BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used automobile sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boucher Kia of Milwaukee meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Boucher Kia of Milwaukee include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Boucher Kia of Milwaukee
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 22, 1992 Business started: 11/01/1992 in WI Business started locally: 11/01/1992 Business incorporated: 08/23/1990 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708
http://datcp.state.wi.us/
Phone Number: (800) 422-7128
hotline@datcp.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gordie Boucher, Jr., Sales/Marketing Mr. Gordon F. Boucher, Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gordie Boucher, Jr., Sales/Marketing
Related Businesses
Frank Boucher VW Kia Mazda Frank Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. Gordie Boucher Lincoln, Inc. Boucher Volkswagen, Inc. Boucher Hyundai Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln of West Bend Gordie Boucher Ford of Menomonee Falls, Inc. Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. Gordie Boucher Ford of Kenosha, Inc. Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln Mazda of Janesville, Inc.
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Accessories Financing

Products & Services

Boucher Kia of Milwaukee offers the following product(s): This company provides automobile sales and service.

Industry Tips
Advanced Fee Loans Auto Repair and Services Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Counterfeit Currency Credit Card Accountability, Responsibility and Disclosure (CARD) Act Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • 8730 N 91st St

    Milwaukee, WI 53224 (414) 357-2000 (414) 427-4141

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (414) 427-4141(Phone)
  • (414) 427-4140 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When buying a new KIA, Boucher KIA has a deciving and convoluted way of letting the consumer know of the final price. ****** *******, sales person at Boucher KIA, committed to a selling price, after all rebates, discounts, taxes, license, and title, as well as a $5000.00 down payment, of $ 11,356.64. The real amount was $ 750.01 higher. When I called ****** on Monday 04-29-13, he told me that I was right, the price he did give me (adjusted $95 higher for new plates), was $ 11,356.64. After ****** Cameron talked with his finance people, he called me back and told me that even he (******) didn't exactly understand what he told me. He did commit to a price of $ 11,356.64, yet I was charged $ 12,106.65. This is deceptive business practice.

Desired Settlement: Either a billing adjustment to the Boucher sales person's promised price of $ 11,356.64 or a refund check issued for $ 750.01

Business Response: Dear BBB,


Mr. ****** was assisting his employee on purchasing a vehicle. The $750 discrepancy came when the employee didn't qualify for the rebate. as he said they would.  The Boucher dealership had a Kia certificate valued at $400 that we decided to use to assist in the keeping the cost down on vehicle.  


Best Regards,
****** ******* ***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

 

The salesman at Boucher was assisting me in buying a new car for an employee in need. I buy lots of cars for people in need. When I asked the final "price" question on Friday, 04-27-13, of ****** *******, the salesman, it went something like this: "So, ******, after all of the rebates and discounts are applied, and I put $5000.00 down, how much will the remaining financed amount be? I was informed $ 16,261.64."

 

I wrote this number down.  When the amount was $750.01 higher, I asked ****** ******* (when I called him on Monday, 04-29-13) if I had the number correct.  ****** said I did have the right number, and he would talk to his finance people. When ****** called me back, he said that the number was going to be $750.01 higher, and he said that he made a mistake.  I'm sorry about the mistake, but I would have not agreed to the higher amount. The array of discounts and rebates (Boucher offers) not only confuses the buyers (me), the Boucher sales-people do not always understand the mumbo-jumbo of the numbers maze. I believe that dealers can "wow" you with padded prices and inflated trade-in values. In reality the issue is a number ($16,261.64) that I agreed to pay. A reputable dealer would stand behind their word. This matter is not resolved to my satisfaction. Further, Boucher should de-emphasize the "Internet Price" as if it were a given, and post a higher price with available discounts that may be available for certain models.

 

All in all, I agreed to pay $16,261.64.

 In my opinion, I was taken for the additional $750.01.

Regards,

****** ******

 

 

Business Response: As stated you had the opportunity not to take delivery of the car because the price difference was discussed.


****** ******* ***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

 

The response from Boucher KIA is deliberately mis-leading.

As Boucher KIA knows, I was not at the closing for the purchase of the car.

Why? This car was a gift. Boucher KIA gave me a FIRM price over the phone.  This was the final price I was to pay.

The Boucher sales-person knew I would not be at the closing.

At the closing I was charged $750.01 more than Boucher's FIRM quoted price.

Because I was not there, I had no opportunity to defend my position for the over-charge of $750.01.

Upon calling the salesman at Boucher the followong Monday, he did agree that he had given me a FIRM price.

For avoidance of all doubt, the Boucher KIA salesman told me that the amount he gave to me was correct.

After the salesman talked with his finance people, he (the salesman), backed down, and the Boucher KIA dealership left me holding the bag with an over-charge of $750.01.

In my opinion, the Boucher KIA dealership has used deceptive business practices when quoting "final" prices.

This matter is not resolved, and will not be resolved to my satisfaction until the $750.01 is returned.

Regards,

****** ******

 

 

11/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 2006 Kia Sedona Van (******) on Saturday, 9-22-12 from ***** ********* at Boucher Kia of Milwaukee, WI for $7903.00 We are from the ******* suburbs, so it was a drive for us. I had been calling ***** for two weeks asking questions on this van. I asked: Me: "Is there any rust?" ***** said "Absolutely none." Me: "How is the paint?" ***** said "It is perfect except for one small scratch about 3" Me: "Has the vehicle ever been in an accident?" ***** said, " No." We drove almost six hours round trip to get this car. When we got there, there was rust on two doors, the lock was broken as if someone had tried to break into it. We said we were upset about this and ***** said, "Oh that's nothing. It would cost $200 to fix the paint on both doors, I promise it's nothing." He said, "Hey I'll credit you $323 and that will cover the paint on the door as well as the handle lock." We said as long as it would cover it, we would buy the car. On Monday, we took the van to another Kia dealership near us in ********. They inspected it closely and said the car had been in a few accidents and the body work was done poorly. They said ***** flat out lied about it not being in an accident as the frame was bent, and the doors would be $1500 EACH (there's two damaged) to remove the rust and repaint. This is $3000 on top of other damages (chips in windshield, missing ash tray, broken lock, broken windshield wiper in back, etc) to bring the van to the condition ***** advertised. We called ***** and told him what the other Kia dealership said. He said they were flat out lying to us, and we then took the van to ANOTHER dealership. This dealership stated the same-- $3000 for the doors alone and told us that the van had been in MULTIPLE accidents and it was very obvious to a dealer. The ****** paint job was three different shades of ******, the metal was rough where it was sanded, the frame was bent. This dealer said a consumer would probably not notice these things but any dealer would. He said there was no way BOUCHER did not know about this damage and they must have lied to us about the condition to make the sale. I then called ***** AGAIN and told him a SECOND dealer was saying the car was misrepresented and had been in multiple accident s with a bent frame. I said I wanted to return it, he said "Well, I'm not going to do that." He then put me through to his manager. I explained our situation and what the TWO dealerships said. I told the manager that I wanted to return the car and he said "absolutely not, it has too many problems." I said, well then you are admitting you knew about all of this and didn't disclose it to me and that you lied about it?" He said "yes, that is for you to inspect and figure out. I don't want it back." I said, well that is dishonest. Would you buy it back as a trade in?" He said, "No, I don't want it back. It has too many problems." I then traded it to ****** ****** in ****** ****, ** for $4500 as a trade in amount on another van that was safe to drive and was honestly represented. We lost $3403.00 from the scammers at BOUCHER KIA and feel we should be reimbursed this money. They are the most dishonest dealer we have ever seen.

Desired Settlement: We would like the $3403.00

Business Response: Dear BBB,


The vehicle in question had a clean Carfax, no accidents reported on four owners. ***** is respectable salesperson and would not have lied about the condition of the vehicle. The dealership tried to put them in a different vehicle as well as would have bought the vehicle back. We tried as a company to satisfy the customer. Our last conversation the customer hung up the phone on us. We will not refund the difference because we offered to give her a full refund before she decided to trade it in at another dealer.

Best Regards,
****** ******* ***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Your response is incomplete and misleading.

I would like to make the following points:

 1) Carfax only reports what is reported to insurance agencies and the DMV. The work on this car was clearly not reported to either group, but that doesn't change the fact that the car was in at least one accident if not multiple accidents. A visual inspection by multiple dealers confirms this is the case. Given both dealer pointed out the issues within minutes, I find it difficult to believe that Boucher somehow managed to miss the issues. In fact, the immediate offer of a $323 credit when we pointed out the paint and lock damage, which was really the result of a shoddy repair job indicated in retrospect that you likely knew the damage was far more severe.

Here's the thing:

If the damage was truly just a paint job, both dealers said it would take over a thousand dollars to repaint the one door.

But, given the poor sanding and and other issues (frame, damage to other doors etc.), the damage to the car would take a much greater amount of money to properly fix.

So, your original contention that the car damage would take $323 to fix is clearly off by an order of magnitude based on the known issues we pointed out at the initial inspection. On this issue alone, you were misleading us, and it's hard to believe that you were that incompetent or ignorant about how much it would cost to simply repaint a door. Given the ease of the dealers finding the rest of the damage (under 5 minutes each), it's impossible to believe that Boucher didn't realize that the "rust spots" were indicative of greater damage to the vehicle that could be found with a cursory check if you knew what to look for. You are asking us to accept that the fact Boucher didn't even perform the most basic of dealer inspections on the car as the rust spots were a clear signal that things needed to be investigated further. I'm sorry, but that is a laughable assumption. We noticed the rust spots and asked the appropriate questions (was the car in an accident?) and ***** chose to be dishonest.

2) Boucher at no time offered to buy back the car with no strings attached. We spoke on the morning of the 24th, and ***** offered to give us a full refund on the car provided we use the money for another car on the lot. The next Kia Sedona on the lot was a 2009 and was 16k, a 8k difference, and ***** wasn't flexible on the price. The alternative was a trade-in price of $5500. We said we'd consider it. However, when we called back in the afternoon of the 24th, around 4pm or so, ***** said the car had too many issues, and they wouldn't take it back under any price or under any scenario. We were then forced to trade it in for $4500. Do you honestly think that we are that stupid to pass up a full refund of 8k for the car and accept $4500 as a trade in if that deal was really on the table?

So, Boucher's offer either resulted in us buying another Kia Sedona for 8k more at a nice profit for Boucher, or taking an immediate $2.4k loss on the car that we bought two days earlier. Furthermore, when we actually tried to follow up after further thought, ***** pulled both scenarios off the table.

Thus, at no time did Boucher ever offer a "complete refund" with no strings attached, or seriously attempt to satisfy us.

As a result, we are still requesting that Boucher refund us the full $3403 difference.


[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** *****

 

10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a car from the Boucher Kia. During this time I receive very bad consumer service. While working with the Dealer every question I asked her pertaining to the loan approval she had no answer for. Everything about the amount of the car she couldn't tell who was my loan going to be through. It was as if everything was a secret. Also, they asked me for my husband info to use for housewhole income and that they weren't going to run his credit. Recently we received a statement from the dealership where they had run his credit. He also told them not to run his credit an they stated that they didn't need to. After getting the car home I notice there was some issue with the car. I called the dealer the next day to inform them of the issue. The remote wasn't working,the car was pulling to the right, and the brakes are making noise when I stop. They aligned the front end and ordered a new remote. The brakes they said were 90% still. So, I said ok and left. I took the car back again and still they said the brakes are ok. Recently I took the car to Midias and had them inspected and they said the brakes needed to be clean and lubed. So, I called the dealer to explain to them aboutmy brakes. I spoke with the used car Manager on 9/14/2012 @3:00 and he was very rude. I began to explain to and he cut me off he stated"I got your car aligned,ordered you a new remote and I have to draw the line somewhere". I told him that I haven't made a payment yet or had this car long enough to have these issues with the brakes and all I asking for is that you do th repairs. So, he continued to be really aggressive with his tone of voice and I said stop why are you talking to me like that. He said this is it and I will call you with an appointment. As i was still talking and stated maybe I needed to contact the BBB he hung up the phone on me.

Desired Settlement: I feel i deserve an apology. As a returning customer, i will never purchase another car from or refer anyone to that dealership. I want the work to my car completed. After they complete the due maintainence on my car I will not return to that location again.

Business Response:

Dear BBB/Mrs. ******, Please call ***** ****** the General Manager at ###-###-####. He will make it his priority to makeyou satisfied if your vehicle. We truly appreciate the business.

Best regards,

****** ******* **.

7/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WE PURCHASED A **** ***** From BOUCHER Kia of MILWAUKEE. WHEN WE TEST DROVE THE CAR WE NOTED TO THE SALES MAN THAT THE AC WAS NOT BLOWING COLD. HE SAID YES IT WAS BUT WE'LL HAVE IT TESTED. SO THEY SAID IT WAS BLOWING AT 43 DEGREES. OK, FINE THE TEMPERATURE OUT SIDE WAS VERY COLD SO I HAD NO REASON TO DISAGREE. WE BOUGHT THE CAR ON 3/ 26/2012 PAID CASH AND OFF WE WENT. ON 5/18/2012 OUR FIRST PROBLEM OCCURED THE PASSENGER REAR WINDOW STOPPED WORKING THE CABLE SNAPPED. SO I CALLED MR. ***** AND HE SAID WHO WELL. SO THAT COST MY WIFE AND I $284.24 TO REPAIR. BY THEN THE TEMPERATURE WAS STARTING TO GET WARM, SO WHEN WE TURNED ON THE AC , IT WOULD BLOW BUT NOT COLD. I CALLED MY ***** AND HE TOLD THE AC TESTED 43 DEGREES, THEY WOULD DO NOTHING ABOUT IT. ON JUNE 9 2012 THE CAR STARTED OVER HEATING AT THE AIRPORT WHEN I WENT TO PICK UP RELATIVES. SINCE IT WAS THE WEEKEND I COULD NOT DO ANYTHING TILL MONDAY. I WENT TO ********* AUTO SERVICE & THEY DID A DIAGNOSIS & WOULD NEED A HEAD GASKET...AND IT WILL COST US $1300.00 BUT THEY WOULD NEED IT FOR A FEW DAYS. SINCE MY MOTHER IN LAW WAS HERE WE NEEDED TO RENT A CAR. SHE HELPED US PAY FOR THE CAR . SO SHE CALLED THE KIA DEALERSHIP AND SPOKE TO ***** THE USED CAR MANAGER & ASKED IF THEY COULD DO ANYTHING & HE SAID HE REMEMBERED MR & MRS SMITH. HE COMMENTED THAT THEY LOVED THE CAR & FELT AS THOUGH THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT............I AM MRS ******** SPEAKING NOW, I AM UPSET AND I FELT I BOUGHT A LEMON CAR. THE SALESMAN WAS SLICK WITH JEFF AND SAM , HE KNEW HE HAD A COUPLE THAT DID NOT KNOW MUCH ABOUT CARS. I TOLD HIM I FEEL LIKE A PURCHASED A LEMON AND HE SAID WITH MY ATTITUDE HE WAS NOT GONG TO DEAL WITH ME AND BESIDES THERE WAS NOTHING HE WOULD DO. SO OUR CONVERSATION ENDED.

Desired Settlement: TO BE RE IMBURSED FOR THE SERVICE BILLS AND THE RENTAL CAR.

Business Response: Mr. and Mrs. *****/BBB , Apologize for delay didn't see the communication. Let me look into the situation and will be back to you shortly.


Sincerely,
****** ******* ***

5/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2011 Kia Otpima over 6 months ago,the paint started chiiping , I emailed the sales person from Kia ( below )Good afternoon. I have to ask you something. Is the front bumper of my car white with silver paint on it ? I looked at my bumper yesterday as I thought there was salt or something on it and all the paint is peeling off, it looks horrible. I had this car for only a little over 6 months and the paint is coming off of the front bumper. This is not right. I dont think I should have to pay for this to be painted, so you agree, I know the extended warranty does not take care of exterior, but should the manufactory warranty cover that ? This was her response ( below )Hi *******,That definitely sounds like a warranty issue. Give the service department a call to set up an appointment ###-###-####.There hours are M-F 7am-6pm and Sat 8-1. Sorry about the inconvenienceSo I bought the car in and *** the service manager said well its not peeling it is chipped off : tht is normal wear and tear of driving on the roads and it it looks like you drove on gravel or stones, i said I did not not, I am very protective of my car.He said I suggest you dont have it repainted or touch it up, pretty much just leave it alone.I said shouldnt of the paint been more durable, he said no, did you purchase a paint protection plan, I said what, no I bought an extended warranty plan..I said I am going to go to corporate ,he said go ahead, like he knew what they would say.They did I contacted Kia Corpareate consumer affirs, (******* ******** [********************************]) who said she spoke to *** and he said it was normal waer and tear of driving on the raods.I said I have been sick for days about this ,she said I am sorry and that was it.Under the free warrantly the paint of covered for 36000 that is only if it was peeling that is the only way of would of been covered.I explained that I only buy Kia and never had any problems like this, ******* said I am sorry ther is noting we can.

Desired Settlement: can I please have my front bumper repainted,or can I have some touch up paint to repaint it,or a front bra ( that Kia does not make for my car ) and I want this posted on the BBB website so other people can see what I am going through.Thank you veyr much**

Business Response:

Dear BBB/Mrs. *****,

We have reached out to the consumer to have her bring the vehicle in for inspection.

****** ******* ***

Consumer Response:

I went to Kia yesterday and I met ***** ****** , he was so nice and listened to everything I had to say without cutting me off,not like *** ****** did which he made me feel so stupid and gave me no options and blamed me for the chips of paint. ***** ****** actaully got on his hand and knees in a nice suit and looked at the whole bumper and every chip. He offered me 2 solutions, I took one of them ( a touch up paint pen for my bumper). It worked pretty good and I am very happy I came back and dealt with someone so professional and nice. I will buy another Kia when it is time to, just because of ***** ******. I think *** * needs to go back to cusomter service school and treat repeat/customers much better than he treated me.

 

Thank you and now my issue is resolved.