BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers sales, service, parts, and body shop for new and used automobiles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ewald Kia of Oconomowoc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ewald Kia of Oconomowoc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Ewald Kia of Oconomowoc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 18, 2007 Business started: 03/05/1985 in WI Business started locally: 03/05/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708
http://datcp.state.wi.us/
Phone Number: (800) 422-7128
hotline@datcp.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Eric Ewald, General Manager Ms. Christine Elliker, Executive Assistant Mr. Craig Ewald, President Mr. Tom Ewald, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Christine Elliker, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Eric Ewald, General Manager
Related Businesses
Ewald Automotive Group, LLC Mayfair Rent-A-Car, LLC Ewald's Venus Ford, LLC Ewald's Hartford Ford, LLC Ewald Chevrolet Buick Ewald Fleet Solutions, LLC Ewald's Airstream of Wisconsin Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge of Oconomowoc
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Services Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Financing

Products & Services

Ewald Kia of Oconomowoc sells the following brand(s): Chrysler , Chrysler , Dodge, Dodge, Jeep, Jeep, Ram, Ram

Ewald Kia of Oconomowoc offers the following product(s): New Vehicles, New Vehicles, Pre-Owned Vehicle(Certified), Pre-Owned Vehicle(Certified), Service & Maintenance , Service & Maintenance , Vehicle Parts & Accessories, Vehicle Parts & Accessories

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Personal Check, MC, VISA, AMEX, Discover
Industry Tips
Advanced Fee Loan Scams Advice Advanced Fee Loans Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Counterfeit Currency Credit Card Accountability, Responsibility and Disclosure (CARD) Act Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • N48W36883 Wisconsin Ave

    Oconomowoc, WI 53066 (262) 567-3400

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased warranty that the dealer refuses to return my call or cancel the manger Chris told me none of my warranty could be canceled I would like all of them canceled

Desired Settlement: For all my warranty to be canceled

Business Response: We have been in the process of reaching out to ****** ****** to come into the dealership to sign product cancelation authorizations, and in doing so we can get her request granted, processed, and completed. We left a voice mail with her today to contact us, and she is being copied on this email. As soon as she responds, we will get her issue concluded. We apologize for this taking the time it did and look forward to quick closure. ***** *****   ***** *** ** **********  ###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I receive numerous phone calls, emails and texts related to coming in for Service at the dealership after repeated requests to stop contacting me. I haven't owned the car in almost a year yet just received another call today informing me I was late for my service appointment. I have made verbal and written requests to leave me alone and I no longer have the vehicle but they have not stopped.

Desired Settlement: No more contact from Ewald Kia.

Business Response: Mr. ***********’s contact information has been expunged from the Ewald organization’s data base as of 3/10/14.  Mr. *********** will not receive any further correspondence originating from the Ewald Auto Group. We apologize to Mr. *********** for any inconvenience we may have caused him.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

If all of my data was removed from the Ewald Kia system as of 3/10, why did I recieve a voicemail on 3/11 at 10:25am CST from the **** **** ****** making sure I was happy with there Service and looks forward to remaining a long term customer. It looks like there is more than one system to have me removed from and yet I am still getting calls.

 

Regards,

***** ***********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I visited Ewald Kia on Saturday, Febraury 22, 2014. My intent was to purchase a vehicle. I was interested in the 2014 Kia Soul. In emails prior to arriving, I did inform the sales person that I had a poor credit rating. When I arrived, they instead showed me a 2008 Kia Sportage. I was disappointed, but took the vehicle for a ride, and applied to purchase it. I have them a $500.00 deposit. ********, *** ******* *******, assured me they could get me financing, and I would hear from him no later than some time Monday, the 24th. Repeated calls to the dealership Monday yielded no results, and only after I threatened to stop payment on my deposit and cancel my contract did ****, the saleswoman, call. She told me that ******** was out on Monday, and Dan was busy, but that they had banks competing for my loan and I would hear more from ******** on Tuesday. Again, repeated calls to the dealership, and no callback. Finally, **** again called, and stated ******** went home ill. Then the sales manager, Tom, got on the phone, rudely told me that ******** would call at five and hung up. ******** did call me back, to tell me that the only offer on the table was at 27% interest. I consider that usury. However, I am still trying to get financing. In my last series of emails with ********, he told me that only after my check cleared my bank (which it did Tuesday) and they had confirmation, would they return my deposit, but I wouldn't receive it for 10 days. They wasted no time in cashing that deposit, are avoiding my calls, and dealing with lending agencies who are practicing usury. I am in desperate need of a vehicle (I work two hours from home), and this $500.00 is absolutely necessary for me to obtain a vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like an IMMEDIATE refund of my $500.00. I should not have to wait 10 days. They didn't wait 24 hours cashing my check, and demanded the $500.00 down payment on Saturday. I should be able to get an immediate refund so I can purchase a vehicle elsewhere.

Business Response:

Ms. ****** came to our dealership February 22nd, 2014 with the intention of purchasing a car. She told our salesperson, **** ******* that  she had some credit problems. With Ms. ******’s permission our finance manager (******** ******) pulled her Trans Union credit report. Ms. ****** selected a 2008 Kia Sportage to purchase. Ms. ****** put a $500 down payment towards the purchase of the vehicle pending finance approval. ******** met with Ms. ****** and explained the process of submitting her application to several lenders for approval. ******** then told Ms. ****** the process of finance approval would likely take several days.  Ms. ****** called on Monday the 24th to find out the status of her loan. Ms. ****** first called for ******** ******, the finance manager, who was sick on Monday and did not come in to work.  Ms. ****** then asked for **** ******* (her salesperson) who explained that ******** was sick and would not return to work until Tuesday, February 25th, and that ******** would call her at that time. Ms. ****** was not satisified with that answer and demanded that ******** call here immediately. **** explained that ******** was not at work due to illness. Ms. ****** did not like that answer and hung up. Ms. ****** continued to call the dealership that night and ask for ********. Our receptionist (********) told Ms. ****** that ******** was not in the dealership due to illness. Ms. ****** called several times before 8:00pm (our closing time) and asked for ********, and then immediately hung up when she was told that ******** was not at work.

 

The next day Ms. ****** called for ******** at 9:30am. ******** was with a customer and could not take the call.  Ms. ****** then called **** several times, threatening a BBB complaint if ******** would not immediately answer her call. Ms. ****** then demanded to speak to the person in charge. I was the person at that time. I explained to Ms. ****** that ******** would call her today and explain her options. She was not happy with that answer and hung up on me. I immediately called Ms. ****** back and she berated me for hanging up on her (which I did not do), and then promptly hung up on me.  ******** called Ms. ****** later that day and explained that he has two finance approvals for her. Ms. ****** was not happy with the terms of the loans and accused ******** of usury. She then demanded her $500 deposit back. ******** explained she would get her deposit refunded to her when her checked cleared the bank (typically a ten day waiting period). She again accused ******** of usury and hung up. I have subsequently called Ms. ****** to explain the process of returning her refund to her but she has not returned my call. 

We then received Ms. ******’s complaint.

 

Here are specific answers to Ms. ******’s concerns:

 

1.       We will return Ms. ******’s $500 when her check clears our bank.

2.       We were always patient, courteous and informative with Ms. ******.

3.       We do have Ms. ******’s purchase approved and she can still take delivery of the vehicle she selected.

 

Business Response:

Dear Mr. **********,

 

Ms. ****** acknowledged receipt of her $500 deposit on Friday, March 7th via the postal service. We apologize to Ms. ****** for any inconvenience we may have caused her during our interactions with her.  

 

Sincerely,

 

*** at Kia

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they failed to disclose the fact that the odometer reading was not actual. now I cannot trade this vehicle in, at any other dealership. they did not respond to a personal visit, and two phone cal

Desired Settlement: Ewald buys back this vehicle, at original selling price, and compensate for our trade-in.

Business Response:

I really need to know which store location this comes from with it dating back to 2009

 

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* *******

 

Consumer Response: In response to your request for the store location.

Ewald Chrysler, LLC
***** * *********
********** ** *****

******


Thank You
 ******* *******

Business Response: In response to the miles not actual concern on the ******** ***.  We have made progress in resolving the concern from Mr. *******.  This is a clerical error in which we will assist in getting corrected.  After contacting the DMV, they have confirmed what has to be done to correct the title to actual miles, therefore correcting any concern of trade value for Mr *******.

We apologize for the concern, as the miles not actual was not apparent when we traded for the car.  Will will make sure that it is corrected and the information we have so far is below.  We will contact Mr. ******* with an update when we receive the necessary forms in dealership from the state and when he can expect a resolve.

Regards,

**** *****

General Manager.

 

 

From our business manager and title clerk assisting me with the correction:

Here is the progress i've made so far:I contacted WI dept of motor vehicle and found out what started the problem. When the previous customer bought this vehicle from the dealer in IL, they did not write the actual miles on the title. When the previous customer titled the vehicle in WI, the clerk at motor vehicle stamped it 'not actual miles' because it was not written on the title.June, the woman i spoke to at dmv, said we needed two MV2488 forms. One has to be filled out from the original owner from IL, and the other one filled out by our customer that traded the car. When we have both forms, we send those along with the ******* title(NOT SIGNED) to DMV. They will re issue a WI title and send to *******.The MV2488 forms are not online, and had to be requested direct from the Madison office. I faxed in the order form on 04-16-2012 @ 3:01pm. Order time is about 7-10 business days.

As soon as the forms are in house, we can figure out logistics on getting the forms signed.  Both parties have agreed to assist us in getting the forms signed and then we can get to Mr. *******.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

I disagree with the resolution offer from Ewald. It is too little too late.

I had an opportunity to sell this vehicle in the recent past, but was unable to, because the title is branded.

I've tried several times myself, to get Ewald to go through the steps to clear my title, but they ignored my requests!

Finally after several months, and this complaint to the BBB of Wisconsin, they decide that NOW is is the time to help their costumer.

I should be compensated for all my frustration and problems which resulted from their managements poor handling of this situation.

Therefore they should be required to buy the vehicle back now, according to my original complaint, so I do not have to wait even longer for other parties; i.e. previous owners, DMV, to send replies.

I've had to wait long enough for a suitable resolution.


Regards,

******* *******

 

 

Business Response:

We have confirmation from the State of Wisconsin that the necessary paperwork has been mailed to us as of yesterday to correct the miles concern.  Our rep their stated that we can correct this concern for the customer.  Once we have the paperwork, it requires a signature from the previous owner (which has been notified and is cooperative) and the previous out of state owner (which has also been notified and is cooperative) and finally Mr ******* to give us the title he has.  We then will send this in to Wisconsin DMV and they will process a new title corrected and sent to the customer.  This will take a bit of time to correct.

We will buy the car back from the customer if they so choose at current market value of said ******** *** based on physical condition, mechanical condition and current miles.  We will factor that the miles are actual and would request the further cooperation of Mr. ******* to sign the necessary paperwork to correct the concern. As this will be corrected whether we buy the car or if he chooses to keep it.  This type of mileage concern is not uncommon with the various reporting agencies and changes to some of the laws here in Wisconsin in the past 3 or so years.  If Mr. ******* would like to have his vehicle appraised and an offer made, he may contact me direct at ###-###-####.  I will be out of the office May 2 - 7th.  Our used car manager Tim can also assist in my absence during that week.

Thank you

**** *****

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

I am concerned that Ewalds "fair market value" would not be the same, or close to other dealerships around the area.

I will contact Mr. Ewald, or his associate on Friday May 11, to set up an appointment to discuss this matter in more detail.

Regards,

 ******* *******

 

 

Business Response:

I will be prepared to resolve this with Mr. *******.  We have the other 2 signatures on the paperwork in process right now to correct the milese not actual status.

Thanks

Eric

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

I am currently working with Mr Ewald to resolve this matter.

I will keep the BBB notified of our progress as we go forth.

Regards,

******* *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2008 **** *** ******* from named business in Feb. 2011. I have had numerous issues with Ewald since the purchase and they don't stand behind their product. I needed ne brakes after 4 months of owning the vehicle and was told it was my fault. Today I took my van in for an oil change and was told by the service department that I would soon be needing new brakes again and new tires. I told the service woman that I just had my brakes replaced in June and I had purchased new tires 2 weeks ago! When she went back to check with the gentleman who actually worked on my car they stated my brakes were at 50% and they had made a mistake about my tires. This isn't the first time they have given me trouble and I know of others who have similar issues with their service.

Desired Settlement: I would like to give them the vehicle back and never have to deal with them again!

Business Response:

We sincerely apologize to Ms. ****** for her inconvenience at her last service visit.  Upon investigation and review of the situation, it was found that both the service technician and the service advisor made a carless mistake.  The service technician had two minivans in adjacent work stalls and inadvertently exchanged the vehicle inspections.  Our service advisor did not verify the inspection against the repair order, leading to the delivery of faulty information to Ms. ******.  The service technician was written up with a disciplinary warning.  The service advisor was suspended for a day for the carless mistake and lack of attention to detail.  We are willing to provide Ms. ****** with a one year maintenance plan for her inconvenience or will work with her to trade her into a different vehicle.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  My husband and I will pay a visit to Ewald Saturday January 14 to discuss the resolution.  Please provide me with a name of person you would like us to speak with and a time that they will be available. 

Regards,

**** ******

 

Business Response:

Please have **** ****** Contact **** ***** / General Manager for an apppointment on Saturday January 14th he can be reached at  ###-###-####

 

Thank you

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.