Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers debt relief services, including consolidation and bankruptcy through Chapter 7,13 and 128 options, and non-bankruptcy options including debt settlement and debt negotiation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Debt Advisors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Debt Advisors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Debt Advisors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 8
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 10, 2007 Business started: 09/07/2006 in WI Business started locally: 09/07/2006 Business incorporated 09/07/2006 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Bar of Wisconsin
P.O. Box 7158, Madison WI 53707-7158
Phone Number: 6082573838 8007287788 Customer Service

Type of Entity

Service Corporation

Business Management
Atty. Michael S. Georg, Owner Atty. Chad L. Schomburg, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Atty. Michael S. Georg, Owner
Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy & Taxes Bankruptcy Assistance & Services Credit - Debt Consolidation Services Offices of Lawyers (NAICS: 541110)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Su: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Debt Advisors Law Offices Milwaukee
Industry Tips
Bankruptcy-Consumers Considering Bankruptcy Choosing a Credit Counseling Agency Choosing a Credit Counselor Credit Report-Understanding Your Credit Report Debt-How to Repay Your Debt

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Debt Advisors has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1830 W Mason St., Suite 4

    Green Bay, WI 54303 (920) 499-2234

  • 2108 Kohler Memorial Dr., Lower Level

    Sheboygan, WI 53081

  • 2600 N Mayfair Rd Ste 700

    Milwaukee, WI 53226 (414) 755-2400

  • 2810 Crossroads Dr Ste 4000

    Madison, WI 53718

  • 5008 Green Bay Rd., Suite 2

    Kenosha, WI 53144 (262) 997-0736

  • 601 Oregon St Lower Level

    Oshkosh, WI 54902 (920) 966-0315

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/16/11 I started the process of filing for Chapter 13 Bankruptcy with the assistance of Attorney ******* ***** with Debt Advisor. Under consultation of Attorney *****, I gave him a list of all debts and debtors which included Capitol One Auto Finance for a vehicle I own (2006 Mercury) and a vehicle I co-signed for my daughter (2007 Dodge) which I surrendered. My bankruptcy was confirmed on 1/11/2012. I was assigned **** ******** as a Trustee. I was ordered to do a 5-year Chapter 13 plan, which I was attempting complete, but it was dismissed before I could complete it. Fund were taken and paid through the Trustee until 12/2014. I was just told that there is 2 other vehicles that I did not have our own. I trusted Debt Advisors to assist me through this situation. I paid into this according to schedule, and through the trustee. Capitol Once has taken my vehicle and told me that they did to receive any funds and that I still owe them $7,323.00. Where did all of my payments go to and to whom? I have called and called Attorney ***** every day since January to ask him what was going on with the Chapter 13. I have paperwork stating that funds ($15,314.00) I paid into this. Capitol One has informed me that they did not receive any payment, and took my vehicle. WE Energies also stated that they were not paid and tacked the entire old bill onto my new bill. IRS has intercepted my taxes and said that they were not paid either. None of my creditors were paid. I would like to know where the money went. I cannot consult with the Trustee without getting in touch with Attorney *****, who is not taking my calls or returning messages I have left from him. I need this Attorney to assist me in straightening out what is wrong, as I have paid him for the services. I am so stressed out because Attorney ***** and cannot tell me where all of the money I paid went to. I am so disappointed because I trusted Debt Advisors to assist me in a professional manner. Now I am getting the run around and no answers. This is so unfair that I paid my attorney and money into this Chapter 13. Attorney ***** will not respond to any of my calls. I strongly believe that I was not properly represented by Debt Advisor. And he has not tried to assist me in sorting this horrible nightmare out. Since this started, I have had anxiety attacks due to the stress. I have all of the documents that were submitted showing how much I have paid into this Chapter 13. I need Debt Advisors Attorney ***** to sit down with me and explain and fix the issues that I paid them to resolve for me at no additional cost!

Desired Settlement: I want Debt Advisors to assist me in sorting out the errors they made, assist me in getting vehicle back at no additional charges. I have paid years into the Bankruptcy and paid Attorney ***** in full.

Business Response:

I empathize with ******** and I am happy to meet with her to discuss her options. However, I dispute that the situation is my fault.  
Specifically, the bankruptcy trustee filed a Motion to Dismiss her case on 12/8/14.  My office sent her a letter on 12/10/14 to explain that there was a deadline to Object to this Motion.  We sent her an Email on 12/23/14 and called her and left a message on 12/26/14. My assistant spoke to her on 12/29/14 and she indicated that she wanted the case to be dismissed. Consequently, we did not Object and the court dismissed the case.
******** then called my office on 2/26 and left a message.  I called her back and advised her to schedule an appointment to discuss. I met with her on 2/27/15 and we reviewed the bankruptcy trustee's website to identify the payments she had made.  I explained that the bankruptcy trustee paid Capitol One over 12,000.00. However, there remained a balance on the account.  The balance was likely due to the fact that the interest rate on the contract was much higher that the interest rate provided for under the chapter 13 plan.  I explained this fact to her.  However, I understand these issues can be confusing.   At ********'s request, I called Capitol One on 3/10/15 Auto to confirm they had received these payments. Capitol One would not speak to me so I called ******** to advise her that she should call Capitol One Auto to request a payment history. She then called and left a message for me on 3/14/15. She called back on 3/16/15 and spoke to my partner and he sent her a copy of the trustee payment history which detailed all payments made to Capitol One.
Again, I am happy to discuss her options.  However, my office was diligent in our representation of ********.  She advised my office that she wanted the bankruptcy dismissed.  That is the reason her car was repo'd and tax refund intercepted.
******* *****
**** ******** *** ******** ****

Business Response: I am happy to meet with *** to resolve her concerns.  Clearly there appears to be miscommunication relative to these issues.  

I am available tomorrow afternoon, 4/22 between 4:00 and 5:30. She can call me to confirm the appointment, or schedule the appointment by responding to this email. I will not be in the office this Saturday, but I can see her the following Saturday 5/2 between 2:00 and 4:00. 
****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Today 4/22 is not a good time to meet. I wish I could see **** sooner, but I can make the appointment on 5/2 at 2:00pm. I will see where this appointment takes me in solving my problems.

Regards,

 

******** ******

 

 

 

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Just looking for my $100 deposit back... Very Simple....no work was done on my Chapter 7...went another route. They told me to fax over a notice stating I would like my $100 refund back and It has been over a month with no response. Left a message on April 1, 2014 and received no returned call. Very unprofessional. Sorry guys....it is the little things that hurt me, but if you really need the hundred dollars... keep it. ******* *

Desired Settlement: Just my $100 dollars.

Business Response: We will send Mr. ********* a $100.00 refund.  However, please note that he signed a contract for services.  Pursuant to this contract we have 30 days to issue a refund.  He submitted his request for a refund 29 days ago, 3/5/14.   We will send the $100.00 refund check today to resolve this matter.

 
**** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on Debt Advisors
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart