Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

S & S Research, Inc.

Phone: (262) 968-3324 Fax: (262) 968-3200 W305S4990 Highway 83, Mukwonago, WI 53149


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto collision & painting repair, auto parts, towing and welding automotive service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that S & S Research, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for S & S Research, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on S & S Research, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 07, 1993 Business started: 06/02/1977 in WI Business started locally: 06/02/1977 Business incorporated 06/02/1977 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 Seventh St., Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov
Phone Number: (202) 366-2519

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Williams, President Ms. Glenda Williams, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Williams, President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Towing - Automotive Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Air Conditioning Automotive Body, Paint, and Interior Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811121)

Industry Tips
Auto-Buyback Guarantee-Terms & Conditions for Consumers Flood-Damaged Cars Protecting Your Auto Repair Investment

Additional Locations

  • W305S4990 Highway 83

    Mukwonago, WI 53149 (262) 968-3324

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. October 29th, 2014: We took our 2008 Toyota Corolla in for an oil change to S&S Research Inc. We were heading to a funeral in Indiana in a couple of days, so we thought it would be an appropriate time to have this done. We left for the trip and came back home. 2. November 13th, 2014: My wife was on her way to work, and the car started riding rough. My wife managed to coast into her employer’s parking lot, and then noticed the oil light was on. My wife called me and explained her situation. I couldn’t figure out what could have happened, seeing as we had just driven all the way down to IN and back, and never had any problems. I wondered how in the world we could have lost oil? I told her to call S&S research. So, my wife called S&S for a tow, and S&S came out and towed the car to their shop. My wife called after an hour or so to ask if they found out what the issue was yet with the car. S&S manager Andy responded that they didn’t know quite yet. My wife was hoping to have some sort of an idea of when she might get her car back, so she kindly asked “Does this mean I won’t be getting the car back any time soon?” Andy rudely replied “Mam we have to order parts for it so you can’t expect it to be done tomorrow!” I found it odd that if they hadn’t discovered the problem yet, how would they know at that time that they needed to order parts for sure? Andy didn’t mention what part would need to be replaced or what the issue was, so we waited to hear back from them to see what was needed to do the repair. My wife’s boss then offered to drop my wife off at home after work ended. As my wife’s boss was leaving our subdivision from dropping her off, he called my wife and said “I think I know what’s wrong with your car, do you have a bag?” she said “yes”, he then backed up the driveway and handed her an oil filter, and said “hop in the car, I want to show you something.” He pointed out the trail of oil and where it had been leaking all the way down the road. By this time S&S was closed for the night to discuss the issue. 3. November 14th, 2014: Tuesday, I brought in the oil filter. It read ******** with part # ******, I took numerous pictures of it and said “I think I know what the problem is”. Andy responded “Sir, we will take care of it, don’t worry about it.” So I left. We let them have the car all day Wednesday, and waited until Thursday to ask what the status was, since we had not been given any updates yet. On Thursday morning, my wife called S&S for a status update, Andy said “we have to replace some bearings and were still waiting for the parts mam.” My wife then asked “Well how did this oil filter come off?” to which Andy replied “That’s the million dollar question.” S&S then called that Thursday night and told us the vehicle was done and ready for pickup, however my wife told them we were going to pick it up Friday morning because her husband wanted to talk all of this over with them, they said that would be fine. 4. November 15th, 2014: We go to pick up the car, and I asked them how in the world the oil filter came off. Andy admitted they put on the wrong oil filter. Andy said “We were thinking about giving you a 6 month warranty to make up for the mistake.” I responded “Well, how will that work if something mechanical ends up occurring again within that 6 month warranty? Would the warranty be extended then or anything?” Andy replied “Let’s wait and see if something happens first, and if it does, we will discuss that later. Because if anything catastrophic is going to happen, it will happen in the first 6 months.” I said “fine.” So we left with this verbal agreement, for some reason they did not provide paperwork. Which I found to be odd, but wasn’t all that concerned because the whole reason I gave S&S business for so many years is because *** *****’s wife is a distant relative of mine and we attend the same church. They are also an AAA affiliated repair shop. 5. Around April 10th my wife started hearing a funny noise from the engine. I told my wife “Well I think it is right around the time we should get an oil change anyway.” My wife said “Oh yeah and I have a free one because I have a completed punch card.” I told her “Great, take it in and have them check the noise over after they change your oil.” 6. April 15th, 2015: The oil change took place and they also inspected the car and found that “further inspection is needed with the rattle noise. Possible lifter noise” per report. They told my wife this wasn’t a time crucial matter and that she could bring it in whenever, but it would be a couple day process to locate the cause of the noise. 7. May 25th 2015 we dropped the car off with the key so they could begin inspection on the morning of the 26th. We never heard back from them until we called on Weds, May 27th, we always had to call them to find out what was going on, and they told us the car was going to be ready for pick up by that afternoon. They called back around 4 and that is when we picked it up. We asked what was wrong with the car and if we owed anything. Andy said “No, it was covered under Toyotas warranty, it was a bad #4 crank bearing.” Again, we left with no paperwork whatsoever. Throughout the week after this repair my wife mentioned a subtle gas or oily type smell that she couldn’t quite pinpoint. I told her “well they probably spilled a little oil on the engine and it has to burn off.” She continued to drive it Thursday and Friday. 8. Saturday May 30th 2014: My wife ran errands for an hour before our granddaughter had a gymnastics show that we were going to go to. She came back, shut the car off, came in for a few minutes to get ready, then went back out and started the car and came back in. She told me the car was smoking from the hood. I ran out and lifted the hood to discover the oil cap was upside down bouncing around and oil was all over the engine. I had to wipe off the engine, check the oil level, which seemed like it was fuller than what it should be. It was ¼ inch higher than the full mark, I wiped it off checked it again, it was still ¼ inch fuller. So we took the car and went. The whole way to the gymnastics show it was rainy and windy, and all we smelled was burnt oil, we were unable to open the windows due to the weather conditions, so the whole family had to deal with ingesting obnoxious fumes. I was absolutely furious thinking back to all that has happened at S&S. I started to question, “How could this place who is AAA approved, turn around and make 2 careless mistakes like this. First, putting on the wrong oil filter. And now this second time, leaving the oil cap untightened. Especially when they advertise on their Facebook, and I quote, “Oil leaks are pretty common, but if you don’t take care of the issue you might see more expensive repairs on the horizon.” Then I thought to myself “Why didn’t they ever give any paperwork to explain exactly what was repaired on my vehicle the first time, or the 2nd time? I was just verbally told the first time it was the connecting rod bearings, and the 2nd time it was the #4 crank shaft bearing.” Which lead me to wonder “Was everything inspected properly considering the engine had seized? Could the rest of the engine bearings go bad too? Is this issue of bearings failing caused by damage that resulted from the first mistake that S&S made?” I also found it odd how Andy had told us when they replaced Crank Bearing #4, that it was covered under Toyotas Warranty, and there was no charge. Why would Toyota be willing to cover this when I don’t even have a 100,000 mile warranty? My manufacturer’s warranty only covers up to 60,000 miles for the powertrain and my mileage was well beyond that. Also S&S didn’t change that part the first time during the November incident. So I figured if anyone could help me get to the bottom of this, it would be *** ***** Bob W*******. I called Bob and asked him “What kind of business are you running there? I was in there and you turned around and now you left the oil cap off of my vehicle and now I have oil all over my engine!” I expressed how I couldn’t believe that this would happen after what had happened previously where the oil filter fell off. I told him how I would assume that I would be his number one customer as far as double checking, and triple checking that everything is repaired properly. I told Bob how I wasn’t even given any paperwork for these repairs. I was fed up and requested a 50,000 mile warranty extension and explained that if I am not granted it, I will write the BBB, I will inform AAA, and be sure to give an honest review of what kind of service I have received and my experience with S&S on any websites where reviews can be made. I told him the reason I went to their business is because he was an AAA affiliate and because his wife was a distant relative of mine. All he said was “well I don’t know anything about that, but have you talked to my manager Andy, because that’s why I hired him, to take care of this kind of stuff”. He acted completely cold, unapologetic, and from that point on I was irate. He transferred me to Andy, I told him everything that I had just told Bob but in further detail. I told him I would be bringing the car in at 9am and coming back at noon, and that the engine better be clean, and I want a copy of any and all paperwork because I have no idea what you guys have been doing to this vehicle all of this time, and then I requested a 50,000 mile warranty. After each thing I said he sarcastically just answered with “yes sir, yes sir, you’re right sir, yes sir.” to everything. He never once said “no you are not getting the warranty”, or “we will discuss that when you come in”. Therefore, I assumed I was going to get some kind of extended warranty. So with this verbal agreement in place, I hung up the phone and was under this assumption when I brought the car for them to clean (June 5th) I would be receiving a warranty. When I dropped the keys off, an employee named Rich said “do you have an appointment?” I said “you have got to be kidding me.” It was evident that Rich had not been informed by Andy of anything that was supposed to take place. I gave him the keys and said “where’s the paperwork?”. Andy was in the office and gave me the paperwork for the two separate bearing jobs, but did not have me sign them. I then said “well where’s the warranty?” and Andy replied “well I will have to talk to *** ***** about that.” I responded that “I already talked to *** *****, and he said I was supposed to talk to YOU! You said “Yes Sir” on the phone when we last spoke, and you verbally agreed to the warranty with “Yes Sir” “You’re Right Sir.” So I told Andy when I come back to pick up this car, I BETTER have a warranty!” And you said “Yes Sir” again at that point. I left and came back at noon, Andy said “here’s your keys” he handed me the keys and said “I need you to sign this paperwork for the cleaning of the engine” So I signed it. Then I said “where’s my warranty?” and he said “you’re not getting one”. At this point I was so upset that I and went over every ridiculous thing that has occurred at this place. I said “there’s something going on here because the papers you gave me when I came in, don’t even have a watermark on them, and you didn’t even have me sign ANY of them.” His excuse was that their computer only prints a watermark on every OTHER page. I found this to be a joke considering all of my paperwork from the past few years has ALWAYS had the watermark on it on every single page. At this point I told him “well I will be contacting the BBB, and AAA.” Which he then replied in sarcasm “Sir were not perfect, have a good day.” When I got home I realized that I signed a paper saying that all warranties are now null and void and S&S Research is not liable for any more issues with this engine. Warning to all customers, read the fine print, because they just said, “Here’s your keys, we need you to sign this to acknowledge the cleaning of the engine.” I took their word for it, not realizing I was signing away any warranties for the future, but I didn’t have any currently anyways. I have done tons of research on this car, and the reason I bought it was because the engines are known to go EASILY 200-300 thousand miles with proper care without having a problem. And I have less than 100,000 miles on this car, and have NEVER taken it in for ANY kind of engine repair what so ever…and they won’t even offer me a 50,000 mile warranty? Being AAA approved and only 5% or less come back for bad repairs I thought that was a MORE than fair solution. If nothing goes wrong it don’t cost them a cent. Considering they put on the WRONG oil filter, which caused the engine to seize. I never received OFFICIAL paperwork. All the paperwork they gave me was after I had to demand it. And it said Quote! 11/13/14 “TOW IN - Customer states that the car was having issues and stated that the oil filter came off and now the car doesn’t start. We performed an oil change 10/29/2014. We replaced the connecting rod bearings and offered the customer a six month warranty on our repairs relating to the oil filter issue.” 5/26/15 “ DROP - Check possible internal engine rattle sound. Warranty replace crank bearing #4” No part numbers were listed whatsoever. State law says that I am supposed to have all of the part numbers listed that were replaced on my vehicle. I don’t have that! So now, if I go on a trip and the part fails the part wouldn’t be covered under manufacture warranty because I have no part number on paper saying it was replaced. I have no way to prove it has been replaced! All I received was a word of mouth 6 month warranty the first time. When the engine seized, in which they did honor, however, the details were never solidified after the warranty was honored. The 6 month warranty ended up being worth a little over 4,000 miles. Shouldn’t I get manufactures warranty again for the #4 crank bearing that was replaced 5/26/15 the problem was talked about before the 6 month verbal warranty ended. So here are the facts from S&S: 1.Why did they give me paperwork on October 29th ,the first time I had the oil changed, stating they put on oil filter Car Quest #******, when REALLY they put on Car Quest # ******. 2. The paper work I demanded that they gave me, they wrote “Customer states that car was having issues. States that oil filter came off.” Why was there no mention costumer brought in filter that fell off. 3. Where are those part numbers on those invoices? I question this because I have no proof of new parts. Why didn’t I have to sign paper work like I do for oil changes? Why no water marks of their business logo on the papers I requested with the bearings replaced. All of my other papers have it. 4. I will be sure to notify AAA of this concern and hopefully they can investigate further. I will also be contacting the State Bureau of Consumer Protection to investigate why no part numbers were on those invoices that I didn’t even have to sign? Why they didn’t call me to say what they were going to do to the car before they even started, just said they we’re taking care of it when I brought in filter. Also I will call contact 6 to see if they can investigate too, if my requests aren’t met. My biggest concern is that I am stuck with a car that yes, does run, BUT for starters now has a small oil leak, that I can’t take back in. It is nothing but a ticking time bomb, waiting for something bad to happen. So I can’t take it on long trips because I received no inspection report whatsoever, of what was actually inspected or repaired. (Just bearings with no manufacture warranties?) (What about burnt valves, scored cylinder walls, unusual cam wear, seals or possible stripped threads where the oil filter goes on). Wouldn’t you need reassurance of this if your engine seized. Considering S/S research NEVER once mentioned any of these things to me whatsoever, as being inspected, they can be happy this filter didn’t come off when I went to IN for that funeral! What if the engine had seized in the middle of Chicago? It scares you to think that it could have caused a major accident! And not once did they even apologize!

Desired Settlement: S&S honor the warranty work that they did on 5/26/15 that caused my car to develop an oil leak from my engine. This wasn't detected until after they power washed my engine on 6/3/15.
Even though I apparently waivered my warranty when I was told I was "signing just to acknowledge the engine cleaning". I have come to find that under chapter ATCP 132 of consumer protection, it states that no shop may require a customer to waive the customers rights. So even if I signed a paper that states "The engine warranty that was implied by S&S Research expired on May 13", I should still be able to get the oil leak fixed because it happened after warranty work was done on 5/26/15.
This was the work noted on 4/15/15 for the #4 crank bearing, that didn't get fixed until 5/26/15 because they said there was no hurry and they would need it a couple days. 5/26/15 was when we didn't need the car, so we took it in then. The oil leak wasn't noted until 6/4/15 after they power washed it and its still dripping today. Therefore I went in for an oil change, they put on the wrong part number and it fell off, they fixed the engine and on 4/15/15 took car in for engine noise. They noted this and repaired car again on 5/26/15 only to leave oil cap off. Brought in 6/3/15 to have cleaned off, was tricked into signing sheet to waive warranties, never received proper paperwork on warranty work. Now I am stuck with an oil leak after 8 months because of their neglect to put on the right oil filter. All I ever wanted from S&S each time I went there was to KEEP my oil in my engine! I think this is bad business and my oil leak should be fixed by them. I also feel I deserve the correct paperwork with all repairs listed, and all warranties on new parts listed. If they don't feel that this is a fair request, maybe they need to refer back to their own facebook post that said "Oil leaks are pretty common, but if you don’t take care of the issue you might see more expensive repairs on the horizon.”  If this request is granted I also ask that I am designated to deal with any employee OTHER than Andy, seeing as I feel he is very deceitful.

Business Response: In responce to BBB complaint #********


1) ON OCTOBER 29TH. S&S RESEARCH DID PERFORM AN OIL CHANGE ON THE **** VEHICLE.
ON NOVEMBER 13TH, S&S DID RECIEVE A PHONE CALL STATING THAT THE 2008 TOYOTA COROLLA WAS LEAKING OIL AND THE OIL FILTER FELL OFF ON THE ROAD. WE TOWED THE VEHICLE IN FROM MRS. ****S WORK. UPON ARRIVAL TO S&S, THE ENGINE OIL FILTER WAS MISSING. THERE WAS NO DAMAGE TO THE FILTER THREADS. THE ENGINE WAS NOT SIEZED. OIL LEVEL WAS NOT REGISTERING ON THE DIPSTICK.  

LATER THAT MORNING AN OIL FILTER WAS BROUGHT INTO US FOR INSPECTION. IT WAS A ******** BRANDED FILTER, PART NUMBER WAS ******. THE CORRECT ******** FILTER PART NUMBER FOR THE 2008 COROLLA IS R85394. OUR INVENTORY WAS LATER INVESTIGATED AND IT WAS FOUND THAT THE INVENTORY WAS CORRECT. THAT INDICATED THAT OUR TECHNICIAN REMOVED A BOX FROM OUR PARTS ROOM INDICATING PART NUMBER R85394. THE FILTER MEASURMENTS ARE VERY CLOSE WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE METRIC/STANDARD THREADS. EITHER WAY, S&S RESEARCH ACCEPTED RESPONSIBILITY AND INSPECTED THE LOWER END OF THE ENGINE FOR POSSIBLE DAMAGE. WHEN WE LOWERED THE OIL PAN THE TECHNICIAN NOTED APPROXIMATLEY 1 QUART OF OIL SITTING IN THE OIL PAN. WE INSPECTED ALL OF THE CONNECTING ROD BEARINGS AND FOUND SOME SCORING ON THE NUMBER 2 CYLINDER BEARING. WE REPLACED ALL OF THE CONNECTING ROD BEARINGS. NO OTHER DAMAGE OR WEAR WAS NOTED. WE TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE AND THE CUSTOMER PICKED UP THE VEHICLE. AT THE TIME OF VEHICLE DELIVERY, I DISCUSSED WITH MR. **** THAT WE ASSUME THAT THE TECHNICIAN INSTALLED THE WRONG FILTER AND THAT WE REPLACED THE CONNECTING ROD BEARINGS. IT WAS ALSO DISCUSSED THAT S&S RESEARCH/******** WAS WARRANTING THE ENGINE, MECHANICALLY, FOR 6 MONTHS AND UNLIMITED MILEAGE. AT THAT TIME, THE ****S WERE SATISFIED WITH THE WARRANTY. WE VERBALY REQUESTED THAT THE VEHICLE COMES BACK IN FOR A COMPLIMENTARY OIL CHANGE AND FOR ANOTHER INSPECTION IN 500 MILES. THE 2008 TOYOTA COROLLA CAME BACK IN FOR THE COMPLIMENTARY OIL CHANGE AND INSPECTION AT 3,284 MILES. AT THAT TIME, THERE WAS A NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE THAT NEEDED FURTHER INSPECTION THAT THE CUSTOMER HAD TO RESCHEDULE FOR. WHEN THE VEHICLE CAME BACK IN FOR THE DIAGNOSTICS, WE FOUND A SMALL SCORE ON THE #4 CONNECTING ROD BEARING. THAT WAS A BEARING THAT WE PURCHASED FROM TOYOTA AND INSTALLED IN NOVEMBER. WE WARRANTY REPLACED THAT BEARING WITH ANOTHER BEARING FROM TOYOTA. RESEALED THE LOWER ENGINE AND THE CUSTOMER PICKED UP THEIR VEHICLE.

WITHIN A FEW DAYS, WE RECIEVED A PHONE CALL FROM MR. **** STATING THAT THE OIL CAP WAS LEFT OFF OF THE VEHICLE AND OIL HAD BLOWN OUT FROM THE CAP HOLE AND THERE WAS OIL ON HIS ENGINE. HE ALSO STATED HIS DISPLEASURE FOR OUR SERVICE AND OUR MISTAKES. THE SERVICE MANAGER, ANDY, LISTENED TO HIS COMPLAINT AND APOLOGIZED FOR THE QUALITY OF SERVICE AND THE MISTAKE OF LEAVING THE OIL CAP OFF. ANDY STATED THAT S&S RESEARCH DO EVERYTHING NESSESSARY TO DEGREASE THE OIL FROM THE ENGINE AND GET THE VEHICLE DONE IN A TIMLEY MANNER. MR. **** BELLIGERENTLY VENTED FOR APPROXIMETLY 4 MINUTES ON THE PHONE, ANDY ACKNOWLEDGED HIS CONCERNS AND AGREED THAT THE CHAIN OF EVENTS WITH THEIR CAR WAS CAUSE FOR CONCERN.
THE VEHICLE CAME BACK IN THREE DAYS AFTER THE LAST PHONE CALL TO HAVE THE ENGINE DEGREASED. WE PROCEEDED TO DEGREASE THE SMALL OIL STAINS THAT WERE FOUND AROUND THE OIL CAP AREA. THE OIL LEVEL WAS CHECKED WHILE THE ENGINE WAS COLD, AS STATED PROPER PROCEDURE BY TOYOTA, AND THE OIL LEVEL WAS AT THE FULL MARK AND NOT OVER FILLED. WHEN MR. **** DEMANDED S&S RESEARCH TO APPLY A 50,000 MILE WARRANTY TO HIS ENGINE, ANDY STATED THAT HE WOULD DISCUSS THE MATTER WITH *** ***** AND HAVE AN ANSWER FOR HIM. IT IS S&S RESEARCH'S STANCE THAT A 50,000 MILE ENGINE WARRANTY IS COMPLETELY UNREALISTIC. AS ANDY WAS ATTEMPTING TO DISCUSS THIS FACT WITH MR. ****, MR.**** STARTED GETTING VERY BELLIGERENT AND WHEN HE STARTED USING FOWL LANGUAGE AND RAISING HIS VOICE, ANDY ASKED HIM TO LEAVE THE PREMISES.

2)THROUGH THE WHOLE CHAIN OF EVENTS, S&S HAS BEEN APOLOGETIC AND SINCERELY TRYING TO GET THEIR VEHICLE REPAIRED QUICKLY AND GET THEM BACK INTO THE CAR AS EFFECTIVELY AS POSSIBLE. WE DO NOT ROUTINELY CALL CUSTOMERS TO GIVE THEM HOURLY UPDATES WHEN THERE IS NOTHING TO REPORT. PART AVAILABILITY DELAYS HAPPEN, WE KEEP THE CUSTOMERS INFORMED AS MUCH AS WE CAN WHEN WE HAVE SOLID ANSWERS ON THEIR CARS.

3) FOR WHAT IT IS WORTH, IN THE PURPOSE TO KEEP OPERATING COSTS WITHIN REASON PERTAINING TO OUR SHOPS PAPER CONSUMPTION. S&S RESEARCH HAS PLAIN WHITE PAPER AND LOGO PAPER. WE MIX OUR PAPER SO THAT EVERY THIRD SHEET HAS OUT LOGO. UNFORTUNATLY I CAN NOT GUARANTEE THE PRINTER WILL PRINT ON OUR LOGO PAPER EVERY TIME. WHEN A STANDARD INVOICE IS ISSUED, THE CUSTOMER WILL RECIEVE OUR LOGO PAPER. WHEN YOU REQUEST A 5 PAGE HISTORY PRINTOUT, I CAN ONLY GUARANTEE THAT YOU WILL RECIEVE ONE LOGO PAPER.

4) A MEMBER OF THE **** FAMILY HAS LEFT HERE WITH A COPY OF OUR RECIEPT AT EVERY VISIT EXCEPT THE 5/26 VISIT. AT THEIR REQUEST, THEIR COMPLETE HISTORY PERTAINING TO THE OIL FILTER EVENTS  WAS PRINTED AND HANDED TO THEM AT THE 6/3 VISIT.

5) THE SIGNATURE IN QUESTION ON OUR FINAL INVOICE IS NOT A DECLARATION STATING ANY TYPE OF WARRANTY WAIVER. IT STATED, AND I QUOTE, "CUSTOMER AUTHORIZATION FOR TOTAL". SIMPLY PUT, THE **** FAMILY SIGNED A ZERO CHARGE INVOICE AND THEY AUTHORIZED THAT THEY WOULD NOT BE CHARGED FOR OUR SERVICES ON THAT INVOICE.

6) WE DID FIND A TYPING ERROR OR OUR INVOICE ABOUT THE PARTS DISCRIPTION OF THE 6/3 INVOICE. THE CONNECTING ROD BEARING WERE REPLACED, NOT THE CRANK BEARING.

7) IN CONCLUSION, THE FACTS ARE THAT WE WARRANTIED AN ENGINE FOR 6 MONTHS. TAKEN CARE OF A BAD PART. MISTAKENLY LEFT AN OIL CAP OFF, TOOK CARE OF THE ISSUES AS QUICKLY AS POSSIBLE. HUMAN ERROR DOES OCCUR AT TIMES, S&S RESEARCH TOOK CARE OF THESE ISSUES AS QUICKLY AS POSSIBLE TO PLEASE THE CUSTOMER. WE APOLOGIZE IF IT IS NOT ENOUGH. WE APOLOGIZED EXCESSIVELY THROUGHOUT THESE EVENTS, EVEN WHEN THEY ARE BEYOND OUR CONTROL. S&S RESEARCH FEELS THAT WE HAVE SERVICED THIS CUSTOMER TO THE BEST OF OUR ABILITY.

Business Response: Due to the fact that a response is required by the BBB, we will respond. Mr. **** is walking a fine line of slander and it is not appreciated. Personal attacks about my religious beliefs or my devotion to the church that I belong and attend on a weekly basis are obviously not pertinent in this matter. Therefore, this will be our last correspondence in this matter.




 

Response 1, Correct, we separated ourselves from the AAA affiliation a while ago because of the controlling requirements associated with the AAA affiliation. Our website and our Facebook pages can not be edited by S&S Research. We have an outside firm that we hire to control the web site and Facebook. We advised them to remove the AAA advertisement along with a few other changes a while ago.

Responses 2-7, our only comment would be to read our original response. The rest is non-sense.

Response 8, As previously stated, we have separate logo paper. NOT A PRINTED WATERMARK.

Response 9-11, our only comment would be to read our original response. The rest is non-sense.

Response to your conclusion, WOW. We have no response to that. Please see original response. The personal attacks are not necessary and definitely shows your character. I also do not care to hear what will satisfy you and to "ALLOW THE DISPUTE TO REMAIN UNPUBLISHED". Blackmail is also not appreciated.

HERE IS MY RESOLUTION:

I WILL REIMBURSE YOUR FINANCES FOR WHAT WE HAVE DONE THAT COULD POSSIBLY CAUSE AN OIL LEAK THAT I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF UNTIL THE BBB COMPLAINT.

I WILL REIMBURSE YOU 2.8 HOURS LABOR, WHICH IS THE OIL PAN GASKET REPLACEMENT. $257.96

I WILL REIMBURSE YOU THE OIL DRAIN PLUG GASKET $1.31

I WILL REIMBURSE YOU THE OIL PAN GASKET $15.63

I WILL REIMBURSE YOU THE OIL FILTER $6.90

I WILL REIMBURSE YOU THE COST OF THE OIL $14.25

TOTAL=$296.05

You can then go to the Toyota dealer and get the oil leak fixed.

Thank You.


Consumer Response: I accept your reimbursement for $296.05. However, if you truly are a good faith business, you may want to consider including the sales tax on that figure since I am taking it to a Toyota Dealership. ($311.14)


So the check is to be written out to me, Jay ****, send to my home address. With just the envelope having the check in it. No note is to accompany the check, or any remarks written on the envelope or check. Or this solution is null and void, including if the check bounces.


I will give you 10 days from this post on the BBB or what the BBB requires. I will not accept any excuses if the check gets lost in the mail, or shows up late. That’s your responsibility to make sure it gets here in a timely manner.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Regards,

 

Jay ****

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on S & S Research, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)