Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Russell's of Neillsville

Additional Locations

Phone: (715) 743-4742 Fax: (715) 743-2306 211 W 8th St, Neillsville, WI 54456 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.russellsofneillsville.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers; hardware, appliances, cabinets and counter tops, all types of flooring, custom blinds, heating and cooling equipment, plumbing and electrical supplies, paint & supplies, lawn and garden merchandise along with sporting goods and more.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Russell's of Neillsville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Russell's of Neillsville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Russell's of Neillsville
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 02, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1932 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1932 Business incorporated 10/28/2002 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
1400 East Washington Ave, Room 112, Madison WI 53703
http://www.dsps.wi.gov
Phone Number: (608) 266-2112
Fax Number: 608-267-0644

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Bruce M. Rakestraw, Owner Mrs. Mandy Mortenson, Co-Owner Mr. Travis Mortenson, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bruce M. Rakestraw, Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Cabinets Countertops Electric Equipment & Supplies - Retail Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies Hardware - Retail Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail Sporting Goods - Retail Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Heating Equipment Cabinet Refacing Resilient & Vinyl Flooring Blinds Floors - Hardwood Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Floors - Laminate Heating Contractors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Heating & Air Conditioning Tile - Non-Ceramic - Manufacturers & Distributors Furniture Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423210)

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Su: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
BMAA Enterprises LLC

Additional Locations

  • 211 W 8th St

    Neillsville, WI 54456 (715) 743-4742

  • PO Box 366

    Neillsville, WI 54456

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased recliner from russels and it was broken so thsy had to replace the mechamism and returned to me. Since then when I sit down in said chair it opens by itself and when I lean back makes a big klunking sound. Russels picked up chair and let three customers sit in it and said nothing was wrong, but when their man was here it did just as I have stated twice in his presence. russells called and said I will be getting my chair back on Monday in as is condition.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back, if he wont then I'll go to the credit card company and have them get the money back for selling me junk and not giving one hoot about its customers which I will never be one again

Business Response:

I would like to respond to Mr. ******'s complaint by explaining the actions that we have taken to fix the problem with his recliner.  I would like to start out by saying that on August 13, 2012 Mr. ****** purchased the recliner for $469.48 and Russell's of Neillsville delivered it that same day.  At the begining of October Mr. ****** called and said there was a problem with his new recliner.  On October 9, 2012, ***** (a salesperson) went to look at the recliner and told Mr. ****** that there was definately a problem with the mechanism on his recliner, which happens sometimes, a new mechanism was ordered that day.  On October 31, 2012 the recliner was picked up and brought back to our store to change the mechanism, after making sure all was working well, the recliner was returned to Mr. ****** the next day.  On November 2, 2012 Mr. ****** called the store and said the foot rest on the recliner keeps popping open when he sits down in it.  So that day we had the repair man go look at the recliner at Mr. ******'s home.  Mr. ****** was right, when he sat in it the foot rest popped open, so the repair man brought it back to the store once again.  Once back at the store, we could not make the recliner do the same action.  Numerous employee's of different sizes tried making the foot rest pop open and it never happened once.  Everything on the recliner was the way it was supposed to be.  We came to the conclusion that Mr. ****** must not be closing the foot rest all the way (locking it) when he gets out of the recliner.  We then tried to do the same when we got out of the recliner (not closing the foot rest completely) and every time we sat back in it, the foot rest popped open (when it wasn't locked in the first place).  *****, the owner, called Mr. ****** on November 3rd to ask him to come to the store and see how the recliner worked and explain to him what we presume is happening.  Mr. ****** responded by sreaming and swearing into the phone and refusing to come to the store, he also was demanding his money back.  On November 5, 2012 we returned the recliner to Mr. ****** and explaind what the problem was with the recliner. 

I feel that we have done everything possible to take care to Mr. ******.  There are certain steps that **** ********* (the brand of the recliner) takes in replacing a piece of furniture.  Replacing a piece that is working the way it is supposed to work is not something that they will do.  I would like Mr. ****** aware that Russell's of Neillsville is not the manufacturer of his recliner, we have done everything we can to help him, his recliner is working the way it is supposed to.  We can not refund his money, the only thing I can recomend to him, if hen is truly dissatisfied with the recliner is to call **** ********* and they will have someone come look at his recliner and see what they think is wrong. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ******

The recliner is starting to grind like it did when they had to put in a new mechanism, also when tech was here he noticed along with myself that the recliner made a big klunking sound, he even got on his hand and knees and confirmed this. I do not want a chair that grinds when I open and close it plus klunks (SPRINGS) make loud noise as they are warranted for (FIVE) years. 

  Russells also did not tell the truth on who they had sit in my chair, the owner told me direct from his voice that he had several customers sit in my chair. I think he had know right doing this and is a bad practice to do.

  I told ***** that I will buy a new chair someplace else and he said very sarcastically don't forget to take it off of your taxes.

  Every person I see in the future I will be certain to tell them of my bad experience at russells and if they have any brains to stay away.

 

Business Response:

In response to Mr. ******'s complaint, I must make a point in saying that we have sold thousands of recliners over the years.  Very rarely does a mechansim need replacing within two months of purchase, but it has happened a few times.  In every instance of replaceing a mechanism, never have we had to replace it again.  Mr. ****** is complaining of his recliner still not being fixed, it made no noises and worked perfect when we brought it back to him.  The only reason it would be making noises and not working properly, at this point, is due to intentional abuse to the recliner.  **** ********** do warranty their mechanism for five years, but in no way do they warranty a SECOND mechanism within one week. 

As to whom sat in the recliner, we had all the employees sit in it to see if they could get it to do what Mr. ****** was saying was happening.  We did also have two very good customers sit in it, and they also could not see what was wrong with it.  I don't think that is "bad practice", only getting more oppinions on whether or not the recliner is working right.  We asked Mr. ****** to come to the store (only a few blocks away) to make sure HE thought it was working right., but he refused.

I would like to ad that in dealing with Mr. ******, we have had to listen to his abusive and inapropriate language many times, and I don't think that is something that anybody needs to hear.

I am sorry if Mr. ****** thinks that all we have done is not enough. 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ******

Why doesn't the owner come to my house and have me sit in chair if front of him? Also I don't like someone telling me I would break my chair on purpose and think he better get off his high horse and get this problem fixed