signed a sales contract of any sort. I allowed the ******** ***** ******* to authorize a charge of $500 on my Visa, which he assured me: (1) would only be authorized, but not actually charged; and (2) would be fully refundable if the deal were not consummated. I ultimately decided to purchase a vehicle elsewhere and requested the reversal of the the charge on my credit card (which was actually processed, contrary to what I had been told). The ******** ***** ******* agreed to do so. After failing to reverse the charge, I emailed him again, requesting that he reverse the charge ASAP. He said he would do so by the next morning. The next morning came and went, as well as the next morning and the entire next day, and the charge has still not been reversed. I have now opened a dispute with my credit card company. I am honestly not sure whether this business is merely incompetent or actually dishonest and attempting to process an unauthorized charge from me.

Desired Settlement: I would like the charge on my credit card to be reversed, immediately.

Consumer Response: On Fri, Sep 11, 2015 at 11:38 AM, ******* ** ********* ***************************** wrote:

Frank Boucher Chevrolet processed my refund (after learning that I had filed a complaint). So, the matter is resolved now.

5/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought an extended warranty on my vehicle. The financial person said it covered everything in the car. I even asked if it covered the radio and any electrical on the vehicle. He again stated it covered everything. I have been paying $50 a month for this only to find out after a year that it does not cover everything and it's going to cost me close to $1000 to fix it. I bought this warranty believing that if anything went wrong I wouldn't have to worry about it. After talking with the company that the warranty is through I fine that everything they told us was just to sign us up. We have asked for our money back on the warranty from day 1.

Desired Settlement: That all the money I paid for this is returned to me. I have a loan on the vehicle which this included so I want my full refund of $2198 back.

Business Response: Dear BBB/Mrs. *******,  Mrs. ******* purchased the vehicle from our Boucher Buick and GMC not at the Frank Boucher Chevrolet store as stated.  I just tried to call Mrs. ******* at home.  If Mrs. ******* is having an issue with vehicle and needs to assistance please have her call my office at *** *** ****. There are instructions on the back of her warranty information on how to cancel the warranty. We can't automatically cancel, need your approval in writing.

Best Regards,
****** ******* **

1/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2013 Chevy Cruze 7/15/2013. I received notice that there was a front axle shaft recall in April 2014 by an Onstar diagnostic report and also received a letter through Chevy. On the letter, it was stated not to immediately bring the vehicle in for repair as parts were not available, however I was due for an oil change shortly after receiving the letter and when I brought the vehicle in, it would not be returned until after the repair. I was given a rental through Enterprise (1st vehicle was not equivalent to my car) and called at least 3 times to determine when my car would be fixed. I was told that it was not known when parts would be available. I understood this, however when I had to go into Enterprise to renew my rental agreement for the 3rd time (had to do it every month, so I had a rental for over 2 months), I went back to the Chevy dealership to see what kind of deal could be made for trading in my current vehicle for a 2014 Cruze. I specifically stated as well as my husband stated several times to our salesman Edward that we did not want another vehicle with a recall -this was the point of trading in the vehicle. When a 2014 Cruze that supposedly met all of our requests became available, we were notified and worked out a deal which was agreed upon; and before purchasing, both my husband and I asked if the 2014 Cruze had any recalls and was told "no". I purchased the car and set up my OnStar immediately on 6/30/14; I received a diagnostic report that same day stating that there was the exact same front axle shaft recall, however after a few days it was removed from my Onstar account. I thought at the time that possibly the recall may not have been able to be removed prior to purchase of the car (that there needed to be an account created to change the recall information) as I was told that there were NO recalls on the vehicle. At the first oil change on September 9/23/14, my husband was informed that there was in fact the front axle shaft recall which was repair immediately at that visit. I did contact Onstar several times via messaging, chat, and calling as well as contacted ** to determine who and when and how this recall was removed from my Onstar account prior to the repair. I have not been able to get an answer. I also did talk with *** ******* at Chevy on 12/1/14 and showed him the Onstar diagnostic report from 6/30/2014 and 7/31/14 to demonstrate the recall and discuss that the car was sold to me with a present recall and felt lied to regarding it and that I felt like it was being hidden or covered up from me. I told him that the only reason why I did purchase a 2014 was to have a vehicle without a current recall. I was offered a payment off my vehicle and/or an oil change. I stated that I would not have purchased this vehicle if I would have known that there was a recall on it. *** ******* states that he would look into it, but I have never received a follow up phone call.

Desired Settlement: First I would like to know who and when and why was the recall removed from the Onstar account prior to the repair. Secondly, due to the fact that I would have not purchased the the 2014 vehicle if I would have known that there was a recall, I would like to return the vehicle to Chevy and receive the total of my down payments ($12,000 for the 2013 and $2,500 for the 2014) and have no more payments as I feel like I cannot trust this company. I would like to be no longer in business with Chevy. If this cannot be done (I did request this to *** ******* and that is when I was offered one car payment), I would like my down payment for the 2014 of $2500 returned as well as decrease my payments to $242.55 per month with a balance of $13,380.63 for 61 months (this is what I owed for the 2013 vs $255.35 per month with a balance of $15,171.76 which I owe for the 2014) as again I would have not purchased this vehicle and kept my 2013. Also 3 days after purchasing the 2014, my 2013 was repaired but on 6/30/14, I was still told that they had no idea when the vehicle would be repaired. Overall, I am very frustrated and upset that I have to make more expensive payments on a vehicle that I would not have even purchased if I was told the full truth regarding the vehicle and then I feel like there was a cover up for it. I feel like I cannot trust Chevy and do not want to be in business with them anymore.

Consumer Response:

On Tue, Jan 6, 2015 at 1:03 PM, ***** ************* ************************** wrote:

Have you heard from the company? Yes 

Are you satisfied with the company's efforts to resolve this matter? Yes

 

 

Thank you,

***** *************

12/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchased 4 cars from Boucher in Racine in the last 10 years. My most current purchase was a 2011 Cadillac SRX Premium Turbo Edition in 2011. I recently received a letter from Boucher stating that they checked the Black Book Appraisal Guide and said my vehicle could be worth $40,410 or more. The letter states that they need 3 SRX's because of customer demand. One other key piece of information in the letter was that they needed to locate the vehicles by 10/31. I shopped the website and saw two 2013 Cadillac Escalades that I might like and contacted Boucher's internet sales department and inquired about the availability of the 2 Escalades I was interested in. I was told both were available. I emailed the sales rep back, and told her about the letter and the $40,410 value of my vehicle, that I would put $10,000 down in cash, and that I wanted to keep the payment below $800 per month if I purchased a car. I was led to believe that these conditions were in the realm of possibility and made an appointment to see the vehicles on Saturday, 10/26. After driving one of the cars and asking them to propose a deal, they came back and told me that my car was only worth $27,788, and that they didn't want my car because they had an SRX on the lot for $27,000 that would not sell at that price. Also, I was told that even if they gave me $27,788 for trade-in value, that my payment for the Escalade would be over $900 per month. (What about the desperate need to locate 3 SRX's by 10/31, and the $40,410 value of my car?) They visually appraised my car and agreed that it was in excellent shape except for some scuffing of the wheels from brushing against curbs. They asked me how much allowance I would give to repair or replace the affected wheels, and I guessed at about $1,000. So there was nothing evident that would have eroded the value of my car more than $1,000-$2,000 from the number in the letter. I guess that it was all a big scam to get me in the showroom. The sales manager came out to talk to me after I asked for my key back so that I could leave. He told me that the letter was sent out by a 3rd party advertising company, and Boucher was not the sender. I told him that it has Boucher's name all over the letter and that it didn't matter who sent it out. I think they should honor their offers, especially if they are targeted to former customers and use customer data contained in their database. This appears to be a blatant false advertising scam, in my opinion, meant to get you in their showroom.

Desired Settlement: They should be forced to honor their advertising claims.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ********,

 
We value you as our customer and do appreciate your business. When setting up this mail campaign the company that sent it out used the wrong formula. Apologize for wasting your time which we know is very important. ***** ******* our ******* ******* has  left you a voice mail apologizing and offering you a gas card. 
 
Best Regards,
****** ******* ***
 
 

Business Response: Dear BBB/Mr. ********,

 
Let me explain my use of the word "formula". When a company puts a value on a vehicle there are many unknown factors. Mileage, condition, market value. The market value and the mileage are probably the most important in determining the value. We use the potential trade in value as a guide. In most cases they are pretty close. In your case it appears that it was off. That is why we offered a gas card.  I understand how this won't satisfy you. We do value your business. If you do find another vehicle I will sell our new one at our cost and give you what your vehicle appraised at the dealership. Again I apologize for the time you wasted but give me another opportunity and I will earn your business.
 
Best regards,
****** ******* ***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

After reviewing the response from Boucher Cadillac, I have 2 comments to make.


1.) Why was the "Black Book" value quoted in the letter, but  "AutoTrader" used when I arrived at the dealership.  Bait= higher Black Book trade-in value, and Switch= low AutoTrader trade-in value, (which is what you are still offering me now in their BBB response.)


2.) Given the double-talk I have experienced during this BBB process, I could not feel comfortable going back to this business to purchase a vehicle.   


This BBB process has not yielded any form of a different outcome, nor did I really expect it to.  I am very disappointed that a business in Wisconsin can be allowed to practice obviously deceptive advertising and not have any consequences.  Let the buyer beware...


Regards,

******* ********

 

 

11/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We went to Frank Boucher of Racine & purchased a vehicle out of good faith & what we got was DECEPTION!!!!! We purchased a 2013 1LT with 2 needs/options (1) MyLink system & (2) heated seats. We was told the vehicle had the MyLink then told a "VERSION"of the MyLink but my smartphone would had to be connected to stream. "BASED OFF THIS INFO" we purchased the vehicle. We took delivery Sat (9/7/13) & was back at the dealership Wed (9/11/13) in the service dept saying something wrong Bluetooth not working correctly was told by service person smartphone Apple device has to be connected. Went home tried w/o success contacted ********** for help. Back to service dept Thur (9/12/13) saying there's a problem even service person & a diff salesman acknowledge issue. This different salesmen couldn't pair his cell phone. That day we're told we don't have MyLink we contacted GM cust serv & told MyLink doesn't have "VERSION" either you have or you don't. Brought all this info to ***** (******* *******) attention on Thur (9/19/13). As of this date (10/14/13) not resolved per ***** still trying to work things out, but the real issue is he doesn't want Boucher to take the loss in putting us in diff vehicle. Have stressed to ***** (******* ***) we were mislead / lied to by salesperson in order to make a sell. Salesperson, ****** *****, won't even acknowledge error made when having help in locating vehicle. According salesperson, ****** *****, he was never told we wanted MyLink.

Desired Settlement: We want Frank Boucher of Racine to swop us out of our vehicle into another one without their being any cost to US (the consumer).

Business Response: Dear BBB, We were able to resolve the consumer's issue's and traded her into a new vehicle.

 
Best Regards,
****** *******

7/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Seller sent several emails that each email showed the vehicle (**** ******* ** **) as GM Used Certified. Upon purchasing the vehicle, I inquired about the GM Used Certified status and the salesman stated he would have to go talk to his sales manager. When the salesman returned, he told me that GM will no certify the vehicle because of the size of the engine in the vehicle. After getting home with the vehicle (a 2.5 hour drive), I looked on the GM Used Certified website and it shows the same vehicles with the same engines being certified. I contacted the Dealership about this and I was told they would look into it, and I never heard back. I contacted the Dealerships ******* ******* regarding the Used Car Certification, the vehicle being sold with no spare tire or jack (even though the window sticker states that there is one), and the broken parts on the vehicle, and was told by the ******* ******* that he would look into it and get back to me. I have not heard back from either the salesman or the ******* *******. I contacted GM and they contacted the dealership and informed me that the ******* ******* will be in contact with me as he is handling it now, not the salesman. I waited a full week and did not hear anything from the ******* *******, so I decided to call him and left him a voicemail yesterday (7-11-13) and still have not even gotten a reply saying that he was still working on it. Three days after purchasing the vehicle, the Service Engine Light has come on and the ******* ******* was notified of this also.,

Desired Settlement: Provide a spare tire or equivalent, provide the GM Used Certification as advertised and shown in emails (that I still have), and fix the broken items (stereo speakers (even though the window sticker states no problems with sound system), window switches, drivers side mirror)

Business Response: Dear BBB, We are resolving this issue to the customers satisfaction.


Best Regards,
****** ******* ***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Frank Boucher Chevrolet, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart