BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

S & S Research, Inc.

Phone: (262) 968-3324 Fax: (262) 968-3200 W305S4990 Highway 83, Mukwonago, WI 53149 http://www.ssresearch.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto collision & painting repair, auto parts, towing and welding automotive service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that S & S Research, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for S & S Research, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on S & S Research, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 07, 1993 Business started: 05/01/1977 in WI Business started locally: 06/02/1977 Business incorporated: 06/02/1977 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 Seventh St., Washington DC 20590
www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: (202) 366-2519

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Williams, President Ms. Glenda Williams, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Williams, President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Towing - Automotive Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Air Conditioning Automotive Body, Paint, and Interior Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811121)

Industry Tips
Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • W305S4990 Highway 83

    Mukwonago, WI 53149 (262) 968-3324

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Customer Complaint and Review filed against S and S research, W305S4990 Highway 83, Mukwonago, WI 53149 My wife and I brought a 2000 Lincoln LS from Ohio back to Wisconsin where we live. It had some minor damage on the back right bumper area, and otherwise had no marks or damage on the car. On June 1, 2013, we had the rear damage repaired at a body shop in Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, and the outside car body was in perfect, undamaged condition after the repair. On Friday, June 8, 2013, I called S and S Research to inquire about detailing the inside of the car. I was given a cost quote. On Monday, June 10th, I called to schedule the detailing, and was advised to drop the car off on Monday night. At the time of the scheduling I advised the employee that the trunk had an odor and it needed to be steam cleaned to remove the smell. We dropped the car off for the detailing on the evening of June 10th and I taped a note to the steering wheel reminding them about the smell and needed steam cleaning. The next day on June 11, 2013 at approximately noon, we received a call that the car was detailed and we should pick it up. At 1pm we arrived at S and S research premises. Immediately upon arrival my wife noticed the left rear bumper was scratched and had a mark the size of a quarter where the paint was scratched off. The loose paint is still hanging from the scratch, and its obvious it is a recent scratch. I told my wife that we should take the car home and fully inspect it before we did anything. We only live a couple of miles from S and S Research. I paid their invoice, and drove the car home to inspect it. We both agreed that the scratch was not there when we took the car to S and S Research, and it was certainly there as we picked up the car. After inspecting the car, in addition to the scratch that was caused by S and S Research, the detailing was below any standard of cleanliness. I immediately took the car back to S and S Research to show them the quality of their workmanship. I showed the Body shop employee the damage to the rear bumper and he denied responsibility. In addition, I showed him the shoddy work on the detailing performed by their employee’s including: 1. a sticky substance about the size of a penny still on the dashboard; 2. the cup holders still had a sticky substance in them clearly apparent to anyone; 3. dead bugs were still in the back window area and never vacuumed; 4. A sticky substance was also on the back window area and not removed; 5. the trunk was not clean (leaves were removed) and they never steam cleaned the trunk area. In sum, we paid for very unprofessional work and at the same time they damaged our car. I strongly recommend to anyone who is considering doing business with this company to seriously reconsider your decision. I am more than happy to provide further information concerning my experience with S and Research to whomever wishes to be more informed regarding my experience with this company.

Desired Settlement: Repair and refund

Business Response:

It is unfortuate that the workmanship was not up to expectaions of the customer . I offered to go back over the areas , he said he did not want to waste more time and left our shop.

As for  the bumper scratch on the left side of the bumper. I noticed a a dime sized scratch . If the bumper was repaired on the right side, at a shop unamed , they would have removed the bumper sticker that said 2010 . When painting base coat clear coat finishes , the correct procedure is to clear the entire panel. If you mask any decal or molding the risk of peeling paint will most definatly happen.

Our employees as part of our company policy are to report any mishaps , mistakes do happen and we do not repremand for mistakes . That policy is in the best interest of our customer base and S/S research If I felt in any way , that we were at fault , it would be repaired.

Consumer Response:

June 12, 2013

 

In reply to the response by S and S Research, there are a number of inaccuracies in their response.

 

First, there is no sticker on the back of the bumper from 2010.  The sticker on the back of the bumper was placed on the vehicle after it was repaired at ***** in Oconomowoc.  I have the invoices to verify the repair.  They can also call the body shop manager whose name is ***** if they wish to verify the work as well.  I teach at ********* ********** *** ******, and the sticker is my parking sticker that was placed on the new area after the repair work.  Again there is no sticker that references 2010.  Another example of another mistake by S and S people.

 

Second there is no peeling paint.  Any one who looks at the scratch can see it is not peeling paint, but the result of something coming into contact with the bumper. 

 

Further, the body of the car was in perfect condition after we picked it up from ****, which is the reason we took it there for the body work.  After picking it up there were no scratch or marks on the car.  After picking it up, the car basically sat in our garage until we were able to switch the plates and I could get it detailed.  I then took it to S and S where the scratch occurred.  My wife, my adult son and myself will verify that the scratch occurred at S and S.

 

The statement by S and S “that the workmanship was not up to expectations” is laughable.  I have had many cars detailed, and any review of the list of deficiencies (previously submitted) is not below my expectations, but any reasonable standard of care.  The employee who I showed the deficiencies indicated as such by suggesting to redo the work.  Unfortunately I had work and could not spend more time hoping they would get the work done correctly a second time. 

 

Finally, I have no problem having another repair shop repair the scratch on the back of the car and submitting the bill to small clams court for a resolution.  I realize this in not an expensive matter, but I should not have to pay for shoddy detailing work and for damage incurred in the process.

 

Respectfully submitted.

***** ********

 

 

Business Response: WE HAVE AGREED TO TAKE CARE OF ANY CONCERNS AND WAITING FOR A APPOINTMENT TO BE MADE.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved