BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers debt relief services, including consolidation and bankruptcy through Chapter 7,13 and 128 options, and non-bankruptcy options including debt settlement and debt negotiation.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Debt Advisors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Debt Advisors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Debt Advisors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 10, 2007 Business started: 09/07/2006 in WI Business started locally: 09/07/2006
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Bar of Wisconsin
P.O. Box 7158, Madison WI 53707-7158
Phone Number: 6082573838 8007287788 Customer Service

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Atty. Michael S. Georg, Owner Atty. Chad L. Schomburg, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Atty. Michael S. Georg, Owner
Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy & Taxes Bankruptcy Assistance & Services Credit - Debt Consolidation Services Offices of Lawyers (NAICS: 541110)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Su: Closed
Industry Tips
Choosing a Credit Counselor Debt-How to Repay Your Debt

Additional Locations

  • 1830 W Mason St., Suite 4

    Green Bay, WI 54303 (920) 499-2234

  • 2108 Kohler Memorial Dr., Lower Level

    Sheboygan, WI 53081

  • 2222 N Mayfair Rd. Suite 150

    Milwaukee, WI 53226 (414) 755-2400 (888) 222-5615

  • 2810 Crossroads Dr Ste 4000

    Madison, WI 53718

  • 5008 Green Bay Rd., Suite 2

    Kenosha, WI 53144 (262) 997-0736

  • 601 Oregon St Lower Level

    Oshkosh, WI 54902 (920) 966-0315

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 222-5615(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Just looking for my $100 deposit back... Very Simple....no work was done on my Chapter 7...went another route. They told me to fax over a notice stating I would like my $100 refund back and It has been over a month with no response. Left a message on April 1, 2014 and received no returned call. Very unprofessional. Sorry guys....it is the little things that hurt me, but if you really need the hundred dollars... keep it. ******* *

Desired Settlement: Just my $100 dollars.

Business Response: We will send Mr. ********* a $100.00 refund.  However, please note that he signed a contract for services.  Pursuant to this contract we have 30 days to issue a refund.  He submitted his request for a refund 29 days ago, 3/5/14.   We will send the $100.00 refund check today to resolve this matter.

 
**** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid 100 and did not file bankruptcy. I wanted them to stop my garnishment after I paid the 100 and that never happened. I never signed a contract and I cancelled within 2 weeks of paying the 100. I paid the 100 on the 5th of October and I cancelled my bankruptcy on the 12th he never filed any paperwork. I have the drafted copy with me that I was suppose to send back. They also took 75 dollars out of my account on the 15th when he was suppose to take it out on the 18th that put my account into overdraft.

Desired Settlement: Pay me back my 100 and they should pay for my overdraft fee of 15.00

Business Response:

On September 26th, 2012, ****** ****** and Attorney **** ********* had a consultation regarding filing a Chapter 7 bankruptcy and stopping a garnishment from her paycheck. At the end of the consultation she hired me and signed the Chapter 7 contract, in which she agreed to pay Attorney fees of $950, and a court fee of $306. An initial $100 down was to be paid to retain us so we could get to work on the case asap, and $75 per pay period thereafter. Mrs. ****** agreed to make the $75 payments on the 15th and the last day of the month, in accordance to her paydays. A week later on October 4th, she called in to make the $100 payment and gave her debit card information to set up the payments. If the first payment would have been made earlier than the 4th we probably would have had time to file the case earlier. I pulled the paperwork and got started on preparing the bankruptcy paperwork right away for her. I had it completed by the end of that week (I even came in on that Saturday to complete the draft) and mailed it out on Monday October 8th, 2012.  My office paid for her credit counseling course, $19.00, financial management course $9.00 and a $40.00 for a credit report from the three credit bureaus

My receptionist ***** also emailed Mrs. ****** the information to do the credit counseling course on the 8th as well. We specifically rushed this because any client needs to sign the paperwork and complete the credit counseling course before we can file a case and stop a garnishment. On October 9th, Mrs. ****** emailed ***** back and indicated she would get the paperwork signed, and credit counseling done right away so we could have the certificate in order to file her case. I left for vacation on October 10th. I called into my office to see if Mrs. ****** had returned the paperwork signed so I could file her case. She had not. I returned to the office on October 15th, and I had taken a $75 debit payment from Mrs. ****** on that day. I then read my emails from that day and saw that Mrs. ****** had cancelled her contract with us. She demanded all of her money back. Our contract (which she signed) specifically states that we have 30 days to an accounting of any unearned fees. Drafting the paperwork, and consulting with Mrs. ****** all together took up over an hour of my time for which I charge a rate of $250 per hour (again in our contract). I emailed Mrs. ****** and told her I would be willing to reimburse for the $75 payment we took, even though I believe we earned over $250 in fees. I still offered to file the case for her and stop the garnishment. I am still willing to reimburse the $75, I have it sitting in our office as she had indicated she will come pick it up. This is all I can do in good faith. I wil not even get into the specifics about how Mrs. ****** has berated me and my firm.

Based on this information, I feel that a $75.00 refund is more than reasonable.

 

Attorney **** *********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******** ******

 I know that the 75 dollars I am entitled to because I cancelled soon enough and he took it out too soon. I did pay 100 dollars on the 5th and he took that 75 dollars out of the 15th. I get paid of the 15th and the 30th. My husband got paid of the 5th and then the 18th. He was suppose to take it out on the 18. He misunderstood the dates not me. I do not mind to show all my emails. This place really screwed up. I called him to ask questions and he was out the office the receptionist told me she would have him give me a call. I explained to him that I really need him to stop the garnishment. They didnt do that. The garnishment people took out 90 bucks. debt advisors didnt do their job. Yes, he did complete a draft copy for me to sign and review and bring back in but I cancelled so why would I bring it in. Anyways, I know I deserve a full refund back of my money because they did NOTHING for me. I still got garnished and that is exactly what I needed him to stop. I am not going to let them HAVE my 100 bucks when I paid them 100 to represent me and they didnt do that. I paid the 100 on the 5th and cancelled one week later. He saying he spent many hours, many hours on what???? All, I did was take a credit counseling course and thats it. why am I paying him 100?? I paid him to represent me, and they didnt do that. I still got garnished so basically. The place did not to earn my 100 dollars. I am entitled to a FULL refund because they did not do their job. 

Business Response:

Again, The case needed to be filed in order to stop the garnishment. Mrs. ****** was to sign the paperwork and get it back to our office to file. I have no problem refunding the $75, I am not arguing that, and in fact Mrs. ****** agreed to pick up the check last week. It has been waiting for her. In the best interests of settling this case, I am willing to refund an additional $50 to consider this matter resolved, otherwise there is nothing more we can do.

 

Attorney **** *********

Consumer Response:

I have decided to accept the offer because I admit I did cancel and waisted their time as well. My whole argument was if I paid the 100 dollars for the business to represent me, then they should have stopped the garnishment. If I paid the 100 something should have been done to benefit me. Not, just making the draft for the court. I will gladly accept the 50.00, I do apologize for cancelling  I dont think it was the best decision for my husband and I. With that being said, thank you for your business and time. you can mail the check please. **** * ******* ***** * *********, ** *******

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******** ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1