BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used car sales, auto parts, and tires. The business also offers auto repairs including brakes, oil changes, transmission work, alignment diagnostics, and electrical repair.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Eric Von Schledorn Ford, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Eric Von Schledorn Ford, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Eric Von Schledorn Ford, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 08, 2012 Business started: 10/26/1993 in WI Business started locally: 10/26/1993 Business incorporated: 07/15/2008 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Eric J. Von Schledorn, Owner Mr. Tony Jansen, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Tony Jansen, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Eric J. Von Schledorn, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto

Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • W4873 County Road RR

    Random Lake, WI 53075 (877) 571-7045 (920) 994-4376

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (920) 994-4376(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a **** ******* from von Schledorn on Feb. 23 2013. 4 days later the check engine light came on. My mechaniac said it would not past the emission test and told me what had to be replaced to fix it. the dealer did take it back and they had it for a week. I told them what my mechaniac said to fix but they only replaced the abs sensor and some kind of hose. When I got it back 2 days later the check engine light came on again. I went to my mechaniac again and he said it had not been fixed. I did not trust von Schledorn to fix it because their service department did nothing. I called the business manager but he never retured my call. I then had my mechaniac fix it for repair costs of $375.00. It since has passed the emissions. I feel they should atleast make sure when they sell cars that they are able to pass the emissions or pay to fix. They also never told me that there was no air conditioner in the car before I bought my mechaniac again told me it had been removed and by pasted. I also had to have new spark plugs and wires put in because it was running rough and 2 out of 4 spark plugs was all brown. If this is the way they do businees I will not go back and i will tell others the same thing. I want them to pay me back for the repairs they never did!!!!!

Desired Settlement: I want them to pay me the $375.00 I had to pay out to make sure it would pass the emmission test and run correctly!!!!!

Business Response:

Ms. *********** did in fact purchase a **** ******* ******* from our dealership on February 13, 2013.  Approximately 4 days after purchasing the vehicle she called our dealership to inform us that the Service Engine Soon light was showing on her dash and that the car had failed an emissions test.  At that time we asked that she bring the car back to our dealership so that our service department could have an opportunity to diagnose the problem and make a recommendation for corrective actions.  Ms. *********** did as we asked and returned her vehicle to our dealership.  Please note that during the time that her car was in our shop a loaner vehicle was provided to her to use free of charge.  Our service department diagnosed the issue as a bad fuel pressure sensor and cracked fuel filler tube.  Attached is our repair order number 130729 itemizing the repairs that were made to correct the Service Engine Soon concern.   Ms. *********** was not charged anything for these repairs, as our dealership assumed the full cost of $274.13.  We believe that the repairs we made corrected the issues that were causing the Service Engine Soon light to appear and the resulting failed emissions test.

My understanding is that Ms. *********** picked up her vehicle from our dealership after the repairs were made and proceeded to a DMV testing facility to have the vehicle re-tested.  Our service director informs me that there is a length of time that must elapse between when repairs are made and when a vehicle can get re-tested for a failed emissions test.  There are internal cycles and tests that the car's computer must perform prior to having the vehicle re-tested and subsequently passing an emissions test.  Because the requisite amount of time had not passed prior to re-testing, the car once again failed.  Ms. *********** phone our dealership after her vehicle failed the second emissions test and expressed her dissatisfaction.  Our offer to have our service department look at the vehicle once again was denied as she did not trust that our service department could correct the problem, and chose rather to take it to an independent mechanic. 

It is our dealership's position that had the requisite amount of time elapsed between the repairs being made and the re-testing, that the vehicle would in fact have passed the emissions test without further repair.  Had the vehicle failed an emission test for a second time after we made the repairs, and the appropriate time had elapsed, it would have been our standard practice to ask that the vehicle be returned to our dealership for further inspection and any necessary repairs would have once again been made without cost to Ms. ***********.

Thank you  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ***********

I have read their response and they are not telling the truth. I never once told them I had the car in for a emissions test!!!! I said to them after picking up my car from their so called repairs two days later the check engine light came on again.  My mechaniac said it was the same thing they only replaced a sensor and a hose not the fuel filler neck. The sales woman also claimed the had to remove the gas tank which has never been removed.  I then deciced I could not trust them because they had lied so many times and did not do the work so I had my mechaniac do it.  He replaced the fuel filler neck and a valve to take take of the problem.  Also new spark plugs as I said before.  Also what about the fact the car has no air conditioner in it and I never found that out till my mechaniac told me.  I never saw a check list of any kind before I payed for the car.  Any way after my mechaniac fixed it I waited 2 days like I know I should and then and only then did I have my car tested.  It Passed!!!!  All they do is lie and I am fed up with it .  I can send copies of what I paid to get it fixed and a statement from my mechaniac if you want them.  This car dealer is never going to do anything I was an idiot to believe they are honest.  I will tell everyone who will listen what kind od cheats they are.  I will wait to hear from you

 

 

Business Response:

Attached please find a copy of the Wisconsin Buyers Guide signed by Ms. *********** when she purchased her vehicle on February 23, 2013.  This signed Buyer's Guide clearly states that the 11 year old vehicle she purchased was not free of mechanical defect, and all known issues with the vehicle were fully disclosed prior to purchase and once again at the time of delivery.  The Buyers Guide clearly states that there are known issues with the the following:

  • Idles improperly, stalls, diesels
  • Known or visible leaks, excluding minor seepage
  • Gauges and Warning Devices indicate a system problem
  • Air conditioning problem
  • Cruise control problem

Under the explanation for for the above items it further references that at time of delivery the SES (Service Engine Soon) light was on, the cruise control was inoperative, the A/C was inoperative, the traction off light was on, the front axle seal was leaking, and the control arm bushings were worn. 

Also attached please find a copy of the original Motor Vehicle Purchase Contract signed by Ms. *********** when she purchased her vehicle on February 23, 2013.  This contract clearly states that she was purchasing a vehicle AS IS - NO WARRARANTY.   The contract further clearly states (in red print on the original documents) that "The entire risk as to the quality and performance of the goods is with the buyer.  Should the vehicle prove defective following purchase, the buyer will assume the entire cost of all service and repair."

Ms. *********** purchased the **** ******* ******* for $3,283, a price that was set and adjusted to account for the disclosed mechanical issues.  For your reference I have attached a Kelly Blue Book valuation for the **** ******* ******* stating that the retail value of the Sunfire would have been $4,350 had the vehicle been free from mechanical concerns.

Regardless of the fact that this vehicle was purchased "As-Is", our dealership did in fact assist Ms. *********** in making repairs to help correct one of the issues she was having after taking delivery.  We did in fact replace the fuel filler tube and fuel pressure control sensor at a cost of $274.13.  This cost was not passed on to Ms. ***********.  At the time she brought the vehicle back to our dealership this was what our technicians diagnosed as the cause for the SES light being on, and when the vehicle left our dealership the SES light was not on, and we were of the belief that the concern was corrected.  When Ms. *********** phoned our dealership to inform us that the SES light had come back on, she refused to return it to our dealership to further diagnose the concern. 

We certainly understand that 11 year old vehicles such as the one purchased by Ms. *********** are going to have issues, and as such we make every effort to carefully inspect these vehicles and disclose all of our findings.   In this case each and every one of the concerns and complaints made by Ms. *********** were cleary disclosed on the Wisconsin Buyers Guide, which she acknowledged with her signature.  It is our belief that our dealership went above and beyond when we made $274.13 of repairs to correct a concern that was clearly disclosed at the time of delivery.  We further offered to diagnose a disclosed condition for a second time, to which Ms. *********** refused, chosing rather to take the vehicle to her local mechanic.

Thank you for time!

**** ******, Eric von Schledorn Ford

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1