BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Hare Excavating

(785) 246-1155., TopekaKS 66618

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 11/17/2015 this company's accreditation in BBB was revoked by BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to respond to one or more customer complaints filed with the BBB.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hare Excavating's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hare Excavating

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
05/27/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company sold me a "service contract" and is not performing.
This is the second year in which we paid Hare Excavating for a "service agreement", which covered service calls and labor for our ******* septic system. Under the contract, I would supply the parts. In ***********, Hare Excavating replaced our effluent septic pump. The pump failed in ****************, and was replaced- labor covered under contract by Hare Excavating. Each time there was an issue, Hare Excavating was very slow to respond. The system failed again *******************. I was out of town and ********** committed that "someone would come check it". We continued have issues with the system and basically shamed ***** into coming to our house on *********. The decision was to replace the floats and move the wires from the pit (******* original configuration which we found out is against code) to a dry box. After contacting the mfg- *******, which said Hare Excavating is NOT an authorized repair source, as was represented by *****, I got the proper wiring diagram and all the parts. Additionally, ******* indicated ******* faulty configuration likely caused the replacement pump to fail prematurely- 15 months. Notified ***** that the parts were all ready to be installed on **********. ***** responded on the **** that he had been in a poor cell service area. After multiple attempts to contact *****, with no response, I paid **************** $*** to fix the system on *********. On *********, after no response from *****, I sent him a letter asking for a refund. There has been no response.

Desired Settlement
**********, representing Hare Excavating, sold me a service contract, and did not perform. Further, ***** represented he was an authorized ******* repair provider, and this was not true. Additionally, the system was configured incorrectly and against code, by **********, which caused it to fail. ***** will cite personal and family health problems, but these problems were present prior to his taking my $*** for the "service agreement".

Business Response
In regards to this complaint it was stated I was not authorized repair by ******. I installed this system and you have to be authorized to do so. ****** on other occasions has contacted us to fix other systems. ****** later had to reorganize and pulled out of this area and the rep. went to ********. I have had a lot of training on this type of system and this was the first in this county due to site problems. The county would not let us put it in if we where not otherized. As for code I would really like to talk to the one that said that. This was approved by the county at time of installation. And as per code I would like to see that in righting. Obviously this is made up. The system has multiple safety features and it would be very interesting to see who is otherized and how it is now configured. The system has worked with the previous owner for several years and in fact they had me do the new place. I have an electronic back ground graduated with a 4.0 grade average and perfect attendance from ***********, my father was a master electrician and owned his own business for 35 years. I work for him doing residential and commercial work. I give speeches on occasion about this and many other type of sewage treatment for residential. For against code or even configured wrong is very remote. As for parts, the owner works for a suppler of pumps and we seen some issues with their pumps for this application. Non the less the pump was under warranty and the other pump was working fine when I was last there. We have well over 40 systems that have pumps and do not have problems with them. Mechanical man made pumps will quit some time due to age or something wrong with it from new. If it took 15 months to fail it could not be a miss configuration. We installed the first of this kind in other counties as well. Another contractor could not get approval because ****** would not back it. They and the county approved us due to my experience. I'm very appalled that the complainant would make such statements. As for poor service I will admit during this time it was had to get there the next day. As the owner well known my son got cancer and I was making trips to ******. Hopping to save his life but he has passed almost 2 months ago. I did send one person there that is very knolagable and he reported to me the 2 times he was there the system was working. The home owner has used a very wrong phrase that he SHAMED me in coming out when in fact he shamed his self. He wrote a complaint on **** about stinky water and to run away from me. I did not respond nor will I respond to such childish actions. I even point it out to people they like a good laugh and it has in a way helped me. And for the service contract the last couple of time I was there some one has been messing with the system and that is a contract breach. It seem the only time we ever had an issue is due to some one else messing with something they do not under stand. That is in the contract. If any miss configuration and or code violations would be from some one else messing with it. Sorry it took so long to respond to this but I would do it all over again to spend as much time as I could with

08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mr. Hare has refused to replace or repair the septic pump that he installed.
Mr. Hare installed our septic system when the house was built 2.5 years ago. He said that it would be necessary to install a pump since the west end of our property goes slightly uphill. We moved in on **********. In ***********, we noticed septic water in our basement. We called Mr. Hare and he came out the next day and said that the pump wasn't working, and that it was odd, because they typically last 8 years. He stated that he could repair it. Four months later we noticed foul water in the basement again and again called Mr. Hare. He said that it was again the pump. He said that he would fix it again and said that he would install new wiring so that we would have no further troubles with it. He also dug a trench and put a line from the septic out into the yard stating that if there was any "overflow" in the future it would go into the yard rather than our basement. In ***** we noticed that there was a foul odor in our yard and suspected the septic. We called Mr. Hare and left several messages. He didn't call back. Thinking that he may have been out of town or away on an emergency, we waited a few weeks and called again in *****, with no return call. Then, in *** and again in ****, we noticed septic water in the basement. We have tried to reach him steadily since then (also leaving messages threatening to make a formal complaint to the BBB and to take him to claims court on the issue) and he has ignored us. On *******, I called him from a number that comes up with a number but no name for caller ID because it is a state office phone line (my work number), and didn't leave a message. He called me back within minutes wanting to know if someone from that number had been trying to reach him. I told him that we had been trying to reach him for many months and he had not returned our calls. He claimed that he would come out that night and replace the pump. Needless to say, he never showed and never called.

Desired Settlement
the basement has not yet been finished due to this ongoing issue, so there has been no damage down there. We are only requesting that the pump that he claims is the cause of the septic backup be replaced.

Business Response
From: ***** ****
Sent: Wednesday, ************* 6:06 PM
To: **** ******
Subject: Re: Case #*********-*****

To cut to the facts the only way a septic system could be installed onto this property was to install a lift pump. This is the last lot in this area for a good reason. System installed according to ******* county sanitation code and inspected by county health department. System works perfectly except the pump was having an issue. I have been there to fix the problem and in about 3 months the pump would quit. I called the manufacture and done what they said to do. Pump would work for a while then quit. I have gone out on two occasions after they call and the system was working. I told ***** I think the pump is the problem and needs to be replaced. I called for a warranty exchange only to find the manufacture filled for bankruptcy. I did not hear from them for awhile thinking it was working. I did not feel like they should pay for the pump so I paid for it even though I really should not have. With new pump installed it is working as permitted by county health. I bought a pump from a well know company and paid more for it to fix the problem. They have all the information on the pump and warranty. Allocations of no show is uncalled for. I understand they have called others but apparently did not know what to do. I know even one whom supposedly builds houses said he always install a back flow perv-enter. Obviously they have no idea on how things work, that is just some one blowing.

05/26/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers, Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete, Post-Construction Clean Up, Water & Sewer Line Protection, Sewer Pipe, Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair, Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning, Septic Tanks - Treatment Supplies, Tanks - Concrete, Basement Waterproofing, Waterproofing Contractors, Water Works Contractors, Water Main Contractors, Sewer Inspection, Sewer Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Trenching Contractors, Excavating Contractors, Demolition Contractors, Basement - Contractors, Concrete Contractors, Oilfield Hauling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/24/1999Business started: 06/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1995, KS

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Steven R. Hare (Owner)
Business Category

Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers, Contractor - Decorative & Specialty Concrete, Post-Construction Clean Up, Water & Sewer Line Protection, Sewer Pipe, Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair, Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning, Septic Tanks - Treatment Supplies, Tanks - Concrete, Basement Waterproofing, Waterproofing Contractors, Water Works Contractors, Water Main Contractors, Sewer Inspection, Sewer Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Trenching Contractors, Excavating Contractors, Demolition Contractors, Basement - Contractors, Concrete Contractors, Oilfield Hauling

Products & Services

This company provides contractor services for excavating, trenching, demolition, site prep, sewer and water lines, septic tanks, driveways, basements and concrete. They also offer plumbing, waterproofing, water and sewer line protection, sewer inspection, oilfield hauling and decorative concrete.

Alternate Business Names
Hare, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hare Excavating

.

Topeka, KS 66618

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hare Excavating is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.