Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Brothers Main, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (608) 221-7860 Fax: (608) 221-7862 2050 S Stoughton Rd, Madison, WI 53716 http://www.brothersmain.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers major appliance sales, including televisions, electronics, home heaters, BBQs, dehumidifiers, video, and mattresses.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brothers Main, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brothers Main, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Brothers Main, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 30, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1938 in WI Business started locally: 01/01/1938 Business under new ownership as of: 06/01/2000 Business incorporated 06/22/2001 in WI
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Ottman, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Ottman, Co-Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Appliances - Small - Dealers Compactors - Waste - Household - Dealers Garbage Disposals - Household Home Theater Mattresses Ranges & Ovens - Dealers Refrigerators & Freezers - Dealers Television & Radio - Dealers Video Equipment - Sales & Rentals Washers Home Electronics Dehumidifying Equipment Range Hoods & Canopies Household Appliance Stores (NAICS: 443141)

Products & Services

Brothers Main, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Amana, Broan, Electrolux, Frigidaire, Icomfort, Inada, Kitchen Aid, LG, Maytag, Samsung, Serta , Speed Queen, Toshiba, Ventahood, Whirlpool

Brothers Main, Inc. offers the following product(s): Appliances, Cooktops, Dishwashers, Dryers, Freezers, Home Appliances, Massage Chairs, Mattresses, Microwaves, Ranges, Refrigerators, TV, Wall Ovens, Washers

Hours of Operation
M: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
S: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Visa, American Express, Master Card, Personal check, Discover Card, Brothers Main Card with finance programs available to approved credit, Cash.
Refund and Exchange Policy
30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee
It's simple: It's not yours until you like it.
If for any reason you are unsatisfied with any purchase from Brothers Main, return it in good condition, within 30 days, and we will cheerfully exchange the product. If we don't have a suitable replacement, we will refund your money.
Alternate Business Names
Brothers Main Appliance & TV The Brothers Main

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Brothers Main, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1800 Humes Rd

    Janesville, WI 53545 (608) 314-8663

  • 2050 S Stoughton Rd

    Madison, WI 53716 (608) 221-7860

  • 7968 Tree Ln

    Madison, WI 53717 (608) 221-7865

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent the following email to Mr. ******, Mr. ******, and Mr. ******* at Brothers Main, which summarizes the complaint: I’m writing to express my disappointment and frustration with warranty service on my LG washing machine. My husband and I purchased the machine in September 2013, after much research into the reliability and dependability of the product. We decided to buy from Brothers Main given that we prefer to support the local economy when possible. Over the weekend of May 31, 2014 the washing machine stopped draining. There was no problem with the drain line. On Monday, June 2, I called Brothers Main, where I had purchased the washing machine. Things went very smoothly at first. **** was quite helpful in referring me to ******* ******* for warranty repair and she faxed our invoice to them. ******* ******* was able to schedule a service call for Wednesday, June 4. The service man came out and spent about 15 minutes looking at the washer before telling me that it needed a new control panel. I asked how long it would take and he shrugged his shoulders. I asked for a ballpark and he said 3-4 days. After hearing nothing from ******* ******* for a week, I called on Wednesday, June 11 to check on the status of the part. I was told by the woman who answered the telephone that they were waiting to hear back from LG about which of two different control panels needed to be ordered for my washing machine. She said they hadn’t heard back from LG, but that she would ask John to follow up again with them that day. She told me that someone would get back with me on the status. I didn’t hear from ******* ******* on Thursday, June 12, so I called Brothers Main. I explained the situation and was told by the man who answered the phone that **** was out for the day, but that he would have her call me in the morning. She did not return my call. I called ******* ******* again on Friday, June 13, in the afternoon, and was initially told that they could not tell me the status of the part, as they were moving locations and had that information boxed up. When I said that I was told on Wednesday that someone would get back to me the reply was “oh, it’s you.” Then, she said she would check with John on the status. She came back on the line and reported that the part had been ordered and that it should be in early the following week. She indicated that she “assumed” it was in stock. Again, after hearing nothing from ******* ******* or Brothers Main, I called ******* ******* on Thursday, June 19, to inquire about the status of the part. I was told it was on backorder and that it should be in the following week, but that there were no guarantees that would be the case. I immediately followed up with Brothers Main and spoke with ****. **** said that she would be in touch with her representative at LG to see if he could assist in getting the part expedited. **** got back to me the same day, and indicated that the part would be rushed to ******* ******* – if we were lucky, it would be in the next day, otherwise it would be there early the following week. I assumed this meant that it would be overnighted and that, at the very latest, ******* ******* would have the part by Monday, June 23. While this was a relief, this could have been accomplished almost a week prior, had **** returned my call on June 13 as expected. Unfortunately, I did not hear from either Brothers Main or ******* ******* on Friday, June 20 or Monday, June 23, as I’d hoped. I called ******* ******* on Tuesday, June 24, and they told me the part had not arrived. I called **** who indicated that she was going to check with her representative at LG as to the status of the part. I did not hear back from her that day, and my husband called her and was able to touch base with her. She suggested that he call LG directly, as she was still waiting to hear back from her rep. My husband contacted LG, and they could only confirm that an order was placed on June 19 for the part, but even that was unclear. The representative and supervisor he spoke with at LG indicated that they do not rush any part orders (they have ground-only contracts with UPS and FedEx) and they could not confirm if the part had been sent out yet. When asked how parts leave the warehouse, the supervisor replied “by gravity.” This morning, after not hearing anything by around 11:30 a.m., my husband left another message for ****. She called me a little after noon. She informed me that ******* ******* was, for some unknown reason, not getting the part. Apparently the rep couldn’t rush a part to ******* *******, as she had told me the week before, but she apparently didn’t learn that until today. Her solution was to re-dispatch the call to a different service provider, who she assured me can get the part. I told her what my husband had been told by LG – that they could not “rush” a part and that it would be at least 3-5 days to process and order, and then there is ship time. So, if that holds, we will have gone longer than 30 days without a functioning washing machine. Even if it’s fixed today (which it doesn’t sound like is a possibility), we’re on day 24 from when I notified Brothers Main of the problem. Throughout all of the calls, up until today, my husband and I remained calm, only expressing that it was irritating to go this long without a washing machine, and asking time and again what could be done to expedite things. If it was a dryer or a dishwasher, it wouldn’t be that important to us – it’s our washing machine, and hauling laundry around isn’t a workable solution for weeks on end – especially when we have, essentially, a brand new machine! While the folks we’ve spoken with at Brothers Main and ******* ******* were pleasant, they weren’t actually helpful. The supervisor at LG was not particularly pleasant, and we’re still trying to figure out his “gravity” comment. ******* ******* did the minimum in terms of follow up with LG (who knows how long they would have waited to follow up after not hearing which of the two parts should be ordered had I not called a week after the diagnostic service call – and if the part really wasn’t ordered until June 19, they weren’t up front with us about the fact that the order had not been placed) and they never reached out to Brothers Main to seek their assistance – I had to do that. When I did, once **** reached out to her rep, she seemed to wash her hands of things until I followed up, and then we learned that she was, apparently, misinformed about the rep’s ability to rush the part. LG is now aware of the problem (both through ****’s contact with a rep and by my husband’s call), and they’ve done nothing to rectify things. It simply shouldn’t take this much persistence or time to get warranty service on a 9 month old washing machine. Today, I expressed more frustration with ****. I suggested that Brothers Main take responsibility for the defective machine sold to me 9 months ago, and that you all deal with LG on getting it reimbursed. I know it’s not ****’s fault that my washing machine is broken, but to offer nothing other than more hassle and run-around, after three and a half weeks is unacceptable. If I ordered a new machine from Brothers Main (or anywhere else) today, I would almost certainly have it faster than it getting fixed, even with a new repair person on the job. Perhaps the repair service could have used a control panel from a new machine to replace ours, or Brothers Main could make the broken machine its problem to deal with directly with LG while providing us with a usable washer. I’d even settle for a laundry service until the problem is fixed. I wonder how many of the employees at ******* ******* or Brothers Main would put up without a washing machine for nearly a month. Or, how many would expect their family members or friends to do the same. I have spoken with plenty of my friends and family members and they are appalled by the lack of customer service and follow through on all fronts. They’re amazed by our patience. They expect that, by this point, Brothers Main and/or LG would have coordinated to get us a new washing machine. Suffice it to say, I’m extremely frustrated with the lack of actual customer service – it’s been a whole lot of talk with no action. Somewhere along the line, someone hasn’t been telling the truth. There’s a lot of finger pointing (**** suggested it’s a ******* ******* problem, ******* ******* has said it’s an LG problem). This is a product you sell and that I purchased, very recently in the life of an appliance, and no one is taking responsibility for getting it fixed in a timely manner. To add additional stress, when I spoke with **** a little after noon today, she assured me that the new repair person would be calling me within a matter of minutes, but that was over an hour ago, and I haven’t heard anything. Again, we’ll take it upon ourselves to follow up. I would hope that you care more about your customers than what has been demonstrated.

Desired Settlement: I need a working washing machine ASAP.

Business Response: The 9 month old washer was under manufacturers warranty and LG  had a factory authorized service agent not affiliated with our business out to repair it. The service agent had some problems getting the appropriate parts for the washer. Our Customer Service representative contacted the parties involved and a 2nd servicer to expedite the repairs. We also have loaned a washer to the customer to use until repairs were completed. We have been informed by the service company that the parts are in but the customer has delayed the final repair due to family issues.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from the business is not accurate. Brother's Main dispatched the call to the initial servicer, not LG. We were not told to contact LG directly for over two weeks - and then it was to check on the status of the part order ourselves. It was not until we indicated that we would involve the media (after nearly a month without a working machine) that Brother's Main finally offered to provide a loaner machine. We accepted that offer. The part did arrive, and the first opportunity the servicer had to make the repair did not work for our family. We had the servicer out at the second offered opportunity. For Brother's Main to indicate that we delayed service is disingenuous, but consistent with the very poor customer service we experienced.

Regards,

****** *********

 

 

Business Response: We have been in contact with the customer and have been informed that the repairs to the washer have been completed.

11/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We remodeled our kitchen last winter. We have had everything rewired by a licensed electrician and is up to code. On March 6th, 2013 we purchased new appliances from Brothers Main in Madison, Wisconsin. We have had nothing but trouble with the range we purchased. It is a kitchen aid range item number **********. Our appliances were delivered on March 22, 2013 on May 13, 2013 the oven stopped working. The only feature that was available was broil. Anything else we received a message that said "Feature not available". We contacted Brothers Main, they sent out a service technician who ordered the part that was supposedly defective. We waited 2 weeks for ******* *** to send the part. I was told since it was coming from the west coast it would take 2 weeks and there was nothing they could do about it. When the part came in it too was defective, so I asked that the part be sent over night since it had been approximately 3 weeks since I had been able to use my oven. The part was sent overnight, however no service was schedule so another 2 weeks passed and I had to call to find out what was going on. My oven was then fixed on June 10th, on June 15th I had an accident and was hospitalized. My husband used the oven once or twice. We then went away for 2 weeks so that I could recovery from my injuries. We returned home on July 8th and the oven stopped working again on July 9th. I then called and left a message for *** ********* ** ******** ***** ***** ******, he had the service department call me. I am still waiting for him to call me to try to resolve this problem. I demanded a new oven and was told that *** ********* approved that one would be delivered on July 20th. It was not. We received it on July 26th. On October 5th upon returning from a funeral, I found that once again my oven did not work. The message was the same "feature not available". I then called Brothers Main and spoke to **** *****. I tried to explain the situation to him and he told me that "There is Nothing I can do for you." He also said that he was thinking about purchasing the same item and that they have sold a lot of that model and have had no problems with it and told me that the problem was on our end and that I would have to call ******* *** to schedule a repair call. Which I did, but they are not open on Saturdays. So I called back on Monday when from work, when I was on break, and spoke to a women in Michigan and she told me I had to check several things before they would send anyone out to look at it. We tried what she told us to, the main item being that the oven was not in demo mode (which it was not). I then called ******* *** back and spoke to a women in *********. She scheduled a service call. When the technician came to the house the oven for whatever reason worked. It worked for 7 days. Given our schedules for that week and that the oven was not working the previous weekend, I planned meals that were made on the stove top or in the crock pot, so we only used the oven twice that week. Now it is Friday, October 25th and I was baking chicken for supper and went to check on it, and the oven was off. I tried to restart the oven and received the message. "Feature not available".

Desired Settlement: I want a new oven that works.  I also want an extended warranty that covers all parts,labor, service and service calls for the life of all the appliances we purchased, not just the oven. The warranty request is for peace of mind, since we have had so many problems with the products purchased and the fact that Brothers Main & ******* *** are not willing to stand behind the products they sell.

Business Response:   My partner ****** ****** and our consumer advocate ***** have been working with this customer to assure she gets the warranty service she is entitled to from ******* *** to fix this range. A service call with ******* *** has been scheduled.