Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

East Madison Toyota

Phone: (608) 243-5500 Fax: (608) 241-8678 View Additional Phone Numbers 3501 Lancaster Dr, Madison, WI 53718 http://www.eastmadisontoyota.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states that they are a new/used auto dealership offering auto repair, alignment, tires, brakes, lube/oil, transmission,  and new car parts.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that East Madison Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for East Madison Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on East Madison Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 16, 2013 Business started: 12/06/1990 in WI Business started locally: 09/13/2012 Business incorporated 09/14/2012 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Roger Penske, President Mr. John Wineke, General Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Penske, President
Customer Contact: Mr. John Wineke, General Sales Manager
Related Businesses
Lexus of Madison
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Truck Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Lubricating Service - Automotive Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Truck Repair & Service Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Tune-Up New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

East Madison Toyota sells the following brand(s): Scion, Toyota

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: Closed
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

East Madison Toyota has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3501 Lancaster Dr

    Madison, WI 53718 (800) 843-8941 (877) 700-8549 (877) 312-2780 (608) 243-5500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False advertising. Fraudulent Charges. Vehicle defect deceit and cover-up. Inferior vehicle prep. The dealer lured me to their dealership to buy a car advertised on the window sticker, online, and via word of mouth from the sales person to have navigation. The vehicle was not equipped with navigation. I asked for premium aftermarket accessories/options to be installed. I was billed and told I received those products when in fact inferior (less expensive, less functionality) accessories were installed. The widow sticker (it is a certified pre-owned vehicle) noted the vehicle did not have problems with the cruise control or electrical system. The vehicle did in fact have electrical and cruise control problems. The vehicle was poorly prepped with other "flaws" such as a broken armrest and tape/factory wrap still on the vehicle when I came to pick it up.

Business Response:

I've been notified thru the social media and BBB of the customer's complaint, and do not agree with the claims toward the dealership.  The original and known complaint was of a cruise control light that the customer claims forced them to damage the vehicle.   The added concerns which are a stretch in my opinion, like some remaining plastic from the new vehicle prep and sales practices I feel are to try and build a case, but not validated concerns.  In the issues with armrest, cruise control and repair needs have all been forwarded to Toyota who's recently identified a repair that can be completed.  We sell the vehicles and when warranty exists they step in to help.  When people hit poles in parking lots, insurance companies step in to help.  I don't understand why the customer has made this out to be our fault or problem?  The request for a refund or us to pay for damage on the vehicle for hitting a pole, claimed as being an issue from the cruise is something the dealer has no interest and or responsibility for.  Many of the concerns would be covered under the warranty and we'd suggest the customer take advantage of the free repairs thru TMS.  At this point we'd be happy to share any records with any other Toyota dealer for them to take care of the repairs as well, East Madison Toyota has no interest in further communication with the guest.  Thanks.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The critical flaw in the dealers assessment of the issue is foundational to the resolution, accountability.  True, my complaint involves that the cruise control light is flashing thus creating a dangerous and very distracting environment for the driver.  However, the fundamental complaint isn't in the flashing light, it's in the dealer's tactics to hide the flaw.  The widow sticker in two places noted "no gauge, dash lights or device" flaws and "no cruise control problem" with the car.  This was further supported when discussing the vehicle with the sales team as I validated/questioned if there was, to paraphrase, "anything wrong with the car."  In reality, there were electrical and cruise control issues that weren't disclosed.  These are well documented on internal message boards, with East Madison Toyota's service center team, the Toyota customer care contact center, safecar.gov, and other online chat rooms, and etc.  Until recently, no fix was available for this documented issue. 

If the dealer had properly inspected the car and marked those flaws accurately, I wouldn't have bought the car.  My wife wouldn't have had to deal with the distracting/dangerous flashing jeopardizing the safety of our family/others as we drove car.  So yes, the flashing light is a problem perhaps beyond the dealers control.  But their actions to "conceal/deny" the flaws directly led me to buying the car. 

There is a pattern of actions that is hard to ignore.  The false advertising with Navigation - maybe just a mistake but the fact that it was online, replicated on the window sticker, and validated by the sales team makes me suspect on the controls in place.  The vehicle prep/tape - I agree - not a critical problem but shows poor service.  Broken armrest, was fixed after questioning it a few times and then insisting on a resolution (again, how it was missed in the inspection is hard to understand).  The billing for premium 2-way remote starts but then only installing one 2 way and an inferior 1-way remote doesn't seem like a fair and reputable practice either. 

It doesn't feel like the dealer is accountable to these practices or circumstances.  They don't build the car, but they sell and inspect them. Therein lies the issue. Perhaps there is no resolution as the dealer has made it clear they no longer wish to communicate with me.  I will, however, continue to communicate with others regarding my dealership experience.   


I've been notified thru the social media and BBB of the customer's complaint, and do not agree with the claims toward the dealership.  The original and known complaint was of a cruise control light that the customer claims forced them to damage the vehicle.   The added concerns which are a stretch in my opinion, like some remaining plastic from the new vehicle prep and sales practices I feel are to try and build a case, but not validated concerns.  In the issues with armrest, cruise control and repair needs have all been forwarded to Toyota who's recently identified a repair that can be completed.  We sell the vehicles and when warranty exists they step in to help.  When people hit poles in parking lots, insurance companies step in to help.  I don't understand why the customer has made this out to be our fault or problem?  The request for a refund or us to pay for damage on the vehicle for hitting a pole, claimed as being an issue from the cruise is something the dealer has no interest and or responsibility for.  Many of the concerns would be covered under the warranty and we'd suggest the customer take advantage of the free repairs thru TMS.  At this point we'd be happy to share any records with any other Toyota dealer for them to take care of the repairs as well, East Madison Toyota has no interest in further communication with the guest.  Thanks.

Regards,

***** ******

Business Response:

My response may not offer the customer complete satisfaction, but to validate our attempts to satisfy concerns I show the following in our customer records. After all we've done in an attempt to make the ownership a better one and taken on the expenses to accomodate below, the remaining issue with the light flashing and believing it has caused an accident is the remaining concern.  I don't feel the dealership deserves the attacks thru BBB and other review sites that the customer has given.  There will be no further considerations in this matter, and we will encourage Mr. ****** to take his business elsewhere as East Madison Toyota has no interest in dealing with him going forward.  Any concerns as discussed with the warranty is well documented with the manufacturer and they'll be able to share where needed.

Summary of issues we have documented. 

- #1 The Dealer intentionally and unethically hid a known material/safety related defect from me covering up the issue and then sold me the car o The cruise control backlighting blinks/flashes erratically in the driver’s peripheral vision (the customer claimed that this subsequently caused an accident)  We did not show the blinking light was found to be errant in our inspection, if it were we would have opened a case to Toyota as they would pay us to repair it.  With it being a small light on a cruise shaft located on the bottom of the steering wheel out of normal sight.  To not see it flashing is not unreasonable, and if it's erratic there is no guarantee that during the inspection it may have even been an issue. I can say with 100% confidence that we did not try to hide the fact that their was a blinking light on the cruise control shaft.  Toyota does have a recommended remedy for it available and at this point the customer has chosen not to get the repair complete.  Which again is odd to me if this is such a major concern to them.

- #2 The Dealer baited me to the dealership to buy the van advertising it online, at the dealer on the window sticker, and confirming via phone with me that it was equipped with navigation when it was not (Customer confirmed with our client relations manager that he was informed of this option not being in the vehicle and he still decided to buy it)

- #3 The Dealer passed off a broken armrest as working properly when I questioned it’s functionality during a pre-sale test drive (Sales person did not know it was broken, armrest was fixed on 10/29/2015 once he notified us of it.) He also requested a quote to have some damage fixed on his Sienna that he claims was a result of the blinking light.

- #4 Mr. ****** claims the Dealer shrugged off a ruined, dysfunctional remote as functioning when I questioned it during the loan signing noting “it’s fine, it’s [a] used [remote]” as the representative explained he was “just the messenger”(I reviewed the video and he did not mention anything about it in the finance office) I had a new smart key made and programmed for him on 12/02/15.

- #5 Mr. ****** claims the Dealer sold me on and charged me for two premium 2-way remote starters. One of the “2-way” remotes I received was an inferior 1-way remote model  (2-way remote start was sold, customer assumed he was getting (2) 2-way remote starts. They kit comes with (1) 2-way remote and (1) 1-way remote.)  We good willed a 2-way remote and programed it for him on 12/02/15.

- #6 The Dealer left the ~1 year old “protectant tape” over the license plate holes clearly visible extending beyond a mounted license plate for me to deal with (When sales person installed the customers license plate there was a small piece of masking tape sticking out from behind the plate. The sales person removed it and immediately)

11/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the afternoon of 9/11/14 I called Lancaster Toyota and spoke with **** in the service department to schedule service to my 2007 Toyota Prius. I had previously gone to ********* ****** in Osh Kosh Wisconsin for a diagnostic due to multiple codes lighting up on my dash. I had also gone to my local mechanic. He looked my car over and suggested that the only other problem besides the codes was that it needed an alignment and two front tires. Because the codes needed reset, he also suggested I go to a Toyota dealership. The information of the code repairs needed was in he national data. I had called both the Osh Kosh and the East Madison dealer for phone quotes on the code repairs and also for the replacement of the 2 front tires and an alignment. After my 9/11/14 phone conversation with ****, I decided to have the work done due to the cheaper estimate and his wonderful customer service. He told me the front alignment was $89.95. He said the tires had a sale and for the 4 tires instead of 2 it would be $398 with a $40 rebate that I needed to fill out at home and mail in for that credit. Of the couple codes in the national data it seemed that the o2 sensor needed replaced. The price with labor was approximately $335 if it came out easily and as much as $398 if they had a difficult time removing the sensor. ****, however, guessed they would not have a problem. We scheduled my appointment for the next day, 9/12/14 at 9 a.m. After scheduling, I called back because of my interest in applying for a 0% interest for 6 months special they were advertising on their website. The lady who answered, I believe her name was ******, told me the service department would take care of that when I came in. I arrived at 8:50 a.m. For my appointment. It was set up for an alignment, 4 tires, and an o2 sensor to be replaced. I also asked **** to keep my back 2 tires which still had good tread. We have 2 2007 Prius and those May be needed in the future. He had me sign my estimated costs of $800. I signed it. It was all set up and I asked if I could apply for the special financing offer. **** didn't know about it so he asked 2 other people. Finally the financial person within the service department area had me go into his office. He told me he didn't know anything about this special. I pulled it up on my I Phone. He then tried looking for it on his computer but, only after I showed him where to go, did he find it. Then he opened a sealed box that was sitting on the floor of his office. I was, he said, the first one to ask for this. He pulled out a paper application and said I could either fill that out or just walk down to Danes desk and he could help me save paper and do it online. I decided to save paper and walked down to have Dane help me apply online. When I got down to Dane, he handed me a paper application ( the same one in the previous office). He asked me to fill it out and then he would key that into the computer. I was frustrated with the lack of knowledge and the difficulty in applying for a special they promoted online. After I completed the app. **** said he would give me a call around 1:30 p.m. to 2:00p.m. To let me know that it was finished. Finally, around 2:30 p.m. He called to tell me there was a slight problem and more codes may need replaced. I asked him if he was sure because everyone had access to those codes and I didn't know more may need taken care of. I told **** my car needed fixed right so he said he was going to talk to the techs and let me know exactly what others needed taken care of before finishing the job. He never called back so around 3:30p.m. to 3:45 p.m. I called him. When we spoke he said my car was done and ready to go and that I could come and pick it up. He also stated at this time the techs think there may be another sensor starting to go and the only way to tell if it is bad is to drive my car around for a while and if the brake light comes on then I will know it is possibly a brake actuator but for now he said all of the lights were reset by the techs and none were showing. When I arrived **** said my total was $907 and I can't remember the change. I told him that I refused to pay that because I signed an estimate that morning for $800 and the day prior when we spoke my estimate was $762. I had asked **** that day before if the $335 for the sensor, the $89.95 for the alignment and the $338 for the 4 tires included labor and he said yes. I asked him if all I needed to add was the sales tax and he said yes. I asked him what Madison, Wisconsin sales tax was and he said 5.5%. I knew my total should be around $805 out the door. He told me he is never sure of materials they need to use and that is why the total was more. Then he said, " Let me look at my notes from our conversation yesterday." I said, " you do that while I pull my notes from yesterday out of my purse". He said, " You do that". So, I pulled out my notes and he adjusted the bill making the total $813 and change. I asked at this time for an estimate of the brake actuator in the event that it did end up going bad. When I spoke to **** at my 2:30 p.m. conversation, he was suppose to call me back with more info on those codes that may be bad or going bad and he didn't. I had told him I wanted the care taken care of, yet no call. As I walked to my car to leave, I realized the 2 tires were not in my hatch. So, I walked back in and **** said he forgot about the tires but he had the techs bring them to my car wrapped in bags and set in my hatch. I got back in my car and after I turned my car on to leave, the ONLY light that was turned off of the five lights I had was the check engine light. But the 4 others still remained! So, I walked back in to talk to **** again. He said he would go get the tech to explain to me why the lights were still on. The tech came out and explained that he did change the one sensor that was bad. However, when lights remained on he looked in his manual and suggested I have the brake actuator replaced because it seemed it was bad since he could not get the lights to reset. That is not AT ALL how **** had explained any of that to me. I told **** that he didn't explain that to me at all before finishing my car. He never called me back when he should have. In conclusion After I got home, **** charged me for disposal of 4 tires when I only had 2 disposed of. They were unaware of the financing special I was never called back by **** as to what codes needed potentially replaced besides the one I knew of. **** tried to charge me way more than my original estimate foe no real reason. **** forgot about my tires I wanted to keep. **** told me incorrectly that my codes were reset and all of the lights were off because they weren't. 4 lights still remained on. I spent $335 on the sensor that day and told **** during our 2:30 p.m. Conversation that I wanted my car fixed right so I was awaiting his call after he was suppose to find out exactly what else needed fixed from the techs yet he only called to tell me my car was ready to pick up so I assumed no other items were wrong with my car. I would probably not have had the $335 sensor replaced had I known that the brake actuator cost with labor was $2250. **** never called me back with that information. I paid my bill and left.

Desired Settlement: The desired outcome is to never have another person at this dealership mislead and charge people for services not rendered. I also never want the dealership to have another dissatisfied customer due to all of the inadequacies in the service area. Finally, I would like to have had that phone call with information from the techs like I was suppose to have. Then I could have decided whether or not to have all of the sensors replaced and the alignment and the tires or trade it in because the charges for all of the work done was more than the car itself was worth. I did not have that opportunity and for all of the reasons in my letter, I am completely dissatisfied.

Business Response:

******, I'm sorry to hear of your service visit and the lack of communication involved in your transaction.  As a store, along with the Advisors as individuals we spend a massive amount of time discussing customer satisfaction.  To read about your visit upsets me as it did you!  There's nobody in this store that wants happy customers more than me.  I'm writing you this reply with **** across my table.  He apologizes for the inconsistency's that were communicated to you.  **** started here just before your visit, but should have been brought up to speed on the credit card system for the free financing.  That is on myself and the management team for missing it on the onboarding.  Looking at the estimate and added time they logged inspecting the actuator issue, I don't believe the final cost was excessive for the repairs.  Obviously the tire disposal was missed when you retained the two, and that's an easy refund at $6.  I do know with sensors, many of the work thru's to the fix require us to take steps until the issue is gone.  I'm not familiar with yours, but feel we should have been less optimistic that it would fix it with the oxygen sensor only.  Since joining our team, **** has had the highest responses within the store of customer satisfaction, and he along with myself were very surprised to learn of your dissatisfaction!  I am sorry you have this bad taste in your mouth, and am willing to listen to any suggestions you have to allow us to be back in your good graces?  I do know we will be adding some additonal training requirements for the onboarding of new employees, along with this formal discussion with ****.  Is there something else we can do to help? 

 

P.S. feel free to contact me directly.  I missed the first request on this apparently, and don't want you to have to wait to discuss any additional concerns?

 

**** ******

*** **** ******* ****** ************ ****************************

12/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to them for repairs because i trust them as a dealership after the repairs i asked them if they can check a weird noise i hear when am braking,they said yes then they told me it was an issue with the brakes they can repair it.They said both verbally and on paper that they replaced the front brakes,replaced the front pads and then they did the rotors aswell.I paid for everything plus labor,i have less car knowledge mechanically but i know you cannot replace all these without replacing the rotors. I drove my car for two weeks after it was fixed then i heard the same noise i used to hear before it was fixed i took it to them that same day i heard the noise,**** ***** test drove the car and told me its the same noise but i have to bring it back a week after cause they were busy it will be taken care of.I took the car yesterday after 2hours he gave me a call telling me that i have to buy parts for the brakes but i don't have to pay for labor.I told him that you guys fixed my car for two weeks and it broke again with the same problem,i trust the dealership thats why i don't deal with local mechanics how would u feel if u were in my shoes? took your car to the dealership after 2weeks you have the same problem and they expect you to pay some money for the same issue.He said well you only have to buy parts for 173 dollars and don't pay for labor,i know its a dealership strategy when they tell you free labor it means the part you are buying is 1quarter of the amount.I checked the part cost on ebay and it was around 50-75dollars .

Desired Settlement: Fix my car cause i already paid for the services.

Business Response: I reviewed the concern with our service manager *** *******.  The customer had chosen getting brake rotors resurfaced vs. replaced.  The rotors have not responded well a few months later, and we now recommend replacement.  We take no responsibility to the customers decsision, but in an effort of goodwill, we have scheduled the customer to come in for the repair.  **** ***** has already reached out last week and has an appointment scheduled for the rememedy. 

Business Response:

We had a loaner car scheduled for you Monday morning at 7am to replace the rotors that you had us re-surface previously.  I guess I don't understand the issue that's outstanding.  Were agreeing to pay for the rotors to make things right.  Maybe that wasn't communicated during the phone call?  You can call *** at ###-###-#### to re-schedule, please arrive this time.  We have limited loaner cars and the mechanics work off of appointment.  Thanks.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** ******

 

 I was told that I have to deleted the review on the BBB website then come there on Monday at 7am to see how they can help me out,I'm human if I was given that offer I would have accepted it and won't even file a complain with the BBB.I was never offered a loaner car I always request for one eachtime I bring my car there but nonetheless it's not about getting a loaner car I want my car fixed that's all.I called that number several times but it always goes to voicemail,I have off tomorrow and and free all day tell your guys to call me so that I can bring the car there .Once my car is fixed I will be fine let's be professional here thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on East Madison Toyota
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart