BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1962

Roto Rooter Plumbers

(316) 858-2085View Additional Phone Numbers801 E Mount Vernon St, WichitaKS 67211-5035View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1962

BBB has determined that Roto Rooter Plumbers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Roto Rooter Plumbers' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Roto Rooter Plumbers

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/22/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Waterline in the garage was not properly fixed in ***. Same issue happened again in ****. They did not fix it properly.
I purchased this property ************. The previous owner called Roto Rooter company to fix the water line in between the garage wall on ************. On ************, I called root rooter to repair the service that they did not properly fixed in ***. Enormous amount of water was leaked everywhere in the garage. When I spoke to the representative on the phone. She schedule someone to come out on ************. When the technician came out to look at the leak. He confirmed that the leak was the same job that they suppose to fix in ***. and it is cover under the warranty. I was confirmed several times by the technician and the customer representative that it was under warranty and at no cost. Then the technician said that it is a big job and he couldn't do it that day and reschedule for Thursday, ************* at 830 AM. On Thursday around 0800 Am I received a call from roto rooter representative stating that the warranty is only cover the previous owner and it does not transfer to new owner. I asked the representative how come they did not tell me that on Monday or Tuesday after I confirm with them several times about the situation. I have an invoice from the previous owner and no where on the invoice stating that it does not carry over the warranty to new owner. The representative said that she will have management person will contact me. I waited from 810 to 900 and no phone call or technician show up at the property. When a technician was scheduled to fix the water line at 830 that day. I called them back around 900am asking them. How come theres no technician or phone call from management. The same representative answer the phone and said that she did not understand the situation and apology and stated that it is under warranty. The technician did not show up until 940 that day when it was schedule for 0830. On ******* I received a bill from roto rooter plumbing. I do not appreciate their lying and customer service.

Desired Settlement
I want them to apologized and should not charge me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******** VP
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***************
We do wish the customer would have contacted us before filing a complaint. We have already contacted her and she will hopefully be removing this complaint. We did tell her there would be no charge for the service. Our technician filled out his invoice for the office to have information about the work he did and neglected to put on it that there would be no charge. Our invoicer was not made aware of the arrangement since we were actually honoring a warranty for the previous owner of the home.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I contacted them several times before I escalated to Business Bureau. Every time I contact them they made different excuses. I feel that in order for this issue to be resolve the Business Bureau has to be involve. I accepted the Roto Rooter response bc they honor the warranty and it is what I originally wanted and what they should do. Thank you

05/27/2015Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Sewer Contractors, Garbage Disposals - Household, Water Heaters - Repairing, Excavating Contractors, Sewer Inspection, Sewer Pipe

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1960Business started: 01/01/1936
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department (MABCD)
City Hall 7th Floor
Wichita, KS 67202
(316) 268-4460
http://www.wichita.gov/Pages/default.aspx

BBB records show a license number of 1469 for this company, issued by Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department (MABCD). Their web address is http://www.wichita.gov/Pages/default.aspx.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Rita Campbell (CEO)Ms. Wanda Farmer (Owner)
Business Category

Plumbers, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Sewer Contractors, Garbage Disposals - Household, Water Heaters - Repairing, Excavating Contractors, Sewer Inspection, Sewer Pipe

Products & Services

This company offers sewer and drain cleaning, plumbing repair, video inspection of 2" and larger water lines, high pressure water jetting, chlorine free pool systems and trenchless sewer replacement. They also offer green drain cleaning products.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Roto Rooter Plumbers

801 E Mount Vernon St

Wichita, KS 67211-5035

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 801 E Mount Vernon St 

    Wichita, KS 67211-5035(316) 858-2085

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Roto Rooter Plumbers is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (316) 267-4277
  • (316) 263-2929
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.