BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new GMC, Buick, and Volkswagen vehicles, as well as used vehicles. The company also offers general auto repair, and collision services including paint less dent removal.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ernie von Schledorn, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ernie von Schledorn, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Ernie von Schledorn, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1966 Business started: 01/01/1966 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1966 Business incorporated: 04/16/1959 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. April Liberski, Customer Relations Manager Mr. Brian Ransom, Service Director Mr. Morry Silverman, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. April Liberski, Customer Relations Manager
Related Businesses
Ernie von Schledorn Lomira, Inc
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Paintless Dent Repair Auto Repair & Service - Airbags New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Ernie von Schledorn Buick/Pontiac/Chrysler EVS EVS Chevrolet
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • N88W14167 Main St.

    Menomonee Falls, WI 53051 (262) 255-6000

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 231-8988(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 2nd, my fiancé and I spoke to a salesman about a 2014 Terrain. (we live 2 hours away), and said that maybe we would come look at the vehicle on that Friday. The salesman, *******, told us that we could put a $200 hold on our credit card to hold the vehicle if we decide to look at it. We agreed to the $200 deposit in both parties agreeing that no money would actually be charged to our account. However, I looked on our credit card statement and on 12/2/14, our card was charged $200. On 12/6/14, I immediately emailed the salesman and he had someone from accounting call me. I spoke to her, even gave her my credit card number again, so she could refund the charge. I have yet to have the refund back on my card, along with being charged interest from my credit card company. I have called EVS many times, emailed many times and have been either ignored, or told 'we'll look into it and let you know'. Never have heard a word back. Our card should have NEVER been charged in the first place and now we are getting charged that $200+interest!!

Desired Settlement: I would like my $200 refunded back to my card along with some additional money for interest for all of this trouble that I'm going through!

Business Response:

It is procedure that any vehicle that is put on hold for a customer, a deposit is made to secure the vehicle so no other customer can come in and buy the vehicle.  We weren't able to come to an agreement once the Ms. ****** arrived to the dealership. 

We do apologize that the refund hasn't happened yet and will do so immediately.  *** ******* ******* who was to refund the deposit is no longer with the company for a couple weeks and the card number was shredded by the past *** *******.  If the customer can call with the card number I will refund immediately along the the interest for the past three weeks.  Assuming the interest rate is 18% that would put the interest amount around $1.38 we will round up to $5.00.

I am off the weekend but the customer can contact Adam Bartoszak tonight or tomorrow otherwise I will be back in the office Monday at 9am.

Any further questions can be directed to me.

Sincerely,

***** ********

******** ********* *******

12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/10/14 at 9:05AM I brought my 2013 Ford Flex to Ernie Von Schledorn in Menomonee Falls for an oil change. I checked in with *******, who informed me it would take approximately one hour to complete my oil change. After one hour I received a phone call that there was an issue with my valve stem, and it could be the tire pressure sensor, or the stem. I had the option of having it replaced, and I accepted. I was told it wouldn't be much longer. Nearly two hours later I called and spoke to ******* who politely informed me that the valve stem was being brought because they did not have one in stock, and it would be approximately one hour more, at most. As promised, ******* called me within the hour to pick up my vehicle. After waiting fifteen minutes to receive my vehicle, a gentleman brought it around for me. I immediately got into my vehicle and proceeded to drive off the lot. As soon as I reached the stop light on Main Street I heard a loud grinding noise. I immediately turned around and drove back into the service center. I was approached by the cashier who had asked what she could help with, and I mentioned a very loud grinding noise that was not previously there. She phoned for help and while waiting, proceeded to look underneath my car. She immediately said "your belly pan is hanging and we will probably need to get you a new one". She got *******, advised ******* of what had happened, and ******* then drove the vehicle back to the service area. Several people pointed out along the way (noted in the video I took) that there was an object hanging. There was a loud dragging noise, and at one point a pop, in which ******* got out of the vehicle and did a quick spot check. After ******* drove the vehicle back to the service area, she and a few mechanics as well as a man in a suit stood around my car. As a customer, I expected information on what was happening. I also expected an apology from a manager. I did not receive that. Instead, I stood in the bay area for nearly an hour while on my 30 minute lunch break from work. I was assured that if there was damage, it would be replaced. ******* came back and said "surprisingly, there are no rips or tears" and she mentioned they were placing the belly pan back on. I waited another twenty minutes before ******* had additional information to share, which was that the screw was stripped due to dragging - but that they were getting it back in. She then offered me a free oil change, which I accepted, and an apology. I appreciated her professionalism and understood this was not her mistake. My concern however is that while I waited there for one hour I was assured that the issue would be fixed. I was assured when I left that it was taken care of. I believed the staff at EVS, because that is what I was told. Upon arriving home however my husband raised up the vehicle and noticed that the pan was in fact not fixed. It was being held on by ZIP TIES. This is not how I brought my vehicle to you, and I should not receive it back in this condition. I commuted 40 miles one way to EVS, and I also have a two year old daughter that frequently rides with me. I don't even want to imagine what could have happened had this belly pan ripped off while I was on the freeway, or what could happen if these zip ties decide to break. I was assured that my belly pan was fixed and was in the condition it was in when I dropped my vehicle off. This is a complete safety issue that shows my well-being was of no concern to your staff.

Desired Settlement: I would like this belly pan repaired at my local Ford dealer at no charge. I want it returned to its original condition which requires a new belly pan, new screws, and no zip ties.

Business Response:

This letter is in regards to your letter dated December 12, 2014. Ms. ****** came to our
dealership for her scheduled oil change the morning of December 10, 2014. When dropping off
the vehicle Ms. ****** stated that she works close to the dealership and to call when the oil
change was complete. At the time of drop off there was no mention from Ms. ****** of a tire
light being on her vehicle. Due to this fact it took longer than expected to properly diagnosis
(tire valve stem) and receive part as we are not a Ford dealer. ******* *******, ******* *******
called Ms. ****** as soon as the repair was complete. Ms. ****** picked up her vehicle and
drove off. Ms. ****** did come back after due to a noise coming from her vehicle. Afterwards
we immediately looked over the vehicle. It was determined that one of the factory fasteners
came lose which caused the belly pan to drag and make the noise. The fastener is a plastic
screw that comes from the factory and is known to wear; the fastener on Ms. ******'s vehicle
did show some signs of wear. We informed Ms. ****** of the fastener and told her that we
would secure the belly pan. The technician used the factory fastener and as a secondary
precaution used ties for extra reinforcement. Ms. ****** then left the dealership.
Ms. ******'s vehicle had 45,036 miles on it at the time of service; previous service work at our
dealership on her vehicle was performed with 25,362 miles which means Ms. ******'s vehicle
has been serviced elsewhere for oil changes. Removal of the fasteners during oil changes over
time make the fasteners wear. Perhaps the service express technician should have notated the
fastener showing wear at the time of repair. Nevertheless a second means was used to secure
the belly pan. The vehicle was inspected once the belly pan had dragged and showed no signs
of damage. The belly pan is simply a protective cover for the bottom of motor.
It should be mentioned that Ms. ****** never called our dealership once she left to let us know
that she was dissatisfied. As for an apology from the service manager, he never knew of the
incident. This letter along with a BBB and Department of Agriculture Letter was the first
mention to management about the issue. The man in a suit was a sales manager who was in
service for another matter and had no idea of Ms. ******'s issue. The ******* ******* did
apologize and give Ms. ****** a free oil change. If the management team would have known
about the incident at the time or prior to any letters an apology would have taken place. We
apologize for the incident.
In a gesture of goodwill we are willing to reimburse Ms. ****** an hour of diagnostic time at a
dealership of her choosing to re-inspect the belly pan.

Business Response:

Mr. Colmerauer,

If Ms. ****** wants her belly pan replaced at another dealership we are willing to refund Ms. ****** a total of $135.  That is the amount it would cost our dealership to replace the belly pan, the amount includes parts and labor.

 

If Ms. ****** accepts the offer we will consider the matter closed once the refund is issued.

 

Thank you.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******** ******

 

 

 

12/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon purchasing a new car from EVS the sales manager took it upon himself to drill 4 large holes in the front bumper to attach a license plate bracket. I was not asked if I wanted it installed. I removed the front bracket because I did not now it looked on my new car, that is when I discovered the $500 worth of damage that they caused when installing. I called the dealership to ask them to fix it. They said it is the law to put them on and they are declining all claims. After further investigation I found out the law is they tell the buyer the WI license plate laws and it is the buyers job to put them on the car. The dealership didn't even ask me and just did what they wanted, all while causing significant damage to my brand new 50k car.

Desired Settlement: I want the damage caused by EVS to my new car repaired. I was not consulted when they took it upon themselves to drill holes in my new car. They said they would repair for $200. I find it appalling that they would charge me for damage they caused. I want it repaired for free, as should have in the first place.

Business Response:

Mr. **********:

Please see attached document from Wisconsin Department of Transportation.  It is state law that front license plates are installed.  We install front plates on all of our vehicles.  We simply follow state laws. 

If you have any further questions please feel free to call anytime.

Sincerely,

***** ******** ******** ********* *******

***** *** *********

Business Response:

 

Mr. **********:

As stated before we follow state laws, the state provides two license plates to dealers that we install upon delivery.  Ms. ******* never mentioned prior to delivery that she would not follow state law to have a front license plate on her vehicle.  Our offer still stands to fill the holes at a discounted price.

We will consider this matter closed unless Ms. ******* decides to have holes repaired.

Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


The dealer should have informed the purchaser that the bracket they would use would cause significant damage to the car.  They never informed me that they were drilling into the car bumper.  Had they informed me I would have purchased the more expensive bracket that doesn't require drilling of holes into the bumper.  However they did not ask and they did this on their own.


Regards,

***** *******

 

 

4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2000 ford expedition on February 22, 2014. The day after i bought it i put a new starter on it, a couple days after that i needed to put a new alternator in it. Now my truck needs a new air ride suspension and something is wrong with the oil. I have called EVS 3 times and have got the run around talking to numerous people trying to resolve this issue. I was talking to one of the managers and he ended up hanging up on me. All he told me was to bring the truck and they would diagnostic o it but would not fix it. My boyfriend called soon after trying to get some answers. They told him they would call back in 10 min and never called. I'm a very unhappy customer. I would never recommend this place to anyone to buy a vehicle. I don't think i should have to pay for parts for a truck that i bought there them i think this stuff should have been fixed before it went on the floor to be sold

Desired Settlement: i want my truck fixed and my money back for the parts that i have put on my truck or my money back for the truck

Business Response:

ID#*******

This letter is response to ******** ******* complaint to the BBB.

I have attached the following documents for review.

1.  Signed contract by Ms. ******* with vehicle shown and sold as is.  No warranties

2.  Signed safety stating vehicle needs pads and rotors and vehicle shown and sold as is No warranties

3.  Signed service contract that customer declined to purchase

 

Ms. ******* was told several times that the vehicle was sold as is and agreed. As a good faith effort Ernie von Schledorn made several repairs on the 2000 expedition AFTER Ms. ******* took delivery of the vehicle.  We replaced a belt tensioner and also there was a short in the oil sending light which was repaired at no cost to Ms. *******.  Ms. ******* also stated there was a grinding noise coming from her vehicle that our Set-Up Manager drove 3 seperate times that could not duplicate such noise. 

We do believe that we have been more than fair with Ms. *******.

If you have any further questions please direct them to the undersigned.

Thank you.

Sincerly,

***** ********

******** ********* *******

************

 

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 2, 2013 I sent, by certified mail, a letter to Ernine Von Schledorn, Inc regarding my former 2007 Chevrolet Uplander-V that I traded in to this establishment on September 21, 2012. This vehicle ended up in the City of ******* and has accumulated storage and tow fees and was cited by ******* Streets and Sanitation Department. Apparently a title change was never made by the dealership and or as well as to whomever this vehicle was sold to. I have not heard anything back from Ernie Von Schledorn, Inc..; but did get the return receipt from the certified letter.

Desired Settlement: If this issue is not addressed and resolved and I then am some how am left and held responsible; then I in turn will be holding Ernie Von Schledorn, Inc. liable and will be seeking compensation!

Business Response:

Please be advised that the vehicle was sold to the ******* ********* **** *******.  Ms. ************'s name stays on title until an owner purchases the vehicle.  The ******* ********* **** ******* then sold the vehicle to a dealer in *******.  The vehicle has been impounded and we have been working with the Attorney present on the case.  We have faxed all documents to the Attorney.  We also have spoken with Ms. ************ about the situation.

We have been doing everything possible to assist in getting this issue resovled.

Any further quesitons please feel free to contact me.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

***** ********

******** ********* *******

###-###-####

4/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wednesday March 20 2013 I purchased a **** *** ****** from the listed dealership. I live about an hour away from the dealership. I drove the truck home Wednesday night and parked it in my driveway until this morning on march 22 2013 . I went to take my kids to school and it just went completely down hill from there . First I noticed that my windshield wipers do not work and then the back windows on the truck roll down but not back up and then yes there's more it has a feature called active fuel management on the truck that allows it to switch to a four cylinder motor from a v8 for fuel economy when to truck is not under power however when it does that it shutters really bad . When I got home it had a bad motor tick as well . I climbed underneath the truck to see if anything was leaking and found the there was a bolt almost all the way out of the rear differential not that it has anything to deal with it but I took a picture of it because on the buyers guide it states they inspected it and the rest of the issues. There is no absolute way they inspected this vehicle as they listed on the sheet . I started calling right away leaving voice mails for someone to call me back I chated will a person online from there dealership about the issues as well she said she would mark it as urgent and have someone call asap. Still nothing. They always answered my calls or returned the m right away during the purchase but now I have issues I get nothing and that leads me to believe they are scammers.

Desired Settlement: I have gave them adequate time to get back to me. At this point I want a refund. I understand that buying a used vehicle comes repairs even new ones you have that but on my second time driving the truck I got poured on so to speak . It was stated on the with buyers guide that all these issues were not there. I can guarantee that the inspector filled in the blanks and that should be investigated as well . I refuse to be a victim of a scamming dealership when I spent 22000 with them and don't get a phone call back. I can not afford to miss work because I got scammed and was sold a complete pile of junk. I greatly appreciate service s such as you guys . Thank you so much in advance for your time

Business Response:

Ms. ******** had left her messages on voicmail of a **** *** ******* who was gone all day at the auction.  Also the "lady" she communicated with on our website is actually an outsourced company we use called *********** and wasn't actually anyone from our dealership, it does take additional time for those communications to reach us.

Please be advised that Ms. ********'s vehicle has been at our dealership since Saturday, March 23rd.  We are working on her vehicle and have been in contact with her in regards to repairs.  Estimated completion of her vehicle is Saturday, March 30th.

We apologize for any delay in getting back to Ms. ********.

Sincerely,

***** ********

 

******** ********* *******

 

12/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Me and my wife bought a 2009 Toyota Sienna Van from Ernie Von. We had an agreement that me an my wife will buy the van if Ernie Von provide us anoter set of key and the middle section from the 2nd row seat. The sales rep ***** agreed and will locate both items. We bought the van and held on to our part of the agreement. Ernie Von only meet half of their agreement. They provided the extra key but did not provide the middle seat. They also up our trade-in value by $500 so the bank will approve us for a better rate. Now they are stating that since they gave us a higher trade-in value, they are no longer obligated to provide the seat. The amouont increased in the trade was to get the bank approval, which has nothing to do with the seat nor was it mentioned to us. The sales rep ****** and manager *** at Ernie will not respopnd to any calls or voice mail. They claimed they been calling the wrong number. Which is a lie because they have both of our numbers in their system. ****** also acted as if he was putting me on hold but hung up the phone on me. I called back but was transfer to his voice mail. They are trying to avoid us in hope that we will give up and forget about the seat.

Desired Settlement: Either find the replacement seat or give us the value of a used seat.

Business Response:

Please refer to the attachments:

1.  ****, signed contract

2.  2009 Toyota Sienna article

A second set of keys was provided to the customers.  It was also stated that EVS would try to locate a center seat for the second row, if available and for a cost.  However, upon review Mr. and Mrs. **** have an XLE model which ONLY offers captains chairs for the second row.  Please review second, highlighted page of 2009 Toyota Sienna.  Center, second row seat is only available on CE and LE models. 

Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

EVS DID NOT state that they will try to locate the seat.  They stated that if we agree to buy the van, THEY WILL LOCATE THE SEAT AT NO COST.  After reviewing

the documents, I understand that the van does not come with a seat.  Their sales rep should of check the available options before making a promise

to the customer.  They had dragged this whole situation on for weeks without a courtesy phone call.  They were rude and lied about not having our

correct phone number but they sure have my number on the contract.  They had lead us in hope that they will find us the seat.  They wasted our time

and can't even compensate us for our wasted time.  Further more, we didn't even get a simple apology.   


Regards,

*** ****

 

8/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a **** ******* from the dealership, the********** name was ***** *. ******. As we were test driving the vehicle, he told me, "I got you 2 keys to this vehicle also", so, I liked the vehicle so we went in to do the paperwork, as we were doing the paperwork, ***** came back in from making copies or something, and said "I can't give you both keys today, but I will either mail you the one, or we can get one at the Jeep dealership here in Madison", I didn't ask why, just assumed he was on the up and up. Well, a couple weeks went by, I heard nothing from them, so I called***** on his cell phone, on a Thursday, he said I will call you back, I got a text from him that evening said he would call me in the morning, never called. I let a couple more weeks pass, then I sent him a text, asking why he didn't call me back and where my key is, he never responded. So, I let a couple more weeks pass, I called the dealership and asked to talk to a *******, I did, he told me he would get to the bottom of it and I WOULD get a call back this time, no call back. So, yesterday the 23rd of July, I called the dealership again, asked to talk to a *******, got a voice mail, no response again.

Desired Settlement: We are just asking for another key for our **** ******* as promised by ***** ******.

Business Response:

The customer did get their second key over two weeks.  We do apologize for the delay. 

Side note:  this email was in our spam.  We receive multiple emails that are scams.  Is there a way to stop this.  You say this was a second warning for no response but we did not receive a first.  Please contact me at 262-253-8802 so we can straighten out this matter.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

***** ********