BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm states that they are lawyers specializing in regional creditors rights, account recovery management services for national consumer lenders, medical providers, and other local/national creditors.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rausch, Sturm, Israel, Enerson & Hornik, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rausch, Sturm, Israel, Enerson & Hornik, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 30 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

30 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 24
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 30

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on Rausch, Sturm, Israel, Enerson & Hornik, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 9
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 18, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1997 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated: 12/31/2008 in WI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Bar of Wisconsin
P.O. Box 7158, Madison WI 53707-7158
Phone Number: 6082573838 8007287788 Customer Service

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Gregory W. Enerson, Partner Ms. Julie A. Rausch, Partner Mr. William C. Sturm, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gregory W. Enerson, Partner
Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers Attorneys & Lawyers - Collections Law Collection Agencies Offices of Lawyers (NAICS: 541110)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1012 NW Grand Blvd Ste A

    Oklahoma City, OK 73118 (405) 848-1775

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    105 N 2nd Street Ste 225

    Livingston, MT 59047 (406) 222-2020

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    118 Broadway North Ste 807

    Fargo, ND 58102 (701) 293-8877

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    140 N. 8th Street Ste 340

    Lincoln, NE 68508 (402) 441-4843

  • 250 N. Sunny Slope Rd Ste 300

    Brookfield, WI 53005 (262) 789-1100 (866) 883-3288

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    300 N. Dakota Ave Ste 511

    Sioux Falls , SD 57104 (605) 271-2871

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    30500 Northwestern Hwy Ste 500

    Farmington Hills, MI 48334 (248) 737-4999

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    319 7th Street Suite 428

    Des Moines, IA 50309 (515) 243-9006

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    401 Cypress Street Ste 300

    Albilene, TX 79601 (325) 692-4747

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6600 France Ave South

    Minneapolis, MN 55435 (952) 345-8280

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    680 Southdale Office Centre

    Minneapolis, MN 55435 (952) 345-8274

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8691 W. Sahara Ave Ste 210

    Las Vegas, NV 89117 (702) 485-1564

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 883-3288(Phone)
  • (414) 329-6240 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My problem is only now beginning, which is why I reached out to your agency for your assistance. I was contacted by Rausch, Straum, Israel, Enerson & Hornik, LLC. today through a letter dated April 4, 2014 from their ******* ** office location alleging that I owe a debt to their client Discover. This is not true, since this debt does not belong to me. I would have gladly replied to this firm without having to recur to your agency to intervene on my behalf, but I have done enough research online about this firm and I have concluded that it is very efficient in what it does, which is suing people over unpaid debt. However, much of the information that I uncovered were from people who unlike me, perhaps did owe the debt, but who for one reason or another found out about the existence of this firm until they had been served. I am not an attorney, nor a legal expert but I nevertheless posses substantial knowledge of the legal system and I certainly do not want to find myself in it in any way and be the last one to know, which is why I decided to ask for your assistance in resolving this matter, before they proceed. The account number in question is: Account # ****************, File # *******

Desired Settlement: I want to invoke my rights under the FDCPA and any others afforded by my State and dispute these allegations being brought against me by this firm. To be more specific, I am disputing this debt, because it is not mine and I want them to permanently close this account. Should they disagree, then I respectfully request that Rausch, Straum, Israel, Enerson & Hornik, LLC. validate it by providing me a copy of a signed credit application and or signed contract.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of Mr. *********'s complaint.  We are investigating this with our client and will provide a more detailed response in the time frame given by the BBB.  In the meantime, we have marked the file as a cease and desist until a determination has been made.  Thank you for your attention to this matter. 

*******

Business Response:

We have requested billing statements from our client and will forward them to Mr. ********* upon their receipt.  In the meantime, this account arises from a Discover Bank credit card ending in 3***.  The account was opened on December 15, 2005.  There was a last payment date made to the account on September 18, 2013 in the amount of $278.00.  The account charged off on February 28, 2014.  Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint. 

 

******* ** ******

This firm is a debt collector

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am in receipt of Mr. ******'s response and at this time I would like to request that sufficient time be given for this information to be delivered to me.

Regards,


******** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company keeps harrassing me with letters about and outstanding bill with **** ** *******, which I do not owe, never opened up this account. I directed them to the person who owes this bill as well gave them a phone number. I would like for them to stop sending mailing to my address.

Desired Settlement: Please to contact the right person to handle this bill.

Business Response: Please allow this correspondence to address Mr. *****'s concerns. We will honor his request for no further contact.  If Mr. ***** feel that this is the responsibility of a 3rd party, our office would need either verbal or written permission from Mr. ***** before communicating on this matter with that party. He can contact us at ###-###-#### or write to us at ***** ** ****** ******** ***** **** ******* **  *****. Thank you, ******* ** ******** ******** ** *** ******** ** **** **********.

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I have already sent written permission regarding this matter to the ****** ******.  Please no more contact once you receive the notarized letter. I also tried calling the number listed no answer, but I left message as well.

Regards,

 

**** *****

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/31/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2007 I received a notice of judgement from this company to which I refinanced my house and paid the debt. Now seven years later I received a request and writ of garnishment for a debt that is no longer owed. There has been no contact until now. I paid a law firm for an entire year to repair my credit report and have old items removed. During that time there was no responses from this company or firm. They are dishonest and think because they are attorneys they can do what they want. On 12/19/2013 the day I received the request for garnishment I called this company and they said they would get back to me. I have heard nothing yet and I fully intend on litigating this matter and putting it to rest once and for all. These collection companies are all like this and something needs to be done to protect the people from false claims and collections. They are pretty much extorting most people. Anyone who has a debt should pay it but nobody should have to pay it twice.

Desired Settlement: Discharge the writ for garnishment that was falsely filed and remove the alleged debt that was paid and settled years ago. Otherwise, I will be filing s suit in federal court and turn it into a class action against this company.

Business Response: Thank you for the opportunity to allow us to respond to Mr. *****'s complaint. Attached is a letter in response to Mr. *****'s concerns drafted by our Michigan attorney who is responsible for this case.  If anything further is needed, please feel free to contact me. ******* ** *******, ******** ** *** ******** ** **** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have never been notified of anything that was to be taken care of for this debt. This debt is from 2010. My ex husband was supposed to put this on his credit card, but failed to do so. There was a lack in communication on our part, but I have still never ever been notified about this debt and now they have garnished my bank account.

Desired Settlement: I want to make right on this debt without the garnishment. I have no problems in making monthly payments. As one can see this is the only debt I carry on myself and don't deserve to have garnishments to my back account without the proper notice

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Ms. *******'s complaint.  A lawsuit was filed on September 20, 2010.  Ms. ******* was served by substitute service on October 20, 2010.  A judgment was entered by the Court against Ms. ******* on December 8, 2010.  Shortly thereafter, we received a form filled out by Ms. ******* on January 7, 2011 indicating that she was exempt from garnishment.  We received nothing further from Ms. ******* until this complaint.  We are willing to work with Ms. ******* to resolve this matter as she states in the "desired settlement" section of the complaint.  Ms. ******* can contact ******** ******* ******* at ###-###-#### or by email at ******************.  If there are any further questions, please let me know.  Thank you for your attention to this matter.

 

******* ** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this company filed a judgement against me in 2010 , we settled on a amount of 4000 dollars , I paid 2000 down and 10 payments of 200 for a total of 4000 dollars it was paid in full april of 2011 , and they will not release this judgment, they don't answer phone calls or emails

Desired Settlement: I want this collection agency to do what was agreed on , I paid the claim now release the judgement in Dakota county, mn

Business Response:

We apologize for the inconvience this has caused Mr. ******.  The file has been reopened and the satisfaction of judgment will be mailed out tomorrow.  If there are any further questions regarding this matter, please reach me at ###-###-#### or by email at ******************  Thank you for the opportunity to address this issue. 

******* ** ******

This firm is a debt collector.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we were promised A document within 3 weeks. They failed to provide said document we called and emailed and have spoken with several people that gave deadlines that have passed. we are waiting on A release of lien that was paid and promised weeks ago. they continue to give us the run-around and failed provide this document in any form. each time we reach a new person they tell us they can't find any record of previous conversations or the documents we need thus starting over each time. this is unprofessional rude and hurting my business transaction

Desired Settlement: I would like my release mailed Express overnight delivery to the county of bastrop immediately.

Business Response:

Ms. ****** made the payment on July 24, 2013.  It is our firm’s policy to wait 14 business days for the payment to clear before submitting the satisfaction of judgment.  The 14 business days expired August 13, 2013.  The satisfaction was faxed today to ###-###-####.  The fax was confirmed as delivered at 1:45 p.m. CST.  If there are any further questions regarding the complaint, please contact ******* ** ****** by email at *****************.  Thank you for your attention to this matter.

 

******* ** ******, ******** ** *** ******** ** **** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I want to know how this firm has associated my telephone number with an individual that I have no idea who it is so I can stop them from calling me again. They have called about my ex-wife whom I divorced ** years ago, they have called me about my ex-brother-in-law, they have called me about a former tenant, and now I think the latest is they are calling about my ex-wife's - husband's - ex-wife. Huh? How is THAT association made? None of these people have EVER been associated with any phone number I currently have. I want to know what agency released my information so I can sue them, in addition to this so-called law firm for harassment. I have received numerous phone calls stating that if I do not hang up that I am acknowledging I am the individual. How can this be legal? Have these people never heard of an answering machine that doesn't hang up? I want this harassment to stop for myself, and to never happen to any other undeserving individuals.

Desired Settlement: First, I would like to receive by letter, a formal apology for each individual instance, listing each individual they called me about, from all past contacts for the last 2 years to my home phone number (which they obviously have) for individuals not associated with me. Second, I want a change in their policy to no longer leave messages on answering machines indicating that if you do not hang up that you acknowledge that you are the individual. Third, I want to know what information source and content they used to associate these individuals with my phone number. Fourth I want the phone calls to my phone number to stop, unless it is an individual KNOWN to be associated with it (which would be myself or my wife), not a guess or crap shoot. Fifth, I want them to have an individual available to receive phone calls in return, not an answering machine.

Business Response:

Please allow this correspondence to serve as a response to Mr. *******’ concerns.   From June 26, 2013 through August 5, 2013, our office made 11 attempts by phone to contact an individual other than Mr. *******.  Our records indicate that 11 contacts were made to Mr. *******’ phone number from June 26. 2013 through August 6, 2013. This number has now been removed from our system and Mr. ******* will not be contacted in the future. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused and appreciate being apprised of the matter.   If any further information is needed, please feel free to contact me at ###-###-#### and I would be more than happy to discuss this matter.   

 

******* ******, ******** ** *** ******** ** **** **********.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* ******** ********
**** *********** ****
******, WI *****

Better Business Bureau
*** *** ******* ***** ***
*** ******, ** *****

Re: Rausch, Sturm, Israel, Emerson & Hornik, LLC

To Whom it May Concern:

Please find enclosed copies of correspondence sent to the law firm mentioned above
which bears the logo of the Better Business Bureau on its stationary. I value the
endorsements of the Better Business Bureau. However, I was so concerned about
the lack of due diligence and noncompliance with my advisement to cease and desist
from any communication with my mother that I thought you should be aware of this
firm's actions.
See attachments.
Sincerely,

******* ******** ********
***** ** ********

April 24, 20013

******* ******** ********
**** *********** ****
******, WI *****

******** ** *** *
Rausch, Sturm, Israel, Emerson & Hornik, LLC
****** ******, ***** ***
*** ******, ** *****
By Certified Mail

Re: **** ** ********
APR 29 2013

Client ** **** ***, N.A. as successor in interest to ****** ******** ****
File Number: ******
Account # ending in ****

Dear ******** *. ****:

Your firm, and therefore your clients have been previously advised about the medical
status of **** ** ********. At age 88 she is mentally compromised and no longer able
to manage her affairs. She resides in a protective care nursing facility and her income
is managed through a ****** *****. She has no assets other than Social Security and a
small pension, both of which have been assigned.
You were advised to cease and desist from any communication due to her condition
on May 14, 2012 and again on May 25, 2012 to a branch of your law firm in
**********, WI. Your correspondence dated March 26, 2013 seriously degraded her
physical and mental condition. Where is the due diligence on your part?
Any such future correspondence of this type to **** ** ******** will be referred to the
appropriate state and federal authorities as a consumer complaint. Additional
inquiries will be made for further investigation by appropriate state and local
agencies as to intentional and malicious elder abuse.
See attachments.

Sincerely,

******* ******** ********
***** ** ********
Cc: Better Business Bureau, *** *** ***., ***** ***, *** ******, ** *****

May 14, 2012

******* ******** ********
**** *********** ****
******, WI *****

***** *******
****** ******* ***** ***
*** ******, ** *****

RE: **** ** ********
File Number: ******
Account Number: ****************

To Whom It May Concern:

Cease and desist from any future correspondence or billings effective immediately
for **** ** ********. She is now in protective care in a nursing home and no longer
able to manage her affairs.
It is my sad duty to report that her income is being garnished by the nursing home
to pay for her care and end of life issues. Her income comes from Social Security
and a small pension. She has no other assets at age 87, and no ability to make any
further payments. Because of this, Legal Aid has advised us that my mother is
judgment proof. She deeply regrets her inability to pay her debt.

Sincerely,

******* ******** ********
***** ** ********
Phone ###-###-####

Desired Settlement: Read Above

Business Response:

Our office is in receipt of Ms. ********'s complaint regarding contacting her mother, **** *. ********.  Please accept this as our response to the complaint.  We did receive the request to cease and desist the account dated May 14, 2012 which is referenced in the attachments to the complaint.  Immediately, upon receipt, we took the necessary steps to mark Ms. ********’ file as cease and desist.  Since receipt of the May, 2012 correspondence, we have ceased all collection efforts on the account. 

The correspondence issued to Ms. ******** dated March 26, 2013 that is referenced in Ms. ********’s complaint was a notification that her ****** account had been sold, assigned and transferred to ** **** ***, N.A.   Pursuant to the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, we were legally required to issue that correspondence to Ms. ******** due to the transfer in ownership of the account.    We will continue to honor the cease/desist request that was previously made.   If there are any further questions regarding the matter, I can be reached at ###-###-####.  Thank you for your attention to this matter.

 

******* ******, Attorney in the Practice of Debt Collection.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This firm, which I have never had any kind of business agreement with, that is they have nothing with my name on it where I have agreed to pay them anything, is harassing me. I have pages and pages on phone records which I will submit toe The Attorney General in ***** and the Federal Trade Commission. The call my phone numbers everyday, again and again and again. This is in violation of State and Federal law. Cease immediately.

Desired Settlement: Leave me alone and stop the harassment or this will escalate to you owing me 1000.00 for every call you have made, unsolicited to my numbers

Business Response:

Re: Case No. *******; **** ********
To whom it may concern:

We are writing in response to your email dated April 1, 2013, which advises of a complaint filed
against our firm with your office. The complaint was filed by **** ******** and is referenced by your office
as case #*******, Please be advised that our firm does have a customer relationship with the complainant.
We have investigated the matter and our records do not show that the complainant ever requested that our
office cease contact with him, However, in response to the complaint filed, our office will discontinue future
contact with the complainant. Federal and/or applicable state law prohibit our disclosure of specific
information pertaining to the underlying matter to third parties.
Sincerely,
~. a
***** *. ****, ********
RAUSCH, STURM, ISRAEL, ENERSON & HORNIK LLC
THIS FIRM IS A DEBT COLLECTOR

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I fell behing on my student loan payments with ****** *** and they turned my account over to Rausch Sternum Enerson and Hornick. I talked with them and set up a payment plan. They were to only take out $200 twice a month. On a couple of occasions they took out more than they were supposed to and on days that funds were not available. I stopped the automatic payments with fear of having it continue. The next thing I know is that I am getting court papers saying I have a judgement against me, bank garnishment and a wage garnishment. They froze almost $600 in my bank account which resulted in overdraft fees. I have called them numerous times to set up a payment plan but they will only do a settlement. I am trying to sell my house via a short sale, but cannot due to there being a lien on the house. I called them again today and talked with ******. He was somewhat pleseant at first and then became rude. They will not work with me at all with payments. They only will accept a huge lump sum of money as a "settlement". They act as though 29,000 is easy to find as a single woman.....that I have endless possiblilites to find that kind of money. They even suggested that I try and get the person that wants to buy my house to pay the settlement to get the lien released. Who does that??????? That just does not seem ethical to me and I do NOT agree with a law firm to suggest such a thing. I completely understand that I incurred this debt and I want to make it right, but they are making it impossible. I even tried calling ****** *** to work something out and it transferred me to the law firm. All I want is a payment plan that will not put me on the streets. I find it hard to believe that they will NOT work with anyone. It seems as though they are only out for money and don't care about people.

Desired Settlement: What I would like is for my account to be transferred to a place that is willing to work with people and not take advantage. I just want to work on my debt and make payments. I want to be able to trust the people that are taking the payments. I would also like for this particular law firm to look at their practices and try and help people rather than discourage them and tell them they HAVE to pay a huge amount of money to make things right.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

   Attached, please find our response to Complaint ID#*******.  Thank you for your attention to this matter.

 

                                                   Yours Truly,

 

                                                   ******* *. ******

Re: Complaint ID #*******
To Whom It May Concern:

I am writing in response to a recent consumer complaint regarding our billing and collection
practices. I have reviewed the phone recordings as well as the file notes regarding the consumer's
accounts with our offices. The consumer mentions in their complaint that on a "couple" of occasions
our office took more money than we should have. On one occasion, January 27, 2012, the consumer
called our office and expressed concern with money being taken out on a date that was not agreed to.
However, upon review of the recordings, the parties agreed to funds being taken out on the 27th day of
January 2012 and then on the 30th day thereafter. Automatic payments were canceled at the consumer's
request, but they were canceled on February 27, 2012 because the consumer wanted the payment date
changed to the first part of the next month. Our office was never notified of any overdraft fees as noted
in the complaint.
The consumer's complaint also references that our office is unwilling to work out a payment
arrangement with them. There does seem to be confusion as to the purpose of the consumer's phone call
on February 5, 2013. Our office intormed the consumer that we would not accept a payment plan to
release a judgment lien from her home. However, our office did not make that distinction clear. We
apologize for any confusion. We would be happy to set up a good faith payment plan to pay on the
accounts of the consumer. However, in order to release the lien, we would have to work out a lump sum
settlement that is in the best interests of both parties. If we can be of any further assistance, please
contact us at the above toll free number or our *********** office directly at ###-###-####.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This firm (perhaps not this exact location) has made repeated, harassing calls to my 85 year-old mother - sometimes 3 or more times a day. She lives alone listened to the message so she could get a phone number to call and advise they had the wrong number. She called and only got an opportunity to leave a message with that information and to please discontinue the harassing calls. The calls continue still and because she has recently been hospitalized and just returned home from rehab today, I agreed to follow up on this for her. She and I would appreciate you stop making these calls to her.

Desired Settlement: Stop making continued, multiple, daily calls to my 85-year old mother, who is NOT the person attempting to be contacted. This has continued for months and is harassment since she has left a recorded message of this fact.

Business Response: Thank you for your recent correspondence. We apologize for any inconvience this has caused.  To ensure that no further calls are made to Ms. ********, kindly provide me with the incorrect number that we have been calling.  Once that information is received, I will ensure that this number is blocked and not called again. Thank you, ******* ** *******, Attorney in the Practice of Debt Collection.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/8/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Robo calls at 1 AM MDT. I am not the debtor. I merely share the same last name. I have received at least three robo calls from this collection agency always at 1 AM on Sunday and Monday mornings for the last two weeks. I am not the debtor nor do I know the debtor they seek; I merely share the same last name.

Desired Settlement: Cease and desist the harassing phone calls.

Business Response: Rc: Case ********: ****** ****** **
Our File Number: *******
Dear BBB:
TOLL FREE: ###-###-####
Attorney Direct No.

FAX: ###-###-####

Thank you for contacting us relative to the recent inquiry, referenced above. We appreciate
receipt of this information and allowing us to respond. This appears to be a situation where we were
attempting to contact an individual by phone with the similar name to ****** ****** **. I am showing
that we contacted Mr. ****** 4 limes, with each call taking place within the time frames 12 p.m. and
4:30 p.m., CST. We were informed on October 1st that we had at the incorrect number for the
individual we were attempting to contact and, at that time, removed Mr. ******'s number from our
system. He will not be contacted any further. We appreciate Mr. ****** bringing this matter to our
atten tion and apologize for any inconvenience.
Very truly yours,
******* ** *******
Attorney in the Practice of Debt Collection

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Rausch, Sturm, Israel, Enerson & Hornik, LLC did stop robo-calling me after I contacted them.  Fundamentally, I am thankful to have them stop.  However, I find their written response to the complaint troubling in its own right.  One, they either refuse to admit wrong doing or lack the information necessary to establish the facts in the matter.  The fact is, I received three calls from this creditor on September 24, 2012 1:01 AM (MDT), September 30, 2012 1:01 AM (MDT) and October 01, 2012 1:01 AM (MDT).  Disavowing it in the written response is futile when phone records and recordings of the messages are readily available.  Two, the creditor had no legitimate reason to believe the debtor was available at my number other than he/she had the same last name--that's it.  Their behavior is clearly in violation of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA).

Regards,

****** ****** **

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/11/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a letter dated October 3, 2012 listing a debt as $2980.93 and offering a settlement of $2,235.70 split into two payments of $1,117.85. The first payment needed to be received by October 26, 2012. Despite the clearly stated deadline, the company did not honor the offer and instead had my checking and savings accounts garnished on October 24, 2012, two days before the given deadline. In addition, they increased the stated amount of the debt to $3,014.54 and took a total of $3,315.99 from my accounts as well as a $100 fee that was levied. That is $335.06 more than the originally stated debt and $1,080.29 more the the settlement that I still had two days to claim. When I called the company to get everything straightened out, in the hopes of getting the $2198.14 that was taken over the settlement installment, I was connected to a man named Bernie, who told me that they didn't lie about the settlement offer and that these things just happen.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology for the duplicitous actions of the company. Also, while I do understand that I am responsible for the original debt and was planning on paying the $2,235.70 settlement which they are welcome to keep, I feel that I am entitled to the return of the additional $1080.29 that they took as well a the $100 fee that I was charged for the garnishment that shouldn't have taken place.

Business Response:

 Please allow this correspondence to serve as a response to Ms. ********'s concerns. While we did extend a invitation to Ms. ******** to settle her account, we clearly noted in our letter that the collection process would continue. Additionally, we deny any allegation that the balance was misstated. Judgment interest and costs associated with the garnishment caused a balance increase. We would be more than willing to honor the settlement amount in exchange for a partial release of the garnishment.  If Ms. ******** would like to discuss this option, I would request that she contact our Collection Manager, ***** ********* at ###-###-#### to make these arrangements.  -******** ******* ** *******, ******** in the Practice of Debt Collection.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They are trying to collect a debt that is not mine. They have te wrong person but continue to harass me. My daughter has been contacted twice by this firm on the phone, asking for me. I have contacted them by phone twice and treated very badly on the phone trying to tell them they have the wrong person. This debt is not mine I have the same name but a different middle initial. A very common name. Now they are sending me letters trying to collect a debt that is not mine. I have given them my last 4 numbers of my ss number and my birthdate. Someone tells me it will be taken care of then a few months later they start harassing me again. They have thretened to damage my credit. I have paid all my debts in full and on time my entire life and they are causing me a great amount of stress. .No one there seems to do their job to make sure they are contacting the correct person. Once again they are contacting me and my family in error and I want it to stop. This is not my debt.I do not know the person they are looking for.

Desired Settlement: I am asking them to send me a letter stating they are contacting me incorrectly and that they will stop and this will not affect my credit. I want a letter from them stating this is not my debt!!!!!

Business Response: Our office is in receipt of the concerns expressed by Ms. *****. We also received a letter inquiry from the BBB as well. Attached is our letter response. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused Ms. *****. If any further information is required, please feel free to contact me. ******* *. *******, ******** in the ******** of **** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have requested a copy of a current statement from the facility. They continue to state they are unable to provide that, but are willing to give me a balance over the telephone. They give me a balance over the telephone which continues to be different each time. During the course of today I was provided with 2 different balances. One $110.36 more expensive than the last quote I received when calling last week.

Desired Settlement: Consider this business as using unethical collections practices.

Business Response: Please allow this correspondence to serve as a follow up to Ms. ******** complaint. We appreciate the opportunity to respond.  I am attaching a letter that was issued to Ms. ******, which should resolve any balance discrepancy issues.  If Ms. ****** would like to discuss this matter further or has any questions as to the attached letter, I would be more than happy to talk to her. I can be reached at 262-789-1100.  ******* ** *******, ******** ** *** ******** ** **** ***********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After contacting this business to finish paying a settlement, I was told I'll receive a letter in the mail within 20-21 days, 30 days the latest. It''s almost 2 months now. It was done in February. I can't get a hold of anyone, tried both phone numbers that is on their webpage and left plenty of messages. I want to have my letter in hand for future references so can have a paper stating my settlement with this business/collection. Someone better call me back at the phone number I provided, I have my information to provide to them, and some one better send me those letters. I will be contacting the State of WisconsinDepartment of Financial Institutions and file a complaint with them if this ******** ****** ***** place does not send me my letters. It's unethical practice on their behalf and as a consumer I have my rights under the Fair Credit Reporting Act.

Desired Settlement: Need my letters, and for these people to finish their job.

Business Response: Please allow this correspondence to serve as a follow up to Ms. *****s concerns.   Please note that our office did not represent Ms. **** nor was Ms. **** a client or customer of our office.  Nonetheless,  I note that on April 24, 2012, our office received a voicemail from Ms. **** requesting a receipt evidencing the settlement.  A receipt was issued to Ms. **** at that time.  I placed a duplicate copy of that receipt in today's mail addressed to Ms. ****.  If we can be of any further assistance in this matter, please let me know. Thanks, ******* ** ******** Attorney in the Practice

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/16/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried several times to contact them in several different way and I have heard NOTHING. I have called and left serveral messages, left several emails and even certified letter. I am not disputing the debt that I owe I am just trying to make a settlement or even payments but they WILL NOT RETURN MY CALL or anything. I feel like they are trying everything they can to get me into trouble however they can. I just want to make good on my debt but they are not making it possible.

Desired Settlement: I want to get information on how and who to offer a settlement to or to start payments.

Business Response: Please allow this correspondence to serve as a response to Ms. *****'s concerns. I cannot speak to what happened with unreturned calls. However, we are more than happy to discuss this with Ms. *****.  She can contact one of our client service representative, ****** ***** at ###-###-####, extension ***.  If Ms. ***** would like to discuss this matter with me personally, she can do that as well. My number is ###-###-####. Thank you. -******* ** ******** ******** ** *** ******** ** **** *********** ******* ****** ******* ******* * ******* ***

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife has an account in collection currently. She has until January 27, 2012 to make final arrangements to settle. This firm has siezed my step-daughter's bank account, savings and checking. She is a minor and not party to any of the issues with this law firm. They clearly did not perform their due dilligence before seizing these funds.

Desired Settlement: Restore all accounts, act like a responsible firm and perform your due dilligence before taking someone's money.

Business Response: Our office is in receipt of Mr. *******'s Statement. Please allow this correspondence to serve as our opportunity to respond. Any post judgment executions on bank accounts were made against the judgment defendant and not in the name of anyone else.  Nonetheless, given Mr. *******'s assertion that the improper bank account was levied, we have issued a release of the garnishment to the bank asking that they release the funds back to the customer. If any further information can be provided, please feel free to contact me. ******* ** ******** ******** ** *** ******** ** **** ***********

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/28/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/22/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/26/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/29/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/23/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/7/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
8/2/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
8/2/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1