BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Braeger Chevrolet sells and delivers new Ford Vehicles as well as used vehicles of all makes and models.  Braeger Ford also has a Certified Collision Center, Parts Department and Service Department.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Braeger Ford, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Braeger Ford, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Braeger Ford, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 18, 2012 Business started: 10/29/1996 in WI Business started locally: 04/01/1996 Business incorporated: 10/29/1996 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions
345 W. Washington Ave. 4th Floor, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 266-1064
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Maneage, Owner Mr. Jason Enders, Sales Manager Mr. Todd Reardon, President Mr. Al Weimar, Fixed Operations Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jason Enders, Sales Manager
Principal: Mr. John Maneage, Owner
Related Businesses
Braeger Chevrolet, Inc. Braeger Auto Sales of Milwaukee, LLC
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Truck Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Lubricating Service - Automotive Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Truck Repair & Service Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Auto Dealers - Online New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Braeger Ford, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Ford

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, cashier check, money order, credit card
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Flood-Damaged Cars Know What's Involved Before Cosigning A Loan Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • 4201 S 27th St

    Milwaukee, WI 53221 (414) 281-6100

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had recall paperwork from GM sent to me on my Pontiac G5 coupe earlier this year. I called GM to get the parts on ordered back in February and was told parts wouldn't be available until October '14. I asked about a rental and was told none were available. On July 11, 2014 I got into my 2009 Pontiac G5 and realized something was wrong with the ignition.The key was stuck. After I finally managed to get it out in the parking lot I was in, I realized the car was still running with no key. I immediately got the key back in and went to the nearest GM dealership. The 6 miles I had to drive was done with my hazard lights on because I was feeling like something was slipping. I arrived to the dealership and nobody could turn the car off with the key. I was told that by one of the mechanics, *****, that they actually had to cut the wire to shut it off. Waited 2 and a half hours to get a rental that I was told months prior wouldn't be available to me. I received a voice mail on August 5, 2014 that I needed to call the dealership immediately in regards to my car left by John. I call back, he wasn't there so I spoke to *****. ***** informed me that my car was ready for pick up. I went to get my car today August 7, walked in and the only person to greet me was ***** who was the furthest one away from me. The two other workers did not even acknowledge me nor were they with any customers. I told ***** I was there to pick up my car. I had to ask to have car washed because that couldn't be done after it was full of dust. I waited for 15-20 minutes and realized when I got home that my left front speaker in the driver's side door wasn't working. I called the dealership and asked to speak to the service manager who apparently wasn't there. I was on the phone with ***** and told him the issue I had with the speaker. His response was that he would have to talk to the technician tomorrow. Now, I am a corporate manager for a major retail company and if I had someone from my company say that, I would be livid. In my opinion, I shouldn't have had to ask to have my car washed. I shouldn't have been told someone will call me tomorrow after I have already been inconvenienced by this dealership in the past on a different issue and for the simple fact I was driving in an UNSAFE vehicle and had to have a rental for the last 3 and a half weeks. I know when I turned my vehicle over on July 11 to this dealership, my speakers were working. Ironic that it happened on the same side that this recall fix was taken placed. I always felt I had received the best service from *****, but after him not inviting me back today to have someone look at the speaker I am pretty upset. Mostly though that I have been in an unsafe vehicle for months by Pontiac and then having issues after the fact. To close, I did ask if there was any paperwork I had to sign verifying my vehicle has had the recall done and was told no. I would like to know how it is documented that it was completed if no paperwork is truly given.

Desired Settlement: Would like my speaker fixed at a different Chevy dealership.

Business Response:

Good afternoon *******

This customer concern has me a little stumped.  I have attached 5 screen shots of the Service Advisor ******** mentions by name, ***** Hansen.  ******** did pick up her G5 lastnight, she did request a car wash and ***** immediately ran it through himself.  ******** then called ***** on his cell phone at 6:24pm last night (see screen shot).  ***** returned her call at 6:27pm.  Since we close at 6:00pm, our Service Director was gone for the evening.  ***** also called ******** at 6:56pm and 6:57pm last night (see screen shot).

***** and ******** were also in contact last night by text messages (see screen shots).  ******** even thanked ***** "soo" much for his help and added a smiley face to the text message!  Then today, ***** called ******** and she returned his message by text asking about the speaker.

I'm not sure how this situation came to be at this point.  Most service advisors don't even give out their personal cell number, or answer the phone after closing...but ***** is a true professional.  I can only assume that ******** was frustrated with the entire recall, rental process and was just looking forward to getting her car back and putting this behind her.  Then to find out the speaker wasn't working was just another issue she had to then deal with.  We have handled quite a few of these recalls for GM and understand the cusomers level of frsutration sometimes.  Since she submitted the complaint last night just before 7:00pm, and today she and ***** are talking...I am assuming things are back on track.

Since ***** and ******** are now communicating, I am planning on letting ***** handle the situation accordingly.  If we somehow caused ********'s speaker to malfunction, of course we would take care of it.  If we did not cause it, we would still make sure to handle it in a manner that would be acceptable to both ******** and Braeger.

Thank you ******* and please feel free to reach out to me with any additional questions or concerns.

Respectfully

***** ******

 

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I stopped in to the dealership for inquiry purposes only. I made it clear to the representative I was working with that I had no intention of purchasing a vehicle that day. I looked at a vehicle that I had saw online and followed the representative in his office. He asked if I would like to know what they would give me as a trade-in on my vehicle. I told him only for informational purposes, I would be curious to know what I would get. He said the only way to do that is to fill out an application, so they could do a soft hit on my credit report. Now I have worked at a financial institution for nearly 12 years, and I am well versed in credit terminology. I verified with the representative that this would be a soft hit, not show up as an inquiry, and in no way be viewed as a request for credit. He confirmed this information to me. I filled out the application as he requested, and the meeting was over. I did not purchase a vehicle, nor did I attempt to finance one. About 2 weeks later I get a letter in the mail telling me that they pulled my credit and I was denied. Obviously this was a shock to me, not only because I have good credit, but because I never applied in the first place. I spent the next 3 days trying to contact someone at the Braeger Ford location to no avail. I was constantly transferred to never ending ringing phone lines, or voicemails. Eventually I was able to get in contact with the manager who was working the night of my visit, ***** *******. He told me that they did a soft pull, just as I had thought, but then I brought up the letter that was sent to me and he started accusing me, saying; "Well then why did you sign the credit application?" and "We have a signed authorization from you so you requested this.". Now I realize I provided my information, but as 99% of consumers do, I did not read all the fine print, hoping that the representative would have the decency to honestly represent himself and what he was doing. I was wrong. This was absolutely not a miscommunication, this was a misrepresentation, and I will never do business with Braeger Ford, nor will anyone I come in contact with.

Desired Settlement: I would like the inquiry removed from my credit report. I will also be disputing this with the credit bureau.

Business Response:

I have received the concern from ****** ****** regarding a credit inquiry on her bureau.  It is not necessary for us to obtain a credit bureau to complete a trade appraisal, in fact, the only time we obtain a credit report is after a customer says "yes" and agrees to purchase a vehicle.  With that being said, I'm not sure why we would have asked ****** to complete a credit bureau to perform a trade appraisal, but I would like to apologize for any inconvenience. 

In March, we delivered 327 vehicles and obtained 256 credit applications from customers on 248 financed deals (see attached).  I point this out to show that it was never our intent to to obtain a credit report from a customer that does not intend to buy a car...it costs us money each time we obtain a credit report and again, not necessary for us to do an appraisal.

Again, we never meant to upset or misinform ******, but do sincerely apologize.

As an auto dealer, we do not have the ability to remove an inquiry from a person's credit report.  I see that ****** is planning on contacting TransUnion to dispute the inquiry.  If we can be of any assistance, please let us know.

Respectfully
***** ******
******* *******
Braeger Chevrolet

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is unsatisfactory to me however I do not wish to pursue this further. 

Regards,

 

****** ******

3/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2010 Saab from them on 2-14-14. I was told the car had Bluetooth, among other things that I was looking for. Upon coming home I went threw step by step on how to pair my phone. However when I went to push the button nothing happened. I tried troubleshooting even searched the web. I called up and spoke to ***** aka ******* *******, one on the car sales managers. He told me he would have a technician get in touch with me. They did. However the technician told me the car was not equipped with Bluetooth and that the manufacturer just adds the buttons. "dummy buttons". Bluetooth was one of the main reasons for purchasing this car. I then called ***** back expressing my frustrations and asked if he would make it right since I was told the car was equipped. He then suddenly went from this "reputable" car dealer attitude, to well who told you that? What was his name? Basically not my problem attitude. He said he would be happy to look into how much it would cost to install however, he wasn't going to pick up the tab. I also called and left a message for the ******* *******, Mr. ***** ******. They sold me the car telling me it was in the car. It should have been sold to me working. Reputable, honest car dealer would have disclosed that the Bluetooth was not working or never equipped however they did NOT. It should have been disclosed.

Desired Settlement: Install the Bluetooth.

Business Response:

Sorry for the delayed response regarding this customer concern.  Please view attachemnt.

***** initiated contact with Braeger Chevrolet via an after hours internet inquiry at 10:53pm on 2/12/2014.  The next morning she called into our showroom and spoke with ****** *******, our **** ******* ***** ********, asking if the Saab was still available, because the last few Saab's she had been interested at other dealers had been sold.  ****** told ***** that the Saab was still available and then assigned ***** to one of his sales reps, **** ******.  A few minutes later at 8:53am, **** called ***** and she asked if we would "hold" the Saab for her until she could make it in the following morning at 9:00am. 

We did hold the Saab.  ***** did show up with her father the very next morning.  After ***** and her father inspected and drove the Saab, she agreed to purchase it.  Our managers set up delivery for later that day.  ***** returned with her mother to complete the paperwork and took delivery of her car.  The next morning, ***** called inquiring about bluetooth on the Saab.  According to **** and ******, this was the first communication from ***** regarding bluetooth. 

In 2010 Saab equipped their vehicles with the buttons for bluetooth, but bluetooth was not standard on all Saabs.  We would have no reason to lie to a customer regarding bluetooth.  If the bluetooth was not working, we would have disclosed it.  However, the vehicle was not equipped with bluetooth, so there was nothing to disclose. 

With that being said...we are a reputable dealership.  I do believe that when ***** saw the bluetooth icon on the steering wheel, she assumed it had bluetooth...a fair assumption.  So here is what I recommend.  We can either trade ***** out of the Saab and into a vehicle with bluetooth or we can install a Parrot Bluetooth Kit.  The kit would allow for hands-free communication via a 3mm USB-IPod connector. 

The last thing we want is for ***** to think we don't care...we do!  We can trade her out at any time or install the Parrot Kit with a 48 hour notice. 

Thank you

***** ******
********** *********




 

8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased a vehicle with Braeger as well as gap coverage. The experience was great while making the purchase. However, when I traded the vehicle in and went to cancel the gap and have my refund issued, I was told it would take 6-8 weeks and would be sent to my lender. I was also told if I didn't hear anything within 4 weeks to call them back. I gave Braeger 6 weeks before contacting my lender to inquire if this check has been recieved. To my surprise nothing has been recived yet. I called Brager, spoke with the finance department; she said she had contacted their company who issues the checks and said it was issued the week prior and I should be reciving it in the next few days. I gave another week in ah half and still nothing. Call Braeger again, spoke with the same finance person, she had contacted the company again. This time I was told the check was just issued a few days ago and she doesn't now how long it will take from that time. It has now been another week -- 9 weeks in total and still have not heard anything. I will NEVER buy a car from any Braeger dealership again.

Desired Settlement: I want somebody at Brager to follow up on a regular basis untill this issue is resolved since I, the customer; have called twice and was told to wait.

Business Response: I have received and reviewed the concerns from ******** ******* regarding her GAP cancellation.  We had to cancel our original check and issue a second to ******* *** for her GAP cancellation, due to the fact that they had "lost" the first check.  

We issued a replacement check for the amount of $335.95 on April 9th, ******* *** received it on April 15th and they cashed it on April 22nd.  Please see attachment. 

******** had emailed me about her experience with Braeger back in February and wrote:

"I would say the overall experience was excellent and I look forward to recommending Braeger to all my friends and family when they are in the market for another vehicle. Special thanks to ******* ********* and **** ***** who made us feel at ease and welcome.  Thank you again."

I hope this incident, created by her previous lender, doesn't change her mind of Braeger.  

Thank you

***** ******
Braeger Ford

1/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a **** **** ****** ***** **** cab pick-up truck listed at approx. $41,000.00 from the Braeger Ford dealership in Milwaukee, Wisconsin about a year ago. Sometime in October of 2012, I noticed that a simple plastic end-cap fell off of the running board which was a FORD installed option. The vehicle was NEVER hit, NEVER in an accident nor did it strike anything! Because I take extremely good care of my vehicles, I immediately drove to the dealership where I purchased it. The mileage is approximately 20K so it is still under the 3 yr/36K mile warranty. The dealership took pictures of the missing part and subsequently told me that based on looking at the e-mailed pictures, their warranty team denied any claim and that the vehicle must have been in an accident although the ******* *******'s pictures and an inspection of the vehicle proves this is an incorrect assumption! I objected so they told me to call Ford Customer relations (verify with file #**** **** **) who, in turn, told me to call the dealership service department back since they had nothing to do with it. Oblivious to that info, the ******* ******* told me to call the Ford Customer line back. After repeated phone calls back and forth through-out November, the dealership finally told me they decided to order the part and install it at "no charge". They said they would call me when it came in. Upon their orders, I have been back to the dealer 3 times since because they kept telling me the wrong part came in but they will re-order. Today(12/28)they called to inform me that they will NOT replace the part and the only way this will get resolved is if I pay for a complete new running board and install it myself. (Obviously, this would void any warranty as Ford's own Warranty Guide suggests.) This entire fiasco over a small plastic part has now gone on for over 2 months with numerous trips and countless phone calls to the dealership with no satisfactory result.

Desired Settlement: Simply order the CORRECT plastic end-cap part of the original FORD running board. As I told the dealership ******* ******* and service assistants, I'll even install it myself (a few plastic pop-rivets). NOT a big deal. This is not all that tough. I can only imagine what kind of run-around I would get if this was a serious factory defect!

Business Response:

We have made every attempt to convince Ford to assume responsibility for the replacement of the running board but they consider the loss of the end cap to be related to impact damage which is not a defect and therefore not covered under warranty. I have attached a picture that we submitted to Ford that shows the plastic rivets still remaining in the running board. Ford is denying warranty coverage because if the end cap would have just fallen off the rivets would be missing also. Ford looks at thousands of trim related repairs daily and knows when they have an issue with part quality and honors the warranty in those cases.
We were willing to absorb the cost of the end cap to keep our customer satisfied but with the option package on the vehicle the only way to obtain the part through Ford is to buy a complete running board for almost $1000. The repair would be covered under the customers Insurance if he is willing to make a claim. We continue to search for options to replace the end cap and in the future the part may become available separately from Ford but not at this time. Please contact me should you have any further questions at ###-###-####.
Sincerely,
** ******
Braeger Automotive Group

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ******

This is essentially the same explanation I have been getting from the Braeger Ford ******* ******* and service writers.  Despite my original inquiry regarding the missing plastic part almost 3 months ago at which time I remarked that I was willing to buy the end cap, I was told by those same people that Ford might cover it under the new vehicle warranty.  Then, subsequently, was told they had decided they would not based on a photograph.  It is amazing to me that some unknown entity can make a judgement based solely on a picture without ever looking at the actual running board! This person then makes their assumption that some relatively insignificant plastic part could never have loosened and fallen off leaving behind some plastic rivets. Apparently these people never have had the experience of some man-made things, especially plastic, failing while others do not. I have always been willing to show my vehicle to any interested party to view it and the running board to acknowledge that there is NO damage or evidence of any "impact". My truck has never, to this date, been involved in an accident or road damage. God willing, I hope for this to continue.

Does this missing end cap alter the functionality of my truck? Of course not, but like most people, I do try to keep my vehicle looking good and think that all the parts that a $47,000. truck comes with should stay on! It is evident that the Ford Motor Company, the "Customer Relations" department and the Ford dealership in Milwaukee are simply stalling hoping that I drop this complaint or that eventually the vehicle will exceed the 36,000 mile warranty period. In the dealership's own response, they admit that the part in question was INDEED offered by Ford (it is even pictured in their brochures) and that an entire new running board would cost over $1000. yet they insist that I assume the cost.  This is unacceptable and I pray that your office can afford me some relief.

 

Business Response:

  We certainly have not delayed  the customer or waited for the vehicle to exceed the Warranty limitations.  We have not seen the vehicle after it was delivered over 18,000 miles ago - alot can happen in that amount of time but we have sided  with the customer.  Braeger Ford has made every attempt to convince Ford Motor Co. to cover the running board under warranty but they have declined  Unfortunately we administer the warranty through Ford but they ultimately make the decision if a part is  covered for this type of repair.  We understand the customers frustration but we can't assume responsibiltiy for its replacement.  The customer should be unhappy with Ford not Braeger.   As I stated, we will continue to attempt to  aquire the part but it is not available as an end cap at this time.   Please call me should you have any further questions at ###-###-####.

Thank You

** ******

Braeger Automotive 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ******

First, let me thank you at BBB for trying to help in resolving this somewhat petty issue.  Secondly, in regards to Mr. ******'s recent response, he is intentionally misleading the BBB and myself by claiming that the dealership has not seen the vehicle since delivery.  At the service department's direction, I have driven to Braeger Ford multiple times since October for their representatives to inspect the vehicle.  They have even taken pictures of the truck and the running board.  How this could have been achieved without seeing the vehicle is beyond me!  The dealership and the Ford Motor Company Customer Relations personnel have consistently pointed the finger of culpability at each other and directed me to contact the other. I have repeatedly done just that only to be told that neither is responsible for the decision. Each says the other has made this decision and, therefore, they are not responsible.  As the clock is ticking, how convenient is that?  "Not stalling", really Mr. ******? 

Also, I would like to know how the dealership has "sided" with me.  Other than leading me to believe they would remedy this situation by requiring me to show up at the service department numerous times, promising to repair and subsequently breaking this promise stating they "got the wrong part", what is he referring to?

I'm quite sure that Ford Motor Company would not be too pleased with Mr. ****** telling me "I should be unhappy" with them.  Instead of directing blame, he should be focusing on how to satisfy a customer and quit with the excuses. 

As I drive back and forth to my home up north, I have obviously accumulated miles and I would like to see this resolved before said mileage exceeds the 36,000 mile warranty period.  I am skeptical of this happening, though.

 

 

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau,

I reject the alligation that we are deceiving the customer or the BBB.   Ford found that the images submitted showed  " attachment tabs were broken, indicating impact from outside influence to the running board causing detached cap, due to this fact the right running board is not warrantable".   We immediately requested a second opinion from a Ford warranty specialist who agreed with the first accessment.  Ford has declined assistance on this repair now or anytime in the future.  Unfortunately we don't have any other recourse with Ford.  I must appologize that the customer was inconvienenced and had to come back several times only to find out that the part was incorrect.  The parts catalog was incorrect and that is what caused the confusion.   If the customer believes  everything he has alleged about or dealership is true he is free to take it to another dealership for a second opinion.  We have been in business for over 90 years and have always had the customer's best interest in mind and would have failed long ago if that was not the case.   Please call me if you have any further questions at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

** ******

Braeger Automotive 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ******

Again I want to thank the BBB personnel for trying to assist me with this issue.  Referencing Mr. ******'s latest response, I'll take it by the numbers.

First, I cannot understand how anyone's 1st or 2nd opinion can be reliable or credible when their decision was based solely on a photograph of the running board and not an actual inspection.

Secondly, the Braeger ********* dealership may have been in business for 90 years but personal experience proved to me that any success was primarily due to their founder, *** *******'s commitment to satisfy a customer. Success certainly was not achieved by 'passing the buck'!

Thirdly, I love how Mr. ****** keeps referring to decisions made by "Ford" and not any one person in particular.  They do seem to relish their anonymity.

Lastly, I have, of course, checked with other dealerships. They sidestep by saying I should go back to dealer that made original sale.

Evidently I am supposed to accept their premise that a small plastic part could NEVER break except from extreme impact.  To educate Mr. ****** and any Ford personnel he "says" he has dealt with: plastic parts DO break and they DO fail!

My wife and I both own Ford vehicles.  I appreciate the "non-government bailout mentality" of the corporation.  I buy a new Ford product about every 4 years or so.  Needless to say, if this is the way people are treated over a seemingly insignificant issue, I will never deal with the Braeger dealership again and I will do my best to dissuade anybody from doing so.