BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Wisconsin

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states it offers the sale of furniture, hardware, appliances, heating and cooling equipment, paint, lawn and garden merchandise, and the rental of tools & equipment. Also providing all types of flooring.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Russell's of Neillsville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Russell's of Neillsville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Russell's of Neillsville
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 02, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1932 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1932 Business incorporated: 10/28/2002 in WI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
1400 East Washington Ave, Room 112, Madison WI 53703
http://www.dsps.wi.gov
Phone Number: (608) 266-2112
Fax Number: 608-267-0644

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Bruce M. Rakestraw, Owner Mrs. Mandy Mortenson, Co-Owner Mr. Travis Mortenson, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bruce M. Rakestraw, Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Cabinets Countertops Hardware - Retail Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Heating Equipment Cabinet Refacing Vinyl Flooring Blinds Floors - Hardwood Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Floors - Laminate Heating Contractors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Heating & Air Conditioning Tile - Non-Ceramic - Manufacturers & Distributors Furniture Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423210)

Alternate Business Names
BMAA Enterprises LLC

Additional Locations

  • 211 W 8th St

    Neillsville, WI 54456 (715) 743-4742

  • PO Box 366

    Neillsville, WI 54456

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased recliner from russels and it was broken so thsy had to replace the mechamism and returned to me. Since then when I sit down in said chair it opens by itself and when I lean back makes a big klunking sound. Russels picked up chair and let three customers sit in it and said nothing was wrong, but when their man was here it did just as I have stated twice in his presence. russells called and said I will be getting my chair back on Monday in as is condition.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back, if he wont then I'll go to the credit card company and have them get the money back for selling me junk and not giving one hoot about its customers which I will never be one again

Business Response:

I would like to respond to Mr. ******'s complaint by explaining the actions that we have taken to fix the problem with his recliner.  I would like to start out by saying that on August 13, 2012 Mr. ****** purchased the recliner for $469.48 and Russell's of Neillsville delivered it that same day.  At the begining of October Mr. ****** called and said there was a problem with his new recliner.  On October 9, 2012, ***** (a salesperson) went to look at the recliner and told Mr. ****** that there was definately a problem with the mechanism on his recliner, which happens sometimes, a new mechanism was ordered that day.  On October 31, 2012 the recliner was picked up and brought back to our store to change the mechanism, after making sure all was working well, the recliner was returned to Mr. ****** the next day.  On November 2, 2012 Mr. ****** called the store and said the foot rest on the recliner keeps popping open when he sits down in it.  So that day we had the repair man go look at the recliner at Mr. ******'s home.  Mr. ****** was right, when he sat in it the foot rest popped open, so the repair man brought it back to the store once again.  Once back at the store, we could not make the recliner do the same action.  Numerous employee's of different sizes tried making the foot rest pop open and it never happened once.  Everything on the recliner was the way it was supposed to be.  We came to the conclusion that Mr. ****** must not be closing the foot rest all the way (locking it) when he gets out of the recliner.  We then tried to do the same when we got out of the recliner (not closing the foot rest completely) and every time we sat back in it, the foot rest popped open (when it wasn't locked in the first place).  *****, the owner, called Mr. ****** on November 3rd to ask him to come to the store and see how the recliner worked and explain to him what we presume is happening.  Mr. ****** responded by sreaming and swearing into the phone and refusing to come to the store, he also was demanding his money back.  On November 5, 2012 we returned the recliner to Mr. ****** and explaind what the problem was with the recliner. 

I feel that we have done everything possible to take care to Mr. ******.  There are certain steps that **** ********* (the brand of the recliner) takes in replacing a piece of furniture.  Replacing a piece that is working the way it is supposed to work is not something that they will do.  I would like Mr. ****** aware that Russell's of Neillsville is not the manufacturer of his recliner, we have done everything we can to help him, his recliner is working the way it is supposed to.  We can not refund his money, the only thing I can recomend to him, if hen is truly dissatisfied with the recliner is to call **** ********* and they will have someone come look at his recliner and see what they think is wrong. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ******

The recliner is starting to grind like it did when they had to put in a new mechanism, also when tech was here he noticed along with myself that the recliner made a big klunking sound, he even got on his hand and knees and confirmed this. I do not want a chair that grinds when I open and close it plus klunks (SPRINGS) make loud noise as they are warranted for (FIVE) years. 

  Russells also did not tell the truth on who they had sit in my chair, the owner told me direct from his voice that he had several customers sit in my chair. I think he had know right doing this and is a bad practice to do.

  I told ***** that I will buy a new chair someplace else and he said very sarcastically don't forget to take it off of your taxes.

  Every person I see in the future I will be certain to tell them of my bad experience at russells and if they have any brains to stay away.

 

Business Response:

In response to Mr. ******'s complaint, I must make a point in saying that we have sold thousands of recliners over the years.  Very rarely does a mechansim need replacing within two months of purchase, but it has happened a few times.  In every instance of replaceing a mechanism, never have we had to replace it again.  Mr. ****** is complaining of his recliner still not being fixed, it made no noises and worked perfect when we brought it back to him.  The only reason it would be making noises and not working properly, at this point, is due to intentional abuse to the recliner.  **** ********** do warranty their mechanism for five years, but in no way do they warranty a SECOND mechanism within one week. 

As to whom sat in the recliner, we had all the employees sit in it to see if they could get it to do what Mr. ****** was saying was happening.  We did also have two very good customers sit in it, and they also could not see what was wrong with it.  I don't think that is "bad practice", only getting more oppinions on whether or not the recliner is working right.  We asked Mr. ****** to come to the store (only a few blocks away) to make sure HE thought it was working right., but he refused.

I would like to ad that in dealing with Mr. ******, we have had to listen to his abusive and inapropriate language many times, and I don't think that is something that anybody needs to hear.

I am sorry if Mr. ****** thinks that all we have done is not enough. 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ******

Why doesn't the owner come to my house and have me sit in chair if front of him? Also I don't like someone telling me I would break my chair on purpose and think he better get off his high horse and get this problem fixed

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing this for my mother ******** *********** as she is ill and only recently discharged from the hospital. ******** agreed to purchase a lane electric chair from Russell's of neillsville to help her with her disability. Shortly after it was delivered she called Russells and told them that the chair would not work for her and she would like to return it. The ***** told her he didn't want to but would refund half of the $347.?? dollars she paid( $36.00 of which was tax) She agreed and later that day became ill and ended up in the hospital for almost a week. At that time the Doctor told me that ******** would be unable to live alone and we started making arrangement's for her to live with us. ******** told me about the chair and we went to Russells the day she got out of the hospital and tried to speak to the *****, only to be told by ***** (a ***********) that he was out at the bar or lunch or somewhere and she had no idea when he would be back. I (**** ***********) call the next day and spoke to the*****, only to find that he refused to honor his agreement with ******** and threatening her with court if the chair was not paid for immediately. Neither ******** nor I have the money to pay for this chair and it sits unused, covered in her bedroom.

Desired Settlement: ******** would like a full refund as the chair is unused other than her trying to get it to work right after delivery.

Business Response:

I am writing in response to a complaint made by **** *********** (ID # *******).  I would like to clear up a few things regarding his complaint. 

1.   The Lane Power Recliner being discussed was purchased and delivered on July 2, 2012.  This was done with an agreement that the recliner would be paid in full that day of delivery.  As it was, only half was paid, $347.50, with a promise that the other half would be paid in full by August 3, 2012. 

2.   ******** never called the store "shortly after delivery" to try to return it.  She was never told that she would be refunded half the amount paid.

3.   On July 24, 2012******** and her son came to the store to explain what had happened.  They were told that myself (*****) and***** (the *****) would have to come look at the recliner, but that we do not refund used furniture.  They were NEVER told that***** was at the bar, but he was at lunch and would be back in about an hour. 

4.   After ***** returned from lunch, he and myself (*****) went to********** appartment, as we were told she would be there with the recliner, and nobody answered.  We called twice that afternoon and twice the next morning.  But no answer.

5.   On July 26, 2012 we finally talked to ********** son and told him that we do not take back used furniture. The recliner was picked out and purchased by ******** herself, if she could not afford it, then she should never have purchased it.  We were aslo told by our delivery men that ********** appartment smelled like cigarettes, we can NOT resell a recliner that smells like smoke.

6.   I then sent out a letter to******** informing her of all the actions.  I have attached the letter that was sent.

I would just like to make clear that I (*****) have been the one dealing with this whole situation, from the begining of the sale.  The points made above are the CORRECT ones.

I would be willing to help ******** resell the recliner.  If she is willing to make arangments to bring the recliner to our store, Russell's of Neillsville, I will try to sell it for her.  If the recliner is sold, I will keep the $347.50 she still owes on the recliner and give her what is left.  If she is not willing to do this, court actions must be taken.  I think we have been more than fair to ******** in this whole thing.

Thank You,

*****

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******** ***********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.