Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers sales, service, parts, and body shop for new and used automobiles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ewald Chevrolet Buick meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ewald Chevrolet Buick include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Ewald Chevrolet Buick
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 24, 2009 Business started: 08/27/1981 in WI Business started locally: 08/27/1981 Business incorporated 08/27/1981 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jody Schutte, General Manager Ms. Christine Elliker, Executive Assistant Mr. Craig Ewald, President Mr. Tom Ewald, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Christine Elliker, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Jody Schutte, General Manager
Related Businesses
Mayfair Rent-A-Car, LLC Ewald's Venus Ford, LLC Ewald Kia of Oconomowoc Ewald's Hartford Ford, LLC Ewald Chevrolet Buick Ewald Fleet Solutions, LLC Ewald's Airstream of Wisconsin Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge of Oconomowoc
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Services Financing New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Ewald Chevrolet Buick, LLC
Industry Tips
Advanced Fee Loans Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Counterfeit Currency Credit Card Accountability, Responsibility and Disclosure (CARD) Act Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ewald Chevrolet Buick has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • N48w36883 E Wisconsin Ave

    Oconomowoc, WI 53066 (262) 567-5555

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July of 2012, ***** of Oconomowoc replaced my mass air flow sensor and repaired my car for a leaking head gasket. Upon returning the car, the A/C was not working, and the car had to go back multiple times, which there is record of. Including, the check engine turning on, etc. They told me they fixed it. Then the car would be turned off, no keys in and the blower would turn on by itself. I called but they said that would not be related. The strange electrical problems of things turning on for no reason, and my power being drained in the car continued. No garages have completed any work on the vehicle since, with the exception of brakes. In September of 2013 now, my transmission stopped working. I took it to a transmission shop who told me there was an error sign across the mileage reader, four scanners would not communicate with the cars computer, and that the ground wire is burning hot which is should not be. After days of trying different scanners, and consulting other mechanics, they evaluated the wiring of the car. It was found that the wire to the mass air flow sensor had been previously cut, and a completely new wire was grounded. The mechanic told me that it was a botched job and that is not what should be done, and that any one who works on GM cars would tell me that. He said that with a wire open like that it sends the current back which causes a variety of other electrical problems. This would have cause my ECU to not properly function, and caused the transmission to get too much power. This would be why there is a sludgy black and a burnt smell in the transmission. I called ***** to tell them about the botched wiring job and they told me that they wouldn't have done a botched wire job and that my car must have been sabotaged.

Desired Settlement: I want my botched wiring problem to be repaired, as at the time I did have a warranty for this issue. I also feel they should repair any other electrical problems which happened as a result of an open wire, such as the ECU or computer which may be bad, and the fried transmission.

Business Response:

From: ***** ***** ****************************** 
Sent: Friday, September 27, 2013 12:34 PM
To: ***** *****
Cc: ********* ********************* ********** ********
Subject: RE: Follow up

 

****,

 

After reviewing this email and your complaint through the better business bureau, I am aware this is a major issue for you.  If there is going to be any sort of participation on behalf of *****, I need you to make arrangements to get your car out here so we can inspect it.  I cannot rely my decision based upon what some other service centers are telling you.  Let’s face it, they can tell you whatever they want or point the finger at someone else.  I am NOT saying that’s the case, but I will diagnose the car for FREE and see what the problem is.  After the car is properly diagnosed by our factory trained mechanics, I am sure we can come to some sort of revolution.

 

***** has been in business for 50 solid years with a great reputation and all of our locations have an A+ rating with the BBB.  We have a service policy that states “ Complete satisfaction or we will redo the work at no charge, or refund your money.”  (90 days or 4,000 miles, whichever comes first.)  A repair 14 months ago and 40,000 miles later doesn’t warrant a full warranty whether it is a related problem or not.

 

Please let me know when you can get your car to our dealership in Oconomowoc.

 

***** *****

 

From: **** **** **************************** 
Sent: Friday, September 27, 2013 8:22 AM
To: *********************
Subject: Follow up

 

Hi *****,

 

    I am just following up in re: to our conversation on the afternoon of 9/25 regarding the service of my Pontiac G6 in July of 2012, and subsequent dates. Please let me know if you were able to review the service documents, and history of any work done/the manner in which it was done.

 

    I do want to also take this time to reiterate that through my last two vehicle purchases, and repairs thus far, I have had nothing but positive experiences. I have always trusted the staff at *****, and hope to resolve this matter and continue to bring my business to ***** for years to come. I have always put my trust and faith into the sales and service staff at ***** and Mayfair rental, including handing over the keys and "taking their word for it" when it comes to the source of problems and proper and thorough completion of repairs. You can see why it is so disheartening to have this type of issue come to light.

 

    In an attempt to better educate myself and understand the repairs and matters at hand with my vehicle, I did consult other auto bodies, who did confirm that the work done on and in relation to the MAF sensor done at ***** is directly related to the problems at hand. That have also confirmed that with a make shift/temporary fix to the wiring, it is not something that would have gone within such a short time as 12,000 miles after the "repair".  I understand as a business that it is impossible to operate taking every customers word that the vehicle has not been worked on by anyone, etc. . . but I do hope that the trust instilled in the service staff at ***** does not come back to harm me as a consumer, and that we can realistically approach the matter with the reality that errors and poor work can and does happen in all businesses. My personal managerial approach has always been to correct it and move forward.

 

    Please contact me when you have had a chance to review the service documents/work orders. I am available by phone, email, and if you would even prefer to meet on the matter I would be more than willing to do so. I have not and will not begin any repairs on the vehicle until I do hear back. Being a customer who bought their first car at ***** at 18, I hope that I can be a satisfied life long customer of *****, and that this issue can be resolved quickly. However, if it is not, I will have to pursue a different path.

 

Thank you,

 

**** ****

###-###-####


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Ewald Chevrolet Buick
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart