Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers sales, service, parts, and body shop for new and used automobiles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 25, 2009 Business started: 07/14/1994 in WI Business started locally: 07/14/1994 Business incorporated 07/14/1994 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Christine Elliker, Executive Assistant Mr. Craig Ewald, President Mr. Tom Ewald, Vice President Mr. Andrew Petty, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Christine Elliker, Executive Assistant
Related Businesses
Ewald Automotive Group, LLC Mayfair Rent-A-Car, LLC Ewald's Venus Ford, LLC Ewald's Hartford Ford, LLC Ewald Chevrolet Buick Ewald Fleet Solutions, LLC Ewald's Airstream of Wisconsin Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge of Oconomowoc
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Services Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Financing New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge, LLC
Industry Tips
Advanced Fee Loans Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Counterfeit Currency Credit Card Accountability, Responsibility and Disclosure (CARD) Act Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6319 S 108th St

    Franklin, WI 53132 (414) 427-2000 (888) 713-2906

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2015 jeep Cherokee on September 24th 2015 from Ewald Chysler Jeep Dodge RAM in Franklin,Wi. Before we purchased this vehcile on 23rd, we wanted to cancel this and we did not sign any papers at the time. We also had a trade in which was a 2012 Toyota Corolla that was still being financed by heritage credit union. My husband called to cancel it and they wouldn't let us cancel over the phone. My husband and I went in the next day on the 24th and got sucked in to signing the papers. My husband and I leased the vehicle, we signed the papers and weren't told much information. The salesmen never told us the information about the buyout price. We tried to return the vehicle for a lower price, but the owner and salesmen weren't cooperating with us. As a couple days went on, we just decided to keep the vehicle. As of today 10/6/15 I had called our bank (US BANK) that we leased this vehcile to see if the dealership Ewald payed off the Toyota Corolla. It turns out, after almost 2 weeks Ewald has still not payed hertiage off the loan for the Corolla, which means I will be owing a payment of the Corolla and the jeep when Ewald was suppose to pay off the Corolla loan.

Desired Settlement: I would like this solved. This is wrong and I don't know why after 2 weeks Ewald has not payed off my previous loan with heritage. Now I will be owing car payments, when I should only be owing one for the Jeep.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

 

    We appreciate Mr. and Mrs. ********'s concerns and take all concerns very serious. I looked into their concerns and found all of them to be addressed. The only outstanding concern was with the payoff of their traded vehicle. We talked with their lender and worked through the concern. We were made aware when we contacted the lender that the payoff given by the lender did not include the daily interest. The lender was very accommodating in working with us to resolve the outstanding debt. It was not the dealerships intent or the lenders intent for the consumer to have this issue. Once we were informed there was a short payment by Mr. and Mrs. ******** we reached out and cleared up the concern. We are very sorry for any inconvenience.

 

Sincerely,

****** ***** ******* *******

Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

 

Attached you will find a copy of the check made payable to US Bank for the amount of $739.20. This check was mailed to US Bank on November 13th 2015. The check is for the refund of the Carcare Service Plan. This was included in to the lease.

 

Sincerely,

 

****** ***** ******* *******

Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge

Consumer Response: Now ewald is saying they emailed the check to U.S Bank on November 13th but they couldn't call and tell us that until Noevember 30th. I also called US bank and they said they did not receive this check and asked for a check number which I do not have. This company tells lies after lies, I will not be dealing or shopping there anymore and there is still no coupon book after 2 months. I will not be giving those coupons to Ewald, I will be throwing them away.

12/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 9th we went into this location and signed paperwork for a 2015 Chevy Impala. We were guaranteed by a ****** ****** that the car was the body we wanted and asked for. We were asked to put $100 deposit down to hold the car at there other dealership in Oconomowoc. Come Tuesday, November 10th we were advised by Judy at the Oconomowoc location that the car was the old body style which was not the car we wanted. I spoke with Mr. ****** on November 12th regarding getting my $100 deposit back and he advised me the refund would be processed on November 13th. Here it is now November 18th and I still haven't received my refund. I keep getting the run around when I talk with Mr ******. I also spoke with the sales manager *** **** who was suppose to be checking into the matter and giving me a call back which has not happened and that call was made on Monday, November 16th. Mr **** also advised me that it only takes 24 hrs for a refund to be put back into my account.

Desired Settlement: I would like my deposit refunded so I can go somewhere else and find a car to purchase.

Consumer Response: On Fri, Dec 4, 2015 at 2:14 AM, Ms *** <*****************> wrote:

Hello *******,

Yes, the company did finally reach out to me regarding the refund of my deposit.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

Mr. ******* has been refund his deposit.

Sincerely

****** *****

Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge

******* *******

7/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: tried to purchase a car from Ewald. They have tags on all their cars they match prices of other dealers. They refused to match dealer incentive of another dealer clearly advertised. I did not get the $500.00 promised due to them not meeting the price either. Finance guy said "Don't we deserve to make money on this deal" when I asked about the price match.

Desired Settlement: match the price with something for extra stress I had to go through or pay me the $500.00

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

Ms. ** **** and I have reviewed her concerns over the phone. We see there are special incentives that the original dealer had listed online that not everyone would qualify for. We are going to get together in the next few days and review her price based on her eligibility. We will update the BBB with our resolve.

 

Sincerely,

 

Andrew P****

******* *******

Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge

 


7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/3/15 I purchased a used 2012 Jeep Patriot from Ewald's Chrysler Jeep Dodge RAM in Franklin, WI (**** * ***** *** ********* ** *****). At the time of purchase I was working with the finance manager by the name of Brad E***. I chose to finance the car with a loan from First Merit Bank. The loan was coordinated by the finance department of the dealer. I was told on the evening that I purchased the vehicle that the title would be filed and that the lender would receive the title and I would receive the confirmation of ownership documentation within 2 weeks. At the time I purchased the car, my residency was in the state of IL so the agreement was that I was going to register the car in IL and pay all applicable state taxes/fees upon return to IL. Due to a job change, I actually relocated to WI a few weeks later. I chose not to register the car in IL and I registered the car in the state of WI prior to the expiration of my 30 day temp plate on the new vehicle. On 4/27/15 I registered the car with the state of WI and paid all the appropriate fees/taxes. I was told at that time the title application was still pending formwork processing. (Basically the state told me they were waiting on the appropriate title documentation to be sent to them from the dealer). Several weeks passed and on 5/6/15 I sent an email to Brad asking for his guidance on what should be done as I had still not received any of the ownership documentation. I was not sure if this was an issue that should be handled by the bank or if it was something that should be dealt with at the dealer. Given my limited knowledge/expertise in the area of dealership formwork/processes when it comes to vehicle purchases, I naturally was looking for guidance from the individual who I worked with and signed all of the paperwork with. I received no response from Brad and after a week of waiting I sent a follow up email to him on 5/14/15 again requesting his assistance. Again…no response whatsoever. I thought perhaps this was an issue with the bank, so I called my bank’s customer service line on 6/3/15. They confirmed for me that they never received a copy of the title and that this was something the dealer was supposed to file back at the time of purchase. They informed me that they were going to contact the dealer as well considering their interest in the title, but that I should contact them as well to get this straightened out. Since I had not heard back from Brad with the dealer, I chose to try and reach out directly to both the general manager (******) and the finance manager (Ryan) through the dealer’s web site contact information. I sent a direct message to both managers via the company web site expecting an expeditious response. However… I received no response at all from either manager. On 6/17/15 at approx. 10am, I placed a call directly to the dealer and asked to speak with a manager regarding my concern. I was told by receptionist, Kate, that no one was available but that my message would be passed on and expedited. I received no returned call for several hours and I decided to place another call to the dealer at approx. 3pm. This time I spoke with a different receptionist by the name of Kathy. Again I was told that no one was available to help me with this issue and that my message would be forwarded/expedited. Finally I received a call back from the finance manager, Ryan, at 6:30pm. I explained to him my concern and asked that he look into whether or not the dealer ever filed the title with the state as I was told by the bank that this was something that was to be completed by the dealer. I expressed my concern that if this was not processed that I would be lacking the necessary documentation to demonstrate my ownership of the vehicle. Ryan proceeded to tell me that the person at the bank I spoke with probably just didn’t know what they were talking about and he was sure they did the right thing and I shouldn’t worry about it. He performed a “title inquiry report” through the WI DMV and confirmed that the car was registered with the state and it all looked legitimate. I explained to him that I did register the vehicle, but that the state informed me at the time of registration that the title was “pending” until the title was filed by the dealer. I told Ryan that I would double check with the DMV and follow up with him on this issue. I called the DMV the next morning (6/18/15) and confirmed with a representative from the research department that the title was never filed by the dealer and that this was an error stemming from the dealer. I was informed that I need to contact the dealer and make sure that they appropriately file the title with the state so they could process the application and issue a title out. The DMV was very clear that this was something that should have been done by the dealer and I should contact them right away to get this straightened out before too much more time passed. Immediately following my conversation with the DMV, I called Ryan at the dealership. He proceeded to tell me that he would check with the title clerk as this is not something that would be his responsibility. He said that he had no idea why this wouldn’t have been done as they usually complete this within 7 days of the vehicle transaction. I was informed he would check on this right away and get back to me on this. Several days have since passed… still no word. I placed a call on Monday morning of 6/22/15 and left a VM for Ryan again asking for his assistance to get this issue corrected so that we can appropriately get the title documentation processed….still no call has been returned. At this time I still possess no ownership documentation of a vehicle that I purchased over 10 weeks ago as a result of the dealer’s error. While this seems to be a simple problem with a simple solution…it actually has a dramatic impact on my overall ownership of the vehicle considering I do not have a title on a car that I own and make payments on. Worst of all, I can’t seem to get anyone at the dealer to take any sort of responsibility in correcting this error, let alone get them to simply respond to a simple call or email.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the business to file the appropriate documentation with the state so that the appropriate title can be issued by the state of WI documenting my ownership and interest in the vehicle I purchased. I would like for the dealership to take responsibility and provide a level of customer service that a normal customer would expect to receive in resolving an issue that has a direct impact on the customer's purchase of the vehicle. The dealer certainly did not seem to have a problem taking my money or filing the correct paperwork on the trade-in vehicle that I sold to them...but I can't seem to get them to work with me regarding the vehicle they sold me.

Business Response:

Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge is very sorry for the inconvenience of the titling error. Below you will see the state of events.

-Sent registration into the state 5/1/15, we were waiting for title from Ally since it was a previous lease.

 

-Customer wanted titled with IL address but they had previous WI address so we had to send it in to the state in place of using our online service CVR.

 

6/24- Ryan our business manager asked me Michele our title clerk to call the DMV about this, I was told to see if the check had been cashed and to call back.

 

6/25- Called back, there were 8 registrations sent in the same envelope on 5/1, all the checks were cashed except for the one in question. The lady from the DMV- Agent Partnership Unit emailed all registration processors so keep an eye out for this application. She took my call back number. We never received a call back.

 

6/26- Called back, we were told that the title was probably siting on someone’s desk and we just had to wait for them to process it.

 

7/6 the state of WI titled the vehicle.

 

We hope that all the concerns where satisfied.

Sincerely,

 

****** P****

Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** ******

 

 

 

6/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 17,2015 I purchased a 2013 Dodge Caravan & from day 1 I had issues with the vehicle burning anti freeze, a loud clunk in engine & key fab only works on drivers side. On April 30th 2015 I took the vehicle in for service & attempted to get the vehicle repaired. I was told by the service department they did not want my vehicle there because there was an issue with the vehicle prior to me purchasing it. I than attempted to possibly look at trading the vehicle in for a different one. They ran my credit 9-12 times which had brought my credit score down approximately 90 points in 45 minutes, so I was than denied a new loan due to this issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like Ewald to repair my credit issue that they intentionally did, so I could not obtain a loan because they do not want the vehicle back due to the issues with it. I want a new vehicle & an apology as well.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 

I have scheduled a meeting to review Mr. ****'s concerns. We have an appointment on Monday the 8th of June at 4pm.

 

Sincerely

Andrew P**** ******* *******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

We have resolved the issue with Ewald Chrysler  to my satisfaction.  I appreciate your help with the issue.  If I have any other issues I will contact you.

Regards,

 

 

***** ****




 

 

 

6/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My new 2015 jeep Cherokee have to go in for service at 260 miles. This service was for (parking break service light was on and service antilock break light went on). They couldn't find anything wrong. I went to my car after it was serviced and I had a chip in the paint on the passengers rear door and a mark on the front passengers door. Service manager admitted it was their fault and said he would take care of it and sent me to their body shop. Told him I didn't have time to take it their right away and was going on vacation, would have to take it in after. I toke the car in and dropped it off on a Friday, needed a shuttle ride home someone messed up and I waited a hour for a ride home (the person doing the shuttles toke off to pick someone up and for got to get me in the waiting room, someone else had to give me a ride). I talked to body shop and got the news that now my brand new car with 260 miles at the time of problem and now 500 miles needs to have two doors painted. With something that was not my fault and now I'm going to be stuck with a brand new car that is already having body work done. I scheduled a shuttle to pick me up to pick up my car the day of I called just to make sure and no one new anything about it. They had to send two people to drop my car off at home. My car shows up and the quality of the body work was rushed and unfinished. On top of poor quality of body work their is a scratch on the plastic body armor of the front passengers door. I sent the car back. I talked to Andrew ***** the general manager of the store an he said he was going to make it right the car was going to come back to me just like the day I bought it detailed inside and out (not that it needed it it's brand new already clean inside). Also with a full tank of gas for it going back and fourth 4 times for something that shouldn't have in the first place. I got the car back with dirt on the floor mat and half a tank of gas. The body shop guy (I think his name was ****) was rude about the panel being scratched and said all of them were scratched and it wasn't getting replaced. It was not like that when I dropped it off. I have the car back after a week long of them having it and the plastic molding kick panel is still scratched and I don't see scratched on any other body panels like he claimed to be.

Desired Settlement: I am so upset about having a new car with body work just done on it and it was not any of my fault. I feel that I am really not going to be happy with this car in the long run. At this time I would like Ewald to suggest something they could do and actually do what they say.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 

I have been in contact with Mr. ********. We have resolved all of his concerns and look forward to servicing him in the future.

 

Sincerely

****** *****

General Manager

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** ********

 

 

 

4/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/8/2014, I visited the auto repair service at Ewald in Franklin, WI . A rattling noise was coming from the passenger side of my 2007 Chrysler 300 (27,000 miles) when I encountered rough road. The service was to check the car and provide me with advice on what needed to be repaired. I authorized Ewald to complete the work required to fix the problem to the tune of $674.51. After driving the car, I knew that the problem still existed. I took the car back to have them take another look on 8/28,and was advised that the upper control arm ball joints have a minor free play. There was no charge for this visit, and the noise is occurring. On 9/9, I had the dealership pick up the car, because I felt driving it was unsafe. I became frustrated when the service person called to tell me that the towing charges would be waived. I felt that if the car was repaired correctly in the first place, I would not have needed the tow. My feeling is that the dealership did not make the necessary repairs to correct the problem and I should be refunded the amount I paid for the repairs. I picked my car up on 9/9, without having them look at it further.

Desired Settlement: I had faith that the dealership would service my car properly, but was mistaken. I want my money back because I feel they did not fix the problem and I need to find someone who will.

Business Response:

August, 17th 2014

To Whom It May Concern

Below you will find Mr. ********'s visits to the dealership and his concerns at each visit.

8/8/2014, 27,327 miles, The vehicle came in with a customer concern of “ There is a rattling type noise coming from the passenger side of the vehicle when going over bumps”. The technician found a loose joint and torn bushing on the right side radius link, and a torn bushing on the left side radius link. Both links were authorized by *** ***** and replaced. Cost to *** ***** of $674.51

8/28/2014, 27,519 miles, The vehicle came back in with a customer concern of “There is a clunking noise heard when going over bumps”. The technicians inspection found slight looseness in the upper ball joints. The customer was advised and took the vehicle. No charges to the customer.

9/8/2014, 27652 miles, The vehicle was towed in due to the customer stating he felt unsafe driving it, same clunking concern as last visit. The technicians inspection found the same thing as the last visit, with the addition of some slight play in the steering column coupler. *** ***** came in to the dealership to pick up the vehicle and drove it away. No mention of feeling unsafe after he was told that the issues he has now is unrelated to the repair he had previously.

This vehicle had multiple problems from the start, but the technician addressed *** *****s original concern on the original visit. The original concern at Mr. ********'s visit “rattle on the right side of the vehicle” was corrected on the first visit as there was no further mention of that concern on the last two visits.

 

*** ***** ******* ******** ***** ******** **** ***** *** **** ** ***** ****** ********* *** *****

P ###-###-####

F ###-###-####

********************

9/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2012 Chevy Camaro from Ewald Dodge on May 5,2014 and Protection Package Plan for $ 1642.00 added to the price of the car. Also I was promised free oil change coupon book which I never received along with the paperwork covering the Package Protection Plan. They promised to mail those items to me a few days after I left the dealership with my Camaro. I made a few calls and trip to the dealership after a week or so because I never got thoses items in the mail. The times that I visited the dealership was almost totally ignored trying to resolve this problem. I received a letter from ****** ***** thanking me for buy the car from his dealership. After receivering this letter I called him asking him where is the coupons for free oil changes and my Protection Package I was told in 3 or 4 days I would receive this material. Well after going to the dealership and phone calls I still have no paperwork that was promised me from the Ewald Dodge Dealership.

Desired Settlement: A letter why they have yet to send me the promised Package Protection paperwork and free oil change coupon book and have them mail me all this paperwork. Thank You, **** *********

Business Response:

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Complaint ID ********

 

To Whom It May Concern

**** * ********* purchased a 2012 Chevy Camaro from Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram on May 5th 2014. He did option to include Fidelity Car Care Maintenance Pkg. Ewald offers this through our vendor **** *****. When **** purchased his vehicle he gave us an address to title the vehicle. Ewald not being aware this address was a P.O. Box. Our partners **** ***** do not mail direct to P.O. Boxes. This is where the issue originated. Once we sell a product it is entered into a reporting site where we fill out the information and it gets mailed to the customer within 60 days. When Mr. ********* purchased he was made aware it could take up to 60 day to ship to him.  When Mr. ********* contacted me I reiterated that this item can take up to 60 day to be delivered and I asked for his current mailing address and correct spelling of his name. I wanted to make sure there was not an error on our end when processing the order. I then gave the information to my business manager **** ******* who Mr. ********* did is final paperwork with. She placed a second order requesting the booklet of information and coupons to be mailed to him. We did not hear anything further. Not hearing anything further we assumed the item was delivered. After receiving this complaint I contacted our rep at **** ***** to reference Mr. *********s concerns of not receiving his booklet of coupons. They informed me at that time his address was a P.O. Box and had been returned to them twice. I then instructed them to send it directly to me at the dealership. When we received it we contacted Mr. ********* and requested a new mailing address where we could over night the booklet. Mr. ********* replied with he would be in town the following day and pick it up. A week later Mr. ********* stopped by the dealership and picked up his booklet. We hope this resolves any outstanding concerns. Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram number on concern is our customer satisfaction.

 

Sincerely,

 

****** *****

******* ******* ***** ******** **** ***** *** **** * ***** ** ********* ** ***** ************

3/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In my opinion, this was the classic "bait and switch" We traveled to this dealership because of the discounts and incentives offered to me by the sales person over the phone. After verbally reviewing the deal in person with the salesperson, I was ready to sign the purchase agreement and get going because I had to get to work. We were then given a sales pitch by another sales person to try to sell us body protection coating, bed liner, tonneau cover, etc, to which I declined and again stated that I needed to get going as quickly as possible in order to make it to work on time. In my opinion, they took advantage of the situation and when it finally came time to sign the purchase agreement, now all of a suddent they were in a big hurry to get me going and I signed the agreement and away I went so I could get to work. A week or so later, upon reviewing the purchase agreement, I found that there was a $5,000 difference in the deal that we had made verbally. I checked this against what I had written down at the dealership when making the deal with the salesperson and there was $5000 tacked on. I called the dealership and expressed my displeasure at what had transpired and got nothing but the run a round. I contacted Chrysler Corporate and they did nothing.

Desired Settlement: I work very hard for my money and don't like what happened at Ewald Doge Ram in Oconomowoc. I would like an apology for what they did as well as a refund check for the $5000 that I feel they owe me. My wife and I had just pulled into the parking lot at a local dealership when Ewald's salesperson called me and offered me the deal and incentives on their vehicle. We were happy with their offer and we left the local dealership and traveled 1 hour north to Oconomowoc to purchase the vehicle. I t turned our first time Dodge buying experience from very pleasurable into one of feeling "duped" . We can only wonder how many other peoples have had this happen to them.

Business Response:

Mr. **********:

 

Response to the complaint by Mr. **** ****** (complaint #*******) is as follows:

 

On 17 March 2014 at about 1257 hours I was notified, via email, of the BBB complaint initiated by Mr. **** ******.

 

On 18 November 2013 Mr. ****** contacted Sales Consultant ***** **** at Ewald Chrysler of Oconomowoc in reference to purchasing a new RAM truck from our location.  Mr. **** discussed pricing and trade-in values telephonically with Mr. ****** who ultimately agreed to travel to the dealership in order to continue with the negotiations.  Upon his arrival, Mr. ****** and Mr. **** viewed the vehicle in question, a 2013 RAM 1500 Crew Cab 4x4 pickup truck equipped with the Sport package.    After viewing the vehicle and appraising Mr. ******'s vehicle, a 2011 Chevrolet Cruze ECO, Mr. ****** and Mr. **** agreed on a purchase price of $44,900 plus taxes and fees. Mr. **** ******, the *** ******* ***** ******* assisted in preparing the quotes that were presented to Mr. ****** for his approval. There were also $4,000 of Chrysler factory incentives that Mr. ****** qualified for and his "out-the-door" price was shown as $41,301.05.  Mr. ****** was provided a purchase order worksheet reflecting these numbers and he signed this worksheet to indicate his approval of them on the line labeled "customer approval".  A copy of this form (exhibit #1) is included with this response.

 

Mr. ****** was introduced to our Delivery and Product Specialist, Ms. ******** ******* for purposes of customizing his new vehicle and instruction related to technological features on the new vehicle.

 

Mr. ****** was next introduced to Ms. ****** *****, *** ******** ******* for the dealership.  As Ms. ***** began the process of completing the necessary paperwork to deliver the vehicle, Mr. ****** stopped the process and said that he was entitled to purchase the vehicle at the Chrysler Employee discount price.  Ms. ***** contacted Mr. ****** who recalculated the entire deal after verifying Mr. ******'s right to purchase the vehicle as a Chrysler Employee.  The Chrysler Employee price for the vehicle was listed, by Chrysler Corporation, on the invoice of the vehicle as $43,294. A copy of this invoice is included with this response (exhibit #2).  Mr. ****** was granted the privilege to purchase the vehicle at this lower price and was also granted the same $4,000 in factory incentives from Chrysler.  After the taxes, fees and additional taxable portion (all administered in complete compliance with the laws of the State of Wisconsin and the rules and regulations governing the Chrysler Employee Purchase program), Mr. ******'s out-the-door price dropped to $40,698.37, a savings of $602.68 over what Mr. ****** had previously negotiated and agreed to, even after Mr. ****** chose to purchase GAP protection from Ms. ***** at a cost of $650.  Ms. ***** delivered the vehicle completing all necessary paperwork, and requiring all relevant signatures from Mr. ****** and then allowed him to depart with the new vehicle. A State of Wisconsin Motor Vehicle Purchase Contract was completed and signed by Mr. ******.  A copy of this form is included with this response (exhibit #3).  The entire transaction was video and audio recorded in agreement with Ewald Automotive Group policies.  A written notification allowed Mr. ****** to be aware that the transaction was being monitored and recorded for the protection of Mr. ****** and the Ewald Automotive Group.

 

On 26 November 2013 I received an e-mail from Mr. ****** indicating that he did not understand the terms of his recent purchase and asked me to view the deal and explain it to him.  On 30 November 2014 I contacted Mr. ****** by telephone and reviewed my findings with him.  I explained to Mr. ****** that the vehicle was delivered to him at a price lower than he agreed to due to the fact that he qualified for the Chrysler Employee Purchase Program.  I also reminded Mr. ****** that, as a participant of the Chrysler Employee Purchase Program, he is to be aware that no dealership is authorized to deviate from the EP Employee Purchase price listed on the invoice by Chrysler Corporation for any reason.  I also made Mr. ****** aware that, while previously reviewing the deal, I did locate a mathematical error in his favor and told him that I was sending him a check for $100.01, which I did immediately.  The check was mailed to Mr. ****** on 30 November 2014 and a copy of the check is included with this response (exhibit #4).  Prior to terminating the telephone call I asked Mr. ****** if I had answered all of his questions and he replied that he understood what I had told him, but would be contacting Chrysler Corporation for additional resolution. 

 

I had no further contact with Mr. ****** from that point.

 

Ewald Chrysler of Oconomowoc acted in good faith and in complete compliance with all laws of the State of Wisconsin, rules of the Chrysler Corporation and established standards of proper business practice in executing this transaction.  Ewald Chrysler of Oconomowoc values Mr. ****** as a customer and a patron of our brand, and we apologize for any misunderstanding of the established Chrysler Employee Purchase Program on behalf of the corporation.

 

No further information.

 

 

 

12/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2005 Jeep Wrangler from Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge, LLC in May 2013. I purchased the extended drive-train warranty with the vehicle. The vehicle is lifted, and that’s the way I got it from the dealer. I have not made any modifications to the vehicle since I bought it. November 14th I took the vehicle to the dealer because the transmission was grinding and it had a severe “wobble” on the front suspension. After their initial review, the service advisor told me extended warranty won’t cover the repair of the transmission because the vehicle was lifted. Also it won’t cover the cost of fixing the suspension wobble because it is not part of the drive-train (I am OK with this). I had to chase the ********* ******* ******* (****** *****) for two weeks to get a resolution on the warranty to cover the cost of repairing the transmission. Mr. ***** never returned my e-mails or phone-calls, so the only way to talk to him was to go directly to the dealer and step in front of his office until he had the time to assist me. Mr. ***** told me they should have never sold this vehicle to me, and offered me to trade for a different vehicle. I guess after he realized all the work needed on the vehicle (new transmission, new clutch, new brakes, new tie rods, new stering wheel knuckles, etc), the option of trading for a different vehicle just vanished. Finally the transmission was repaired under warranty and I goy my vehicle back on December 13th (four weeks after I first dropped it), but they won’t fix the suspension problem (even if I pay for it) because it has aftermarket parts and they cannot do anything about it. Now I have a vehicle with a severe suspension problem that makes it a hazard to drive, and the dealer that sold me the vehicle won’t fix it. I bought the car form a “reputable” dealer because I thought they will stand behind what they sell, but obviously this is not the case.

Desired Settlement: Option 1: Have the dealer honor its promise of trading this vehicle for a different one. Option 2: Have the dealer fix the “wobble” on the front suspension.

Business Response:

To Whom it may concern:

 

This message is in reply to BBB complaint number *******.  We take the concerns of all of our customers very seriously and when we are aware of concerns we do everything in our ability o resolve them.  In this case our client Mr. ******* purchased a 2005 Jeep Wrangler ID # ***************** on May 14th, 2013 with 69,186 miles.  The vehicle was represented on the Wisconsin Buyers Guide  AS IS.  There were no dealer warranties express or implied.  Mr *******'s Wrangler qualified for a 36 month 36,000 Powertrain Warranty which he paid $1,532 plus sales tax.  The vehicle service agreement does not cover maintenance items.  Suspension components like batteries, belts, hoses, tires, filters etc. are subject to wear and are not included.  This is also stated in writing on the policy.

 

On November 14th we opened Repair Order #****** listing several concerns which were: 1. Transmission was grinding when shifting, 2. Check out a minor oil leak and 3. Look into a wobble in the front end.  It had been 6 months since Mr. ******* took delivery so we also were asked to do an oil change too.  After we diagnosed the concerns Mr ******* was contacted with a follow up.  Initially the claim to Fidelity warranty services was partially denied but after explaining the problem in more detail, they agreed to pay the entire claim less the $100 deductible.  In addition while we had the transmission out our team recommended we replace the clutch plate.  Mr. ******* agreed to pay for the parts and Ewald absorbed the 3 hours of labor related to the clutch repair.  The total value of the covered components and the no charge clutch replacement labor was $3803 of which Mr. ******* paid $100 deductible.

 

Circling back to the wobble, due to the fact the Jeep has oversize off road tires our first attempt to resolve the concern was to balance the wheels. We determined there was some normal wear as any 70,000 plus mile Wrangler would have.  It was not an unsafe condition and at the time, fell well within the Guidelines of Trans 139 on the state safety inspection.  The wobble symptom was coming from an aftermarket link that works with the tie rod and control arm.  It’s unlikely the concern existed after our original inspection, the customer’s initial test drive, and the initial miles driven after delivery.  There is no way to tell what could have happened in the 6 months Mr. ******* drove his Jeep after delivery.  We are happy to arrange a repair to replace the worn components but as they are not covered under any warranty, nor was anything misrepresented, it would have to be repaired at Mr. *******’s expense.  We are happy to facilitate things and do it at a discount in the name of customer good will. 

 

Mr. ******* has a unique one of a kind Jeep as is with many of our Wrangler owners.  The essence of the Jeep experience is one of individuality and independence.  The Jeep Wrangler is one of the most sought after vehicles around and therefore has hundreds of thousands of aftermarket upgrades available to personalize the vehicle.  Where one owner made Mr. *******’s Jeep what it is, hopefully he will see the value to continue to make his Jeep one of a kind and maintain it.  We would like to thank the BBB for facilitating the concerns noted and wish to keep an open door to provide Mr. ******* excellent service.

 

Thank you- ****** ***** ***** ** *** *** ***** ******* ********

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

**** *******

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart