BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

Crest Cadillac

Phone: (262) 781-2800 Fax: (262) 781-4669 PO Box 629, Brookfield, WI 53008 http://www.crestmotors.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm is an authorized Cadillac dealership selling new and used vehicles. Services include auto repair, auto body, auto parts, and detailing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Crest Cadillac meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Crest Cadillac include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Crest Cadillac
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1980 Business started: 08/01/1980 in WI Business started locally: 08/01/1980 Business incorporated: 08/07/1980 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William J. Hartigan Jr., Owner Mr. Brady Brown , General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Brady Brown , General Manager
Principal: Mr. William J. Hartigan Jr., Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Detailing Auto Repair & Service Transmissions - Automobile Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Crest Cadillac sells the following brand(s): Cadillac CTS, STS, DTS, XLR Roadster, SRX, and Escalade

Alternate Business Names
Crest Cadillac, Inc. Crest Motors
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 629

    Brookfield, WI 53008

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used vehicle from Crest Cadillac. I received courteous service while negotitating the car deal. I purchased the vehicle by online information and by phone trusting in their reputation and expertise. I was satisfied with transaction until it came time to receiving the vehicle. It took me three weeks to get the vehicle due to faulty communication with the transport company and Crest Cadillac. Nevertheless, the car finally arrived. I went to get my license plates and register the car in MN but Crest Cadillac had failed to send me the title. I financed the vehicle through them so they told me that the lien holder holds the title until the loan is paid. That is not the case in MN. I am still waiting for the title. This is only background information that leads to my huge complaint. When I asked the car dealer if the vehicle was a non-smoker's, I was told that it was. When I received the Carfax info, a service dept. had replaced the ash tray unit, air filter, and cabin filter. The car reeks of smoke!!! When I first drove it I could tell that the interior had been sprayed with some sort of an ionizer. I did all that I could to wipe down everything in the interior, but it still has a strong smoke odor. I am allergic to smoke so now I have to have it professionally cleaned on the inside at a cost of $150+ dollars. I don't think that this cost should be mine. I think that Crest Cadillac should reimburse me the money because they were not honest with me.

Desired Settlement: I want Crest Cadillac to pay for the cost of professional cleaning.

Business Response: We do not get a response when trying to contact client.  Will be happy to arrange vehicle to be detailed.

Consumer Response:  

The only communication that I have received from Crest Cadillac aside from upcoming sales promotions was when I talked to ****** ****** about the smoke smell.  He told me that he did not detect a smoke smell in the car and that he had been a previous smoker.  He did not offer to do anything about it.  It simply claimed that what he knew was that it had belonged to a non-smoker.  However, when you read some of the repairs/maintnence history, it indicates that the ash tray unit was replaced. Since that conversation, there hasn't been any attempt by Crest Cadillac to contact me.  They have my home phone number as well as my cell number.  By the way,  my husband is a previous smoker and  he  could detect it right away.  I cannot bring the vehicle back to WI for servicing considering the distance.  I am only requesting that they reimburse the cost of the professional cleaning which I submited in Dec., 2012.  The fact is, the cleaning didn't take care of it either.  Since I am very allergic to smoke, this is a VERY DISAPPOINTING TRANSACTION THAT I MADE WITH CREST CADILLAC!!

Business Response:

This is the same complaint that was already handled from the same person.  Car filters are changed on every pre owned vehicle we sell.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Crest Cadillac sold me a **** ***** ******** that was supposedly certified. When I received the car from them it had two problems. The car had an oil leak and a major break failure on the right rear wheel. Crest assured me that they would fix the car and wanted me to take it to a dealer to have them look at it. When I took it to ** ***** ******** they told me it should not have been driven and was unsafe to take home. This is when I called Crest and let them know what the defects were and how much it would be to fix it. Crest told me that they would still stand by the car and fix the problems. Several days went by with no word from Crest about the repairs. ** ***** ******** wanted to know what I wanted them to do with the car that was now stuck at their dealership. At this time I told ** ***** ******** to go ahead and fix the car knowing that Crest Would pay for the repairs. Crest has continued to give me the run around on the phone with no attempt to pay for the repairs on the car. The car was purchased in September of 2012 and the date of this complaint is January 26th, 2013. This problem has been going on for four months.

Desired Settlement: For Crest to stand behind their products and reimburse me for the repair bill on the **** ******** *****. The bill came to $2241.05.

Business Response: Crest Cadillac never authorized repairs to the ********.  Car was sold with state of Wisconsin disclosures and was never sold certified as we are a franchised Cadillac dealer not ********.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

Jamie Bowlin

 

 Crest agreed to repair the car in the beginning and then after I paid the bill they would not return my phone calls.  Crest sent me an email stating how they would have saved money if they would have had the repairs done by a dealer of their choice.  I fully expect Crest to pay for the repairs of the car and finish the deal they started with me.  Crest needs to have some integrity and character.  I have attached the email to the bottom of the complaint.  Crest can pay the bill to me less the 700 stated in the email.     The bill was $2241.05 take $700 off for their commercial rate and the total to me would be $1541.05  

**** ***** <**********************>
10/30/12
to me

*****,

 

I have turned the bill and info over to my ******* ******* since this is a little out of my hands.  I am trying to recuperate some of the money from the trucking company since the oil lines were all good before they picked it up.  I know this is taking longer than hoped for but it is a very large repair and all work was authorized before we even got to talk to the dealership to see what needed to be done, and how many parts were needed.  If we could have send down the parts instead of paying there high prices, or check for a second opinion on pricing from another ******** dealer, it would have saved a lot of money.  There are aftermarket parts that should have been used that would have cut the bill down by about $700.

 

**** *****

***** *******

Crest Cadillac

###-###-####

###-###-#### fax

******************

**********************


From: ***** *** ***** ****** [mailto:******************
Sent: Sunday, October 28, 2012 7:55 AM
To: **** *****
Subject: Re: Repair bill

-- This message has been checked by ESVA and is believed to be clean. -- This message has been checked by ESVA and is believed to be clean.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

Jamie Bowlin

 

 Crest continues to say that they did not approve of the repairs to the car and at the same time state in their email to me that they could have hade the work done for 700$ less than I payed.  This is why crest should pay for the repairs done to their car over and above the 700$ taken off of the bill from ** ***** ********.  All of the details in their email state full intent to proceed with repairs and payment of the repairs.  It wasn't untill I had payed the bill in full that Crest decided to back out and not pay for the repairs to their car.  Crest has only one option to retain integrity with this matter and that is to pay their bills just like every other dealership in the country. 

***** ******

Business Response:

As stated in all comunication with *****, we are not liable for any repairs or did we agree to pay them.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased a 2008 ******** **** from the dealer used. Within the first couple of days I had noticed several items that should have been caught and repaired by the 150 point inspection, they were not. I immediatley contacted the dealer with the issues and at first was met with total denial of all issues. After contacting the ** of Crest, I was told to bring it in and the repairs would be done at no charge and that I had not bought a Lemon. The dealer had made the repairs I had questioned them on. However, the front right corner of the suspension had originally had a banging noise in it. They said it was a end link bushing that was bad. Since then I have noticed that not only was the noise not fixed, but it actually had gotten worse. I feel that they did not want to be held accountable for the real repair that the vehicle needs. Clearly there is a serios problem in the front right corner that was once again neglected by the dealer or service technician. I also believe that this is the only chance I have at getting it repaired correctly, if at all.

Desired Settlement: Find faulty part/parts and repair them correctly at no charge.

Business Response: Customer has not made us aware of additional problem.  If we are given the opportunity we will find out what the noise on the vehicle is.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2008 Cadillac CTS from Crest Motors on January 7th of this year. Since early March I have been trying to contact **** ****** in the Finance Department to cancel the gap insurance that was placed on this car. I have left several messages both on his voicemail and with dealership personnel to no avail. The one telephone message that he left, on Monday, April 9th, he asked that I return the call so that he could provide the information to cancel the policy. After numerous calls and messages, I have yet to get in touch with him or receive the information requested. I have asked that the forms needed to process the cancellation be e-mailed or mailed to me or that the next steps I need to take be left in detail on my voicemail should he call an I’m unavailable. It has now been three months and he has not cancelled this Gap Insurance policy as no refund has been issued. The paper work received at the time of purchase states that I would need to contact the seller for cancellation of the agreement. I have done that with no success.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the GAP Insurance policy placed through ****** to be cancelled immediately. I would like to receive a refund for the policy purchased. With not more than a 75day reduction to the original purchase price of $799 for the time the policy was in effect, which from my calculation should not be more than $27.36 (75days of use from a 72 month policy or 2190days [75days/2190days * $799] ). I should not be penalized for the lack of response from **** ****** of Crest Cadillac. I would like a refund issued for not less than $771.64.

Business Response:

Complaint resolved refund was issued to Credit company not consumer.

***** *****

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The dealership stated that a refund has been issued to the creditor.  I contacted my finance company and they have not received a refund.  I also sent another email to the dealership and they have not responded with any of the details regarding the policy being cancelled, including when to expect the refund and how much the refund would be.  My original inquiry asked about the calculation for the refund amount or any fees apply against the original purchase price.


It has been four months since I contacted the dealership regarding this matter.  I'm convinced, at this point, that this out of state sale was not worth any effort on their part to attempt to provide any quality customer service.  Disappointing.   I just hope that if I were a resident of Wisconsin and present the quality of would be better.

Regards,

****** ******

 

Business Response: Again I state the credit has been issued to the account.  Other than refunding the money I don't know what else we can do.  You are protected by Wisconsin law even though you reside in Michigan.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service