BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm is an authorized Audi dealership selling new/used vehicles, including auto repair, auto body, auto parts, detailing and vehicle storage.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Audi North Shore meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Audi North Shore include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Audi North Shore
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 29, 2008 Business started: 01/02/2006 in WI Business started locally: 01/02/2006 Business incorporated: 02/18/2005 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, P.O. Box 7910, Madison WI 53707
http://www.dot.state.wi.us
Phone Number: (800) 924-3570
driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708
http://datcp.state.wi.us/
Phone Number: (800) 422-7128
hotline@datcp.state.wi.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Thomas H. Dexter, COO Mr. John Jones, General Manager Ms. Crystal Mirr, Internet Sales Manager Mr. Scott Sekach, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas H. Dexter, COO
Customer Contact: Ms. Crystal Mirr, Internet Sales Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Services Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Hours of Operation
Mon-Thur 9am-8pm, Fri 9am-6pm, Sat 9am-5pm, Sun Closed.
Alternate Business Names
North Shore Imports, LLC
Industry Tips
Auto Repair and Services Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment Used Car Purchase-Buyers Guide

Additional Locations

  • 4400 W Brown Deer Rd

    Milwaukee, WI 53223 (414) 355-4400 (414) 543-3000

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (414) 355-4400(Phone)
  • (888) 292-7423(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 28, 2011 I bought what I thought was my entrée into the world of foreign luxury cars with my purchase of a 2005 Audi A6-S6 Series AWD Quattro. I had owned Cadillacs and similar cars in the past, but this was different! I just didn’t realize at the time how different it would be as to date I have spent approximately $1 for each mile of the 20,000 that I put on the car. When I purchased the 2005 A6 it had ****** miles on it. I was told it was a one-owner car that had been well-maintained, following the Audi recommended maintenance plan, and in good shape. I expressed my concerns about the mileage and began looking at two Audi A4’s with lower mileage but was assured that Audis built to last and that this car would last a long time and to not worry about the mileage! After purchasing, up until early March, 2013 I had also followed all of the Audi recommendations for maintenance spending nearly $3,500 for such maintenance and a number of miscellaneous but sometimes major repairs. It was at that time that the (and pardon any slight flaws in my technical description) timing chain tensioner gave out, and ultimately with subsequent timing chain problems, ended up releasing various broken pieces, shard, etc. into the engine making an engine replacement the only viable next step to return the Audi to running condition. (I determined later via discussions with Audi personnel and Internet research that this year, 2005, had been the first year with a design change from utilizing a timing belt in 2004 to a timing chain—which may have worked well early on, but definitely did not withstand the proverbial test of time!) My first step was to call Audi USA to determine if there were any recall programs in place to address this Audi technical shortcoming. Upon being told that they would not do anything for me, I decided to go directly to Audi North Shore where I had purchased the car. Speaking with *** ***** *******, he admitted that this was a known problem with that year/model/make of Audi and that many times in the past Audi corporate would provide the owner of such distressed cars with rebuilt engines having the owner pay the dealer’s cost to replace the engine. I was to bring all my repair receipts, and *** ***** ******* would send them to Audi corporate, who ultimately replied that they would not assist me after receiving these documents. I then spoke with the dealer’s service manager, who also admitted that this was a known flaw of this year/model/make typically occurring as early as 70,000 odometer miles. This was not an anomaly; it was basically an event that would eventually happen to these cars. I was told my only recourse would be to write Audi USA instead of calling, directing my correspondence to the ******** ******* *******. I pursued that avenue but again was declined assistance of any kind. I am totally taken aback that both Audi and Audi North Shore sold me such a car, telling me how good a shape it was in and so well-maintained, being fully cognizant when they were selling me the automobile that it was just a matter of time that I would have to replace the engine! Purchasing the automobile with over 90,000 miles, the car was already in the higher probability zone of failure. If this had been a real estate transaction with the home seller withholding known defects from the home buyer, the buyer would have ample precedent in the court system to win his/her case. I had been told the rebuilt-engine-at-no-cost/installation-services-at-cost approach has been offered to others in this situation. Why was such an offer not made to me? How can Audi and Audi North Shore sell such vehicles as in good shape, fully knowing that it is just a matter of time (and not a lot of it) when the car will ultimately fail due to technical flaws in the design. In summary, I was sold a car, being told it would last well into the 100,000’s, approaching 200,000, when the dealer (as noted by BOTH the dealership’s sales and service managers) knew it was just a matter of time before it would totally fail! Sincerely, ******* ****** *** **** ****** **** ******* ** ***** ************ (home) ************ (cell)

Desired Settlement: pay DEALER COST for installation services for AUDI-supplied rebuilt engine

Business Response:

Mr. ****** purchased this vehicle with no warranty two years ago from Audi North Shore.  He brought the vehicle in for one maintenance visit after his purchase and has serviced the vehicle at some other repair facility since that time.  Audi North Shore did not diagnose the vehicle and the repairs that it needs.  The estimate for repair for his vehicle was obtained through an independent repair facility that he chose to maintain and repair his vehicle with.  He contacted the Customer Relations Department at Audi of America regarding the vehicle and they offered $1500 towards the purchase of another vehicle.  Customer Relations contacted me to let me know that they had extended this offer to him.  ***** *****, my ***** ******* at the time, was in contact with Mr. ****** regarding the offer, but he was not interested.  ***** then tried to work with Customer Relations to get him further assistance with the issue.  He requested that since Mr. ****** had not serviced the vehicle here that he bring in any service records that he had for the A6.  After gathering these and speaking with Audi of America on his behalf, Audi declined any further assistance.

I believe that Audi North Shore went above and beyond by trying to work with Audi Customer Relations on his behalf.  When he purchased the vehicle it was in perfect running condition, as stated on the Wisconsin Buyer’s Guide, and served him well for almost two years before incident.  While I can sympathize with Mr. ****** for the considerable cost to repair, I do not feel that it is the fault or responsibility of Audi North Shore to correct this issue. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[PLEASE SEE BELOW}

Regards,

******* ******

 

To say that I am disappointed and even shocked with Audi North Shore’s response does not even come close to expressing my reaction.

First of all, I was not contesting that the vehicle I bought was out of warranty.

I was contesting that Audi North Shore sold me an automobile that they knew (as told to me by both the sales and service managers) to have technical flaws to the extent that having the car fail at 110,000 miles was actually 10,000 miles more than the mean failure mileage—the dealership has said that the A6 had at times failed at around 70,000 miles. Even after having asked about the reliability of this car with this mileage, as there were lower mileage A4’s on the lot, I was assured of the longevity of this vintage and configuration of Audis.

Having my relationship with Audi North Shore built on misrepresentation and omission of facts, the trend continued with the dealership’s response to the Better Business Bureau, first of all, ignoring the reason for my complaint, but then presenting a mistruth about my being offered $1,500 toward a new vehicle.  No such offer was made to me verbally or by email.  I received an email from a *** ******* ********* Audi Customer Advocate, dated April 13, 2013 (3:04 pm) with subject being “******; Reference #********** 4-13-13; MP.”  The content of this email did not reference such an offer, merely suggesting that I bring my vehicle in to Audi North Shore for (billable) diagnosis work to be done for which I had begun to make arrangements; however, a conversation with the Audi North Shore service manager confirmed that such a billable event would be the proverbial exercise in futility as Audi had already made up their mind to provide me no assistance—which includes not ever having offered me $1,500 toward a new vehicle.

This brings me back to my close of the original complaint:

"I had been told the rebuilt-engine-at-no-cost/installation-services-at-cost approach has been offered to others in this situation.  Why was such an offer not made to me?  How can Audi and Audi North Shore sell such vehicles as in good shape, fully knowing that it is just a matter of time (and not a lot of it) when the car will ultimately fail due to      technical flaws in the design.

In summary, I was sold a car, being told it would last well into the 100,000’s, approaching 200,000, when the dealer (as noted by BOTH the dealership’s sales and service managers) knew it was just a matter of time before it would totally fail!"     

Do I accept the response of Audi North Shore?  Absolutely not! Nothing has changed other than a reference to some kind of fictional “offer” that had never been extended.

Sincerely,

******* ******

 

 

Business Response:

My position is as stated in my previous response.  At no time did Audi North Shore engage in any malicious or deceptive business practice in relation to the sale or service of Mr. ******’s vehicle.  Neither my service manager or sales manager could possibly know that a timing chain would break on his vehicle at any point in the future when he purchased the vehicle.  While we have seen this repair before, it is by no means a common issue on the 3.2 V6 engine.  In response to Audi’s lack of participation in the repair or replacement of his engine, this is a matter for Audi Customer Relations and not Audi North Shore.  While we are a franchised dealer for Audi of America, they make their own decisions on their business, as we do on ours.  If this offer was extended in the past, it was more than likely to the original owner of a vehicle and based upon the service history as performed by an Audi Certified Technician at an authorized Audi dealership. 

As I previously stated, I am sympathetic to Mr. ******’s issue with his vehicle.  I am willing to work with him on a trade value of his current vehicle and with the purchase of a new or Certified Pre-Owned vehicle.  I would work on his behalf to make sure that he receives the $1500 offer from Audi of America towards said purchase or lease. 

If this offer does not satisfy his needs, I cannot offer any other form of resolution to the issue.

Regards,

**** *****

******* *******

Audi North Shore

4400 W. Brown Deer Road

Brown Deer, WI  53223

###-###-#### Ext. ***

************************* ******* ******************** ******************* ****************************** ******************************************* ************************************************************************************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

 

In reply, I was sold a car, being told it would last well into the 100,000’s, approaching 200,000, when the dealer (as noted by BOTH the dealership’s sales and service managers) knew it was just a matter of time before it would totally fail! Both men stated that there were inherent technical flaws in this year/model to the extent that having the car fail at 110,000 miles was actually 10,000 miles more than the mean failure mileage—I was further told that the A6 had at times failed at around 70,000 miles.

I had been leaning toward purchasing an A4 because of the higher mileage on the A6, but was told that it was so well-maintained by its only owner who basically put just highway miles on the vehicle driving to and from ***** *** for business. Taking this maintenance into consideration and being encouraged to purchase the A6 I unfortunately did just that.

I had been told the rebuilt-engine-at-no-cost/installation-services-at-cost approach had been offered to others in this situation.  I received no such offer.  It was further noted in the response from the dealership’s ******* ******* that Audi had offered me $1,500 toward a new Audi.  First of all, no such offer was made and even if it had been, such a small amount toward such a major purchase is ludicrous.

How can Audi and Audi North Shore sell such vehicles as in good shape, fully knowing that it is just a matter of time (and not a lot of it) when the car will ultimately fail due to technical flaws in the design (as noted by THEIR own personnel)?

Do I accept the response of Audi North Shore?  Absolutely not!

 

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1