BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/19/2010

Energy Guard Midwest, LLC

(316) 260-3396View Additional Phone Numbers., WichitaKS 67203

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/19/2010

BBB has determined that Energy Guard Midwest, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Energy Guard Midwest, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Energy Guard Midwest, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
01/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a signed contract for class IV shingles to be installed. Energy Guard instead installed regular heritage shingles. They refuse to fix it.
I have a signed contract for class IV shingles to be installed. Energy Guard instead installed regular heritage shingles. They refuse to fix it.
I have made several calls to the company without any resolve. They are now not even taking my calls.

Desired Settlement
I would like my money returned.

Final Consumer Response
I have spoken with the general manager of the company. We are working now to come to a resolution. I do believe we will get something resolved soon.

10/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The written contract called for 3/4 inch plywood but 7/16 inch waffer board was instead used.
*** ***** gave me a written cash contract that called for using 3/4 inch plywood. *** said the rafters would be put on 16 inch centers. The workers used 7/16 waffer board, a cheaper and inferior product. On Monday ************, at 8:50am I called *** about this and he said he would talk to the crew and call me back that same afternoon..he never called back.

Desired Settlement
$****** plus full 20 year warranty.

08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Completely subpar installation of siding and weather wrap of eves and windows. No response or reply form company.
Energy Guard was hired and paid over $***** to install siding to an addition on our home and wrap the eves and windows. They also installed 1 exterior door and 1 gutter and downspout. I have had numerous pieces come off and many other issues. Caulking was not completed, several flashings were not finished, and general inferior work was performed. I have been over a year trying to get them to fix these problems with no luck. I did finally get ***** ******** out to look at this. EG called and wanted to know if I was interested in any other projects so I told them I needed another siding project. When *****, the manager at the ***** location, came out I confronted him about the horrible work previously done. He took a lot of pictures and promised to have it taken care of. He even told us the installer was no longer with the company, which is a lie. I have spoken with the installer since then. ***** nor anyone else in the company will return any calls or texts. I notified them via e-mail this evening that I was posting a complaint with the BBB and intend to notify our attorney tomorrow, *******, to start legal action. As it stands I was told they had measured and had all the material ordered to fix this. It was supposed to be here *******. They were to be here on ******* to do the repairs. However nobody has arrived and nobody will communicate with me about this. The ******* office always promises to have the owner call or the service manager. No one ever does. ******* says they are not aware of the problem and have no knowledge of the issues. Once again these are all untruths and runarounds.

Desired Settlement
I would like for someone to contact me and handle this problem. No more lies. No more hiding from calls. Do what I paid a lot of money to have done, and do it right. Otherwise I expect a complete refund of the entire amount. If this has to go to the attorney, I am going to ask him to file charges through the Attorney General's division of consumer fraud.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********* **************
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: **************************
I apologize for the length of time it has taken to resolve these troubling issues for Mr. *******. I believe that we have now made significant headway in solving all of these problems. Two of our best siding installers went out to Mr. ********* house last week and fixed all the repair issues the customer had expressed concern with and also any issues that they found when doing a thorough inspection. What they discovered was that the red siding had a factory defect (which is a very typical problem with this color of siding). The installers took pictures of the problems indicating a manufacturer's defect, as well as called and talked to the manufacturer representatives who are currently investigating and addressing the problems which are covered by a factory warranty. We will continue to follow up with the manufacturer to see that they fix this factory defect issue. We will also follow up to make sure that the customer is still satisfied with the repairs that we were able to do ourselves.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Once again Energy Guard has stated a false statement. They were here and did a few minutes work and did state there is a defect in the materials.
They most certainly DID NOT fix near all of the rest of the problems that exist.

Final Business Response
From: ********* ************ (mailto:*******************)
Sent: Wednesday, ************* 9:44 AM
To: **** ******
Subject: ****** ******* response *********

This is our response to Mr ********* last response:

The sub contractor who did the repairs on Mr ********* house was the original installer. He has been installing siding for us and other companies for over 20 years. He has an excellent record of positive feedback from our customers in all the years he has worked for us. I looked at the original before and after pictures and saw nothing other than an excellent job. However, in the 3 years since the job was done there were apparently some problems with the siding - an issues we have seen in other jobs that used this particular color and brand of siding - so we sent the original installer out to do the repairs. I have asked him to respond to Mr ********* complaints.

I believe that Mr ******, the installer, has the right for his response to be submitted as he wrote it. These are his words, not mine.

"He said "sub par" installation. That's a very naive statement coming from someone who has never installed these products. Every single piece of his product was installed exactly according to manufacturer specifications.One piece of window wrap came off in high winds (that's technically storm damage), three pieces were oil canning (due to excessive heat on this dark color). We replaced these four pieces of wrap. Also, nearly all caulking had broken loose (due to being done in extreme cold) we re-caulked all areas, as well as a few small places we originally missed. Absolutely zero of Mr ********* issues are due to what he called "sub par" installation. I explained to him in detail That the issues remaining have to be handled through the manufacturer and that they have a specific process that they go through to handle these types of issues.
I understand his frustration, but his complaint to the BBB is absurd.
My assistant and I were at the site from roughly noon to 4."

As for Energy Guard Midwest, we believe that we have fixed all that we can. Our Expediter discussed the problem in detail with the ****** distributor here concerning the faulty siding. It is now their responsibility to get in touch with Mr ******* and fulfill their manufacturer's warranty which we sent to Mr ******* at the original completion of the job.

Photos of the original installation and the recent repairs are available upon request.


********* ************, Owner

Energy Guard Midwest, LLC
*****************
Office: ************

01/25/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
WE are having a difficult time getting anyone here to complete the job they started ********. They installed windows in **** and siding in ***.

We had received a phone call regarding the siding ******* or *****. by the way we were on a no call list at the time. ********* we signed an agreement with **** ********* with Energy Guard for new windows and replacement of old masonite siding. They were also to install a storm door that we had purchased. They Came ******** to install windows. They wrapped 4 of the windows and said it would be better to wait until after the siding was installed to wrap the rest. They said the door didn't fit so I called ***** (the one who installed the windows)the day after they left and told him to order a custom size one. We paid $***** down payment,
**** to each project. That left a balance of $**** on the window project and $**** on the siding project. When ***** left after installing the windows he said he needed that balance of $****. I didn't feel that this was right because he hadn't finished the job. I paid him a check for $**** check number ****. He said I would pay the balance of $*** when the windows were wrapped.
WE had called several times to see when they were going to get the siding done. ******* always told us in two weeks. Never happened. ***** ***** and ******** ****** came in *******. They said they had never been contacted by *******. They did a good job replacing the masonite siding and painted it to match the rest of the house. They wanted paid too,but we didn't feel right about paying the whole amount because there was so much left to be done. We paid them $**** on *********** ck no. ***, with a balance due of ***. When he came we asked about the door and he said there was no record of it being ordered. So he ordered it. We also have two existing windows that have damage that they were supposed to replace. It was in original contract. Note they were measured by the man who measured the rest of our new windows. They were not done so ***** remeasured them. He said it should take two weeks to get them in. After three weeks we called ******* and he said they weren't in yet. We waited a few more weeks and then called again and he said they were in and that they should be here by the end of that week. Second week of ******** ***** called again. Same story finishing up a job and will be there next week. ***** called again this morning requesting to speak to the owner. The receptionist said they would call back at ten. ***** waited until 10:30 and then he called back. They connected him to ******* again. By this time ***** was getting pretty angry to be put off again. ******* said some one would be here next week. ***** told him that he had been saying that for months and he was getting tired of the run-around. ******* hung up on him. I started writing this complaint and a worker called from Energy Guard and said he would be here tomorrow. ***** thought you should still be aware of the problem we have encountered. The sign that was placed in the street in front of the house and stood there for seven months is sure a good advertising for the company. WE trust that the worker coming to complete the job will do a good job and we will be glad to pay for all the services rendered. Just wanted you to be aware of the problems we have had.

Desired Settlement
Energy Guard called this morning and said their worker will be here tomorrow to finish the job.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****************, owner
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: **************************
We are very regretful of Mr and Mrs ****** frustrating experience with our company of inattentive customer service and communication. It is not the way we have served our 100s of custromers over the years and while we had already begun to evaluate and fix this problem with our expediting department. This did occur during a period of transition in that area when a long term employee became increasing ill and eventually had to leave the company due to inability to work at all. While this might explain some of the inadequate handling of this customer's project, we are in no way excusing. We accept our fault in this case and apologize to the *****. We HAVE completed the **** job and we do have a signed and dated completion certificate from Mr. **** which states "This is to certify that we have checked the job after the workmen completed the work. the contract specifications have been fulfilled and the work completed in a professional manner. All materials and labor for the above described work have been furnished and delivered. I have inspected all work, inside and out, including screens where applicable, with the installer. All are in working condition with no visible damage. No other verbal promises have been made."

09/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
was shorted 2 drain spouts, that my home originally had, several phone calls, always an excuse or delay. I spent ********* on siding,windows,gutterin
*** ***** is the sales rep. for the last 6 months.i've called and his voice mail is always to full to leave a message. contract was signed *******. THEY STARTED ******* was when they started, I replaced windows siding and gutters. 1 window didn't get ordered it was suppose to be in 2 weeks. it was installed first of *******. I didn't notice the 2 missing down spouts till we a had several inchs of rain, and my front porch starting flooding.(I HAVE PHOTOS) in ********* after serveral calls to ******* at the main office, he finally contacted me and sent out *** ******* on *******, who said I needed at least 1 if not 2 more drains for the size home I had, he didn't know when energyguard would be out, because he was an indepenent contractor.i started calling ******* on *******, they didn't return any of my phone calls until ******, he said someont would be out that next week, no one never came that week or the next, plus no phone calls from anyone. that's when I contacted B.B.B. for help.

Desired Settlement
installed the 2 drain spouts needed.

Business Response
The contract Energy Guard Midwest had three contracts with **** *****:
A contract on ******* for custom windows - completed with a signed customer completion form on ******* - less than one month after the contract had been signed. The customer satisfaction call records that Ms ***** stated on ********: "spoke with ****. Everything went fine and the windows look good. They cleaned up well." NOTE: there was one window that took longer to manufacture and it was installed on ******** - she signed the completion certificate.
A siding contract on ******* - completed with a signed customer completion form on ******* - again, less that one month after the contract had been signed. The customer satisfaction call records that Ms ***** stated on ********: "spoke with ****. The crew did a good job. They cleaned up well and walk around was done.
A gutter contract on ******* - for $****. No money was given as down payment on this contract. The salesman work sheet states that there would be 221 linear feet of wicker colored gutter and 7 downspouts - all large. The contract also states that "any wood fascia that needs to be replaced will be at additional cost of $**** per linear foot - with one extra included at no charge." The gutter project took longer to complete because our gutter crews have to wait until they have a full run in order for it to be cost effective for them as subcontractors. However, we did complete it on ********, about three weeks after the windows and siding were completed and a month before the last windows was installed. Ms ***** signed and dated a completion certificate on ******** that states the following:
"This is to certify that we have checked the job after the workmen completed the work. The contract specifications have been fulfilled and the work completed in a professional manner. All materials and labor for the above described work have been furnished and delivered. I have inspected all work inside and out, including screens where applicable, with the installer. All are in working condition with no visible damage. No other verbal promises have been made."
Over the past year, there have been two concerns expressed by Ms ***** and, as is our policy, we have taken care of those. Apparently it was after an individual came by her house to sell her home remodeling services and told her that she needed two more downspouts that she decided that we had "shorted" her two downspouts. We have been in the home remodeling business since the late 80s and it was the opinion of our Sales Manager that additional downspouts were not necessary or he would have sold her 9 instead of 7 when the original work was done. However, we wanted to satisfy the customer, so since we simply had none of our regular subcontractors available for a one time run, we contracted with ************** in ************* to go to her house and install two extra downspouts. She was informed that this was going to happen and they installed the downspouts on *************** - the day she filed her complaint.
We believe that we have more that taken care of Ms *****, providing her windows, siding, sofit and fascia, guttering and with two free downspouts at an expense to us of $******. Her remodeled house is beautiful and we are pleased that she will enjoy her "new" home for years to come.


08/03/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Two of the windows are not what they sold us and what we wanted.
Purchased ******* Energy Guard Windows for whole house, amount $*******. Four of our window were two side by side single windows. Sales rep told us by converting the four into 2 swing out windows would be cheaper, so we agreed to go that route. When the put them in they were sliding windows, no swing out. We are in our **** and unable to lift them out to clean them as they are so heavy. If we had know that we would of kept them single windows as we could operate them better. They lied to us, plus the 2 large sliding windows are not as energy efficient and impossible for us to take them out to clean. Since having these windows installed we are having 3 times more dust in out house than with the old windows. The now tell us they don't make the swing out, which evidently they knew at the time, but told us they were available and why we went with them. I feel they intentionally lied to us to get sale and now will do nothing to correct the problem and put back our 4 single windows instead of the 2 sliders.

Desired Settlement
Either install the swing out windows we were sold or give us out money back for the two sliders they put in which is not what we ordered, and or come back and install 4 single windows which is what was in our house before.

Business Response
First of all, we apologize for not responding to the BBB sooner. As I explained to a staff member, we DID respond to the customer, but due to some confusion when the staff member who has always been our customer service manager left due to medical reasons and our system was not properly in place. That being said, our sales manager and our expiditing manager both spoke with Mr. ****, as well as writing him through email and regular mail regarding the problem. There have been problems with this installation since it was first installed in **********. We have had several calls from the customer for repairs or changes which we responded to each time. In ********** we replaced two of the windows with obsure glass per the customer's request at our expense. ********* we received a call that the slider wasn't working properly so we sent an installer to replace the window tracks at no charge (the manufacturer replaced). In ************** we installed new half screen for two windows at no charge. In ************* we touched up caulking as needed and used clear silicon inside and out at no charge. There was some disagreement with what was on the contract and what the customer thought he was getting installed. As it turns out, the slider windows that he wanted with swing out cleaning features are not available. Therefore, after our Sales Manager corresponded with the customer and our Expiditing Manager spoke on the phone to the customer, we offered to replace the 2 windows in question with 4 double hung windows. They have been ordered and the last one should arrive about ***************. The customer has been kept up to date on the order and has requested that we come out and install them the end of ******. We are happy to do so.

Final Business Response
First of all, we apologize for not responding to the BBB sooner. As I explained to a staff member, we DID respond to the customer, but due to some confusion when the staff member who has always been our customer service manager left due to medical reasons and our system was not properly in place. That being said, our sales manager and our expiditing manager both spoke with Mr. ****, as well as writing him through email and regular mail regarding the problem. There have been problems with this installation since it was first installed in **********. We have had several calls from the customer for repairs or changes which we responded to each time. In ********** we replaced two of the windows with obsure glass per the customer's request at our expense. ********* we received a call that the slider wasn't working properly so we sent an installer to replace the window tracks at no charge (the manufacturer replaced). In ************** we installed new half screen for two windows at no charge. In ************* we touched up caulking as needed and used clear silicon inside and out at no charge. There was some disagreement with what was on the contract and what the customer thought he was getting installed. As it turns out, the slider windows that he wanted with swing out cleaning features are not available. Therefore, after our Sales Manager corresponded with the customer and our Expiditing Manager spoke on the phone to the customer, we offered to replace the 2 windows in question with 4 double hung windows. They have been ordered and the last one should arrive about ***************. The customer has been kept up to date on the order and has requested that we come out and install them the end of ******. We are happy to do so.

06/08/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Siding Contractors, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Construction & Remodeling Services, Energy Conservation Products & Services, Windows - Installation & Service, Roofing Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/10/2009Business started: 01/01/2008New Owner Date: 01/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department (MABCD)
City Hall 7th Floor
Wichita, KS 67202
(316) 268-4460
http://www.wichita.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Their web address is http://www.wichita.gov/Pages/default.aspx.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Elizabeth M. Willis-Henry (Owner)
Business Category

Siding Contractors, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Construction & Remodeling Services, Energy Conservation Products & Services, Windows - Installation & Service, Roofing Contractors

Products & Services

This company specializes in vinyl replacement windows, vinyl siding, and composite/metal roofing proudly serving customers throughout the Midwest.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Energy Guard Midwest, LLC

.

Wichita, KS 67203

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Energy Guard Midwest, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 801-7294
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Siding Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.