BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Braeger Chevrolet sells and services new Chevrolet vehicles and quality used vehicles.  We also have a Service Department that maintains and repairs all makes and model.  We have a fully stocked Parts Department and a Certified Collision Center.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Braeger Chevrolet, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Braeger Chevrolet, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Braeger Chevrolet, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1950 Business started: 01/01/1923 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1923 Business incorporated: 08/13/1923 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions
345 W. Washington Ave. 4th Floor, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 266-1064
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Maneage, Owner Mr. Jason Enders, Sales Manager Mr. Todd M Reardon, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jason Enders, Sales Manager
Principal: Mr. John Maneage, Owner
Related Businesses
Braeger Ford, Inc. Braeger Auto Sales of Milwaukee, LLC
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Tire Dealers Truck Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Lubricating Service - Automotive Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Truck Repair & Service Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Auto Dealers - Online New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Braeger Chevrolet, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Chevrolet

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, money order, certified check, credit card
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Know What's Involved Before Cosigning A Loan Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment Read Before You Sign

Additional Locations

  • 4100 S 27th St

    Milwaukee, WI 53221 (414) 281-5000

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2011 Chevrolet Malibu was taken in for an oil change with appointment. Upon arriving for the appointment, I was asked if I went to the Braeger Ford dealer because they didn't show an appointment for me on their computer system. Somehow I was marked as the oil change being done by their Ford shop. ***** the service advisor said they will get it in for the oil change, (he did remember me making the appointment with him two days earlier). From this point I feel they rushed through the service, did not even give the courtesy car wash as in the past. After a few days, I noticed oil drips on my driveway,and upon looking underneath the car there was oil all over the underside of the car.. So I called and they told me to bring it in. While there I got the sense that I was just another complaining customer. They told me it was probably just a spill from the technician, so they cleaned the oil from underside of car that was it. I don't believe they even checked anything. IT IS STILL LEAKING!!!!!!!!!! This is only the third oil change the car has had, so i don't believe there are any worn parts. Bottom line is I feel they rushed the service, and upon bringing the car back I got the feeling they didn't want to deal with it.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to change the oil again and make sure it is not leaking. Again this was only the third oil change the car has had.

Business Response:

I spoke with ***** ****** this afternoon, and it sounds like Mr. **** came in yesterday so we could address his concerns.  ***** informed me that we performed a complimentary oil change, replaced a faulty gasket, washed his car and gave him a coupon for another free oil change.  ***** told me he apologized to Mr. **** for the inconvenience and that he left very pleased.  I believe the situation has been handled, please feel free to contact me with any additional questions or concerns.

Thank you

***** ******
Braeger Chevrolet

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I was pleased when I left the shop. 

Although when I was able to inspect the work, I noticed that they cleaned the oil from the engine and underside of the car(very good), but still failed to complete the whole process of the oil change. The oil life meter was not reset to 100%, which arises the question...did they really change the oil again or just top it off. Its becoming hard to trust that I am recieving honest service!!!

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ****

 

 

Business Response:

***** spoke with Mr. **** this morning and informed him that our technician did not reset the engine oil life meter by mistake.  It is a simple process and ***** explained how to do it so that Mr. **** could avoid making another trip to Braeger.  It was an honest mistake made by honest people.  Braeger Chevrolet has been in business for over 90 years and been Southeastern Wisconsin's #1 Chevrolet Dealer in Customer Satisfaction for the past several years.  We apologize for any incomvenience or misunderstandings we may have caused Mr. **** and look forward to wiping the slate clean and moving forward while provide him years of excellent service!

Thank you
***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/6/2013, I called a salesman at Braeger Chev and told him that I would like to buy a car, and I stated that I did not want my credit ran by multiple credit grantors. The salesman assured me that he would only run my credit one time, and he would share that one credit report with other creditors to get me financing. The salesman promise he would only run my credit one time. When I finally looked at my credit report the salesman had ran my credit through multiple credit agencies without my permission. After, sending out letters and talking to Braeger Chev over and over again, they have refused to remove these inquiries from my credit report. I have also called the credit company who also ran my credit and were told by the credit agencies to tell Braeger Chev to remove the inquiries from my credit report. Because Braeger ran my credit report go many times I lost over 100 points off my credit.

Desired Settlement: I want them to take the multiple inquiries off my credit report. This is very bad business. I tell them not to run my credit multiple times and they do it anyway just to make a sale, and in return my credit is damaged. If I wanted to get a good deal on something I can't now. They had no right to lie to me.

Business Response: *******


Sorry for my delayed response to this concern, we re in the middle of a huge remodel and I have been moved from office to office several times now.  I have had quite a bit of correspondence with ***** ******, but did not see this concern until today.  Attached you will find all of our responses.

As you will read, I have informed ***** that she contacted us, she applied online at breager.com for financing and she authorized us to obtain financing on her behalf.  I even printer out the Terms and Agreements on our website that she agreed to.I even sent her some information regarding how credit inquiries impact her score.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns.  I have attached quite a bit of docs for your review.

Thank you
***** ******
Braeger Chevrolet


Consumer Response: The salesman  verbally told me that he would only use one credit and share that one credit report with one creditor. In return, he allowed multiple creditors to pull my credit report. I would not have never agreed to multiple creditors pulling my credit report.  I have read the attached documents. I do not recall ever seeing in the writing where I agreed to allow the car dealership to pull multiple credit reports. The salesman verbally told me he would only pull one  credit report and share that report with one creditor.  The salesman knows what's what we agreed on.




Sincerely
***** ******

Business Response: Our sales consultants do not have access to the online applications submitted by customers, nor would they ever promise a customer that we would only submit their application to just one lender.  Under the "Terms & Agreements" section of the online application, which must be checked prior to a customer submitting their personal information, it clearly states:


You understand and agree that you are applying for credit by providing the information to complete and submit this credit application. We may keep this application and any other application submitted to us and information about you whether or not the application is approved. You certify that the information on the application and in any other application submitted to us, is true and complete. You understand that false statements may subject you to criminal penalties.

The words “you”, “your” and “yours” mean each person submitting this application. The words “we”, “us”, “our” and “ours” as used below refer to us, the dealer, and to the financial institution(s) selected to receive your application.

You authorize us to submit this application and any other application submitted in connection with the proposed transaction to the financial institutions disclosed to you by us the dealers. This application will be reviewed by such financial institutions on behalf of themselves and us the dealer. In addition, in accordance with the Fair Credit Reporting Act, you authorize that such financial institutions may submit your applications to other financial institutions for the purpose of fulfilling your request to apply for credit. 

You agree that we may obtain a consumer credit report periodically from one or more consumer reporting agencies (credit bureaus) in connection with the proposed transaction and any update, renewal, refinancing, modification or extension of that transaction. You also agree that we or any affiliate of ours may obtain one or more consumer credit reports on you at any time whatsoever. If you ask, you will be told whether a credit report was requested, and if so, the name and address of any credit bureau from which we or our affiliate obtained your credit report.

You agree that we may verify your employment, pay, assets and debts, and that anyone receiving a copy of this is authorized to provide us with such information. You further authorize us to gather whatever credit and employment history we consider necessary and appropriate in evaluating this application and any other applications submitted in connection with the proposed transaction. You understand that we will rely on the information in this credit application in making our decision.

FEDERAL NOTICES

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT PROCEDURES FOR OPENING A NEW ACCOUNT
If applicable to your credit transaction, to help the government fight the funding of terrorism and money laundering activities, Federal law requires financial institutions to obtain, verify, and record information that identifies each person who opens an account. What this means for you: When you open an account, you will be asked for your name, address, date of birth, and other information to identify you. You may also be asked to see your driver's license or other identifying documents. 

STATE NOTICES

California Residents: An applicant, if married, may apply for a separate account.

Maine and Tennessee Residents: You must have physical damage insurance covering loss or damage to the vehicle for the term of the contract. For a lease, you must also have the liability insurance as described in the lease. You may purchase required insurance through any insurance agent or broker and from any insurance company that is reasonably acceptable to us. You are not required to deal with any of our affiliates when choosing an agent, broker or insurer. Your choice of a particular insurance agent, broker or insurer will not affect our credit decision, so long as the insurance provides adequate coverage with an insurer who meets our reasonable requirements.

New Hampshire Residents: If you are applying for a balloon payment contract, you are entitled, if you ask, to receive a written estimate of the monthly payment amount for refinancing the balloon payment in accord with the creditor’s existing refinance programs. You would be entitled to receive the estimate before you enter into a balloon payment contract. A balloon contract is an installment sales contract with a final scheduled payment that is at least twice the amount of one of the earlier scheduled equal periodic installment payments.

New York Residents: In connection with your application for credit, a consumer report may be obtained from a consumer reporting agency (credit bureau). If credit is extended, the party or parties extending credit or holding such credit may order additional consumer reports in connection with any update, renewal or extension of the credit. If you ask, you will be told whether a consumer report was requested and, if so, the name and address of any consumer reporting agency (credit bureau) from which such credit report was obtained.

Ohio Residents: Ohio laws against discrimination require that all creditors make credit equally available to all creditworthy customers and that credit reporting agencies maintain separate credit histories on each individual upon request. The Ohio Civil Rights Commission administers compliance with this law.

Rhode Island Residents: Consumer reports may be requested in connection with this application. Buyer has the right of free choice in selecting an insurer to provide insurance required in connection with this transaction subject to our reasonable approval in accordance with applicable law.

Vermont Residents: You authorize us and any financial institution with which this credit application is shared, and each of their respective employees or agents, to obtain and verify information about you (including one or more credit reports, information about your employment and banking and credit relationships) that they may deem necessary or appropriate in evaluating your credit application. If your credit application is approved and credit is granted, you also authorize the parties granting credit or holding your account, and their respective employees and agents, to obtain additional credit reports and other information about you in connection with reviewing the account, increasing the available credit on the account (if applicable), taking collection on the account, or for any other legitimate purpose.

Married Wisconsin Residents: No provision of any marital property agreement, any unilateral statement under Wis. Stat § 766.59 or any court decree under § 766.70 applied to marital property adversely affects our interest unless you furnish a copy of the agreement, statement, or court decree or we have actual knowledge of such adverse provision before credit is granted. If you are making this credit application individually and not jointly with your spouse, complete Section A about yourself and Section B about your non-applicant spouse. Your non-applicant spouse should not sign the credit application if you are applying for individual credit.

It is our understanding that we have done nothing wrong and have complied with state and federal laws and regulations every step of the way.  Please feel free to contact me with any further questions or concerns.

Thank you
***** ******
Braeger Chevrolet

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/10/2011 I purchased a **** ********** ********* *****. I attached a copy of the Sales Contract which shows that the selling price for the Vehicle was $22,319.00 and that I paid down $3000.00 down payment.On 10/27/2012 I took my vehicle to ****** for an Appraisal because I wanted to sell the vehicle to them. To my shock, I received an appraisal for $12,000.00. Now I realize vehicles depreciate, but this would mean my vehicle would have depreciated a whole $10,000 in 18 months! I was informed that the vehicle checked out good, except that it was previously painted in 6 different places. I was completely blindsided, as this vehicle was brand new when I purchased it.Immediately I called Corporate **********, and was assigned to a case manager, and ****** (case manager suggested that I take the vehicle to *********** *********** **** at *********** did confirm that the vehicle was indeed previously painted and showed me different plastic parts and screws that had an overspray on them.I called Corporate **********, and was connected to ****** the case manager again. He told me to follow up with *** **** ********** which is owned by Braeger. Unfortunately they sold the franchise to ***********, but now operate a ****** dealership. I called Bragers, and left a message for ****** *. ******* at Braeger. This was before the Christmas holiday, so I didnt get too concerned that I didnt get a call back. Early January I called ****** back, and she said she vaguely remembered my voice mail and passed it onto the ******* *******. She also stated that they would have not sold me a vehicle previously painted as brand new.I called ****** back at Corporate **********, and he informed me that the dealership signed off as everything is okay, and they are legally liable. I am attaching the Pre-Delivery Inspection document and the Triple Diamond Delivery Checklist, nowhere was anything checked off that the vehicle was previously painted.Basically neither the manufacturer nor the dealership want to take responsibility for previously painting the vehicle. I purchased this vehicle as brand new, and the fact that the vehicle was previously painted In 6 areas of the vehicle was never disclosed to me.

Desired Settlement: I owe approximately $15,000.00 on the loan. I am asking that the dealership pays off the loan in full, and also refunds me at least $2000 of $3000 down payment which I paid to them when I bought the vehicle which should have been brand new.

Business Response: I have received and reviewed Mr. *****'s concern regarding his **** ********** ********* he purchased from our then, *** **** ********** location on May 10th, 2011.  Since we have no record of any paint repair or collision work being performed on this vehicle in our system, my assumption is that any paint and/or repairs must have been done at the factory, prior to Braeger receiving the vehicle from ********** Motors.

If that is the case, that is of no concern to Mr. ***** and I can understand his concern.  How or why should he be penalized for something he knew nothing about?  As for us...we will take that up with ********** Motors, not Mr. *****.  I feel that Mr. *****'s request of Braeger paying off the loan on his ********** *********,approximately $15,000 is fair, provided there are not more than 30,000 miles on it, and that it is free of any title or mechanical issues.  Mr. ***** did put down $3000, but he used this money was used to reduce his payments, and reduce the amount he financed with the lender, so we would not be offering a refund of any down payment.  Additionally, if Mr. ***** would like to trade his ********* in at either our Ford or Chevrolet dealership, we would still give him the approximately $15,000 for his trade in (paying off his loan), allowing him to save additional tax dollars.

We can purchase Mr. *****'s ********* from him (paying off his loan) or trade it in...the choice is 100% up to him.  Please feel free to contact me with any other questions or concerns.

Respectfully

***** ******
**, ******* *******
Braeger Automotive Group

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Consumer states that they would like the company to call them at ###-###-####.

Regards,

******* *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought a ******** **** from Braeger on 8/2/2012 at the *** * ****** Location. This location carried foreign cars Benz, BMW,audi. Dearler /sales person stated I had new brakes. After driving car for 10 days the car stated a loud noise- sound like the brakes was not sure. I stopped by the dealer on 2 occasions could not duplicate the noise when with dealer. Finaly the car was taken to International Auto who specialize in Mercedes. Finding was brakes and pads put on that was not compatible to the car. Dealer did not take International advice. Dealer refuses to correct problem. Spoke with GM/VP ***** ****** and he refused stating he did not want to spend $900.. Call attorney for consult and they stated Dealer is responsible to fix. Dealer has refused. I notified Lender Wells Fargo. Now I am contacting BBB with my complaint.

Desired Settlement: Replace my brakes and make me whole.

Business Response: Good afternoon ********

I believe that ******'s situation has been handled.  She came in today at 11:00am and met with one of our service advisors, ******* ********* and our used buyer, **** *****.  They all drove the vehicle together, and ****** agreed that there was no noise or issue coming from the brakes.  She also apologized for any misunderstandings.  

We did replace the brake pads and rotors before we sold the car to ******, with new compatible brake components.  Her concern is that the brakes and rotors were not from Mercedes.  Once again, I believe the situation has been resolved.  We take our customer concerns and our BBB standings very seriously.  Please let me know if there is anything else you need from us.

Thank you

***** ****** 

VP/GM
Braeger Auto Group

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I made the complaint due to loud noise when driving-not because they were not Mercedes brakes.

Regards,

 

****** ********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1