Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Ewald Chevrolet Buick?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers sales, service, parts, and body shop for new and used automobiles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ewald Chevrolet Buick meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ewald Chevrolet Buick include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Ewald Chevrolet Buick
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 24, 2009 Business started: 08/27/1981 in WI Business started locally: 08/27/1981 Business incorporated: 08/27/1981 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jody Schutte, General Manager Ms. Christine Elliker, Executive Assistant Mr. Craig Ewald, President Mr. Tom Ewald, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Christine Elliker, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Jody Schutte, General Manager
Related Businesses
Mayfair Rent-A-Car, LLC Ewald's Venus Ford, LLC Ewald Kia of Oconomowoc Ewald's Hartford Ford, LLC Ewald Chevrolet Buick Ewald Fleet Solutions, LLC Ewald's Airstream of Wisconsin Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge of Oconomowoc
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Services Financing New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Ewald Chevrolet Buick, LLC
Industry Tips
Advanced Fee Loans Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Counterfeit Currency Credit Card Accountability, Responsibility and Disclosure (CARD) Act Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ewald Chevrolet Buick has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • N48w36883 E Wisconsin Ave

    Oconomowoc, WI 53066 (262) 567-5555

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July of 2012, ***** of Oconomowoc replaced my mass air flow sensor and repaired my car for a leaking head gasket. Upon returning the car, the A/C was not working, and the car had to go back multiple times, which there is record of. Including, the check engine turning on, etc. They told me they fixed it. Then the car would be turned off, no keys in and the blower would turn on by itself. I called but they said that would not be related. The strange electrical problems of things turning on for no reason, and my power being drained in the car continued. No garages have completed any work on the vehicle since, with the exception of brakes. In September of 2013 now, my transmission stopped working. I took it to a transmission shop who told me there was an error sign across the mileage reader, four scanners would not communicate with the cars computer, and that the ground wire is burning hot which is should not be. After days of trying different scanners, and consulting other mechanics, they evaluated the wiring of the car. It was found that the wire to the mass air flow sensor had been previously cut, and a completely new wire was grounded. The mechanic told me that it was a botched job and that is not what should be done, and that any one who works on GM cars would tell me that. He said that with a wire open like that it sends the current back which causes a variety of other electrical problems. This would have cause my ECU to not properly function, and caused the transmission to get too much power. This would be why there is a sludgy black and a burnt smell in the transmission. I called ***** to tell them about the botched wiring job and they told me that they wouldn't have done a botched wire job and that my car must have been sabotaged.

Desired Settlement: I want my botched wiring problem to be repaired, as at the time I did have a warranty for this issue. I also feel they should repair any other electrical problems which happened as a result of an open wire, such as the ECU or computer which may be bad, and the fried transmission.

Business Response:

From: ***** ***** ****************************** 
Sent: Friday, September 27, 2013 12:34 PM
To: ***** *****
Cc: ********* ********************* ********** ********
Subject: RE: Follow up

 

****,

 

After reviewing this email and your complaint through the better business bureau, I am aware this is a major issue for you.  If there is going to be any sort of participation on behalf of *****, I need you to make arrangements to get your car out here so we can inspect it.  I cannot rely my decision based upon what some other service centers are telling you.  Let’s face it, they can tell you whatever they want or point the finger at someone else.  I am NOT saying that’s the case, but I will diagnose the car for FREE and see what the problem is.  After the car is properly diagnosed by our factory trained mechanics, I am sure we can come to some sort of revolution.

 

***** has been in business for 50 solid years with a great reputation and all of our locations have an A+ rating with the BBB.  We have a service policy that states “ Complete satisfaction or we will redo the work at no charge, or refund your money.”  (90 days or 4,000 miles, whichever comes first.)  A repair 14 months ago and 40,000 miles later doesn’t warrant a full warranty whether it is a related problem or not.

 

Please let me know when you can get your car to our dealership in Oconomowoc.

 

***** *****

 

From: **** **** **************************** 
Sent: Friday, September 27, 2013 8:22 AM
To: *********************
Subject: Follow up

 

Hi *****,

 

    I am just following up in re: to our conversation on the afternoon of 9/25 regarding the service of my Pontiac G6 in July of 2012, and subsequent dates. Please let me know if you were able to review the service documents, and history of any work done/the manner in which it was done.

 

    I do want to also take this time to reiterate that through my last two vehicle purchases, and repairs thus far, I have had nothing but positive experiences. I have always trusted the staff at *****, and hope to resolve this matter and continue to bring my business to ***** for years to come. I have always put my trust and faith into the sales and service staff at ***** and Mayfair rental, including handing over the keys and "taking their word for it" when it comes to the source of problems and proper and thorough completion of repairs. You can see why it is so disheartening to have this type of issue come to light.

 

    In an attempt to better educate myself and understand the repairs and matters at hand with my vehicle, I did consult other auto bodies, who did confirm that the work done on and in relation to the MAF sensor done at ***** is directly related to the problems at hand. That have also confirmed that with a make shift/temporary fix to the wiring, it is not something that would have gone within such a short time as 12,000 miles after the "repair".  I understand as a business that it is impossible to operate taking every customers word that the vehicle has not been worked on by anyone, etc. . . but I do hope that the trust instilled in the service staff at ***** does not come back to harm me as a consumer, and that we can realistically approach the matter with the reality that errors and poor work can and does happen in all businesses. My personal managerial approach has always been to correct it and move forward.

 

    Please contact me when you have had a chance to review the service documents/work orders. I am available by phone, email, and if you would even prefer to meet on the matter I would be more than willing to do so. I have not and will not begin any repairs on the vehicle until I do hear back. Being a customer who bought their first car at ***** at 18, I hope that I can be a satisfied life long customer of *****, and that this issue can be resolved quickly. However, if it is not, I will have to pursue a different path.

 

Thank you,

 

**** ****

###-###-####

3/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/9/13 I brought my vehicle in for a noise that it was making under the hood when driving- they called my husband in the morning and stated that they could not hear anything or any noise that he was describing. They charged me $45.46 for the labor to look at it-- when I went to pick up my vehicle that night I started it up and it immediately started making the sound and was louder. So on the morning of 1/10/13 I took the vehicle back to Ewald-- I then went in and asked the service advisor(**** ******) that called my husband if he would have time to take a ride with me because it was still making the sound. He said yes and he also got the mechanic who looked at it the day before. While pulling out of the parking lot of Ewald, it immediately started making the sound and they both acknowledged the noise, when returning back there they had me pop the hood and they looked around for a few minutes- the mechanic asked if we could leave the vehicle he had a pretty good idea what it was that was making the sound. I could not leave it at that time, so I scheduled a time on 2/4/13 for it to come back in. Also at that time the check engine light came on and I wanted them to check that out as well. A different service advisor (***** ******) then called my husband that morning and stated that they could not hear anything and also that the codes from the check engine light were from a bad air filter- my husband told them to replace the filter and to drive it around the parking lot for the noise. They then called back and told my husband that they had it all fixed. So I went to go pick the vehicle, paid $171.68 and then service advisor ***** ****** asked if it was okay to just take a quick ride to make sure it was gone. I told him that would be great, upon pulling out of the parking lot it started making the same noise and he acknowledged the noise. When returning back to Ewald after the test drive the check engine light came back on-- he apologized and asked if he could make it right and if they could keep it one more night and get it fixed for sure in the morning. He offered me a free rental which was great so I could get home. He refunded the whole amount for $171.68 and stated that we will square up when it is really fixed. He also stated to me that he would call me in the morning to let me know what they find. At 2:00 P.M. on 1/5/13 I still had not heard anything from him. I called 2 times and left 2 messages asking if he could call me back and just let me know what is going on- by 4:30 I called for a 3rd time being transferred to the 1st service advisor(**** ******) that I had worked with- he let me know that ***** ****** had gone home for the day! Nick had no idea what was going on with the vehicle and put me on hold- after 5-10 minutes he came back on the line and told me that they could not hear any noise!!!!!! I asked him how that could be since himself, a mechanic and ***** ****** had all rode with me and all acknowledged the noise? I then asked about the check engine light that came back on and he told me that would $396 to get that fixed. I then asked how that could be when ***** told my husband that it was a bad air filter which was replaced. I then told him that I would be in to pick up the vehicle that night. I got to Ewald at 5:30, the service department closes at 6, I was went to the service desk told a 3 service advisor that I was here to pick up my vehicle- he asked my name and then told me to go to the window to pay. So I go over to window only to be given the exact same invoice from the day before for $171.68, so I asked if it was fixed and explained now for the 3rd time what had happened, while explaining the girl at the window blatently ignored me while doing other paperwork. He told me that they couldn't hear anything, but he would give me a discount. So after paying $126..39 I left, upset and extremely disappointed. Not only was the noise still there, but the check engine light was still on, and I got ignored by the girl who is taking my money. There is absolutely no communication between all the members that I worked with since I had to explain my situation 4 times and now have paid $171.85 for something that is not fixed!!!!

Desired Settlement: I have no problem paying for the air filter $35.84, but I believe I should be refunded the other amount and apology would sure be nice- since I gave Ewald the benefit of the doubt to fix it right after the first time only to be given the round around and ignored!

Business Response: **** ** ******** brought in her vehicle initially and worked with **** ****** for a vibration concern
that we could not duplicate on 1/9/13. Upon conversations over the phone she also mentioned an
abnormal noise from the front dash area while the engine was running. **** *****(our technician) , ****
****** and the customer went for a test drive when **** picked up the vehicle and duplicated the noise
from the front end. It was approx 5pm and we advised the customer we would need some time to look
into the noise and asked if she wanted to leave the vehicle overnight. She needed the vehicle the
following day and said she would schedule another appointment. She brought the vehicle back Sunday
night as a drop for Monday morning and worked with **** ******. The vehicle had a check engine light
and a vibration sound from the front end . There were three codes in the system for the check engine
light P0521 , P1174, and P0449. We inspected the vehicle and found the air snorkel for the air filter was
loose and the air filter was very dirty. We reattached the air filter snorkel and replaced the air filter due
to being dirty. We cleared codes after repair and test drove. ***** ****** did have a conversation with
the customer that the codes did clear and were all passing at this time. When **** came to our
dealership to pick up the vehicle ***** ****** offered to road test the vehicle with her to make sure
everything was to her satisfaction before she left. At that point the check engine light returned
immediately, we provided her with other means of transportation so we could look further into why the
Check Engine light had returned. We found the same Evap code P0449 had returned and diagnosed as a
faulty Evaporation Vent Valve and updated jumper wire harness per the General Motors Bulletin . On
2/5/13 ***** ****** had an unexpected leave. **** contacted the dealership on 2/5/13 and spoke with
**** ******. **** ****** put **** on hold to gather all the information about her vehicle since she
was working with ***** ******. **** called her back letting her know the noise was not fully diagnosed
due to being faint and intermittent making it difficult to diagnose. **** advised her the Evap code,
P0449 had returned from the previous day and the vehicle needed the Evaporation Valve and jumper
wire harness, and provided her with an estimate. She elected to speak with her husband and pick up the
vehicle that night.
If the customer wishes we would be more then happy to pick up the vehicle from the customer to
continue diagnosing the noise from the front end and redeliver the vehicle back to the customer without
any interruption. We would also provide means of transportation during that time period. The
diagnostics and the loaner vehicle would be provided at no charge to the customer. After diagnosis has
been performed we would gladly credit her prior total of $171.85 towards any further repairs.
***** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]  At this point in time they have had the vehicle 3 times and I have rode with 3 different people that work there(all who have acknowledged the vibration sound).  Although I appreciate the offer at this point I would rather find a mechanic that can actually fix the problem.  I feel that I have been more than patient in giving them time to find the issue.  I have no confidence in them finding it this time.  I already feel that I have paid $170 for nothing, other than a new air filter whih has nothing to do with the vibration.

Regards,

**** ********

 

Business Response:

After final review, Ewald Chevrolet will reimburse Ms. ******** the $170.00 from the original repair order.  If Ms. ******** would like to bring the car back for further diagnose, it would cost her nothing to get that done.  Ewald Chevrolet prides themselves in having the highest customer satisfaction.  Sorry for any frustration this may have caused.
 
***** *****
******* *******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ********

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Consumer states that they have not received the $170 the company stated they would refund.

Regards,

**** ********

 

Business Response:

Morning,

 

The check was signed yesterday and is in the mail.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ********

 

7/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel that I have been a target of a misdiagnosed issue. I bought a used truck from this dealership that was sold as a certified truck with a warranty. I in addition bought a extenteded warranty covering the power train. I was told that with the two warranty's I would be covered for any thing that would happen to the truck . Two months into owning this truck the check engin light comes on an it is a small evap leak in the fuel system right away they tell me that i need a new fuel cap and it was not covered and that this would fix the problem. A week later the check engine light came on again it was the same code small evap leak . The truck also started leaking fuel, while fueling the truck the pump would click off signaling it was full and about half a gallon or so would spill out. They said I needed a new silinoid and charcoal canister, which they would not cover and this would fix the problem. I had the work done, and a week or two later the check engine light cam on again, it was the same code small evap leak in the fuel system they told me this time they needed to replace the fuel filler tube which is not covered again but they gave me a ten percent discount and that this would fix the problem again. I did the repair and a week or two went buy again and the same issue came up! Now they are telling me that I need to replace the fuel pump and this's will fix the problem and they would split the cost. I feel that they should be taking care of the whole job. If indeed this is the real issue they should have been able to tell this in the very beginning. I would also think that they would see that I have spent quit a bit of money and they never fixed the problem. I just need the truck fixed and fixed right. I also had to have the transfer case replaced under warranty which they did do for me and not even a month of driving with the new part it started leaking they said they put a new seal in it and I took the truck on a four hour trip and noticed that it is leaking from the same spot!!! I am getting really tired of this type of service.

Desired Settlement: To fix these issuses right and not to spend any more money, when their dealership warranty should have covered it in the first place.

Business Response: REGARDING CASE NUMBER ******* , ****** ****** **** *** ****** **** *****. FROM ***** ******Ewald Chevrolet / Buick                                                                                                        July 11 , 2012

 

                                                                                               July 11, 2012******** ******** B .B .B .Complaint Specialist. Dear ******** : Thank you so much for letting us know about a potential unhappy customer .We take pride in caring about all of our customers. When I spoke with the owner ****** ****** on July 11, 2012 at about 2:30pm I assured him that the repairs to the “fuel tank module” and “transfer case rear leaking seal” would be repaired at no cost to him, he was very happy and accepted our offer to satisfy his concerns which will be handled on Friday 7/13/12 . We are looking forward to putting this matter to rest as soon as possible. The Ewald organization and family are committed to complete customer satisfaction. Thank you for all your help in this matter.  
Sincerely ,***** *****
Service manager ,Ewald Chevrolet / Buick
***** ** ********* **** ********** ********
###-###-####