BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers service and repair on major appliances.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Howie Voigt's Appliance Service Center, div. of VanVreede TV & Appliance, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Howie Voigt's Appliance Service Center, div. of VanVreede TV & Appliance, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Howie Voigt's Appliance Service Center, div. of VanVreede TV & Appliance, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 25, 2009 Business started: 06/01/1977 in WI Business started locally: 06/01/1977 Business incorporated: 07/24/1973 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary L. Brynjulfson, Owner Mr. Greg L. Ernst, President / Owner Mr. Andrew Behrent, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Andrew Behrent, Manager
Principal: Mr. Gary L. Brynjulfson, Owner
Principal: Mr. Greg L. Ernst, President / Owner
Related Businesses
Van Vreede TV & Appliance, Inc.
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Appliance Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811412)

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Su: Closed
Service Area
Northeastern Wisconsin
Alternate Business Names
Van Vreede & Appliance

Additional Locations

  • 2610 W Wisconsin Ave

    Grand Chute, WI 54914 (920) 733-2045

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I began working on a repair issue with Howie Voigt back in late March when my husband had called them about the soap dispenser not draining fully for each load of laundry we did. They sent someone out to look at the machine and the gentleman came to the conclusion that we needed a new soap dispenser. So then on April 4th yet another service repair man showed up to install the new soap dispenser which the cost was $327.74. This guy was in a hurry and I could tell. The weather was crappy from snow and rain and he had just came from Oconto on other service calls and he complained he had two more to go. I was like oh ok! And then he said he was done and that the total was 327.74 so I wrote him a check made out to Howie Voight and he said they would mail me a receipt in the mail. Well still waiting on that receipt and it is now April 21st. Then after the service man left later that night my husband came home to do a load of laundry and he noticed that the face of the washer was not on correctly and said he would call in the morning cause the store was already closed. And he did a load of laundry. Well the washer ran for approx. 15 minutes and blew our circuit breaker and the washer quit working totally now! So the next morning which was a saturday my husband called the store to explain what happened and **** said that he would send someone out the following week to look at it. Well yet a different service guy showed up the third time to look at the washer and said that the second guy here (****) put the cover back on incorrectly and pinched one of the ribbons and when we did the one load that the vibration totally pinched and damaged the ribbon that was jammed in. So another new part had to be ordered and I was told this would be at no charge because service man two put in back together and did not watch what he was doing obviously. So then the ribbon came in and when **** called me to set up yet another appt to fix that I had told him to NOT send the guy out who was in a hurry and damaged the machine. So on April 16th, he did send that guy out there to do the fix once again and it was ****. Well needless to say it was the wrong part and **** went out to his truck and called the warehouse to see if they had the right part I needed. He (****) came back into my home and told me they had one left in their TN warehouse and it would be overnighted to them and then he would be back to fix it. I said ok and that I would talk to him the following week. So I had not heard nothing as of Monday, April 21st so I called the store. **** answered and as usual knew nothing and then I was told he was going to check into it and call me back. Well an hour and a half later **** calls me and gives me some lame story of the part will be ordered today cause he had to do some research on the correct part and so on and so forth. I had told him that he straight out lied to me then when he stood in my home and told me that they had the part in their warehouse in TN and it would be overnighted. So anyway my husband and I have been going to the laundry mat at least once a week and doing our wash there and bringing it home to dry it in our dryer. This is taking time and money and mind you that every visit that Howie Voight has done to our house so far I have to take the time off of work cause they dont work weekends and they dont work evenings either. We are going on appt number five now whenever they call to set that up.

Desired Settlement: I am not sure what I would consider a desired outcome. After what we have been through and going to the laundry mat every week for a month now and having to take time off of work for every time they have to come over here they should make sure our washer is running like it should be and refund our cost of our soap dish just for all these issues we have had since they stepped foot in our house.

Business Response: We’ve apologize for all of the misunderstandings, our lack of communications and length of time to complete the repair. We understand how this can be very frustrating. This repair was very unique and our technician made the mistake of accidently pinching a wire during reassembly of the washer. In the days following this complaint, the repair was completed at no additional charge. We hand delivered them there receipt, apology letter and a refund check for $100.00 for their inconveniences. We hope they give us another opportunity to offer a better service experience in the future. At Howie Voigt Appliance Our goal is to satisfy 100% of our customers. We take great pride in our top rating with the BBB and will do everything possible to ensure 100% customer satisfaction.

**** ******* ******* 







 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

****** *****   

1/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a washing machine from Van Vreedes, a reputable local furniture and appliance business in Appleton, WI. The washing machine broke after only 5 loads of wash and after owning it for only a week and a half. I picked up the telephone and dialed Van Vreede's to inform them the machine had broke. They said they would have someone from Howie Voigt come out to my house to do the repair. (Van Vreede's hires out their major appliance repairs to Howie Voigt Appliance of Appleton). When I was transferred over the telephone to someone at Howie Voight Appliance, the man on the phone, named ***, was extremely disrespectful and rude. He refused to send out a service guy at a time that would work for my husband and I (we are only available between 8-9am or after 4pm). He said that his business operates from 8am-5pm and he could only give me a three hour window. He quickly raised his voice at me over the telephone, became verbally aggressive, and then proceeded to call me sarcastic. He refused to work with us on setting up an acceptable time. I ended up having to end the phone call with him. No one deserves this sort of treatment from anybody. I am completely disgusted and have never been treated this way by any business in the past. I then called Van Vreede's and informed them of the bad service I received from the service repair company they hired out to fix our appliance.

Desired Settlement: I would like to inform the BBB of my experience with Howie Voigt Appliance for other consumers. I have heard other people having similar experiences with Howie Voigt Appliance of Appleton. No one deserves to be treated the way he treated me. If this man cannot keep his temper when working with customers, he should find a different profession.

Business Response: ***** ********** purchased her ********* washer on 11/15/2011. On 11/29/2011. she requested
an exchange because the washer failed. Unfortunately, major appliance manufacturers such as
********* will not allow their retailers to exchange product that fails one time and
requires product be repaired as the warranty states, (Manufacturers warranties have included
"repair" coverage instead of "replacement" coverage for several years making it difficult for
retailers caught in the middle.) Subsequently, home service call on 12/01/2011 I indicated the
washer was off balance. a minor adjustment; it was rebalanced and tested by the technician who
feels the washer should be fine. I left message for ***** to contact us in the event the machine
has any other problems. Finally, I personally addressed the attitude wilh Howie Voigts manager
***** expeienced .... when she scheduled her service call.
Sincerely,
******** *********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I did not want to exchange the product for a new one.  I wanted to return the product and purchase a more high quality washing machine (meaning I was willing to spend more money on a more expensive, higher quality washing machine, that will last longer).  They refused to allow me to return the product after I had only had the machine for just over a week.  I thought they had a 30 day return policy?  Now I am stuck with this lower-end washing machine because they refused to let me return it.  I am not satisfied and I will not purchase anything from this store again.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** **********

 

Business Response:

I spoke with ***** ********** regarding her concerns. We discussed possible solutions, ***** was very understanding and graciously agreed to keep the washer she has for now.
Best Regards, 
**** ***** *********
*** ****** ** * ********** **** *** ************* *****************