Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Appliances 'N More

Phone: (262) 691-3497 Fax: (262) 264-0294 View Additional Phone Numbers W265n2999 Peterson Dr, Pewaukee, WI 53072 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.appliancesnmore.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company services all major appliances including microwave ovens, washers/dryers, installs and repairs garbage disposals, dishwashers, hot water heaters and ranges.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Appliances 'N More meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Appliances 'N More include:

  • 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Appliances 'N More include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Appliances 'N More
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1974 Business started: 01/01/1974 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated 12/17/2009 in WI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Bernard L. Urbanowski, Owner Mr. Joyce A. Urbanowski, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bernard L. Urbanowski, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Joyce A. Urbanowski, Vice President
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Appliances - Small - Service & Repair Dishwashing Machines - Service & Repair Washing Machines & Dryers - Service & Repair Water Heaters - Repairing Dishwashing Machines - Supplies & Parts Garbage Disposal Equipment - Supplies & Parts Garbage Disposals - Household Ranges & Ovens - Service & Repair Ranges & Ovens - Supplies & Parts Appliance Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811412)

Alternate Business Names
Appliances & More Fix It Shop Appliances 'N More, LLC The Fix It Shop

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Appliances 'N More has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • W265n2999 Peterson Dr

    Pewaukee, WI 53072 (262) 691-3497 (262) 613-0278 (262) 446-0441

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Technician served my GE Microwave on 10/31/15. Charged $185.00. I was told it was a thermostat problem, but he did not replace any parts. He did call a parts service and couldn't get the part so he somehow did something with the wiring to make the appliance work. He guaranteed me he would stand behind his work and gave me no receipt of indication that there was a warranty period. On 12/20/15 the appliance again shut down and would not operate. I called and was told he would come out on service on 12/22/15, no mention was made of any warranty period. No one came on 12/22 and I called and was told he physically could not do the job due to a vertigo issue and that he would refund the $185.00. I in the meantime contacted Radke Appliance who came out to service the unit. The told me that they needed to replace a thermo fuse and that whoever had served the unit had done somethine to the wiring that showed signs of burning and could have caused a fire. On 12/24/15 I received a text message from this business saying that they would not refund the $185.00 due to it was out of warranty on the repair. Yes 2 days later I was told they would come out, then they couldn't come and they would send me a check. They didn't even call me just a text message. This business is shoddy and does not back up what they are telling consumers.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of $185.00 the cost of the service that wasn't done safely or correctly. The unit was repaired by another reputable appliance service.

Business Response: I am very sorry about this situation, but we stand behind our warranty.  We are not going to refund any amount.  Yes it is true that the service person has vertigo. I do not know what he told the customer, but I do not think he realized what it was all about.  There was no way he would have been able to do any service call.  Again, we are very sorry but we stand behind our rules.  I am sure if he was well, he certainly would have helped her out.  He was not responsible for the situation he was in.  He tried calling her, but she had already got someone else.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* *****

I thought this was a legitimate business and there were more than 1 repairman.  I am sorry for the health issue, but I couldn't wait for it to reconcile itself.  When I talked to this business, they said they would refund my $185.00, because they could not back their warranty, a day later I get a 2nd text telling me NO refund.  I still want my $185.00.

I do have the texts from this business if needed.

Business Response: To begin with,  there was no warranty when the customer called.  ****** just thought it was a recall and he was going to take care of it, but he soon realized he was not able to function because of the vertigo.  We then went back into our records and seen that the service work was done almost two months ago.  We offer a 30 day warranty as most businesses do.  I do not believe that ****** offered to refund her $185.00.  If he said that, which I dought, he did not realize the situation at the time.  He also is dealing with dementia. As for calling us a shoddy business,  we have been in business for over 35 years, ran four stores and had many employees in the past.  Now we are retired and are just a mom & pop organization.  Because of ******s illness, we have fallen behind in our business obligations.  We had to make four installments to the BBB to keep our membership.  ****** is still not functioning very well and it has effected our income.  We do not have the funds to pay out $185.00 as the customer wants and we feel that it is not right for her to expect this.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* *****

8/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Appliances n' More out to repair a microwave on Friday June 26,2015 .The man Bernard L. U********* checked it over did not find the problem. I told him it ran off and on .He charged me $ 135.00 and told me if it does it again call him .It malfunctioned within the hour and I called and left a message .He didn't call me back .I called one more time the next day ,again no return call. I didn't call him Sunday ,I waited till Monday and used my cell phone : he answered. I told him the problem and reminded him he had a 100% guarantee when was he coming back? I was nice but I could tell he was not going to honor anything .I told him I should receive a refund minus his travel charge .I told him I would report him if he didn't I asked for $50.00 back at least .he sent me $35.00 .

Desired Settlement: He should honor the 100% guarantee .He did not have the decency to return two phone calls .I could have even understood if he was gone for the weekend .The only time I got upset is when I asked him to honor his yellow pages add and that my problem had Not been resolved .I told him if I didn't receive a refund I would report him to the Better Business Bureau because he has your logo in his add. He must have thought the problem was the control panel or at least that's what he told me .He said Jenn Air didn't make it anymore ,that was a lie and an excuse ,the company told me different . I think for all the problems he caused and all the wasted time ,he should refund an additional $75.00 .

Business Response: I am very sorry that there was a misunderstanding on the refund amount.  I will gladly refund the difference of the stated amount of $50.00 which would be $15.00.  Customer already cashed the $35.00 check.  There is no way that I will send another $75.00.  Joyce

Business Response: At this point I am finished with this person.  I am not going to issue her another penny.  She is crazy and unreasonable.  What right does she have dictating to us on what to advertise.  We have been in business for over 35 years with many satisfied customers.  I wash my hands of this person. Do not bother me anymore. 

Consumer Response: They can keep their money their whole tone tells you what kind of business manner they have .I never dictated how to run their business ,I merely pointed out their very own

advertisement  claims. So , I am NOT satisfied with them , and I hope the BBB removes their seal from their future ads.  This is my last response .
              
                                                                                                                ***** ********

5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a Sharp drawer microwave oven (built-in) that is not working. I contacted (******) from Appliances n More. He first came to my house on 10-10-14. He took the entire microwave apart, put it back together, and said nothing was wrong. Diagnosed the problem as being: poor contact with a switch. This took over 3 hours and cost $150.00. (Note: I had to help lift the unit which weighs over 100# because he recently had carpal tunnel surgery.) We tested the unit before he left and it worked, however, the following morning it didn't. Appliances n More called. He didn't return to fix until 1-2-15. At that time he replaced the switch and charged me $75.00. I was under the impression that I wouldn't be charged for this visit, however, he stated he would guarantee the microwave for 1 year including parts/labor and further trip fees. Tested before he left and again it worked, however, later in the day it didn't. I was very upset!! I called ******, and he stated he would come and repair as promised. Scheduled to repair on 2-27-15 in the morning. By 1pm he had not arrived. I called and he answered. I said I was done with his services and he hung up on me. I called back and he did not answer. I left a message stating I was going to file a report with the BBB. I would like my $225.00 back so I can put it toward the purchase of a new microwave oven. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. The entire $225.00! People need to be aware of the poor service I received from this establishment.

Business Response: Gentlemen,  As I explained on the phone, we never received any information on this problem on the 27th of February.  We are sorry that things went wrong on this service call, but we did try to rectify the problem.  ****** had an appointment to go back to the location, but we had an oversite happen.  We had a medical emergency and he had to take his wife to the hospital because she cut her leg.  In his eyes, his wife is Number 1.  We did not realize that we missed the appointment until that evening.  When ****** tried to call and reschedule, she would not consider it.  Very rude, not caring, ignoring our phone calls.  ****** was very upset.  He loves what he does and his aim is to make every one happy.  Thats why he is called ******. We agree that he went there twice and the problem was not corrected, but she was so rude she hung up on him and would not give him another chance.  She told him not to come there when he called and said he was on the way.  There is no chance that we will refund a penny to that woman.     Thank You   ***** **********   ( *** **** )

Business Response: I am very sorry to hear the customers response.  I will agree to her request if that will make her happy.  I do have to add, that ****** was hurting at the time of service because he had just gone through carpal tunnel surgery which restricted his movements.  He probably should not have taken the job or had his partner there to help him.  ****** told me the area he had to work in was so small and nearly impossible.  He loves to fix and make his customers happy.  He likes leaving them with a smile on their face. I might add that I am sorry to have offended the customer by saying she was a former customer of ours, but her name and address sounded familiar.  Sincerely   *****  ******* * ****

Consumer Response:

On Sun, 17 May at 7:51 PM , ***** ****** *********************** wrote:

Dear Better Business Bureau:
I'm satisfied that Appliances 'N More has accepted my request. Please have them send me my refund ($150) so we can we have closure.
I'm tired of hearing their excuses. 
Future customers beware.
Sincerely,
***** ******
Complaint ID ********

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Appliances 'N More
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart