BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale and service of used vehicles. This company also sells factory certified pre-owned cars. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boucher Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Boucher Hyundai include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Boucher Hyundai
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 28, 1997 Business started: 02/14/1997 in WI Business started locally: 02/14/1997 Business incorporated: 12/02/1999 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Wisconsin Dept of Financial Institutions
345 W Washington Ave, Madison WI 53703
http://www.wdfi.org
Phone Number: (608) 261-9555
Fax Number: (608) 261-7200
askthesecretary@dfi.state.wi.us

Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708
http://datcp.state.wi.us/
Phone Number: (800) 422-7128
hotline@datcp.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gordie Boucher Jr., Slaes/Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gordie Boucher Jr., Slaes/Marketing
Related Businesses
Boucher Kia of Milwaukee Frank Boucher VW Kia Mazda Frank Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. Gordie Boucher Lincoln, Inc. Boucher Volkswagen, Inc. Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln of West Bend Gordie Boucher Ford of Menomonee Falls, Inc. Boucher Chevrolet, Inc. Gordie Boucher Ford of Kenosha, Inc. Gordie Boucher Ford Lincoln Mazda of Janesville, Inc.
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Services Auto Accessories Financing

Alternate Business Names
Frank Boucher of Waukesha, Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • 1583 E Moreland Blvd

    Waukesha, WI 53186 (262) 547-0031 (414) 427-4141

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (414) 427-4141(Phone)
  • (414) 427-4140 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom it may Concern: I purchased a 2013 Hyundai Elantra GLS (new) on 3/24/14. I had first visited the dealership on Saturday, 3/22/14. I was told that the only car for me, given my trade-in (value of which I only found out when I was signing paperwork) and financial state, was this particular vehicle, which happened to be silver. I was very adamant that I did not want a silver vehicle, so my salesperson told me that he would throw in a pinstripe and window tinting to make the vehicle more appealing. We agreed on a price, and I was told to come back later that afternoon for official delivery of my vehicle at 4:00 p.m. Saturday afternoon. I left the dealership and received a call from my salesperson shortly thereafter saying that the financing individual who was completing the deal at the lender had gone home ill for the day, and the deal could not be completed until Monday, 3/24. This story seemed rather odd. I was told that I could still come to the dealership, to pick up my new car, which I did decide to do, at the initially agreed upon time that afternoon. Plates were not transferred, nothing was signed - I was given a dealer plate for the weekend. On Monday afternoon 3/24 I arrived at the dealership for the actual closing. The Finance Manager I met with had no knowledge of the incentives my salesperson had promised while negotiating (pinstripe and window tinting) and said she would have to check with my salesperson. While I had the vehicle over the weekend, I also noticed that it did not come with a cargo net standard, and this is a very important feature to me. I was told I could purchase one and the dealership would install it. Upon completing the financing paperwork, etc, I asked for a manual to the vehicle and my second set of keys. I received my keys, but no manual. I was told I could come pick that up when I came in to have the cargo net installed. At the direction of my salesperson, I called the service department and spoke to the service writer I was supposed to, to set up an appointment. The service writer seemed to have no idea what I was talking about and placed me on hold. After a period of time he came back and said he was familiar with the issue, and asked what time I wanted to bring the vehicle in. I informed him that only weekends would work for my schedule, and I was rudely told that if weekends were my only option I could be scheduled for Saturday April 12, with no particular time; I'd just have to wait in line until my vehicle was ready. I reluctantly kept the loose appointment for 4/12. (Please note that this is a simple install that I'd do myself, however it requires some light drilling into the vehicle, which I'd rather leave to a professional. On average, per the instructions, this should take no more than fifteen minutes. I was told that it takes an hour or more. To install a cargo net? He must be kidding.) On Wednesday March 26, I received a letter from my lender, ** ****** *****, advising that they could not extend credit to me under the terms presented to them, but rather under modified terms, and I had ten days to respond to them directly if I agreed. I immediately emailed the finance manager, enclosing a copy of the letter, asking her if this was something I needed to worry about or address. I have not received a reply. Obviously this was worrisome, so I contacted the lender directly and was told that the only reason I received the letter was because the dealership did not send the signed contract to them in a timely manner, which automatically generates the letter, and was assured that everything was okay. It would have been nice to hear that from my finance manager, instead of having to investigate it for myself. Given the above, I emailed the general manager and advised him of my overall experience, reiterated that I was not looking for the items promised to me and that I liked the car and would do those add ons later if I so chose. I did this as I knew that my salesperson would have conveniently forgotten any mention of the incentives. Also, I advised that I would be canceling my April 12 appointment with the dealership, and would choose another dealership, one which provides firm appointment times. In conclusion, the only item I wanted was my "new vehicle jacket" which includes my manual, to be sent to me. I offered to pay postage. I had contacted my salesperson and asked if this could be done, but again, no reply. To date I have not heard from the GM of the dealership. I find this lack of response unconscionable, especially to a customer who just purchased a new vehicle. The condition of my trade in or my financial situation should not affect my experience, and that is exactly how I feel.

Desired Settlement: All I really want is to make sure that I get all of the necessary materials that should have been given to me upon actual delivery of the vehicle, ie the manuals and "new vehicle jacket," sent to me. An explanation of why I have not received a reply to any of my inquiries would also be appreciated. It completely devalues me as a customer and is not the way to start a new relationship.

Business Response: Dear BBB, apologize for the delay. A dealership representative contacted Mr. ********.

 
Thank you,
****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2007 Ford Taurus from Boucher Hyundai. Previously about three weeks before this, I had sold the vehicle to the dealership. When I sold the vehicle, they purchased it from me for $5,250.00. They said the vehicle was in perfect condition with no problems. When I went back to purchase another vehicle their salesperson stated to me because of my credit and what I was looking for in payments that would be the best vehicle to go back into and it also had low miles. I took her suggestion and repurchased my vehicle from this dealership. They stated there was no need to drive the vehicle as nobody had been in the vehicle prior to me repurchasing it and it had been fully inspected according to law. The salesperson went and talked to a ******* named ***** and said that the dealership agreed to sell me the vehicle back for $7500.00. She stated there was some work done on the vehicle and this was the price they would sell it for. I agreed to this and they proceeded to get me financing. They came back to me and said they got financing approved with 800.00 down after I had told them I only had 500.00 to put down. I stated I would put together the 800.00 and be back in a week. They agreed to this. A week later I went back and the original salesperson was not there so another individual by the name of ***** ***** took over. He stated to me that everything was good to go and again brought up that the price of the car was 7500.00 plus tax, title, and licensing. When I met with the finance person named ***, she took my wife and I in her office so I could sign the papers. When I went into her office there was another woman sitting in there who identified herself as the finance woman's friend and she was just hanging out. The entire time I was in her office this woman who now knows everything about my credit situation and financing information sat there and socialized with the finance woman. She completely diverted her attention to talking to her friend about *** ***** and told me to sign, sign, sign, sign, and sign and then gave me copies of the papers. She explained a couple of the papers but that was it. As I left the dealership I realized that my car was making noise. I had my wife contact the dealership after the weekend and tell them and they said bring it in. They looked at it and said it was a belt and supposedly cleaned it off. Left the dealership again and the same noise was there. They said to bring it back again and they would replace the belt. Upon taking it back they said that it was not the belt only, but the exhaust was bad and needed a flex pipe, but they were not paying for it. I told them that they never let me test drive the car and that I had the window sticker stating they checked the exhaust and according to Wisconsin State Law it was legal with no problems. They refused to fix it. The next day the finance company called and went through the prices on the contract. At that point I was now informed that the dealership did not charge me 7500.00 for the vehicle but 7921.00 for the vehicle which I have a business card from their salesperson where she wrote the price of the car on the back in her own handwriting stating 7500.00. I have contacted the dealership and they refuse to do anything about this. I have now had to spend money to fix the flex pipe on the car and was ripped off for 421.00 and was lied to.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for what I had to spend to have the exhaust fixed because they violated state law and sold a car with a bad exhaust after they supposedly inspected it. When I left the dealership the vehicle was immediately making noise which we brought to their attention and their standing was that it was my fault the exhaust was not working. They also gave me a price for a vehicle and used their finance woman to play with the numbers and divert my attention to gain 421.00 that they should not have. It was not until the finance company brought up the numbers to me was I informed of what the actual dealership price was. Their finance woman sat and socialized and violated my privacy by having some random friend in her office while I was there on personal business and getting told about my credit which is private. I would like a refund for at least the 421.00 they overcharged me as I have proof of what the price of the car was and proof of what they actually charged me for the vehicle.

Business Response: Dear BBB,


There are many comments in this complaint and I will address them all and have documentation to prove it. When we purchased their car we did not state the vehicle was in perfect condition. What six year old vehicle with ****** miles would be considered perfect? Their car did not have a clean Carfax. On price issue the customer signed the guest proposal agreeing to the $7742.98. They picked up the car three days later. We gave their vehicle a full Wisconsin Safety Inspection as required by law. The issue of the belt making noise we did try a belt dressing and it did not work. We replaced the belt no charge.  The vehicle did not have bad exhaust we replaced an exhaust hanger. According to customer they had the exhaust repaired at another dealership within the last year. The exhaust would still be under warranty. They did not want to take it back there or have us take it there? Again the issue of the 421.00 The customer signed the guest worksheet with the 421 included.  The claim about someone being in the office while they were signing completely false. 

****




Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The comment about another person being in the finance office while we were signing papers is completely true. The finance woman's name is *** and it was her friend. She is an insurance agent for Progressive Insurance and we have her name. This is why I did not realize the 421.00 difference because *** did not throughly go through the papers as she was too busy talking to her friend about their trip to Las Vegas. We have a business card from ******* at the dealership stating the cost of the vehicle was 7500.00 plus tax title and licensing and we offered to even show this to the dealership. In regards to the exhaust, it is a mute issue. We took the vehicle back to where it was fixed and they did replace the flex pipe at no cost to us under warranty. Regardless, we did have an experienced service individual who stated that the flex pipe would not have went bad and they never inspected it. We still want the 421.00 back that they overcharged us and decieved us. We are going to hire legal counsel if this is not resolved due to the fact we have paper proof of this and do not appreciate a dealership changing numbers around for their advantage. We are also seeking counsel in regards to privacy laws regarding the individual being in the finance office and hearing all about our credit and finance terms. If the dealership wants to resolve this without lawyers we are willing to do so, otherwise we will be hiring a lawyer for the protection of our finances and privacy. We can also submit a picture of the individual and her name regarding the woman in the finance office during all of our business handlings and signing of finance papers.

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

Business Response: Dear BBB,


Have the consumer hire legal counsel. I have turned this matter over to our legal team.

****** ******* ***

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last week I purchased a 2012 ******* ****** from Boucher. The first time I was made aware of the paint protection package was right before completion when my********* ****, showed me a YouTube video on the product. At that time, I said I was not interested. A few minutes later I met with the******* ********* to close the sale. I noticed a $499 charge for the paint package. I questioned this charge and told him that I denied the package with ****. His response was that is was a necessary charge due to the Spancrete business behind them and insurance purposes. I feel this should have been disclosed much earlier in the sales process. This cost was probably in my total cost sheet, but there again, there was no itemization break down of what these costs were. I have attempted twice to reach the dealership via email to speak with someone other than **** and have not had my emails returned. That is why I am seeing if you could get involved.

Desired Settlement: The business needs to make this very clear of the required paint package and cost early in the negotiating. I realize this service probably has a huge markup and I was not given an opportunity to negotiate this pricing.

Business Response: Ms. ********,We received the complaint #******* and we are in the process of contacting the customer.  I have spoken with the ***** ********** about this issue.  **** remembers the guest and he assures me that he disclosed the paint protection multiple times during the sales process, prior to the guest taking delivery.  **** recalls the guest being very emotional during the process.  *** was having a hard time parting with her trade-in vehicle.  Ms. ***** was in tears multiple times during the sales/delivery process.  I hope to hear back from Ms.***** soon and I will update you.  On a side note, I should be the contact for Boucher Hyundai with respect to any future customer issues.  My name is **** *******, the ******* ******* and any sales or service issues can be forwarded to me.I appreciate your assistance.Sincerely,**** ************** Hyundai1583 East Moreland BlvdWaukesha WI 53186###-###-####Fax ###-###-####************************************************

Business Response: *****,The paint protection is certainly not a Hyundai requirement.  We do, however, apply paint protection to all of our new vehicles.  The normal environmental issues that can affect a new vehicle's finish are amplified by our proximity to Spancrete, especially during their demolition.  **** assures me that he disclosed the paint protection at the time he demonstrated the vehicle outside, as well as during the purchase consultation when he presented the price of the car.  Additionally, the price and description of the paint protection is listed on the price addendum on the windshield of every new vehicle.  He told me that he did the full Auto Armor presentation explaining the additional coverages (that were not already on the vehicle).  **** tells me that you did decline the additional Auto Armor.  Tanya*****, the paint protection product is on your vehicle, but what you also get for $499 is a 7 year warranty covering the paint from damage caused by acid rain, bird droppings, tree sap, loss of gloss, fading and chalking, rail dust, and de-icing chemicals.  I have seen entire vehicles get repainted when the acid rain conditions were so extreme it damaged the paint even with the protection.  If you are truly not interested in the protection, I can cancel the warranty and provide you a refund of the $499.You will still benefit from the product which has been applied, but you would forfeit the warranty coverage.I appreciate you taking the time to inform us of some opportunities in our process.  We will reinforce the message with all of our ***** ***********.Please let me know how you would like to proceed.Sincerely,**** ******* -----Original Message-----From: ***** ***** ***************************************Sent: Monday, July 30, 2012 10:33 AMTo: ***********************   Subject: BBB Complaint****,I have read your response to my complaint regarding the paint protection being snuck into the purchase of my vehicle.I stand by my statement that I was first told about this paint package from **** through a ******* *****, which I declined.  The only time it was brought up again was during the closing of the car deal with the ******* ***.  At that time, I was told it was a necessity due to Spancrete and insurance.Maybe **** is confusing his disclosure of the paint package with his other sale he was working on during the same time he was working on mine.  **** was the one who was not completely focused on my sale.  There should have been a breakdown of the total sales amount.Exactly why is my hard time of letting my old car being presented?  This has absolutely nothing to do with the paint package being snuck in.  **** may be using this as an argument because he was the one taking advantage of my emotions.Bottom line is - if I would have had a breakdown of the total costs listed before I came back to purchase my car - I would not have done the purchase.**** never told me about the paint protection until I returned for the final signing (again the first time I was shown it was from a ******* ***** and I declined).  I was sick of fighting by the time I got to the ******* *** and I believe I was taken advantage of.I did receive your voice mail, but I prefer to keep the correspondence in writing.  I will be contacting ******* to make sure they are aware of the paint protection package you are calling a requirement.Thank you,***** *****

Consumer Response:

Please close the complaint outstanding between ***** ***** and Boucher Hyundai.  The matter has been resolved.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

***** *****

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** *****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/4/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1