Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Boucher Volkswagen, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of new and used automobiles. This company also sells factory certified Volkswagens and VW accessories. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boucher Volkswagen, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Boucher Volkswagen, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Boucher Volkswagen, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2002 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business incorporated: 07/18/2000 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gordie Boucher Jr., CEO Mr. Gordon F. Boucher, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gordie Boucher Jr., CEO
Related Businesses
Boucher Kia of Milwaukee Frank Boucher VW Kia Mazda Frank Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. Gordie Boucher Lincoln, Inc. Boucher Hyundai Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln of West Bend Gordie Boucher Ford of Menomonee Falls, Inc. Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. Gordie Boucher Ford of Kenosha, Inc. Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln-Mercury Mazda of Janesville
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Services Auto Accessories Financing New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Industry Tips
Advanced Fee Loans Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Counterfeit Currency Credit Card Accountability, Responsibility and Disclosure (CARD) Act Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • 6420 S 108th St

    Franklin, WI 53132 (414) 427-4141 (866) 308-0147 (800) 893-5217

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 893-5217(Phone)
  • (866) 308-0147(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have major concerns with a Wisconsin VW dealership in F****lin, WI.  Boucher VW Marketplace in F****lin, Wisconsin.  We purchased a 2010 VW Routon SE minivan.  Here are the issues that came up within a month of owning the mini-van.  Please understand, I have NEVER done something like this, but my wife and I are so upset and frustrated, I am giving this a shot.  ISSUES:  1) The day we picked up the vehicle, the van was detailed, cleaned, or anything.  They agreed to detail the van inside and out.  NOTHING was done. 2) As we drove off the lot, we got on the highway, the cruise did not work. 3) The alignment was so bad, it literally went to a 45 degree angle when you took your hands off the wheel.  4) The seat belts were so dirty, that they left dirt/dust material on your clothing. 5) A month into driving the van, the TRANSMISSION went.  VW has a process that they have to replace the fluid first, and then see how it shifts.  We agreed to this, but within a week, it started to shift hard again.  We are now at a stand still with them to replace the entire transmission.  6) The brakes were making a funny noise from day 1 too; well last week the entire back end of rotors, brakes, pins, and calipers were replaced.  *Every time we bring the van in, we have to pay a $50 deductible.  The van was considered a certified pre-owned. This is part of VW's deal.  We are holding our breath as to what will go next.  We feel this van is a lemon.  I looked up LEMON LAWS of WI, and still not sure on what our rights are.  My wife and I teachers in the Sheboygan Area School District.  I have been teaching going on 16 years, and am the head boys varsity basketball coach at Sheboygan South High School.  My wife is a school counselor at an elementary school in town too.  My point to mentioning this is, IF were were evaluated in our job as teachers, coaches, counselors, and did as poorly as Gorde Boucher VW did in F****lin, WI...WE would be fired and let go.  What is VW's consequence?  Nothing...but this story needs to be told.  We are easy going people, we are educated, and understand it is a used vehicle, but we were taken advantage of.  

Desired Settlement: We are willing to find another vehicle with Gorde Boucher in F****lin.  

Business Response: Dear BBB, From the time of purchase we have worked with the ****'s. VW is involved is this latest issue. I am perplexed on why a complaint was filed.

***

4/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a call from **** ******* Boucher VW the last week of January, 2014. He asked me if I wanted to turn in my leased vehicle early (it was due in April) and get a 2014 vehicle for the same lease price. I said "definitely" and filled out the financing paperwork right away. That same day, **** called me and asked what color Tiguan I wanted for my new vehicle? I took a look at the FranklinVW website and saw a nice, bright Red Tiguan that I loved. So, I told **** I'd like a red 2014 Tiguan. He called me a little later to tell me he found one for me, but let me know it was candy-apple red. I Googled "candy apple red" images and saw a color that I really liked as well! So, I said "sure, I'll take it!" **** then indicated I would be working with a sales person by the name of **** ************** and that I woul dneed to come in to pick it up before the end of the month. I spoke with **** and made an appt. to come in on Jan. 30th to lease the new candy-apple red, 2014 Tiguan. I met **** that Thursday evening and he took me out to the service garage to see my new vehicle. The first words out of my mouth were, "that's not the red I expected, that's a lot darker!" and my tone certainly portrayed my lack of excitement for the new vehicle. **** then responded, "Oh, it's a metallic color, so it will look a lot lighter in the daylight when the sun hits it." I said "okay" and we proceeded with the sale. On Friday, I drove the new vehicle to work in the dark and home in the dark, so I still did not see it in the daylight until Saturday morning, February 1st. I called and left a message for **** right away Sat. morning. I did not hear from him and happened to be in the Franklin Area, so I stopped by the Dealership to see him. He was busy, so **** ******* came out to greet me and see what I needed. I told **** that I did not like my new vehicle and that I wanted a different color. He said that if I would've bought it in the middle of the month, it would be different, but the paperwork was already processed at the end of the month. He went to speak with his Manager to see if there was anything they could do. He came back and said he couldn't do anything, but would talk to his Controller on Monday to see if they could give me some money back. I called **** during the week, left messages, but did not hear back from him. I finally called him on Thursday, Feb. 6th and talked to him. He said he had talked to the Controller and he could offer me $100 cash. I laughed and told him I'd be contacting VW Corporate directly. So, I did. After discussing my complaint and speaking with the Sales Manager at Franklin VW, two weeks later, the corporate offices indicated that the Sales Mgr. said they showed me 3 different vehicles and I chose the vehicle I have now. So, they lied to VW, as all of my sale was done over the phone, they did not show me any vehicles. VW Corporate indicated that they cannot do anything else for me, but to offer the $100 cash that I was originally offered by Franklin VW. I then called the Boucher Group (who owns Boucher Volkswagen in Franklin). Even though I asked to speak with *** ***** of Franklin VW, the woman on the phone said that *** ******* ******* of Franklin VW would be contacting me last week and he never has. I still have a vehicle I do not like and I feel that I was lied to about the color, was told it would "look different" in the day light and the pictures on their website are mis-representative of the vehicle I thought I was purchasing. I was lied to by several people at Franklin VW and felt I was taken advantage of just so someone could make a sales quota. Now I am doing everything possible to get a car I like, as I already told **** *******, I am now stuck with a vehicle I don't like for 3 years and that is not satisfactory in my book.

Desired Settlement: I would like a 2014 Tiguan that I like the color of and enjoy driving for 3 years and would appreciate not being lied too during the sales process.

Business Response: Dear Ms. ********,

 
We truly value your ***ronage and want to make you satisfied. We agree that the online photo color does not represent the true color. Our ******* ******* *** ********* is working with Volkswagen North America to assist in getting you into a vehicle you like. These type of circumstances take a bit but we are aware of your frustration and you are a top priority.
 
Best Regards,
 
****** ******* ***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Thank you Mr. *******.  I have been purchasing Chevy and Volkswagen vehicles from the Boucher family since my first new car in 1994, so I truly appreciate your response.  Unfortunately, *** ********* does not feel the same as you and your other family business partners.  I spoke to him for over 30 minutes late Saturday afternoon. 

 

He spoke to me in a condescending and demeaning manner about my research skills and my ability to make decisions, indicating that the whole issue was my fault for signing the lease (and believing my sales person).  He also belittled me for contacting the Better Business Bureau and indicated this surely didn't make him want to provide me with any assistance to resolve this matter.  

 

I requested that he speak with you before close of business today and that he follow up with me.  Again, thank you for your time and attention to this issue. I truly appreciate it.

Regards,

***** ********

 

 

Business Response: Dear *****/BBB,  We appreciate your ***ronage thru the years and this is just an unfortunate situation. The red tone of your Tiguan is the only red they make. If you didn't like the color at delivery you shouldn't of taken delivery. I will do research to see if there is a way to dress up the vehicle, accessory wise to make it more appealing to you.

 
Best Regards,
****** ******* *** 

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to get an oil change, my check engine light has been on for over a year-the machanic asked if I was concerned about it after seeing my dash board & taking down the mileage. I replied, "no, it's a sensor".. The tech came out by me in the waiting room after doing an inspection & give me his recommendations & handed me a copy. Battery needed replacement & 2 side bulbs. I ok'd the bulbs getting replaced. I paid my balance & when I went to start my car the traction control light was came on. I went to tell the mechanic & he took my car back to "scan" it. I'm upset because supposedly I was told that light was on & that it was on when I brought it in-this is not true. I'm frustrated because they lied to me & my orginal copy doesn't indicate anything about the traction light, I was shocked that the mechanic lied right to me that it was always on. After their scanning of it, turns out a "genetic" code came up & they'd have to charge me to tell me what's wrong. The service advisors name is ******* ******** & the rep who agreed it was on name was *****. I feel my car was tampered with and would never trust them. I also feel they were accusing me of lying in front of other staff & customers. ***** said "well I guess it's coincidental then" he was totally unprofessional & wanted me to leave. I asked if there's a way to get a print out of the computerized scanning codes to prove that light was never on, he said yes but it takes hours & they couldn't do it today. My car is a 2003 Jetta, it's an older car but the fact that I was made to seem like I was lying was incredibly insulting.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to know why the lights on, them to acknowledge it was NOT on when I first arrived, a print out of the digital scan to prove I'm not lying and an apology. ******* ******** should be terminated for lying & tampering with a customers vehicle. He can not be trusted & ***** should be reprimanded for being rude & brushing me off telling me I'd have to PAY for them to tell me why it's on. However, I don't know that I'd trust them to work on my car

Business Response: Dear Mrs. ***** *******/BBB,

 
If the traction control light was on during the technicians review he would have brought it to your attention. Unfortunately the light did appear when you left the dealership, mere coincidence. But because we value your patronage we will diagnose free of charge.
 
Best Regards,
****** ******* *** 

Business Response: Dear  ***** *******, As I stated in my first response. The work performed on your vehicle wouldn't have caused the light to go on. It can just happen that way. In good faith we offered a free diagnosis. 

 
****.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Like I've stated , my car has been fixed, my transmission sensor was reconnected after your staff member ******* ******** disconnected it. I can stop by to have my credit card refunded for the oil change I had redone, let me know a good time

Regards,

***** *******

 

 

9/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am the owner of a **** ********** ***** that I purchased as a “demo” model in December 2006. At the time of purchase the car had less than 7,000 miles on it and currently has approximately 69,500. Within the past few months I noticed that the headliner was pulling away from the rear pillars as well as completely pulling away from and coming down from the roof of the car and dome light. On Monday, August 13th, I contacted ********** customer care. I was given a case number (#*********) and instructions on contacting my local dealer. I made an appointment with my dealer (Boucher ********** of********* *********) for 3:00 on the 16th for an oil change and to have the headliner examined. At my appointment Tyler looked at the car, made some notes, and said that someone would be in contact with me within the next 24 hours. On the 17th, ***** from customer care contacted me and said that they would offer to provide the part at no charge however I would be responsible for the labor charges. When I asked how much labor might cost I was told to contact the dealer for a labor quote, though it was not stipulated that the dealer must make the repair. I called my dealership and gave the information to ***** who said he would check into things and call me back. He called back and quoted me approximately $260 in labor charges for the repair and also said that the retail price for the headliner was approximately $205. It is my opinion that by ********** offering to provide the part for free they are, in a sense, acknowleding that there is an issue with that part (after researching several internet forums, I have found quite a large number of people with the same issue). Their fix is to provide me the part at no cost (I would guess this part, though it retails for $205, costs ********** no more than $100) yet I am to pay their standard labor rate which we all know is where the majority of the profit lies within the dealership. Since it was reiterated to me several times that this is not a warranty issue, it should be of no consequence to ********** how I go about installing the new headliner. I contacted ** of America as well as Boucher ** in a letter dated August 23rd and stated that if ********** was unwilling to make the repair at no cost, I would accept their offer to receive the free headliner under the stipulation that the headliner is shipped to my home so that I am able to have the garage/body shop of my choice make the necessary repair. In a letter dated August 29th sent to me from ** Customer Care, I was told that "the offer of 100% of the parts cost is only valid if the work is done at a ********** dealership".

Desired Settlement: I was offered a replacement headliner at no cost to me. I have yet to hear from Boucher directly, though they have been made aware of the situation since it was reported on August 13th, as well as all continued correspondence between myself and ** Customer Care. Again, if this is not a warranty issue and I was offered the part at no charge, I do not feel that they can dictate where I go for service. If they will not install my free part for free, I simply want them to send me they part that was offered at no charge.

Business Response:

Dear BBB/Mr. *****

We understand Mr. *****'s frustration but this issue is basically between Mr.***** and ** now. Our service manage **** ****** has tried to assist Mr. ***** through **.  ** offered to cover the part and Mr.*****  would be responsible for the labor, but he wants the whole repair to be covered. I have talked to ** several times on this matter and they have made it clear that this is the best that they can offer,in fact now that he addressed Mr.******** in his letter the offer can not be changed except by Mr.******** himself. We at the dealership have done nothing wrong to cause this problem, it is simply a failed part on a vehicle that is out of warranty. Mr. *****'s 2006 Jetta with only 69,000 miles is a great time to trade. The new car programs are very aggressive and may be a good option for Mr. *****. He can contact me directly if he would like the information about trading up into a new vehicle. *** *** ****
Regards,
****** ******* **.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.I have not been contacted at all by *** ****** from Boucher.  I recognize the fact the VW or Boucher will not pay for the entire repair so all I am asking for is the part that was OFFERED TO ME AT NO CHARGE.  I will take care of the labor on my own, understanding that there is no warranty assumed or implied.    I was offered a part and that is what I want, nothing more at this point.  I am asking for nothing more than was offerred.  Furthermore, to even suggest that I buy a new vehicle from Boucher at this point is an insult.

Regards,

***** *****

 

 

Business Response: Dear BBB/Mr. *****,


Never stated Mr. ****** talked with Mr. *****. Mr. ****** had spoken with ** customer service which is the proper procedure based on **'s guidelines. We can offer a discount on the original installation cost but we can't do it for free their is labor involved. The offer to purchase was meant to be in good faith. ** is being very fair in offering the part for free when the vehicle has 33,000 more miles on it then the vehicle warranty covers.

Regards,
****** ******* ***

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


I appreciate your good faith effort and I accept your offer of the free part.  Please mail it to my home address that you have on file.  Or let me know when the part is available for me to pick up at your dealership in Franklin.  That is all I am asking for at this point.  I am not asking for your dealership to install the part for free as well - just to provide the part to me that has been offered.

Regards,

 ***** *****

 

 

Business Response: Dear BBB/ Mr. Waltz,


I tried to have the part delivered to our store and have Mr. ***** pick it up but according to ** they will only warranty the part if it is installed by a ** authorized dealer. If Mr. ***** prefers for another dealer to install it that is fine. Mr. Waltz needs to contact ** customer service and let them know where he wants it to be delivered.

Best Regards,
****** ******* **.

I have a letter from ** stating what I just said. I will forward if  necessary.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that ******* has done all that they are able to do.  I want Mr. ******* to know that I am thoroughly dissatisfied with how this entire transaction has been handled.  Although a letter was sent to both ******* ** as well as ** headquarters, I never received any type response from ******* until I filed my complaint with the BBB.  I do not feel they advocated on behalf of their customer.  No personal contact has been made to me by anyone at ******* thoughout this entire process.  Had a manager from ******* made contact with me, expressed their concern about my issue, shown a bit of empathy, I likely would not have pursued this issued as aggressively.  I have a friend in ************ ** with a 2006 ***** with the same issue and I have read in various forums and chat rooms on-line, there are many, many more people with the same model and the same issue as well.  I only wish that I had the success that several of those people had in that their dealership and ** worked together to provide the part as well as the installation at no charge.  ********** needs to acknowledge that there is an issue with these cars.  I have filed a complaint with the BBB against ********** as a corporation, as well as with the Office of Defects Investigation within the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.  As requested by ** Customer Care, I will contact them in regards as to how to proceed from this point.

 

Regards,

 

 

David Waltz