Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Boucher Volkswagen, Inc.

Phone: (414) 204-7138 Fax: (414) 525-4061 View Additional Phone Numbers 6420 S 108th St, Franklin, WI 53132

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers the sale of new and used automobiles. This company also sells factory certified Volkswagens and VW accessories. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boucher Volkswagen, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Boucher Volkswagen, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2002 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business incorporated 07/18/2000 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Gordie Boucher Jr., CEO Mr. Gordon F. Boucher, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gordie Boucher Jr., CEO
Related Businesses
Boucher Kia of Milwaukee Frank Boucher VW Kia Mazda Frank Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. Gordie Boucher Nissan of Greenfield Boucher Hyundai Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln of West Bend Gordie Boucher Ford of Menomonee Falls, Inc. Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. Gordie Boucher Ford of Kenosha, Inc. Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln Mazda of Janesville
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Services Auto Accessories Financing New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Industry Tips
Advanced Fee Loans Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Counterfeit Currency Credit Card Accountability, Responsibility and Disclosure (CARD) Act Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • 6420 S 108th St

    Franklin, WI 53132 (866) 308-0147 (800) 893-5217 (414) 204-7138 (414) 204-7194


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spent almost a whole day at their dealership looking for the best fit for me. I was completely misled on the Xzlion protection plan that I was manipulated into purchasing. I did not find out about what I really got until I went to use it for a damaged part on the outside of my vehicle. I was told they do not cover anything but paint. I was told and shown advertising the day I was there by my salesman and the financial guy that sold it to me. to show I was covered front to back for everything. I have been working with this company for SEVERAL months via email and in Person (my last service appt) and have gotten no where. I requested SEVERAL times to have this taken off my account and loan, I do not require this and I want my full refund. I have all emails going all the way back as well. PLEASE take care of this.

Desired Settlement: I want the full purchase price of the Xzlion credited on my Volkswagen account.

Business Response: Dear BBB/Ms. *****,  I do apologize for your experience but you were misinformed. Xzilon is a great product and will protect your investment.  Please Vinnie P********* at *** *** ****.

Appreciate your business and patience.
Gordie B****** ***

Business Response: Dear Ms. *****.  I apologize for misinforming you. We sent the check for the credit to your loan company because they financed the product. This is according to the law.


Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I NOW see that the check was sent to my loan, which is fine.  this is now CLOSED to me... 



******* *****




5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live in ** which was a 12 hour round trip. Prior to purchasing the car i had contact with the salesman and finance dept. Everything was done and approved, only thing needed was for me to make the trip. He insured me nothing was wrong with the car. I drove to Boucher Volkswagon in Franklin and purchased the car. On my drive home of 400+ miles i noticed the car already burned through half a quart of oil. I call them and the sales manager ****** guaranteed me all volkswagons and Audis burn through a quart every 1000 miles. I called 3 different Audi and VW dealerships and they all said that was false. I see that there are oil spots on my garage floor. I take it to have a mechanic look at the car and he said Rear main seal is leaking. I called dealership and he said well a mechanic on the side of the road doesnt cut it. I drove it right to my local volkswagon dealership and right away he told me it was the rear main seal. I called ****** back and he did not believe me. He said the quote I got from Volkswagon didnt have the name of the dealership on it. I spoke with my volkswagon dealership and they said they can only print something on their letterhead if it is something that they charged the work for. In their systems they cannot void the paperwork after. They even called that dealership and they confirmed it with him that it was leaking however ****** still wanted a quote with their letter head. Then he wanted me to take it to a 3rd mechanic. I asked him if i drove this car to Audi will and they confirmed it was a rear main seal will they pay for the part since i bought a leaking car. He said he would have to talk to his **. He also said that they would like to see the car. I told him I will pay for another inspection if i have his word he will rear the damage if they get the paper that with their logo on it. He said NO because if i didnt supply the letter he wont confirm anything. He stated that its my fault for not getting him the letter so im not holding up on my part of the deal. But even if the get the paper he wanted he said he wont fix it, only to talk to his **. Then he state even if i go to Audi they still want to see the car. I then asked him whats the point of getting the sheet of paper if he wants to look at the car regardless? He had no comment. Then he said i would have to bring the car in. I asked him if i brought the car in which is a 12 hour round trip. Would they repair the car if that was the problem? He said he cant guarantee anything but a talk with his **. He rudely stated he will not pay for the repairs so that I can take that money elsewhere to get it fixed. So my options are to: 1. Pay Audi a third mechanic to get a sheet of paper just to only bring the car in. 2. Take it there since regardless if i took it to Audi or not, then risk them saying o well we cant do anything about it. He disrespected me by saying he did not believe i went to a mechanic (with a paper quote) and then VW after calling and confirming the gentleman there works there. I later called their service dept to get a quote on how much they would charge for the repair. The service technician said that he would not recommend me taking it there and gave me the address of their local Audi dealership. This is my 20th vehicle that i have purchased from all over the United States and not once been so disrespected. Even when issues arose they worked with me, not make me spend money on inspections to only have to drive the car in to earn a talk with their **. Never have i picked up a car with an issue that is covered up. For being the biggest dealer group in WI i figured i would be safe buying a car from them. All i got was a car with issues prior to me picking it up, however they are calling me a liar and disrespected me. My family are constant car buyers and none of them will buy a car from here. My company I work for is nationwide and you can be sure that on every employee bulletin board it will say to never buy a car from there. I will make it my duty to write reviews of my experience everywhere online(google, facebook, yahoo and etc) for future customers to see and be aware of. I have bought cars from every type of dealership possible and never have I had to run through all this headache and being disrespected.

Desired Settlement: I want payment directly to a dealership to repair. I checked 3 dealerships VW for $912 Audi MPLS $2400 Audi St Paul $3000 I do not feel comfortable driving there with no guarantees of the issue being fixed. I do not feel comfortable in their service department after they suggested me going to Audi.

Business Response: Dear BBB, We have been in constant contact with our customer. We requested validation of the leak in writing(service work order) from Audi new car franchised dealer in his area. Our customer purchased an Audi that was certified. These issues don't usually arise after a vehicle is certified especially due to Audi's high standards. We contacted the Audi dealer who did the inspection and it was not leaking. We want a work order from another dealer before we will proceed.


Business Response: Dear BBB, Contact you attorney. 

Consumer Response:

Thank you. As you can see they offered to help then retracted the help. They said if I were to bring t in they would resolve the issue. Then retracted it and said they still wanted that paper. After I agreed to give them that paper they told me to contact my attorney. Thank you for the help BBB please close this complaint as not satisfactory and not resolved. Please make this public soon. 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


****** ***********



12/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have major concerns with a Wisconsin VW dealership in F****lin, WI.  Boucher VW Marketplace in F****lin, Wisconsin.  We purchased a 2010 VW Routon SE minivan.  Here are the issues that came up within a month of owning the mini-van.  Please understand, I have NEVER done something like this, but my wife and I are so upset and frustrated, I am giving this a shot.  ISSUES:  1) The day we picked up the vehicle, the van was detailed, cleaned, or anything.  They agreed to detail the van inside and out.  NOTHING was done. 2) As we drove off the lot, we got on the highway, the cruise did not work. 3) The alignment was so bad, it literally went to a 45 degree angle when you took your hands off the wheel.  4) The seat belts were so dirty, that they left dirt/dust material on your clothing. 5) A month into driving the van, the TRANSMISSION went.  VW has a process that they have to replace the fluid first, and then see how it shifts.  We agreed to this, but within a week, it started to shift hard again.  We are now at a stand still with them to replace the entire transmission.  6) The brakes were making a funny noise from day 1 too; well last week the entire back end of rotors, brakes, pins, and calipers were replaced.  *Every time we bring the van in, we have to pay a $50 deductible.  The van was considered a certified pre-owned. This is part of VW's deal.  We are holding our breath as to what will go next.  We feel this van is a lemon.  I looked up LEMON LAWS of WI, and still not sure on what our rights are.  My wife and I teachers in the Sheboygan Area School District.  I have been teaching going on 16 years, and am the head boys varsity basketball coach at Sheboygan South High School.  My wife is a school counselor at an elementary school in town too.  My point to mentioning this is, IF were were evaluated in our job as teachers, coaches, counselors, and did as poorly as Gorde Boucher VW did in F****lin, WI...WE would be fired and let go.  What is VW's consequence?  Nothing...but this story needs to be told.  We are easy going people, we are educated, and understand it is a used vehicle, but we were taken advantage of.  

Desired Settlement: We are willing to find another vehicle with Gorde Boucher in F****lin.  

Business Response: Dear BBB, From the time of purchase we have worked with the ****'s. VW is involved is this latest issue. I am perplexed on why a complaint was filed.


11/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought this vehicle on 12/20/13 for my wife so she could have a reliable vehicle when she goes to the **** ******.My wife called Boucher and asked questions.She asked about a warranty if anything would happen within a month of purchase,for example the alternator.A salesperson said that there was no written warranty but that if such a thing were to happen they would certainly take care of it.On the day of the purchase the vehicle would not start.They said the battery was dead and replaced it.I drove it home and when I got there I had my wife check it out.The right passenger door would not work and the next day on the 21st the battery was dead. After jumping the vehicle the engine light came on and she noticed a noise.She called the salesman and he informed her that she should take it to a Honda dealership and that they would take care of it.On January 9th Honda charged $88.00 to diagnose the problem.It states "The closer motor bad causing battery to drain".So this was the problem it had on the sales lot prior to leaving.Also there was a loose nut on the right rear shock,this was from when Boucher had replaced it.That charge was 17.60 and shop materials was $5.28. Boucher would not pay for the diagnosis even though they sent her to find out what the problem was.They only paid the 17.60 for the loose bolt.On Jan 10 Honda was able to replace the door assembly for $383.13.After the vehicle was repaired she went out to leave and it would not start.The service salesman came out and told her that it was the starter.She purchased one at ******* **** ***** and found a local mechanic to put it in because she could not afford to have Honda replace it.The starter was $150.32 with a $21.48 return core fee for a total of $128.84 She paid a mechanic $50.00 to install it.When she called the dealership they would only reimburse her $400.73 which was for the door assembly and loose bolt.She had asked for reimbursement of the starter and the diagnosis.They declined even after she reminded them of their word.

Desired Settlement: $222.12 which covers the $88.00 for the diagnosis. $5.28 for the shop materials to fix the loose bolt and $128.84 for the starter, but not the labor. All fall within the 30 day period that they promised they would cover. The vehicle was purchased on 12/20/2013 and the problems occurred on 12/21/13 and 1/10/14. She has been unable to resolve this with the dealership. Again the problem with the door existed while it was on the lot. But the starter went out a couple weeks later.

Business Response: Dear BBB, Due to the time lapse from when the vehicle was purchased to when the complaint was filed we won't look into this matter.  Thank you.


Business Response: Dear BBB, We don't feel the claims made the consumer are accurate. We don't put cars on the dealership lot with issues but that doesn't mean issues don't arise after purchase. We will send a $50.00 Visa gift card for their troubles. 


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]   Apparently the salesman says one thing but then doesn't honor his word. Again a payment for the starter would satisfy this matter. E-mails were sent immediately and phone calls were also made immediately. The salesman said go get an estimate and we'll take care of it and then they don't want to cover all of it. Shame on the.


****** ********



4/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a call from **** ******* Boucher VW the last week of January, 2014. He asked me if I wanted to turn in my leased vehicle early (it was due in April) and get a 2014 vehicle for the same lease price. I said "definitely" and filled out the financing paperwork right away. That same day, **** called me and asked what color Tiguan I wanted for my new vehicle? I took a look at the FranklinVW website and saw a nice, bright Red Tiguan that I loved. So, I told **** I'd like a red 2014 Tiguan. He called me a little later to tell me he found one for me, but let me know it was candy-apple red. I Googled "candy apple red" images and saw a color that I really liked as well! So, I said "sure, I'll take it!" **** then indicated I would be working with a sales person by the name of **** ************** and that I woul dneed to come in to pick it up before the end of the month. I spoke with **** and made an appt. to come in on Jan. 30th to lease the new candy-apple red, 2014 Tiguan. I met **** that Thursday evening and he took me out to the service garage to see my new vehicle. The first words out of my mouth were, "that's not the red I expected, that's a lot darker!" and my tone certainly portrayed my lack of excitement for the new vehicle. **** then responded, "Oh, it's a metallic color, so it will look a lot lighter in the daylight when the sun hits it." I said "okay" and we proceeded with the sale. On Friday, I drove the new vehicle to work in the dark and home in the dark, so I still did not see it in the daylight until Saturday morning, February 1st. I called and left a message for **** right away Sat. morning. I did not hear from him and happened to be in the Franklin Area, so I stopped by the Dealership to see him. He was busy, so **** ******* came out to greet me and see what I needed. I told **** that I did not like my new vehicle and that I wanted a different color. He said that if I would've bought it in the middle of the month, it would be different, but the paperwork was already processed at the end of the month. He went to speak with his Manager to see if there was anything they could do. He came back and said he couldn't do anything, but would talk to his Controller on Monday to see if they could give me some money back. I called **** during the week, left messages, but did not hear back from him. I finally called him on Thursday, Feb. 6th and talked to him. He said he had talked to the Controller and he could offer me $100 cash. I laughed and told him I'd be contacting VW Corporate directly. So, I did. After discussing my complaint and speaking with the Sales Manager at Franklin VW, two weeks later, the corporate offices indicated that the Sales Mgr. said they showed me 3 different vehicles and I chose the vehicle I have now. So, they lied to VW, as all of my sale was done over the phone, they did not show me any vehicles. VW Corporate indicated that they cannot do anything else for me, but to offer the $100 cash that I was originally offered by Franklin VW. I then called the Boucher Group (who owns Boucher Volkswagen in Franklin). Even though I asked to speak with *** ***** of Franklin VW, the woman on the phone said that *** ******* ******* of Franklin VW would be contacting me last week and he never has. I still have a vehicle I do not like and I feel that I was lied to about the color, was told it would "look different" in the day light and the pictures on their website are mis-representative of the vehicle I thought I was purchasing. I was lied to by several people at Franklin VW and felt I was taken advantage of just so someone could make a sales quota. Now I am doing everything possible to get a car I like, as I already told **** *******, I am now stuck with a vehicle I don't like for 3 years and that is not satisfactory in my book.

Desired Settlement: I would like a 2014 Tiguan that I like the color of and enjoy driving for 3 years and would appreciate not being lied too during the sales process.

Business Response: Dear Ms. ********,

We truly value your ***ronage and want to make you satisfied. We agree that the online photo color does not represent the true color. Our ******* ******* *** ********* is working with Volkswagen North America to assist in getting you into a vehicle you like. These type of circumstances take a bit but we are aware of your frustration and you are a top priority.
Best Regards,
****** ******* ***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Thank you Mr. *******.  I have been purchasing Chevy and Volkswagen vehicles from the Boucher family since my first new car in 1994, so I truly appreciate your response.  Unfortunately, *** ********* does not feel the same as you and your other family business partners.  I spoke to him for over 30 minutes late Saturday afternoon. 


He spoke to me in a condescending and demeaning manner about my research skills and my ability to make decisions, indicating that the whole issue was my fault for signing the lease (and believing my sales person).  He also belittled me for contacting the Better Business Bureau and indicated this surely didn't make him want to provide me with any assistance to resolve this matter.  


I requested that he speak with you before close of business today and that he follow up with me.  Again, thank you for your time and attention to this issue. I truly appreciate it.


***** ********



Business Response: Dear *****/BBB,  We appreciate your ***ronage thru the years and this is just an unfortunate situation. The red tone of your Tiguan is the only red they make. If you didn't like the color at delivery you shouldn't of taken delivery. I will do research to see if there is a way to dress up the vehicle, accessory wise to make it more appealing to you.

Best Regards,
****** ******* *** 

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to get an oil change, my check engine light has been on for over a year-the machanic asked if I was concerned about it after seeing my dash board & taking down the mileage. I replied, "no, it's a sensor".. The tech came out by me in the waiting room after doing an inspection & give me his recommendations & handed me a copy. Battery needed replacement & 2 side bulbs. I ok'd the bulbs getting replaced. I paid my balance & when I went to start my car the traction control light was came on. I went to tell the mechanic & he took my car back to "scan" it. I'm upset because supposedly I was told that light was on & that it was on when I brought it in-this is not true. I'm frustrated because they lied to me & my orginal copy doesn't indicate anything about the traction light, I was shocked that the mechanic lied right to me that it was always on. After their scanning of it, turns out a "genetic" code came up & they'd have to charge me to tell me what's wrong. The service advisors name is ******* ******** & the rep who agreed it was on name was *****. I feel my car was tampered with and would never trust them. I also feel they were accusing me of lying in front of other staff & customers. ***** said "well I guess it's coincidental then" he was totally unprofessional & wanted me to leave. I asked if there's a way to get a print out of the computerized scanning codes to prove that light was never on, he said yes but it takes hours & they couldn't do it today. My car is a 2003 Jetta, it's an older car but the fact that I was made to seem like I was lying was incredibly insulting.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to know why the lights on, them to acknowledge it was NOT on when I first arrived, a print out of the digital scan to prove I'm not lying and an apology. ******* ******** should be terminated for lying & tampering with a customers vehicle. He can not be trusted & ***** should be reprimanded for being rude & brushing me off telling me I'd have to PAY for them to tell me why it's on. However, I don't know that I'd trust them to work on my car

Business Response: Dear Mrs. ***** *******/BBB,

If the traction control light was on during the technicians review he would have brought it to your attention. Unfortunately the light did appear when you left the dealership, mere coincidence. But because we value your patronage we will diagnose free of charge.
Best Regards,
****** ******* *** 

Business Response: Dear  ***** *******, As I stated in my first response. The work performed on your vehicle wouldn't have caused the light to go on. It can just happen that way. In good faith we offered a free diagnosis. 


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Like I've stated , my car has been fixed, my transmission sensor was reconnected after your staff member ******* ******** disconnected it. I can stop by to have my credit card refunded for the oil change I had redone, let me know a good time


***** *******



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Boucher Volkswagen, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)