Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ewald's Venus Ford, LLC

Phone: (414) 481-8500 Fax: (414) 294-0392 View Additional Phone Numbers 2727 E Layton Ave, Cudahy, WI 53110 http://ewaldsvenus.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers sales, service, parts, and body shop for new and used automobiles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ewald's Venus Ford, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ewald's Venus Ford, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Ewald's Venus Ford, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 18, 2007 Business started: 08/20/2004 in WI Business started locally: 08/20/2004 Business incorporated 08/20/2004 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brian Ewald, General Manager Ms. Christine Elliker, Executive Assitant Mr. Craig Ewald, President Mr. Tom Ewald, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Christine Elliker, Executive Assitant
Principal: Mr. Brian Ewald, General Manager
Related Businesses
Ewald Automotive Group, LLC Mayfair Rent-A-Car, LLC Ewald's Venus Ford, LLC Ewald Kia of Oconomowoc Ewald's Hartford Ford, LLC Ewald Chevrolet Buick Ewald Fleet Solutions, LLC Ewald's Airstream of Wisconsin Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Services Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Financing New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Industry Tips
Advanced Fee Loans Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Counterfeit Currency Credit Card Accountability, Responsibility and Disclosure (CARD) Act Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ewald's Venus Ford, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2727 E Layton Ave

    Cudahy, WI 53110 (888) 686-1047 (888) 715-2091 (414) 481-8500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my car to have a recall by **** look at on the 31st of January , So they can look at on first of February , they told me it was only going to take 2 hrs. It took 4 days before they called, I pick up my car on the 4 of February . Took it home put in garage, next day look at my car and front bumper had crack in it , went back on the 5 of February , and talk to people at service desk. To me to call on Monday the 8 and talk to *** ******. About it . And they took my info and said he would call to talk to me , I also called and left message on his voice mail. And still no call back

Desired Settlement: Fix my bumper.

Business Response: Tell us why here...Mr. ******* ******** will be coming into our service department to be taken care of.

5/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Ewald approx. 9 months ago to purchase an SUV or mini van. I was told at that time that due to my credit situation and the fact my husband could not be on the loan due a recent bankruptcy that I would not qualify for that type of vehicle and that I would have to purchase a smaller vehicle. I was told that in 6 months to a 1 year I should come back and they would get me in the SUV I was initially looking for as long as I made all my payments on time and my credit improved. So I ended up purchasing a 2010 Toyota Corolla (not even close to what I wanted) only because I was told I would have to deal with it for 6 months to a year. I even recall stating that I will see you back in 6 months to a year. My husband was also there as a witness. So I returned approx. 9 months later (this past Saturday) and was told by Al in finance that my credit went from 550 to 624. I knew I made all my payments on time if not early. So I was pretty hopeful that I would be driving home in an SUV. Initially Al told me the only way they could help me was if I was willing to pay $450/ month payment and if they put me in a new car as I would still have to carry over money on my current loan as my car is not worth as much as I owe. Immediately I told them there was no way I was able to do that. I went home devastated as I did exactly what they asked of me. My husband and I talked it over more and realized we could afford an extra $100 a month since we would be getting a new vehicle. I emailed Nate who was one of the sales people over the Internet that I was able to come up with the extra $100 a month for a payment. Then I get an email back from Al in finance stating they could get me in a 2013 vehicle, $440/month, and $3000 down. I told them when I walked in that I didn't have any money to put down. Initially this was never a problem. Now I have a vehicle in which I hate, they won't take it back and take a loss on it, and can't help me get in the vehicle I initially wanted. Plus now I owe more than the car I hate is even worth that I would never have purchased in the first place. I feel like all they cared about was that immediate sale 9 months ago and now they are not holding up their end of the deal. I'm so frustrated and feel completely taken advantage of. I did what I was told. I paid my payments on time, I improved my credit score, my debt to income ratio is the same, and my husband still has a bankruptcy under his belt. I understand part of it is the bank but they should have never made the promise that they would get me in the vehicle I initially wanted if they were not sure that was going to happen. It's not a small purchase either and they knew I would be stuck with the Corolla. Plus I was never told I would need a massive down payment when I would return. I feel they saw me as an easy target being a female and they took advantage. I'm so disappointed and I initially thought so highly of them as a company.

Desired Settlement: I would love for them to take the Corolla back as I never wanted it to begin with as I only settled on it because I thought I would be getting the vehicle I really wanted within a year. Otherwise I would like them to get me in the SUV I was requesting from the start.

Business Response:

Our dealership works hard to accomplish the vehicle goals from its customers.  However, credit and financing are extended/offered to customers from lenders that we are partnered with.  Final approvals and credit terms are determined by the lender and the individual qualifications of the customer. Many times we are successful in trading a customer into another vehicle within a short time frame.   I will look into this individual situation and contact the customer direct to discuss any possibilities. 

Regards,

**** *****

******* *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I still have not heard anything from **** ***** himself as he had stated in the previous email or anyone else within the company either. I feel like I was taken advantage of by the dealership just to make that quick sale and now nobody wants to back up their word. This has been going on for a couple months now and it is beyond frustrating! 

Regards,

******* ******

 

 

Business Response:

We are in contact with customer for to discuss a resolve.

1/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 2012 Chrysler Town & Country van was involved in a car accident. My vehicle was dropped off for repair at Ewald body shop on 12/5/14 and the repairs were completed and ready for pick up on 12/23/14. When I arrived around 5pm at the shop I was taken first to pay my bill and then I received my van key and was told where my vehicle was located on the lot. I did not notice my bumper was damaged at this time because it was dark outside. When I arrived home in my garage I notice that my rear bumper had several scratches and had a dent on the right side. I call Ewald back the same day and spoke to **** and told him about the rear bumper damage that was not there before I dropped off the van. **** told me that *** ******* was not in and for me to call back. I call back on 12/29/14 and spoke to **** again and explained the damage to the bumper again. **** explained that he would have to speak to *** ******* as to what can be done and that *** ******* will give me a call back.

Desired Settlement: I have not received a call back as to the resolution of this issue.

Business Response:

Unfortunately the damage in concern was present at time of our initial repair. We photograph vehicles complete when they come in for repair and estimate for documentation for the customer, the insurance company and our dealership.  Photos attached will show the rear damage present at time of receipt.   Here is the timeline of conversation regarding Ms. *******'s repair and concerns.  We are more than happy to correct the damage if another claim is filed with her insurance company or if she chooses to pay for the repairs. 

 

Thank you

**** *****

******* *******

Ewald's Venus Ford

 

SEE ATTACHED PHOTO'S AND NOTES FROM AMERICAN FAMILY  (AM/FAM)

 

 

12/5/14- RECEIVED CALL FROM ****** ******* REGARDING HAVING HER VEHICLE TOWED IN. WAS TOWED IN AFTER HOURS.

 

12/8/14- TOOK PHOTO'S OF DAMAGE FROM ACCIDENT AND REST OF VEHICLE.  (PHOTO'S SHOW DAMAGE TO REAR COVER THAT NOT RELATED TO       ACCIDENT AND WAS THERE PRIOR TO VEHICLE BEING DROPPED OFF)

 

12/9/14- SUBMITTED ESTIMATE AND ORDERED PARTS. CONTACTED ****** ******* AND TOLD HOW LONG VEHICLE WOULD TAKE.

 

12/22/14- *** * FROM AM/FAM REINSPECTED VEHICLE WHILE IN SHOP.

 

12/23/14- REPAIRS COMPLETED AND ****** ******* PICKED UP VEHICLE

 

12/23/14 7:00 PM- ****** CALLED AND SPOKE TO **** IN SERVICE DEPT REGARDING DAMAGE TO REAR COVER.

 

12/24/14- RECEIVED NOTE FROM **** REGARDING ****** ******* COMPLAINT FOR REAR BUMPER

 

12/29/14- SPOKE TO ****** AND INFORMED HER AM/FAM WOULD HAVE TO REINSPECT THE REAR BUMPER FOR COVERAGE REGARDING BEING RELATED TO LOSS.

 

12/29/14- AM/FAM REINSPECTED THE DAMAGE TO REAR COVER AT HER WORK AND TOLD HER IT WAS NOT RELATED TO ACCIDENT AND WOULD HAVE TO FILE A CLAIM. (SEE ATTACHED NOTE FROM *** * @ AM/FAM)

 

 

1/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 15, 2012, we took our Dodge Stratus to Ewald Venus Ford at **** * ****** **** ****** ** because we had noise in the front end especially when did slow speeds and turns. They checked the car and confirmed this noise and told us that we would need lower ball joints and outer tie rods with an alignment and that we would also need front brakes. They gave us a quote for both jobs. We brought the car in the next day, March 16, 2012 for the work to be done. Replaced front brake pads and rotors for $330.00 Replaced front lower ball joints, outer tie rods & align for $879.41 We went back 3 times for the brakes that still squeaked. They told me that we have to drive it for a while and it will go away. It never did and about a month later we took it to our regular mechanic and he cleaned them and we have not had a squeak or problem since. On December 29, 2014 we brought the car back to Ewald for front end noise. They told us they could only tell us the problem after putting it on a machine and they did not have time today. The person who drove the car out of garage for us said that he was very sure it was the ball joints. We took the car to our regular mechanic because we were sure this was done before and Ewald did not have time to take care of us. Our regular mechanic took us January 3, 2015 and he said it was the upper and lower ball joint and the upper and lower suspension. We told him that the lower ball joint and tie rod were just replaced and he informed us that they were the original because of being non-calibrated and the other side had been replaced because it had the caliber on it. He said he never heard of any garage getting two different kinds from the same place at the same time. This was replaced this time for a total of $475.20. When we went back to Ewald to inform them that only one ball joint was replaced and we were charged for two, he told us that we were wrong. He said he called **** parts and they said they might of sent two kinds of ball joints, (One caliber and one not). So to supposedly to keep us happy, Ewald was willing to refund us $104.00 for the cost of the part. To us, for paying $811.00 and again another $476.00, we feel that this was a total insulting offer and refused it along with informing them that we will not be returning for any kind of repair on either one of our cars. In our conclusion we figured it cost us $677.30 to have one replaced with parts and labor and to be offered only $104.00 is totally insulting.

Desired Settlement: A refund of the parts, labor and our time of running back and forth to Ewald and our mechanic. and being without a car again. Someplace between $500 to $700

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

This is in response to BBB complaint # ********. 03/15/2012 Repair Order (RO) ****** (attached) was open with customer stating that there is a noise in the front end, worst when turning at slow speeds and to the right. This noise verified as loose and or binding lower ball joints and outer tie rod ends, also brakes in front are in need of replacement from wear, this inspection was performed by a ** year ASE Master Certified Ford Technician. Customer was given estimate on repairs. Customer returned next day 03/16/12 ** ****** (attached) and authorized repairs were performed per estimate. Ewald’s Venus Ford’s Company policy is to warranty labor performed for 90 days or 4,000 miles and the part manufacturer warranty on the replacement part we used is 12mos or 12000 miles which ever comes first.  This concern is far past both of those timelines.

The customer stated that “their mechanic” claimed that Ewald Venus Ford did not replace both lower ball joints due to the fact that there was not a zerk grease fitting on one of the lower ball joints replaced. Please note this repair had complete lower control arms assemblies. These parts were purchased from **** **** ***** 3/16/12.  **** offers a basic, standard and up graded suspension line. **** Chassis is standard/original equipment grade replacement part we were supplied for one side.  The Master ride is the upgrade that does have a grease-able zerk for lubrication which we were supplied for the other side.  We received one of each for this repair. **** nor Ewald’s Venus Ford can explain why we got one upgraded control arm at time of repair.  There could have been an update in a part or an availability concern. We charged the same for both as reflected on the Repair Order attached.   The customer’s vehicle was repaired with listed parts on the repair order.  We have no documentation of customer returning at any time for Ewald’s Venus Ford to look at brakes for noise.  It is very possible a simple clean and or adjustment can eliminate brake noise.  Road debris, rust buildup, new parts, or other simple reasons can all lead to brake squeaking.  ( his mechanic cleaned them as referenced in the BBB concern).

 The reimbursement of the $104 to customer for the price of the one control arm concern was offered in good faith.  The part manufacturer will not cover any cost due to the time exceeding their warranty.    After nearly 3 years of use and additional repairs at his mechanic, it is more than a fair offer.  We made that offer in good faith for customer satisfaction due to mileage driven on the vehicle in this amount of time and that the customer stated he did in fact have a lower ball joint noise.  If the customer feels “insulted” we apologize.  That is not our intent.

*** ******

******* *******

Ewald’s Venus Ford

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is the same answer they gave us.  We have the part and checked with several mechanics and ****.  No one has heard of putting two different parts on.  The mechanics also looked at the ball joint and all agree this is the original part and never was replaced.  They also said why would the original part last for 48000 miles and a supposedly new part only last for 7000 miles.  

As far as the brakes are concerned, there was never a work order written and supposedly they blew off the brakes 3 times.  But why is it that we took it to our mechanic one time and the problem went away.  

 

So we will consider this closed and like I said we are insulted with this that Ewald makes a common person feel like they know nothing.  Ewald has lost two cars over this and there will be negative word of mouth.  

Regards,

****** ****

 

 

8/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 27, 2014, my daughter ***** and I met with **** ***** from Ewald Venus Ford on East Layton Avenue. ***** was in the market for a newer car in the range of $9,000 - $10,000. **** had shown us a 2008 Ford Focus SES for $12,500. During our conversation with ****, he told us that if anything went wrong with the car in the first 6 months, we could bring it back and he would take care of it. **** said this three times. ***** decided to purchase the car, in part, on what **** told us. That evening, ***** parked the car on our driveway. The next morning, as ***** was backing the car out of the driveway, there was a wet spot under the car coming from the engine area. ***** decided to return to home. The following week (Tuesday or Wednesday) I got a hold of **** and told him what had happened. **** responded, bring it in and we will take care of it. Due to prior commitments, ***** was not able to bring the car in for repair until July 18. Ewald / Venus Ford repaired a CV boot at no cost. The next morning (July 19th) ***** backed out of the driveway and the spot was still there (about the size of a dollar bill ripped in half. ***** said that she need to get home and that she would take the car to her mechanic. ***** made it to Silver Spring Ave and 41/45 when her check engine light came on and the car started to run hot. She turned around and returned to our place. I called **** *****. He told me to bring the car in and that they would take care of it. When we dropped the car off, they gave us a loaner car to use. On July 22, I received a call from ***** (Service Associate). She told me that they determined it was the water pump and thermostat. She then said I will have to call you back with a price. I immediately called ****. When I told him what ***** said, **** responded "No, we will take care of it and I will talk with *****". The next day, I received a call from the ******* ******* (not sure of the guys name). He said that the repair would cost $802. I told him that **** told me that they (Ewald /Venus Ford) would take care of it. This person said that he just talked with **** and that **** never said that. I responded by saying "either you can talk with **** or I will give him a call". This person said that he would talk with ****. Later the same day, **** gave me a call. **** told me that he talked with the ******* ******* and that the ******* ******* agreed to waive the labor part of the repair. **** then said that the cost of the repair was reduced to $550. At this point I explained to **** that one of *****'s decision points in purchasing the car was your (****'s) wording of "if anything happens to the car in 6 months, bring it back and we will take car of it". This is when **** changed his tone and said to me "that was for the power train only". **** then said that he needed to talk with his boss and that he would give me a call back Friday (July 25th) morning between 10 am and 11 am.. After three calls on my part, **** finally called me back about 2 pm. **** said that he talked with his boss. They were willing to repair the car but running the cost under a different warranty and that we would have to pay a $100 deductible. **** then said that if we did not agree to this, they (Ewald / Venus Ford) would not repair the car. After much frustration, I told them to repair the car. During this part of the conversation, I asked **** for $40 dollars in gas money as we would need to make a special trip to return the car to ***** and I also asked for the power train warranty. The water pump was finally repaired on July 28. While driving the car back from Ewald, my wife noticed a squeak coming from the drivers side rear part of the car. This was a new sound that we did not hear before. That afternoon, we noticed that wet spot again under the car. I decided to make an appointment with our local mechanic on Thursday. They identified the cause of the leak and a few other problems. The leak was coming from a drive shaft transmission seal. The squeak was caused by the rear bushings. The bushings were completely gone. These repairs which according to **** would be taken care of by them ending up costing me $1,033.

Desired Settlement: As a representative of the dealership (someone above a salespersons level) **** should honor his word to the customer. I am looking for reimbursement of the $100 deductible and the $1033 we paid in repairs. A copy of our power train warranty for the first 6 months of ownership.

Business Response:

We apologize for the inconvenience with this Focus.  **** ***** will be contacting you on Wednesday August 13 to schedule a time to meet at the dealership to discuss the situation with **** ****** ******* *******.  We ask that you would bring the copy of the repair bill that you paid for to review at that visit.  We can then collectively discuss the situation.

Thank you

 

5/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was at the dealer from 9am. It took ALL day for them to get it processed. At 1pm I told them I HAD to leave by 2:30 to get mt son. At 2:15 they were finally ready. We Had to rush though the loan papers and I made some choices I would not have due to that. They record the signing so you can hear me say "I have to get my son" a few times. I got home, and after putting my son to be I red the papers and emailed them about what I didn't need and wanted changed. NEVER received a response. (this was the same day). I called multiple times and left voice mails besides the emails I am attaching. Nothing at all. I also have some questions on all of this loan papers as A) I traded in a vehicle worth about $11,000 and only had about $4,500 left on the loan B) It says I owe over $22,000. I cannot find my loan documents but I want the department of Ag and Trade to please look at my contract besides the issues I emailed them on. I think there is something up there. First Email sent: I finally got a chance to look at the papers signed today. I was in such a hurry to go get my son that I really didn’t read through everything fully . I see that I am being charged $695 for gap insurance. I do not need the gap insurance as I am not financing more than it is worth. Please cancel the gap insurance. Also, The service contracts are more than I thought. Please cancel this. I will take care of service and any repairs on my own. So, if I am calculating it right that removes $3,294 off of there. I have copies of the emails sent and would like to email them to you to add to the claim.

Desired Settlement: I want my contract reviewed as it is not making sense to me. I want the items I emailed about taken care of and I want this money back. I will then pay it to the lender to pay down my loan. Most of all, I would like a response. I do not want them to contact me directly unless it is in writing, email (*****************) or mail as I want documentation due to how unresponsive they have been. My sales guy ***** was great. Issue is with Financing.

Business Response:

Ms. ******,

I am sorry for the lack of communication from our dealership.  I am happy to hear that you had a good experience with ***** in sales.  I am more than happy to review and provide copies of any of your loan documentation.  I can answer any questions or concerns at that time. 

If you are interested in cancelling any of the additonal protections that you selected, we can make sure that is taken care of right away.  With those cancellations, those funds refund to the lender as stated in the email from your lender.  That is rule in place by the lenders in Wisconsin.

I can be reached at ###-###-#### to schedule a time to review your transaction. I am in everday except Friday.  Again, I am sorry for any frustration this has caused and I look forward to answering your questions.

**** *****

******* *******

Business Response:

We will process the cancellations effective today.  I will have the copies of the finance documents, copy of the cancellation form, and the copy of the check payble to the lender mailed to your home as you request.

Please expect to see that information early next week at your home address.  If you have any other questions please feel free to contact me direct.  I apologize for the lack of communication and appreciate your business.

**** *****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Check# ***** was received and they did send it to the lender

Regards,

 

******* ******

 

 

 

2/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a 2005 Chevy Express Van. From Ewald Auto in Cudahy. This is a work van. The salesman that sold me the van, said it was there service van. That it was well maintained and serviced. Not to worry! I had to stop two times to pick the van up. The first trip to get the van, I found the rear turn signal would not work, the driver's side mirror was cracked, and the wiper fluid would not work. On the second trip to get the van, the drivers side mirror was still broken. I was tired of coming back, so I bought a new mirror and fixed it myself.I was happy to finally have my new van. Or so I thought. I zeroed out the trip odometer. But after 564 miles, I had what I thought was a small problem. The head lights would not work. I loaded up what tools I needed, into my my wife's van to go to work that night. The next morning I backed out the van, but the break peddle went to the floor of the van, and the brake and ABS lights came on. Now I have no van for work. I contacted my local Auto technician. I managed to get the van to him for repairs. I was EXTREMELY SURPRISED to find out how many things needed repair!!! Now I have over a 2000.00 dollar repair bill. So much for Dave the salesman's reassurance on how well the van was serviced and maintained. Now I have over 9000.00 dollars in a 2005 Chevy Express work van. That according to Blue book in excellent shape is worth 7000.00 dollars. I wrote to *** **** ********* and ********* of Ewald Automotive Group. I sent them a detailed copy of the repair bill. Thinking I would receive a response to my story. But I have received nothing. The day I am writing this letter, my van would not pass emissions testing!Now it will be another trip to my Auto technician, for more repairs. I do not make that much money at my job, that I can afforded these repair BILLs!!! I have a family to take care of.

Desired Settlement: I would be very happy to have my 2000.00 dollar repair bill paid !Sincerely **** **********

Business Response:

Re: **** **********    

We received a concern letter from **** ********** in December.  I placed a call to his phone number on the 12th and left a message for a return call, and did not receive one.  The van was our facility maintenace van and was serviced by our dealership (s)duing our length of ownership.  The van was sold as is without warranty as it had 125000 miles on the van.  Our dealership did address the concerns that **** had at time of purchase.  As for the future repairs that had to be completed, those concerns were not present at the time of sale.

The letter submitted by **** listed the repairs that he is concerned about plus some additional preventative maintenance that he chose to have completed by his repair facility.  Ewald's Venus Ford was not notified of any concern after we took care of the agreed upon repairs at time of purchase.  **** had the repairs done at his repair facility and contacted us after he opted to have the repairs completed. 

With a vehicle of this age and mileage, there will be things that need to be repaired or replaced with time.  If these items were a concern at time of sale, they would have been addressed, as well as the purchase price would have been more to reflect the cost of the repairs and added value to the van. 

We are sorry for any inconvenience.

 

**** *****

******* ******

******* ***** ****

 

Consumer Response:

Hello I, am responding to Ewalds massage. I totaly disagree with what **** ***** had to say in his, massage. In regards to Ewalds trying to call me, I keep my cell phone with me 24 hours a day, seven days a week. My cell phone is my only link to the work that I do. I believe that Ewalds   did not try to contact me. In response to the vehicle be sold as is. The only reason I bought the vehicle, as is. Was because there salesmen Dave, had told me not to worry, that the van was there company van. That it was WELL MAINTANED ,Serviced regularly!!!

I did not contact Ewalds when the van had no headlights or brakes, to have them fix it. After having the experience of trying to pick the van up, after I signed the papers for the van and have some minor repairs done, according to the deal, worked out with there salesmen. I was not about to trust them again, to do any repair work. As I had stated in my first letter to you, the BBB. I had to stop at Ewalds twice to try and pick the van up. There were going to let me pick up the van with a broken drivers side mirror , a rear turn signal that did not work, and no wiper fluid would come out, when the button was pushed.   I had to stop back a second time to pick up the van. But on the second trip, the drivers side mirror was still broken!  So why would I trust them to do ANY FUTURE WORK on this van. I used some one local that I know , I could trust.

I bought the van at full blue book value, believing the salesman and people at Ewalds, that the van was worth the money, that I paid. I realize the truck was used. And in time, as in years, not WEEKS any vehicle, will need some repairs. But not 2000.00 dollars worth, after having the van for less than one month!!!

The day  Iam writing this letter, is also the day I have picked up the van again from my local Auto technician, I had a check engine light come on the van. I also received a notice from the DMV, that I needed to have the emissions test done. I took the van to a Chevy dealer in *******, emissions testing. Of course the van did not pass. But the man who was testing my van, kept looking at my license plate. And checking out the paper work he received from the DMV, according to the paper work he received from the DMV he  was testing a PASSENGER CAR, model Aveo???? After talking to a friend of mine about the  registration problem. My friend thinks Ewalds was registering the Chevy Express 2500, As a PASSENGER CAR, reason being  it is much cheaper to pay the licensing fee on a passenger car, than a full-size work van?  So now I have to figure out how to get this van registration changed to a Chevy Express work van. Not a Aveo passenger Car!!! I also learned that my work van, because of its load rating, is exempt, from having to have the emissions testing done. Some thing is definitely  not wright here!!!  My Auto technician was also very confused about the Chevy Express van being registered as a PASSENGER CAR ???? To me it only reveals more of the lies and un trust worthy ness of Ewalds.

 

I only hope that the BBB can help me out in this crazy mess that I have found my self in.

P.S I thought miss registering  a vehicle is against  the law.

Business Response:

Again as stated, the repairs that **** has completed at his mechanic are outside of any arrangement or discussion made at time of sale. We again apologize for the second trip to complete the original items of concern, as previously discussed; we had to correct an additional item at that time per our agreement.

As verified in ****'s response, our staff was not aware of and did not have a chance to verify or assist on these items outside the original purchase. The money spent with his mechanic will only improve the van he purchased (both the repairs and the preventative maintenance he chose to have completed there).

As for the titling, our dealership is bound by state statues and guidelines for procedure and fees to be collected and sent to the state with the registration/titling paperwork. I have included a copy of the CVR (Electronic Titling inquiry) for ****'s van. It clearly shows the vehicle being titled as a Chevy Van/Truck with a weight rating of 8000lbs for proper plate registration. I can only provide facts that are record with the customer, dealership, lender, and the State of Wisconsin DMV.

As with every customer, Proper fees were collected and sent to the State of Wisconsin for his van. There is nothing **** has to do with the State or DMV as his van is registered properly. Obviously his friend is misinformed regarding state titling procedure.

Further, here is the record from the last time we had to have an emissions test on the van per state requirements. Documented on the vehicle history report on CarFax and AutoCheck. We were not required since that date.

07/17/2012

WAUKESHA, WI

114,000

Motor Vehicle Dept.

PASSED EMISSION INSPECTION

As for the Maintenance of the van, we have documentation for all 58 oil changes/maintenance repairs/and various replacement of parts over the life our Maintenance Department owned the van. Fully documenting regular service, general maintenance, and some repairs/replacements we made to the van during the 8 years and 125,000 miles we owned the van.

With any vehicle, there will be repairs that occur unforeseen that have to be corrected, parts that wear a mechanic recommends to replace before they break or fail, and services that are preventative for the future. We wish **** the best with his van and hope it gives him a good level of service.

Regards,

**** *****

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Ewald's Venus Ford, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart