Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ernie von Schledorn, Inc.

Phone: (262) 255-6000 Fax: (262) 253-8843 View Additional Phone Numbers N88W14167 Main St., Menomonee Falls, WI 53051 http://www.evsauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new GMC, Buick, and Volkswagen vehicles, as well as used vehicles. The company also offers general auto repair, and collision services including paint less dent removal.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ernie von Schledorn, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ernie von Schledorn, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Ernie von Schledorn, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1966 Business started: 01/01/1966 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1966 Business incorporated 04/16/1959 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Deanne Emanuele, Customer Relations Manager Mr. Eric von Schledorn, Dealer/Operator
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Deanne Emanuele, Customer Relations Manager
Related Businesses
Ernie von Schledorn Lomira, Inc
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Paintless Dent Repair Auto Repair & Service - Airbags New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Ernie von Schledorn Buick/Pontiac/Chrysler EVS EVS Chevrolet
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ernie von Schledorn, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • N88W14167 Main St.

    Menomonee Falls, WI 53051 (262) 255-6000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Arrived at 9:55am on Saturday 6/18/16. I waited around for 10 minutes before I was ever approached and asked what I needed help with. I explained that I needed an emissions test completed (since they were listed on the dmv website as a site that completed emissions testing). It was now 10:05am, and I was told that there isn't anyone available after 10am to perform the emissions tests.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to either perform the emissions test as agreed upon by listing themselves as a testing location, or remove themselves from the list and stop collecting tax payers money for a service they refuse to provide. I would then like the company to follow up with me on which decision they have made.

Business Response:

The customer was contacted and apologized to for any inconvenience we may have caused him and welcomed him back to have the emissions testing done. He stated it was already performed. We explained that our employee that does the emissions testing on Saturday left early for the day for family reasons just as he pulled in. We did advise the customer that we have 2 certified employees and we are now in the process of getting 5 more employees certified so this situation does not occur again. In good faith, we offered the customer a free oil and filter certificate for the inconvenience we have caused him. The customer declined. We advised him that we are still willing to honor that free oil and filter change. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,
**** ********

1/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 10th, we had our 2005 Volkswagen Jetta TDI serviced at EVS VW. The service included a fluids check. While I am aware a TDI does not have a dipstick to check transmission fluid, on the checklist sheet there is an option to check it the way you would have to with our vehicle. They okay-ed all fluids and did not tells us anything otherwise. On December 24th, the car's transmission went in Northern Wisconsin. Upon repair, and discovery it was the transmission, it was noted that there was no transmission fluid, it leaked out very slowly at the axels and caused the transmission to go. The fluid build up in the surrounding areas was so caked on, it had been out of fluid for a long period of time. After $4,000 between a long distance rental and repairs, we contacted the dealership to see what we could do about this situation, as we were informed had there been transmission fluid, this wouldn't have happened, on three seperate occasions we were given the run around, and or not called back. Once today 01/11/2016, 01/07/2016, and 12/29/2015. Two of the times the Servive Manager **** was spoken with. We were told they would look into the file of what was done that day and they would call us back with no calls back and very poor customer service. They have done nothing to help us resolve this issue and taken no blame for ruining our transmission even though we have been diligent customers of theirs since we got the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: We would appreciate the dealership taking responsibly and paying us back what we paid for repairs and rental that could have been avoided had they completed the check list they gave us.

Business Response: Customer was invited to the dealership to go over past service recommendations for the 2005 Volkswagen Jetta TDI as well as her recent repair bill for the transmission. In goodfaith, we provided assistance with her repair bill. Customer is happy and was a pleasure to work with.

3/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2002 Saturn Vue from Ernie Von Schledorn(EVS) on January 31st within 30 miles of driving the check engine light came on. On my way home I stopped at auto shop I usually use for work. The checked the engine code and let me know it was an exhaust related code so I knew the vehicle would not pass emissions. I called EVS on 2/4 and talked to used car manage ******* once I explained the situation the first words out of his mouth were I know for a fact, that vehicle was sold as-is, but you can bring it in and we can look at it. On 2/5 I called and talked to the salesman I bought it from, ******* ***** he recommended I bring it in on 2/6 before lunch, because he didn’t think they would be able to look at my car the afternoon of the 5th. When I brought the car in I met ******* and he took it to the back. When he came back he said they believed it may be the fuel pump and that they had reset the check engine light and I should be sure to drive it over the weekend, and if the light comes back on to call them. Within 12 miles the light was back on. I called ******* and let him know. He said his manager wanted me to bring it into the service department to have it look at. I asked when he said whenever I asked about Saturday he said the shop opens at 7. I showed up Saturday at 7 and found they don’t open till 8:30 and when I returned at 8:30 they told me they don’t have a GM mechanic working on Saturday and I should call **** ***** *** ******* ******** on Monday morning. On Monday morning I called and got a receptionist she transferred me to service and they scheduled me for a 1 pm appointment on the 10th. When I took the car in they looked it up and saw there was an open case for work. They took it and told me there would be an 80 dollar fee to test it, after testing it they explained it was a loose lower manifold and they would have to remove the upper manifold so they could re-torque the lower manifold. Once they were all done they handed me my $349 bill for service. I firmly believe they were aware the engine light had been on and they had reset it which is why ******* made the comment while on our test drive “see the engine light is not on”. I looked up and asked around about the fee for fixing the manifold and found that the normal price ranges is from $150 to about $330 depending on private shop or dealership. I got a bargain with a 15% discount at $349. So not only did they sell me a vehicle that would not pass emissions they then charged me to fix what they should have in the first place, at inflated prices.

Desired Settlement: If EVS would like to make it right with me they can return my $349, for work they should have already fixed or they should have decided it wasn’t worth fixing and not sold the vehicle.

Business Response:

After reviewing the matter a check has been issued to the customer in the full amount of $346.87 and has been placed in the mail.  We apologize for the inconvience to the customer.

If there are any further questions please direct them to the undersigned.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

***** ********

******** ********* *******

1/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 2nd, my fiancé and I spoke to a salesman about a 2014 Terrain. (we live 2 hours away), and said that maybe we would come look at the vehicle on that Friday. The salesman, *******, told us that we could put a $200 hold on our credit card to hold the vehicle if we decide to look at it. We agreed to the $200 deposit in both parties agreeing that no money would actually be charged to our account. However, I looked on our credit card statement and on 12/2/14, our card was charged $200. On 12/6/14, I immediately emailed the salesman and he had someone from accounting call me. I spoke to her, even gave her my credit card number again, so she could refund the charge. I have yet to have the refund back on my card, along with being charged interest from my credit card company. I have called EVS many times, emailed many times and have been either ignored, or told 'we'll look into it and let you know'. Never have heard a word back. Our card should have NEVER been charged in the first place and now we are getting charged that $200+interest!!

Desired Settlement: I would like my $200 refunded back to my card along with some additional money for interest for all of this trouble that I'm going through!

Business Response:

It is procedure that any vehicle that is put on hold for a customer, a deposit is made to secure the vehicle so no other customer can come in and buy the vehicle.  We weren't able to come to an agreement once the Ms. ****** arrived to the dealership. 

We do apologize that the refund hasn't happened yet and will do so immediately.  *** ******* ******* who was to refund the deposit is no longer with the company for a couple weeks and the card number was shredded by the past *** *******.  If the customer can call with the card number I will refund immediately along the the interest for the past three weeks.  Assuming the interest rate is 18% that would put the interest amount around $1.38 we will round up to $5.00.

I am off the weekend but the customer can contact Adam Bartoszak tonight or tomorrow otherwise I will be back in the office Monday at 9am.

Any further questions can be directed to me.

Sincerely,

***** ********

******** ********* *******

12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/10/14 at 9:05AM I brought my 2013 Ford Flex to Ernie Von Schledorn in Menomonee Falls for an oil change. I checked in with *******, who informed me it would take approximately one hour to complete my oil change. After one hour I received a phone call that there was an issue with my valve stem, and it could be the tire pressure sensor, or the stem. I had the option of having it replaced, and I accepted. I was told it wouldn't be much longer. Nearly two hours later I called and spoke to ******* who politely informed me that the valve stem was being brought because they did not have one in stock, and it would be approximately one hour more, at most. As promised, ******* called me within the hour to pick up my vehicle. After waiting fifteen minutes to receive my vehicle, a gentleman brought it around for me. I immediately got into my vehicle and proceeded to drive off the lot. As soon as I reached the stop light on Main Street I heard a loud grinding noise. I immediately turned around and drove back into the service center. I was approached by the cashier who had asked what she could help with, and I mentioned a very loud grinding noise that was not previously there. She phoned for help and while waiting, proceeded to look underneath my car. She immediately said "your belly pan is hanging and we will probably need to get you a new one". She got *******, advised ******* of what had happened, and ******* then drove the vehicle back to the service area. Several people pointed out along the way (noted in the video I took) that there was an object hanging. There was a loud dragging noise, and at one point a pop, in which ******* got out of the vehicle and did a quick spot check. After ******* drove the vehicle back to the service area, she and a few mechanics as well as a man in a suit stood around my car. As a customer, I expected information on what was happening. I also expected an apology from a manager. I did not receive that. Instead, I stood in the bay area for nearly an hour while on my 30 minute lunch break from work. I was assured that if there was damage, it would be replaced. ******* came back and said "surprisingly, there are no rips or tears" and she mentioned they were placing the belly pan back on. I waited another twenty minutes before ******* had additional information to share, which was that the screw was stripped due to dragging - but that they were getting it back in. She then offered me a free oil change, which I accepted, and an apology. I appreciated her professionalism and understood this was not her mistake. My concern however is that while I waited there for one hour I was assured that the issue would be fixed. I was assured when I left that it was taken care of. I believed the staff at EVS, because that is what I was told. Upon arriving home however my husband raised up the vehicle and noticed that the pan was in fact not fixed. It was being held on by ZIP TIES. This is not how I brought my vehicle to you, and I should not receive it back in this condition. I commuted 40 miles one way to EVS, and I also have a two year old daughter that frequently rides with me. I don't even want to imagine what could have happened had this belly pan ripped off while I was on the freeway, or what could happen if these zip ties decide to break. I was assured that my belly pan was fixed and was in the condition it was in when I dropped my vehicle off. This is a complete safety issue that shows my well-being was of no concern to your staff.

Desired Settlement: I would like this belly pan repaired at my local Ford dealer at no charge. I want it returned to its original condition which requires a new belly pan, new screws, and no zip ties.

Business Response:

This letter is in regards to your letter dated December 12, 2014. Ms. ****** came to our
dealership for her scheduled oil change the morning of December 10, 2014. When dropping off
the vehicle Ms. ****** stated that she works close to the dealership and to call when the oil
change was complete. At the time of drop off there was no mention from Ms. ****** of a tire
light being on her vehicle. Due to this fact it took longer than expected to properly diagnosis
(tire valve stem) and receive part as we are not a Ford dealer. ******* *******, ******* *******
called Ms. ****** as soon as the repair was complete. Ms. ****** picked up her vehicle and
drove off. Ms. ****** did come back after due to a noise coming from her vehicle. Afterwards
we immediately looked over the vehicle. It was determined that one of the factory fasteners
came lose which caused the belly pan to drag and make the noise. The fastener is a plastic
screw that comes from the factory and is known to wear; the fastener on Ms. ******'s vehicle
did show some signs of wear. We informed Ms. ****** of the fastener and told her that we
would secure the belly pan. The technician used the factory fastener and as a secondary
precaution used ties for extra reinforcement. Ms. ****** then left the dealership.
Ms. ******'s vehicle had 45,036 miles on it at the time of service; previous service work at our
dealership on her vehicle was performed with 25,362 miles which means Ms. ******'s vehicle
has been serviced elsewhere for oil changes. Removal of the fasteners during oil changes over
time make the fasteners wear. Perhaps the service express technician should have notated the
fastener showing wear at the time of repair. Nevertheless a second means was used to secure
the belly pan. The vehicle was inspected once the belly pan had dragged and showed no signs
of damage. The belly pan is simply a protective cover for the bottom of motor.
It should be mentioned that Ms. ****** never called our dealership once she left to let us know
that she was dissatisfied. As for an apology from the service manager, he never knew of the
incident. This letter along with a BBB and Department of Agriculture Letter was the first
mention to management about the issue. The man in a suit was a sales manager who was in
service for another matter and had no idea of Ms. ******'s issue. The ******* ******* did
apologize and give Ms. ****** a free oil change. If the management team would have known
about the incident at the time or prior to any letters an apology would have taken place. We
apologize for the incident.
In a gesture of goodwill we are willing to reimburse Ms. ****** an hour of diagnostic time at a
dealership of her choosing to re-inspect the belly pan.

Business Response:

Mr. Colmerauer,

If Ms. ****** wants her belly pan replaced at another dealership we are willing to refund Ms. ****** a total of $135.  That is the amount it would cost our dealership to replace the belly pan, the amount includes parts and labor.

 

If Ms. ****** accepts the offer we will consider the matter closed once the refund is issued.

 

Thank you.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******** ******

 

 

 

12/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon purchasing a new car from EVS the sales manager took it upon himself to drill 4 large holes in the front bumper to attach a license plate bracket. I was not asked if I wanted it installed. I removed the front bracket because I did not now it looked on my new car, that is when I discovered the $500 worth of damage that they caused when installing. I called the dealership to ask them to fix it. They said it is the law to put them on and they are declining all claims. After further investigation I found out the law is they tell the buyer the WI license plate laws and it is the buyers job to put them on the car. The dealership didn't even ask me and just did what they wanted, all while causing significant damage to my brand new 50k car.

Desired Settlement: I want the damage caused by EVS to my new car repaired. I was not consulted when they took it upon themselves to drill holes in my new car. They said they would repair for $200. I find it appalling that they would charge me for damage they caused. I want it repaired for free, as should have in the first place.

Business Response:

Mr. **********:

Please see attached document from Wisconsin Department of Transportation.  It is state law that front license plates are installed.  We install front plates on all of our vehicles.  We simply follow state laws. 

If you have any further questions please feel free to call anytime.

Sincerely,

***** ******** ******** ********* *******

***** *** *********

Business Response:

 

Mr. **********:

As stated before we follow state laws, the state provides two license plates to dealers that we install upon delivery.  Ms. ******* never mentioned prior to delivery that she would not follow state law to have a front license plate on her vehicle.  Our offer still stands to fill the holes at a discounted price.

We will consider this matter closed unless Ms. ******* decides to have holes repaired.

Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


The dealer should have informed the purchaser that the bracket they would use would cause significant damage to the car.  They never informed me that they were drilling into the car bumper.  Had they informed me I would have purchased the more expensive bracket that doesn't require drilling of holes into the bumper.  However they did not ask and they did this on their own.


Regards,

***** *******

 

 

4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2000 ford expedition on February 22, 2014. The day after i bought it i put a new starter on it, a couple days after that i needed to put a new alternator in it. Now my truck needs a new air ride suspension and something is wrong with the oil. I have called EVS 3 times and have got the run around talking to numerous people trying to resolve this issue. I was talking to one of the managers and he ended up hanging up on me. All he told me was to bring the truck and they would diagnostic o it but would not fix it. My boyfriend called soon after trying to get some answers. They told him they would call back in 10 min and never called. I'm a very unhappy customer. I would never recommend this place to anyone to buy a vehicle. I don't think i should have to pay for parts for a truck that i bought there them i think this stuff should have been fixed before it went on the floor to be sold

Desired Settlement: i want my truck fixed and my money back for the parts that i have put on my truck or my money back for the truck

Business Response:

ID#*******

This letter is response to ******** ******* complaint to the BBB.

I have attached the following documents for review.

1.  Signed contract by Ms. ******* with vehicle shown and sold as is.  No warranties

2.  Signed safety stating vehicle needs pads and rotors and vehicle shown and sold as is No warranties

3.  Signed service contract that customer declined to purchase

 

Ms. ******* was told several times that the vehicle was sold as is and agreed. As a good faith effort Ernie von Schledorn made several repairs on the 2000 expedition AFTER Ms. ******* took delivery of the vehicle.  We replaced a belt tensioner and also there was a short in the oil sending light which was repaired at no cost to Ms. *******.  Ms. ******* also stated there was a grinding noise coming from her vehicle that our Set-Up Manager drove 3 seperate times that could not duplicate such noise. 

We do believe that we have been more than fair with Ms. *******.

If you have any further questions please direct them to the undersigned.

Thank you.

Sincerly,

***** ********

******** ********* *******

************

 

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 2, 2013 I sent, by certified mail, a letter to Ernine Von Schledorn, Inc regarding my former 2007 Chevrolet Uplander-V that I traded in to this establishment on September 21, 2012. This vehicle ended up in the City of ******* and has accumulated storage and tow fees and was cited by ******* Streets and Sanitation Department. Apparently a title change was never made by the dealership and or as well as to whomever this vehicle was sold to. I have not heard anything back from Ernie Von Schledorn, Inc..; but did get the return receipt from the certified letter.

Desired Settlement: If this issue is not addressed and resolved and I then am some how am left and held responsible; then I in turn will be holding Ernie Von Schledorn, Inc. liable and will be seeking compensation!

Business Response:

Please be advised that the vehicle was sold to the ******* ********* **** *******.  Ms. ************'s name stays on title until an owner purchases the vehicle.  The ******* ********* **** ******* then sold the vehicle to a dealer in *******.  The vehicle has been impounded and we have been working with the Attorney present on the case.  We have faxed all documents to the Attorney.  We also have spoken with Ms. ************ about the situation.

We have been doing everything possible to assist in getting this issue resovled.

Any further quesitons please feel free to contact me.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

***** ********

******** ********* *******

###-###-####


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Ernie von Schledorn, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart