BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

S & J Enterprise, LLC

(316) 734-53803822 N Lakecrest Ct, WichitaKS 67205-5226http://www.sjtreeservicewichita.com

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

S & J Enterprise, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised S & J Enterprise, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on S & J Enterprise, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
10/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
***** ********** removed 2 trees, raised the canopy of another; left the debris behind our fence on city property; told us he would be back. NO SHOW.
In ****, S & J enterprises, owner ***** **********, was paid $****** cash to raise the canopy of a tree and do a total removal on two others. As promised his crew arrived @ 7:30am and promptly got to work. By 9am they were finished except for chipping the tree limbs; which were piled on city property (easement) It began to rain and ***** told us he would be back on Thursday. Since that time, he has been a NO SHOW. I have called several times only to get voice mail. Once, he did answer and said that he was just getting home from vacation but he would be there "sometime this weekend." Still a NO SHOW. I have called since then and gotten no answer. I called from my school/work phone leaving the message that I needed to talk to him about getting a tree removed. They called me back on **** I was called by an associate of *****'s and that they had gotten my message and wanted to know what tree work they could do for me. I told him I wanted the debris removed that was left from ****. He said, "wait a minute." and came back on the phone and said that they were doing a job down south and they would be there by 9am the next day (Thursday), which was a Thursday. I went home from work to see and they were still a NO SHOW. I then contacted the BBB to file a complaint. On Friday, ********* the city was at our house to begin clean up. We were told we would be cited. I called ***** from work and he answered his phone. He told me he would pay the citation if we got one. I asked him "how would I know because you haven't done anything you said you would as of yet." The debris is still in my back yard.

Desired Settlement
I would like the debris removed as promised, S & J to pay any citations that we receive and/or refund the $******

Business Response
We did remove a tree in the back yard and we had to place the debris on the easement as stated. There was no other way to remove it from there property. We should have made it back to remove that debris by now but we have not. I take responsibility for that and I am sorry. There has been much rain this year and the ground we have to travel on is very soft and at a steep angle. Our equipment weighs about 27,000lbs and with the weather this year it has proven difficult to get back there on that ground, and since then the trees on the easement have grown out and will have to be trimmed to gain access. That is not meant as an excuse but simply the facts. I was told that the city was behind ther cleaning up the debris the same day this complaint was filed. I talked to her on the phone and said I was sorry and had no excuse to give her and I understand that she was upset, she then informed me the city was there now and that she was afraid she would get a citation, I told her that we would pay any citation and that is the last contact I have had. So as far as I know the debris is cleaned up and there was no citations issued. We will do what ever is necessary to take care of this situation as it is directly our fault.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tree Service, Stump Grinding, Stump Removal & Grinding, Tree Service - Pruning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/15/2010Business started: 03/01/2010
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Shawn Williamson (Owner)
Business Category

Tree Service, Stump Grinding, Stump Removal & Grinding, Tree Service - Pruning

Products & Services

This company provides tree services including trimming, tree removal, stump removal and stump grinding.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for S & J Enterprise, LLC

3822 N Lakecrest Ct

Wichita, KS 67205-5226

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3822 N Lakecrest Ct 

    Wichita, KS 67205-5226(316) 734-5380

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*S & J Enterprise, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Tree Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

On at least one occasion, BBB sent mail to this company in an attempt to develop a report. The mail was returned by the Post Office; therefore a complete BBB report at this time is unavailable.

If you have information that would assist your BBB in developing a report, please speak with a BBB service advisor.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.