BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of new and used automobiles. This company also offers factory certified Chevrolets and Cadillacs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Frank Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Frank Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Frank Boucher Chevrolet, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 30, 1992 Business started: 06/01/1989 in WI Business started locally: 06/01/1989 Business incorporated: 06/06/1989 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708
http://datcp.state.wi.us/
Phone Number: (800) 422-7128
hotline@datcp.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gordie Boucher, Jr., Sales/Marketing Mr. Al Bonfiglio, Vice President/CFO Mr. Frank A. Boucher, President Mr. Gordon F. Boucher, Chairman Mr. Brian Hornig, General Manager Mr. Anthony Karabon, Registered Agent Mr. Mike Sauve, Office Manager Mr. Mike Sauve, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gordie Boucher, Jr., Sales/Marketing
Related Businesses
Boucher Kia of Milwaukee Frank Boucher VW Kia Mazda Gordie Boucher Lincoln, Inc. Boucher Volkswagen, Inc. Boucher Hyundai Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln of West Bend Gordie Boucher Ford of Menomonee Falls, Inc. Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. Gordie Boucher Ford of Kenosha, Inc. Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln Mazda of Janesville, Inc.
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Auto Accessories Financing

Alternate Business Names
Frank Boucher Chevrolet Cadillac Saab
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • 8600 Washington Ave

    Mt Pleasant, WI 53406 (414) 427-4141 (262) 886-1010

  • PO Box 85570

    Racine, WI 53408

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (414) 427-4141(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchased 4 cars from Boucher in Racine in the last 10 years. My most current purchase was a 2011 Cadillac SRX Premium Turbo Edition in 2011. I recently received a letter from Boucher stating that they checked the Black Book Appraisal Guide and said my vehicle could be worth $40,410 or more. The letter states that they need 3 SRX's because of customer demand. One other key piece of information in the letter was that they needed to locate the vehicles by 10/31. I shopped the website and saw two 2013 Cadillac Escalades that I might like and contacted Boucher's internet sales department and inquired about the availability of the 2 Escalades I was interested in. I was told both were available. I emailed the sales rep back, and told her about the letter and the $40,410 value of my vehicle, that I would put $10,000 down in cash, and that I wanted to keep the payment below $800 per month if I purchased a car. I was led to believe that these conditions were in the realm of possibility and made an appointment to see the vehicles on Saturday, 10/26. After driving one of the cars and asking them to propose a deal, they came back and told me that my car was only worth $27,788, and that they didn't want my car because they had an SRX on the lot for $27,000 that would not sell at that price. Also, I was told that even if they gave me $27,788 for trade-in value, that my payment for the Escalade would be over $900 per month. (What about the desperate need to locate 3 SRX's by 10/31, and the $40,410 value of my car?) They visually appraised my car and agreed that it was in excellent shape except for some scuffing of the wheels from brushing against curbs. They asked me how much allowance I would give to repair or replace the affected wheels, and I guessed at about $1,000. So there was nothing evident that would have eroded the value of my car more than $1,000-$2,000 from the number in the letter. I guess that it was all a big scam to get me in the showroom. The sales manager came out to talk to me after I asked for my key back so that I could leave. He told me that the letter was sent out by a 3rd party advertising company, and Boucher was not the sender. I told him that it has Boucher's name all over the letter and that it didn't matter who sent it out. I think they should honor their offers, especially if they are targeted to former customers and use customer data contained in their database. This appears to be a blatant false advertising scam, in my opinion, meant to get you in their showroom.

Desired Settlement: They should be forced to honor their advertising claims.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ********,

 
We value you as our customer and do appreciate your business. When setting up this mail campaign the company that sent it out used the wrong formula. Apologize for wasting your time which we know is very important. ***** ******* our ******* ******* has  left you a voice mail apologizing and offering you a gas card. 
 
Best Regards,
****** ******* ***
 
 

Business Response: Dear BBB/Mr. ********,

 
Let me explain my use of the word "formula". When a company puts a value on a vehicle there are many unknown factors. Mileage, condition, market value. The market value and the mileage are probably the most important in determining the value. We use the potential trade in value as a guide. In most cases they are pretty close. In your case it appears that it was off. That is why we offered a gas card.  I understand how this won't satisfy you. We do value your business. If you do find another vehicle I will sell our new one at our cost and give you what your vehicle appraised at the dealership. Again I apologize for the time you wasted but give me another opportunity and I will earn your business.
 
Best regards,
****** ******* ***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

After reviewing the response from Boucher Cadillac, I have 2 comments to make.


1.) Why was the "Black Book" value quoted in the letter, but  "AutoTrader" used when I arrived at the dealership.  Bait= higher Black Book trade-in value, and Switch= low AutoTrader trade-in value, (which is what you are still offering me now in their BBB response.)


2.) Given the double-talk I have experienced during this BBB process, I could not feel comfortable going back to this business to purchase a vehicle.   


This BBB process has not yielded any form of a different outcome, nor did I really expect it to.  I am very disappointed that a business in Wisconsin can be allowed to practice obviously deceptive advertising and not have any consequences.  Let the buyer beware...


Regards,

******* ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We went to Frank Boucher of Racine & purchased a vehicle out of good faith & what we got was DECEPTION!!!!! We purchased a 2013 1LT with 2 needs/options (1) MyLink system & (2) heated seats. We was told the vehicle had the MyLink then told a "VERSION"of the MyLink but my smartphone would had to be connected to stream. "BASED OFF THIS INFO" we purchased the vehicle. We took delivery Sat (9/7/13) & was back at the dealership Wed (9/11/13) in the service dept saying something wrong Bluetooth not working correctly was told by service person smartphone Apple device has to be connected. Went home tried w/o success contacted ********** for help. Back to service dept Thur (9/12/13) saying there's a problem even service person & a diff salesman acknowledge issue. This different salesmen couldn't pair his cell phone. That day we're told we don't have MyLink we contacted GM cust serv & told MyLink doesn't have "VERSION" either you have or you don't. Brought all this info to ***** (******* *******) attention on Thur (9/19/13). As of this date (10/14/13) not resolved per ***** still trying to work things out, but the real issue is he doesn't want Boucher to take the loss in putting us in diff vehicle. Have stressed to ***** (******* ***) we were mislead / lied to by salesperson in order to make a sell. Salesperson, ****** *****, won't even acknowledge error made when having help in locating vehicle. According salesperson, ****** *****, he was never told we wanted MyLink.

Desired Settlement: We want Frank Boucher of Racine to swop us out of our vehicle into another one without their being any cost to US (the consumer).

Business Response: Dear BBB, We were able to resolve the consumer's issue's and traded her into a new vehicle.

 
Best Regards,
****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spent extra money on the sport version of the original Saturn Vue. It's called a Saturn Vue Redline, it's the performance version. The major differences between the performance Version and the regular Version are these: the performance Version is lowered, has sport tuned suspension, higher speed rated 120+ mph tires with lower profile, sport tuned power steering, and the speed limit is maxed somewhere in the 120mph range. The regular Vue is goverened and max speed 100mph, higher of the ground, comes with tires that max speed is 100mph softer suspension etc. I took my redline in to this dealership because there was an online announcemnet about adjusting the torque converter to be more effecient and if defective they would replace it all together. I asked them what would be affected and they told me specifically that the change would be when the torque converter activates, I would feel the difference somewhere between 30-45 mph. and that was all that was going to change. So I authorized them to make that change. While making that change, they hooked my car up to the computer because the change in how the torque converter works means that changes in the computer programming had to be done. Before taking my Red Line Vue in, I knew it went over 100mph, because I had taken it over 100mph. There is an official drag strip that you can go to in Wisconsin and race your vehicles. After the torque converter was adjusted, a couple of weeks later, I found out that it could no longer go over 100mph. So obviously something had happend when I took it in to have the torque converter adjusted. When I took it back to the dealership and inquired about it, the service center stated that the maximum speed should not have been adjusted, but after going thru their information and computer, they stated that yes, it looked like the computer did do that. I told them I did not authorize them to do anything but work on the torque converter and my maximum speed had nothing to do with it. There response was, GM sent them the program so it must of been the headquarters that did it. Headquarters said they specifically do not know why that would happen from the torque converter change but if it did it was inadvertant. I did not authorize them to do anything but work on the torque converter. Either with, or without their knowledge, they changed my maximum speed limit. It turns out when asking online, this seems to be a typical problem with any 05 Redline Vue if you take it in and have them run the computer program that checks the computer chip in the car. However, 06, and 07's which are the exact same under the hood (which is why all 05-07 parts under the hood are interchangable.) Do NOT have this problem when they take their vehicles in. (I have all the discussion threads to prove that fact) However, this Service Center basically said, their hands were tied and couldn't do anything. GM says they don't know anything about it and to talk to the Service Center. I was told by GM it's a safety issue and the refuse to raise the speed limit back to where it was. But if it was truly a safety issue, then why not ALL Redline vues (05-07) have this problem? And why is it that 05 Redline vues in other states are getting the issue corrected? I paid extra money for the performance package of this vehicle which included a higher speed limit. They have taken that away without my permission which in turn, affects not only the value of what I paid for, but one of the reasons I bought it. If when I asked the dealership what they would be doing to my vehicle when checking the torque converter, and they would have told me they would be lowering my top speed limit I would not have had anything done to it. The torque converter "campaign" they call it was not a recall...mandatory or otherwise. It was a publication that gave you the choice. Since they did not tell me about the maximum speed limit being reduced, then that was not part of what I authorized them to do. GM headquarters has more or less admited it may have inadvertanly happend but state that now its a safety issue to "raise the maximum speed limit of the suv" But if the original speed limit was already at 120+ and there has been no documentation or mandatory recall because the maximum speed limit was unsafe. How can they claim that it is a safety issue to raise the speed limit back to the origianl speed after mistakenly reducing it? Quite frankly the maxium speed limit is the small issue. The bigger issue is that the service center made changes to my vehicle without my permission. Reducing the speed limit was a mistake and they refuse to correct this mistake.

Desired Settlement: Return my vehicle maximum speed limit back to the the original factory setting. It can be done, others States have done it.

Business Response: Dear BBB and Mr. *****, I researched this concern and spoke with our GM Service people. This was a mandatory recall from General Motors. It was to remove the vibration between speeds of 30-45 mph. Removing the vibration will increase fuel efficiency. I looked into the possibility of reversing it but once the service is complete there is no going backwards. When any work is completed on a newer vehicle as this one is, a computer update is required. This recall may affect your top speed a bit but the power off the line and the normal driving conditions wont be affected. This recall will also assist in keeping your vehicle on the road much longer. Boucher Corporate Office

Business Response: Dear BBB,


Have the consumer contact legal counsel.

****** ******* **.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


They have still not answered any questions.  They have not stated why they did what they did.  Sounds to me like they know they didn't have a right to do so if they are telling me to get legal counsel.

Regards,

***** *******

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Seller sent several emails that each email showed the vehicle (**** ******* ** **) as GM Used Certified. Upon purchasing the vehicle, I inquired about the GM Used Certified status and the salesman stated he would have to go talk to his sales manager. When the salesman returned, he told me that GM will no certify the vehicle because of the size of the engine in the vehicle. After getting home with the vehicle (a 2.5 hour drive), I looked on the GM Used Certified website and it shows the same vehicles with the same engines being certified. I contacted the Dealership about this and I was told they would look into it, and I never heard back. I contacted the Dealerships ******* ******* regarding the Used Car Certification, the vehicle being sold with no spare tire or jack (even though the window sticker states that there is one), and the broken parts on the vehicle, and was told by the ******* ******* that he would look into it and get back to me. I have not heard back from either the salesman or the ******* *******. I contacted GM and they contacted the dealership and informed me that the ******* ******* will be in contact with me as he is handling it now, not the salesman. I waited a full week and did not hear anything from the ******* *******, so I decided to call him and left him a voicemail yesterday (7-11-13) and still have not even gotten a reply saying that he was still working on it. Three days after purchasing the vehicle, the Service Engine Light has come on and the ******* ******* was notified of this also.,

Desired Settlement: Provide a spare tire or equivalent, provide the GM Used Certification as advertised and shown in emails (that I still have), and fix the broken items (stereo speakers (even though the window sticker states no problems with sound system), window switches, drivers side mirror)

Business Response: Dear BBB, We are resolving this issue to the customers satisfaction.


Best Regards,
****** ******* ***

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last August, I was going to get my car emissions done at Frank Boucher in Racine, WI. After I drove out of the shop I was not even 2 blocks down the road and the car died. I had to steer the car to the side of the road and call for a tow truck at my expense. I towed it to Frank Boucher, they said that it was the battery and for $160.00 the car would be all good. I had to pay for the 15 point inspection, car service and the battery. Thinking maybe the dealer was right. We drove the car less than 1/2 mile and the car died again. I had to have it towed back to Boucher for repair. I said the minute the engine got hot the engine would die. They tried charging me for the towing charge, another 15 point inspection, and the service call again. I had to argue and argue to get that taken off the bill. It turned out to be a sensor which we told them it was. They tried to charge triple the price of the sensor and triple the labor charges to install. I had to again argue to some resolution. Now this week, my sons car died he had it towed to Frank Boucher. It was his transmission wouldn't go forward just in reverse. They said it was his battery and his serpentite battery and some leaks in some transmission and brakes lines. They weren't leaking before he brought it, nor did he have trouble with his battery. My son just had is transmission repaired last Oct 2012. Boucher said originally that it was covered by warranty. Then the next day, they said the cost is $861.00 that the battery, serpentite battery, replace brake lines, transmission lines. My son said that my dad is going to call and talk. Today, we to Frank Boucher low and behold the cost was $0.00. How did the lines of transmission and oil lines start leaking? I feel like they are tampering with the vehicles to get more money out of the customers. Now, I just bought a new 2012 vehicle from them, are they miss charging the new vehicle buyers as well. Did they process my trade in and did they process my down payment. I think they should be audited for all there new car buyers and service dept.

Desired Settlement: Make things right with customers and pay back all customers for misquoting repairs and not filling out the new car applications correctly by pocketing the money.

Business Response:

Dear BBB, We have called and sat down with customers and addressed their concerns.

Best Regards,

****** ******* ***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******

The company has not contacted me and haven't responded to you.  What is the next step.

 

Thank you,

 

*****

 

Business Response: Dear Mrs. ***** ******/BBB, 


I do personally apologize that nobody has contacted you. We value you as our customer and want to make things right. **** ****** has left you a voicemail today. 

Best Regards,
****** ******* ***

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Thurs 09/6/12 I brought my **** ***** ******** in for emmissions test at Frank Boucher in ******. I was placed into a waiting room, so I couldn't view the vehicle or testing being done, after 5 minutes, they came to me to report my vehicle failed. Reasons being large evaporator leak, it failed emmisions. Also was told that my check engine light was on, however was not on when I arrived @ the business. Was informed to make an appointment for a diagnostic test, which would be $110.00 and they couldn't give me a figure or about how much it might cost to fix the car. So I left the dealership, and now when I left, my check engine light was on. Since this vehicle only has 6,000 miles on it, i returned home to investiate what would cause this leak, and ended up on several blogs that directed me to check the gas cap., which I did and was found open, which was opened by Boucher. I stopped at another local testing site, spoke with the owner, and they explained I had to run a large amount of miles on my vehicle to get the emmisions code off my vehicle so it could pass. After doing what was instructed with the car, the check engine went off., and I returned to the local testing site (NOT BOUCHER), today (09/8) and the vehicle passed with flying colors. On another note with another issue I had with Boucher, last fall, with the same vehicle., my car battery was to be under warranty, but they claimed the battery that was in my vehicle was not the "stock battery" and made me purchase a new battery, which was the same as what was in the vehicle to begin with.

Desired Settlement: refund of battery.

Business Response: Dear BBB, We refunded Mr. ******** for the battery he purchased.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards,

 

 ******* ********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1