BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used vehicles, commercial and fleet vehicles; sales, service, parts, and body shop; vehicle leasing and rentals.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ewald Automotive Group, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ewald Automotive Group, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Ewald Automotive Group, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1964 Business started: 01/01/1964 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1964 Business incorporated: 08/19/1993 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street, Montpelier VT 05603-0001
http://www.aot.state.vt.us/dmv/dmvhp.htm

Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708
http://datcp.state.wi.us/
Phone Number: (800) 422-7128
hotline@datcp.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Craig Ewald, President Ms. Christine Elliker, Executive Assistant Mr. Tom Ewald, Vice President Ms. Wendy Wagner, Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Christine Elliker, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Craig Ewald, President
Related Businesses
Ewald Fleet Solutions, LLC Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge of Oconomowoc
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Services Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Accessories Auto - Fleet Service Financing

Products & Services

Ewald Automotive Group, LLC sells the following brand(s): Chrysler , Jeep, Dodge , Ram , Ford , Chevrolet, Buick , Kia, Airstream

Service Area
Southeastern Wisconsin
Alternate Business Names
Ewald Chevrolet Buick, LLC Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge, LLC Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge, LLC of Oconomowoc Ewald Fleet Solutions, LLC Ewald Kia of Oconomowoc Ewald's Airstream of Wisconsin, LLC Ewald's Hartford Ford, LLC Ewald's Venus Ford, LLC Mayfair Rent-A-Car, LLC
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: FACT:On February 10, 2014 2005 F-250 Super Duty XLT was misfiring and would not go over 30MPH. The mileage was 106,000 and these vehicles were built to last this is almost unheard of in Ford trucksCalled Ewald Venus Ford maintenance department and was told to replace the spark plugs to see if that would make a differenceOn February13, 2014 replaced spark plugs and the F-250 was still misfiringOn February 16, 2014 I took it to Auto Zone to see if it was throwing any codes and this time it read ignition coil on number three cylinder then the same night after replacing coil pack I took it back to auto zone and it read a code for O2 sensor bank 1 sensor 1There was still no tail pipe pressure and the smell of raw fuel was chugging and presentOn February 17, 2014 called Ewald Venus Ford back and explained to them the truck was still misfiring and what the code read the mechanic stated that it was probably the catalytic converter that needed to be replaced at this pointOn February 26, 2014 the catalytic converter was ordered and it arrived on March 3, 2014. The converter was put in on March 4, 2014 and the truck was still misfiring and would not go past 30MPH.Ewald Venus Ford was called on March 5, 2014 and I stated that at this point both parties are stumped and should tow the vehicle in for diagnosticsOn March 5, 2014 the truck arrived at Ewald Venus Ford and it was on March 7, 2014 that we received a phone call stating that it was going to cost $1000.00 to even look at the vehicle. They stated it is probably a cam fazer or shot engine but could not be for sure even though it went in for raw fuel and 07M78 customer satisfaction program dispute. They were stumped since the maintenance had all been in great shape! It was an extreme amount of money to just look at the vehicle and this did not entail any repair work at all or to test the fuel injectors.We requested Ewald Venus Ford once they found the issue to call us in to see the problem in person and they agreedOn March 10, 2014 *** ***** form Ewald Venus Ford called and stated that they could not find the issue without researching more extensively and they would call us when they were ready to have us come in to look over their findingsMarch 10, 2014 @9:17am called ********* ** and spoke with ***** (###-###-####)letting making her aware of the problems with the Ford F-250 she took our information and explained a case would also be opened since we are unhappy with the performance and the life of the F-250. ***** stated someone would be in touch and her office would also be in touch with Ewald Venus Ford she stated to wait two days and call ****** back to see if they would be more willing to help. Sometimes she said all they need is a call from headquarters.On March 11, 2014 I called and was directed to Tom a sales person to explorer our options and I stated we wanted the truck repaired and not another vehicle. I was then told that he would take our information and just see what he could do for us. Since we are in a Ch.13 Bankruptcy he could not help us and told us to speak with **** ***** since he just moved from Florida and did not know much about WI laws and if anyone could help he would be able to. I asked if we could do a payment plan or agreement to keep the vehicle till we paid for the engine I again was directed to **** ***** and told he could help us.On March 12, 2014 **** and ******* ****** were called into Ewald by Mechanic and his supervisor present they took us back to see the vehicle in pieces it was torn apart all over the mechanics work area they said they were going to look at the vehicle never did they get permission to tear it apart. He said we did not call you in while we were scoping, but I have a video on my phone that shows scoring of the engines internal parts. I stated we wanted to be present during the procedure and they already agreed. *** ***** stated the engine is shot and it was starved for oil on the top end. We also found metal shavings in the oil as well. We asked what this would cost at this point and were told $8700.00 the actual cost was $8,400.00 but they always leave a cushion for extras. Since this was an extreme amount of money to gather and it was the only vehicle it was a lot to take in. On March 14, 2014 we called and left a message for **** Ewald (###-###-####). We were told that he is out of the office until 03/15/14 but we left a message and told our story that this truck was bought brand new and even the mechanics stated these trucks are built to run this one was in excellent condition and was not misused. Even the Mechanic stated he would like to buy our truck. However I also stated my husband just got out of the hospital and we are in a ch.13 fighting to get ahead once again in life. This is our only vehicle and my husbands dream! **** Ewald stated let me try some different options and check into what he could do not to worry it will get taken care of.March 14, 2014 received a call back from **** Ewald and he stated he was going to check into all our options and would help us with either a payment plan or answers on getting this repaired under customer satisfaction. He stated it would take some time, but we could continue to call and check status daily on how he was to be able to help.March 14, 2014 called Deerborn, MI back to check status and spoke to ********* (###-###-####) she stated as far as she could read in her notes that their office fulfilled their obligations and took a formal complaint and they dont know how long a response will take for our misfortune. March 15, 2014 called Ewald Venus Ford at 10:17am to speak with **** Ewald again **** was out and on this day I left three voice mails. Finally ****** the receptionist said she would take a hand written message to him when he arrived. During this entire time we have been dealing with Ford in ********* ** and making daily phone calls updating then on what was happening. Ford stated that if the dealer would say that it was due to th

Desired Settlement: Repair the vehicle or work with costumers to arrange affordable plan as agreed originally.

Business Response:

I did speak with the customer and said that I will try to help where possible. At the time of discussion with the customer I was unaware of the costs of the repairs on the truck.  Unfortunately the repairs are in excess of $8,000.  Our dealership does not lend money for repairs.  I had our service manager Lee speak to the customer to discuss the costs and options available.  We directed the customer to a loan service that specializes in this area and for what ever reason, was not able to obtain the funds.  We can help by offering a parts and labor discount, which was discussed.  Due to the situation, we didnt collect any money for the diagnosis on the truck which the customer authorized as we normally would.

We discussed the customers concern with Ford as asked to.  Ford's warranty is 3 year / 36,000 miles limited full coverage and 5 year / 60,000 miles on the powertrain.  With the truck having over 100,000 miles, their response was that the vehicle was out of warranty and the customers responsibility.  If the customer would like to contact Ford further, that is their option.

We are sorry for the inconvenience and the unfortunate costs involved.  We only provided the technical diagnosis and the required repairs to fix the truck.

**** *****

******* *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We were never offered a parts discount! Also the cost of the repairs was known by **** ***** that is why he had *** **** call and the parts department personnel and never personally returned our calls. It seem like the buck was being passed so to speak. Also regardless the vehicle was brought in and as Ewald states running on four cylinders we still have no answer as to why the vehicle was returned in a box in the front seat and pieces in the back seat. We really would like Ewald Venus Ford and more specifically **** ***** to address this matter together and come to a few options that are a little better suited for a hard working family! It is Ford that says they are built" FORD TOUGH" and even at just reaching 100,000.00 miles in excellent condition stand behind your product and the costumers that purchase them and help!

Regards,

******* **********

 

 

Business Response:

Our ******* ******* *** was directed not to do any futher work due to the costs.  We put the parts we removed for the visual inspetction in a box.  The customer had the vehicle towed from our dealership.

We are more than happy to meet with you here at the dealership.  I asked *** our service manager to discuss the repairs as he is well versed in the tech and repair descriptions than I.  I just want to be clear that we don't offer payment plans for service for an extended period of time.  If it is a few days for funds to transfer, we can be flexible. That is why we directed you to the only company we are aware of that does service repair loans.    We service hundreds of vehicles per month and all of our customers are hard working people, as are we.

As for the discount, it was offered by *** when the costs of the repairs were discussed with your wife, however the concern of affordability was the main discussion.  With any product, the warranty stands behind the product.  Your is expired by 40,000 miles and the time limit.  We take care of our customers by providing sound diagnosis and technical repair at a fair price for services rendered.   I can be contacted at the dealership at ###-###-#### with any questions.

**** *****

******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my son's van to Ewalds on January 17. It had a hard start when cold, so it was dropped off Friday night to be looked at Saturday. they checked it out and said it needed a Idle air control and would not be ***e until Monday. Monday came and I called to check on the van. I was told that that didn't take care of the problem but now it needed a Power train control module. I was not told how long the repair would take. I called on Tuesday to see if it was ***e and was told that the part had to be ordered and would take a couple of days. I called again on Thursday and the part was not there, I was told probably Friday. Friday I spoke with the Service advisor ****** ********* again and he said the part was here and it would be available to pickup after 4:00 Friday. I went down with my son to pick it up and was told by another service advisor *** Russell that it was not ***e, something else was wrong. I was very upset because they had it almost a week, a Dodge at a Dodge dealership and could not fix the problem on a 1996 Dodge van. I told *** that **** said it would be ***e today at 4:00. He chuckled a little and said the ****** got off at 4:00. *** arranged for my son to get a loaner car, otherwise he would have to walk to work. It had been quite a hardship only having one vehicle. On Monday I called to check on the van and was told that it would be ***e and that it needed a coolant temperature sensor. I said that I didn't want to pay for any unnecessary repairs only what fixed the vehicle. In my opinion the first two parts replaced were not necessary and finally the third the sensor took care of the cold starting problem. I was very upset when my son picked it up and used my credit card to find that I was charged for all the parts when the last part is what took care of the problem. During this time I always had to call in and check on the van, no phone calls from the service department. I after looked at the bill, at home when my son arrived, I couldn't believe it. I left a message for the service ******* *** ***** and also then sent an email. He responded but I am not satisfield. with his response. I feel taken advantage of because we needed the van and I feel that I was charged for two parts I didn't need.

Desired Settlement: Ewald ran a coupon, about a week after my van was worked on, giving a $100 repair credit on older vehicles. I had asked the service ******* *** to at least honor the coupon. He refused. Based on my experience at Ewalds I thought that they would at least do that as a goodwill gesture. I would like to be given credit on the two parts which did not take care of the problem, and only have to pay for the diagsostics and price of the coolant temperature sensor. Please help me.

Business Response:

Mr. ****** has been contacted by our service ******* (*** *****) and is satisfied with the $100. check we are sending to him on 3/11/2014.

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** ******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2013 Dodge Challenger on May 10,2013. Upon receiving the vehicle I noted the front license plate holder was bolted to the front of the vehicle. These vehicles do not come with a front bumper bracket attached as I purchased a 2010 Dodge Challenger in 2010 and kept the plate holder in the trunk of the vehicle the entire time I owned the vehicle. I asked for this item to be removed from the vehicle and when it was removed I was left with 4 very large holes in the front bumper. This was NOT authorized by myself and I was not asked if I wanted the plate put on the vehicle. Had I been asked I would have said, "Absolutely NOT." I do realize that per Wisconsin law I - the owner/driver - am to display the front license plate that I am provided by the DMV of Wisconsin per Wisconsin Statute 341.15 - Display of Registration Plates. It no where in the statute states that the car dealership is required to mount the front bracket holder to the new vehicles bumpers as I was told by the "delivery person" after she went and asked the manager. The manager has stated that the dealership is required to put the bracket on and when I asked to see the document stating they are required to do this, the manager has now refused to come and talk to me. Twice this has happened and I have not been able to talk to manager or get any resolution. I have contacted numerous dealerships and every one of the dealerships have stated that they do NOT put the plate holder bracket on the front of a vehicle unless they are asked to do it by the purchaser OR it automatically comes with the bracket mounted by manufacturer as there is a special place on the bumper as there is no place on a Dodge Challenger front bumper for a license plate.

Desired Settlement: I want the front bumper either replaced or repaired to my satisfaction.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

I am receipt of Complaint # *******. 

I am sorry that the customer is upset that a front license plate bracket was attached to the vehicle.  She is correct that the vehicle does not come with the bracket attached.   This is due in part that various states having different laws regarding front license plates.  The manufacturers simply place them in the trunk and the dealership is then expected to attach it as part of a routine Prep Delivery Inspection.

It has been our long standing policy to attach the front bracket when preparing the vehicle for our lot and customers.   Occasionally we do receive a request not to install and we typically ask for this in writing to prevent exposure for not properly equipping the vehicle for the front license plate.   No such request was received.  As indicated in Ms. *******’s complaint she discovered it at the time of delivery and no such request was reduced to writing in advance.  

All the dealerships in our marketplace routinely attach the license brackets and typically display their advertising plates for their dealerships.   

Wisconsin Law doesn’t actually say that the plates need to be displayed it states they must be attached.    They even imply that it should be with a bracket. http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/plateguide/related/validation.htm

State law* requires that when Wisconsin Department Of Transportation issues two license plates, both plates must be attached to the vehicle, one on the front and one on the rear.  The plates must be maintained in a legible condition and displayed so that they can be seen and read.  License plate brackets that cover any part of the readable message on a license plate are illegal.
* Statutory reference section 341.15, WI Statutes.  Violation is subject to enforcement action and a fine up to $200.

Since it is apparent that we were simply doing what has been our policy and in a fashion that complies with state law we ask that this complaint be removed. 

Sincerely,

**** *******
******* *******

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

We must ask that this matter be closed.   As a normal course of business for 50 years we have attached a front license plate bracket to our vehicles offered for sale.  I could send documentation showing that Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep and Ram automatically place a front license plate bracket in every vehicle shipped to Wisconsin.   In each bracket package are the screws and bolts along with installation instruction.   I believe this complaint has 'no possible way to make the customer happy' dhort of replacing the bumper which I am unwilling to do.   It is a normal way we have and will continue to do business so long as Wisconsin law requires two plates to be diplayed.

 

** *******

GM Ewald Auto

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i bought a **** **** ****** with 68000 and was to be certified preowned had a 6 month warranty on 7 month the transmission needs a rebuild took to ewalds first they wanted to charge me 50. dollars to look at.we took to a mechanic we knew and was told of problem.took back to dealer and was told basically your warranty expired 1 month late so tough luck by used car manger. this is not a small repair i was quoted 3300. i don't have i bought a 13000. auto not a 2000. beater and i cant afford to pay car payment and repair car to i feel they sold me a lemon and pushed me out door and wont stand behind there product.yes it 1 month outside warranty but i feel the car had a problem before i got it.

Desired Settlement: to stand behind the product it should of been checked out before i got it.to make this right this was about 6 months after i bought it i should not have transmissions or motors breaking this is not years after i bought it 6 to 7 months i only drove it 2000 miles.to repair the transmission like i said it was faulty when i got it i feel.

Business Response:

Could you please let me know which of the 5 Ewald Stores this customer is referring to, so I know who I need to address.

 

Thank you!

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a **** **** ****** from the above dealership. At the time of purchase there was some body damage to the vehicle and I was given an "we owe you" slip stating that they owed the repair work. When the woman in finance wrote the order she wrote that the repair was owed on the rear bumper and not the front. They said they would have someone call me to set up a time to get the repairs done. No one ever called me on the issue so I called and set up an appointment to get the repair work done on Friday, June 29, 2012. I also informed them that the auxiliary output on the radio didn't work and that when I noticed it I called my salesperson to question her on how to handle it and she said to just bring it in and they'd take care of it. When I went in for the repairs my sales person was no longer employed there, nor was the woman in finance. so they had no one to verify mt "story". After keeping my vehicle for 7 hours they said they would have to get any repairs okay ed by the sales manager on Monday, July 1, 2012 and promised they would call me. No one ever called so I called them to follow up. After being transferred between 6 different people on the phone I finally got the used car sales managers voice mail. I left a message explaining the situation to him and have had no return phone call. It's becoming quite obvious to me that this dealership has no interest on holding up their end of a written contract.

Desired Settlement: I would like the 2 repairs done at no charge to me since they were there at the time of purchase. The fact of the matter is that regardless of whether the bodywork needed is on the front or rear bumper they still owe me body work. There is no damage to the rear bumper so it's pretty obvious that there was a mistake in filling out the paperwork. Also, testing and auxiliary output is not something I test on a test drive, had I, I would have gotten the repair in writing. I have kept up on my end of the contract by making my monthly payments ahead of time and paying over what is due. All I ask is that they keep up their end of the contract.

Business Response: Morning, Not sure on the mix up, but here is our response. Let me know if you need anything else at this time.
Thank you,
********* *******
Executive AssistantEwald Automotive Group
###-###-#### 

From: **** ******* [mailto:**********************]
Sent: Wednesday, July 18, 2012 9:59 AM
To: ********** *******'
Subject: RE: Emailing: View Complaint Message ********* please read and call me.  ***** 

Dear ******** ********,The “WE OWE” given to Ms. ******* clearly states that it is good for 30 days only.   Eraina Weber made an appointment the same day as the vehicle was delivered for Friday May 4th and the customer was a no show.    Ms. ******* stated that she spoke to the salesperson –quote “I also informed them that the auxiliary output on the radio didn't work and that when I noticed it I called my salesperson to question her on how to handle it and she said to just bring it in and they'd take care of it.”  This is impossible as the salesperson left to care for her mother in-law and has not returned.   The electronics are not covered as the vehicle was sold “AS IS” with limited powertrain only coverage.As the General Manager of the dealership I have never been contacted concerning this matter.  I spoke with my Used Car Manager and Service Manager and neither of them are aware of this issue.    We will of course make the repair to the bumper as indicated in writing.    The reason for 30 days is to prevent the dealership from exposure of additional repairs in the event the customer would damage the vehicle further.This offer is good until July 31st.
**** *******
General Manager
Ewald Airstream of Wisconsin
*******************
Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram
*************
**** *** ***** ****** * *** ***
********* ** *****
Phone: ###-###-####

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

***** *******

 

 

 

 

Business Response: Dear ******** ********,On 8/24/2012 Ms. ********* mother brought the vehicle to the dealership for the bumper repair.  My offer made through the BBB was good until 7/31/2012, but I told the staff to honor the repair just the same.  In an interesting twist she wanted the front bumper repaired that the “WE OWE” we gave was for the rear bumper.  Our service advisor **** verified that she was now expecting us to repair damage to the front bumper, damage that was not included in the sale.   Attached is a scan of the WE OWE that clearly says “rear” and no mention of any other promises.  On Saturday August 25th, Cindy Apollo (our customer service person) called her and Ms. Grabski claimed that I used profanity towards her mother, that is an untrue statement.  Her mother did however tell me I was a shithead, she used the “F” word numerous and called me a son of a bitch.  I asked my staff to bring the vehicle around for her and simply stated we were finished doing anything more for her daughter’s vehicle and bid her a pleasant day.  According to my staff she continued to use profanity right up to the moment she left.   **** *******General ManagerEwald Airstream of Wisconsin*******************Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram*************
**** *** ***** ****** * ***
 ************ ** *****Phone: ###-###-####BBB Complaint – See the resolution offeredDear ******** ********,The “WE OWE” given to Ms. ******* clearly states that it is good for 30 days only.   ****** ***** made an appointment the same day as the vehicle was delivered for Friday May 4th and the customer was a no show.    Ms. ******* stated that she spoke to the salesperson –quote “I also informed them that the auxiliary output on the radio didn't work and that when I noticed it I called my salesperson to question her on how to handle it and she said to just bring it in and they'd take care of it.”  This is impossible as the salesperson left to care for her mother in-law and has not returned.   The electronics are not covered as the vehicle was sold “AS IS” with limited powertrain only coverage.As the General Manager of the dealership I have never been contacted concerning this matter.  I spoke with my Used Car Manager and Service Manager and neither of them are aware of this issue.    We will of course make the repair to the bumper as indicated in writing.    The reason for 30 days is to prevent the dealership from exposure of additional repairs in the event the customer would damage the vehicle further.This offer is good until July 31st.

**** *******
General Manager
Ewald Airstream of Wisconsin
*******************
Ewald Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram
*****************
*** ***** ****** * *** *****
******* ** *****
Phone: ###-###-####

The information contained in this email and any attachments is confidential and may be subject to copyright or other intellectual property protection. If you are not the intended recipient, you are not authorized to use or disclose this information, and we request that you notify us by reply mail or telephone and delete the original message from your mail system.
 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Less than a week after my purchase the engine warning light came on and the valve stem on a tire was broken when we got it. There were no valve covers on any of the 4 tires when we picked it up. I called the service dept. who made an appt. for me a few days later and told me to not drive the vehicle until then costing my significant other 2 days off of work. The result of the first check was they needed to replace a warning light sensor. The paperwork I received said NO CHARGE. They had to order the part so I had to go back. When they called, weeks later, I was charged $100.00 for the sensor replacement and told the tire valve problem would cost me $160.00 per tire (now there were 2 broken) even though the original papers said "N/C". After extensive arguments with 2 service managers I paid $100.00 for the sensor and 2 valve stems. Upon leaving the lot the sensor light came on again. I made an appt. 2 days later to have it fixed. I am now here on a Sat. waiting for my vehicle again.

Desired Settlement: I believe it is fair to be refunded the $100.00, this dealership advertises they sell "certified used vehicles" certified meaning they check out the vehicle for these types of problems before the vehicle is sold. The fact that there were no valve covers on the tires tells me no one even looked at the vehicle before I picked it up even though they provide paperwork saying they extensively checked the vehicle out. This is why the original paper work said no charge because we found these problems so soon after leaving the dealer! I would also like to see my complaint be made a permanent part of this dealership's BBB record so others are warned of their 'service' department.

Business Response: Prior to the sale the tires had been filled with nitrogen, and Chrome valve stem caps with a nitrogen logo added. The
********* was delivered on 1/26 with 43,151 miles. The ********* was supported by a 3-Month/3,OOO-Mile
Maximum Care Limited Warranty with a $150 deductible plus powertrain coverage to 6 years up to 80,000 miles from
the original owner in service date. On 2/6 with 45,721 miles (2570 miles later) he vehicle returned with a check
engine light concern, no mention of tire monitors was noted nor did anyone advise that the vehicle could not be
driven. The vehicle did have a PCM concern, a special order part was placed and on 3/22 with 47,178 miles it was
replaced at No Charge. The first time a tire pressure monitors were noted was when the customers contacted **** ******* ***** **** on 3/22 and stated he had actually broken one and found another broken (1,027 miles out of
warranty). After some negotiation and pushback, the customer agreed to pay a $100 deductible. This was a goodwill
adjustment that was handled outside the 3,000 miles and at $50 less than it should have been.
When customer came into pick up her vehicle from the cashier, where 'she' asked me why I expected her to pay the
$100. I stated that our service manager had spoken to the owner and that 'he' had agreed to pay. She stated he was
a fool to agree to pay. She then went on to state that she was military and that if she had pulled the **** we were
pulling she would be in *********** the military prison. She went on to say that if I didn't waive the deductible that
she would post the kind of business people we are on every military website she could find. I stated that I wasn't
interested in being "blackmailed" into anything and stated that much of my family is in the military also. Since the
repair was performed it did return on 3/27 and was found that one of the replaced sensors provided by the
manufacturer was in fact faulty and it has been replaced at no charge.
Ewald prides itself in acting professionally and we take customer service seriously. An ice cold approach would have
been to simply state that the vehicle was out of the Certified Warranty and that the customer was responsible for
$412.28 the entire charge with taxes and supplies. Instead we took the highroad and assisted the customer with a
very reasonable solution to the vehicle problem. We will continue to assist this customer in any reasonable way but
unfortunately we simply cannot operate as a non-profit organization.
**** ******* ******* *******

Business Response:

 

Dear BBB,

 

I’m sorry that Ms. ***** believes my answers are erroneous, however each is answer came from documentation we had provided her after each service visit with the exception of the documents that we have showing that the vehicle was prepared for sale. 

 

What she does not have is our repair order #****** which documents that the tires were nitrogen filled – part of that process is to place chrome ‘nitrogen’ caps on each valve stem.  It is possible that someone took those off but unlikely.   It is very noticeable when a vehicle is missing it’s caps and I doubt that she or the salesperson missed them (they look ugly without them in place) – regardless we did replace them as a courtesy.  On the same repair order the State Safety Inspection, Oil Change and Gold Check Certification were also completed by an ASE Technician.  Mileage documented is 43,151.

 

The mileage I referenced is the mileage at the time of State Safety Inspection, her service visits and documentation was provided to her each time by Repair Order copies.  

 

02/06/12 Visit has one customer concern:   Customer states Check Engine Light Is On.  We found a bad PCM and repaired it at no charge to the customer.   There is no mention of missing caps or valve stem issues on this document.   Mileage is listed as 45,721

 

03/22/12 Visit has the repair to the PCM that was ordered during the 02/06/12 visit and notes a concern with “Both Left and Right Rear Valves Stems are Broken Replace Per Sales Manager JR”  it goes on to say that the customer is to pay deductible.   The reason is simple Ms. ****’s significant other admitted to breaking one of them and agreed to pay the deductible.  This appointment was made by the ******* ******** **** ******* and he and the significant other agreed to the one time goodwill.   Mileage is listed at 47,174

 

The warranty on this vehicle covers very specific components for 6 months up to 6,000 miles, the tire monitors are not covered.  Additionally it has a $100 deductible.   Ewald treated the repairs to the tires as though they were ‘covered’ as a goodwill gesture.  We also felt it reasonable to charge the deductible.   Alternatively we could have stated it was not a covered component and the customer could have chosen to go forward with the repair at their own expense.  We felt it appropriate to assist them. 

 

I wish to apologize to Ms. ****’s for not quoting the conversation precisely but I didn’t record it because according to Wis. Stat. § 968.31: A person who is a party to a wire, electronic or oral communication, or who has obtained prior consent from one party, can legally record and divulge the contents of the communication, unless he/she does so for the purpose of committing a criminal or tortious act.   She did not have my consent and should not have recorded it the conversation.

 

It is my opinion that a black list or blackmail have the same intent, to harm our reputation.  Ewald has supported the military and their families through a series of promotions to help them when family members are deployed and we have without hesitation encouraged our employees who are involved in the military.   Several members of my personal family have been or are currently in the military.   I appreciate what everyone in the military does.

 

We are not going to change our position on this subject.   The vehicle was sold with specific warranty coverage’s which were outlined in the documentation given when Ms. ****’s sign her paperwork.   Further the paperwork stated the vehicle was sold  “AS IS” and this is on the face of the Wisconsin Buyers Guide and Purchase Contract.  

 

The information contained in this email and any attachments is confidential and may be subject to copyright or other intellectual property protection. If you are not the intended recipient, you are not authorized to use or disclose this information, and we request that you notify us by reply mail or telephone and delete the original message from your mail system.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** *****

I reject Ewalds response as Mr. ******* has provided erroneous information. He writes Ewald provided Chrome valve stem caps and as I said, the vehicle did not come with any valve stem covers on it.  This is the point I am making the vehicle should have been delivered to us with valve stem covers and properly working valve stems on it. All four valve stems were severely weathered and eroded. The one I pointed out to them on Feb. 6, 2012 had a visible crack in the threading. The front two that were not replaced are still severely weathered, I can provide pictures upon request. The milage Mr. ******* quotes is also incorrect, my warranty paperwork has the miles documented as 43220, documented by an Ewald employee, the miles were well within the warranty allotted miles as the paperwork shows. 

I called the Ewald garage on Feb. 4th, 2012 to report the dash board warning light, well within the warranty time and mileage and only 8 days after purchasing the vehicle. On Feb. 4th, the service person told me not to drive the vehicle until they could see it at the appointment time on Feb. 6th. Again Mr. ******* reports erroneous information stating no one told me the vehicle couldn't be driven. I was also told they do not give a loaner car in this situation. This caused problems for us as it left my significant other stranded in another state for 2 extra days and left me stranded with a high risk pregnancy and no vehicle to get to the hospital if I needed to. On Feb. 6th I was told by the staff at the garage they had to order parts, they would call me when they got the parts in and that it was safe to drive with the dash light on. Why would I not believe the tire valve situation was not included in this?  The paperwork I received says N/C, usually meaning no charge. More than a month later I received a card in the mail stating the parts were in and I could call and schedule. I had to change the date a couple of times as I was in and out of the hospital, without warning, because of my high risk pregnancy. 

Again Mr ******* provides erroneous information by stating the first time the tire valves were brought up was on 3/22 as this date was the 3rd time I brought the vehicle in and as it says on the paperwork the tire valves were supposed to be replaced at no charge per ** *** ***** ******* as we spoke with him prior to this about the situation. Mr. ******* writes about "negoation with the customer", he is referring to the phone conversation between the service manager and my significant other about being charged at all for any of this. I was present for the conversation on my significant other's side of the phone, he insisted we should not be paying for this as the vehicle should not have been delivered to us in this condition with all the positive advertisement and paperwork stating the multi system checks and certification's. Again, these problems were not reported outside the warranty time, Mr. ******* fails to provide information about the multiple calls I made to report these problems within warranty time and it is not my fault for the time it took for parts to come in. 

The next paragraph where Mr. ******* attempts to quote me is mostly erroneous, I did not say the word "****" in his presence, I taped the whole conversation and can e-mail it if you are interested. To quote Mr. ******* per the recording, Mr. ******* said to me "Im already very familiar with this and we've already taken care of the majority of it, I'm not going to take care of any more." This is quite self explanatory to the kind of "serious professionalism Ewald prides itself on". I told Mr. ******* that I am a veteran of 2 foreign wars and if I served my country like he does business, I would be in leavenworth and if he insists on making me pay $100.00 for this I would be sure to spend one hundred dollars worth of my time writing complaint letters to every veteran's organization that has a black ball list (not black mail) warning others of this service from Ewald. Mr. ******* could not have taken the "ice cold approach" as all this was reported with in the warranty time however it looks like I will have to pay $412.28 to get the other 2 tire valves replaced as the truck is still having the same problem even though its been to the Ewald service department 4 times now and still not resolved. Mr. ******* certainly did not "take the high road" or they would have honored all their advertisement of "certified used cars" and this quote from their website; "Ewald’s service department is second to none! With our state-of-the-art facilities and certified technicians we strive to ensure that your vehicle is a safe traveling vessel. Our techs are the very best in diagnosing a problem and making sure you get back on the road as quickly as possible. Our service prices are the lowest and we want your complete satisfaction, in fact if you aren’t satisfied we will redo the work at no charge or you will get your money back!" 

In fact the third time the truck was taken in the service department installed a tire valve that only spoke "japanese" to the computer, causing a 4th visit to get it replaced with an english speaking tire sensor. I have spent more hours than I care to count at the Ewald waiting room. Where's compensation for my time because of their mistakes? I've never asked them to operate as a "non-profit organization", simply honor their advertisement and fix the problems that never should have escaped their attention in the first place. 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dear BBB, 

In response to the issue of the vehicle, again the vehicle was delivered with no valve stem covers and severely damaged valve stems. Obviously Mr. ******* agrees this 1. Should not have been delivered this condition 2. is not included as the "as is" description and 3. should not be a warranty issue because he keeps insisting this was taken care of per the Ewald's "State Safety Inspection, Gold Check Certification" paperwork. This should have been covered under "the reasonable care standard" of the "WI Buyers Guide". The "WI Buyers Guide paperwork they included in my package lists the milage at 43,151dated 12/14/11. My warranty paperwork lists the milage at 43,220 dated 1/26/12, (the day we bought it) shouldn't warranty work fall under the milage listed on the warranty contract? I'm not sure how to make this more clear and understandable as the documentation speaks for itself. Furthermore, the valve stem caps were not replaced as a courtesy from Ewald, I bought them from auto zone. 

 

On the 2/6/12 visit, I reported the valve situation and pointed it out the the man checking the vehicle in. It is not my fault he failed to document it. Again, both rear stems were so severely damaged and eroded, one had a hole in the threading and the other crumbled when my 'significant other' put the tire gage on it. When he spoke to **** ******* on the phone he did not "agree to pay the deductible because he broke it" he argued the point that the condition was so bad it was dangerous to drive and should not have been sold this way in the first place. How is this a "goodwill" repair when it should have never left the lot in this condition in the first place. The kind of weathering and corrosion that causes metal to crumble like that does not happen over night or in a week nor is something we could have caused. Per the back of the WI Buyers guide paperwork it states under Important Consumer Information, obligation to remedy undisclosed problems; it is an unfair practice for a dealership to refuse to remedy any problem that should have been disclosed on the guide if the problem; existed at the time of sale, could have been found using reasonable care, was not disclosed and is reported to the dealer when discovered and the vehicle is made available to the dealership. We satisfied all of these qualifications. 

In response to the issues related to Mr. *******'s behavior, as he states in his quote of WI law, consent from one party is needed to legally record a communication, if it's not obvious then I shall put it in writing, I give my consent, his was never needed and the recording will stand in a court of law. Furthermore, a 'black ball' list doesn't harm a reputation, the offenders harm their own reputation. I can describe my experience of Ewald's unfair practices to whom ever I please. As it turns out at the American Legion post I belong to another American Legion member has had a much worse experience with Ewald's service department  than I have and regrettably had I found this out sooner I would have shopped around more. How Mr. *******'s family's military service effects my treatment from Ewald employees is unclear. If he's trying to convince me of his patriotism he should sign up, as I did. If he's trying to prove Ewald's patriotism, they should not have treated this veteran so horribly, otherwise this has nothing to do with the damaged valve stems. 

Regards,

**** *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1