BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/28/2010

OWNx

(800) 701-3546706 Massachusetts St Ste 300, LawrenceKS 66044-2256



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Request a Quote

Request a quote from OWNx.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/28/2010

BBB has determined that OWNx meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised OWNx's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on OWNx

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Complaint regarding access to my money and or silver.
Company regularly withdrawals money from my account and applies it to physical silver purchases. Recently I decided to take delivery of my physical silver, and needed to increase the balance of my account before hitting enough cash in my account to take delivery of a 100oz silver bar. Money was withdrawn from my bank account on Friday. Over the weekend I kept checking to see when I could take delivery of the 100oz bar and while my balance showed the correct amount, the delivery amount was not updated. I called Monday morning to find out why the balance was not updated, and was told that they have to "hold" my deposit for 3 days to make sure that there is money in my bank account to cover the withdrawal. The money is gone from my bank account, its not in a pending status - its been paid out. After getting angry with their customer service person trying to give me an excuse over why that money wasn't available I hung up and then received an email apologizing that they weren't able to answer my question to my satisfaction, and, that then money would be available Wed ****. Money was withdrawn from my account on ****, **** is only two days short of a week, or , 5 days. This is my money, and they are holding my silver - and not allowing me to collect it unil they sit on it for 5 days?

Desired Settlement
I want my product delivered now. I know this wont happen as I don't expect that anything will move forward in two days with this complaint process - but I want it recorded that this is a very nefarious business practice. They're trying to spin this as its for my protection, but the reality is it only benefits them to hold on to my money for 5 days and not give me access to it.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******** - COO
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ********************
The client misunderstood how our website works.

Purchasing with us entails using the ACH (electronic check) network. We do not allow for clients to sell or take delivery of metal within 4 business days of making a transaction as an automated fraud prevention measure. This is fully in-line with the way other companies use electronic (or paper) checks.

The details are expressly spelled out on the site in the FAQ section:

https://silversaver.com/faq/purchasing/

"What is the difference between Balance and Deliverable ounces?
Balance shows the current amount that is allocated and titled to you. Deliverable shows the current amount from your Balance that you can have delivered. It takes four (4) business days for each purchase to show up as Deliverable ounces. This is an added layer of security to ensure that the bank account owner authorized the purchase."

As a one-time courtesy, we are immediately shipping Mr. ******* silver one day early due to his misunderstanding of our anti-fraud protection processes.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Gold, Silver & Platinum Dealers, Internet Shopping

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/27/2010Business started: 11/10/2008
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Josh McCleary
Business Category

Gold, Silver & Platinum Dealers, Internet Shopping

Alternate Business Names
Mass Metal, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

OWNx has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for OWNx

706 Massachusetts St Ste 300

Lawrence, KS 66044-2256

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 706 Massachusetts St Ste 300 

    Lawrence, KS 66044-2256(800) 701-3546

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*OWNx is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Gold, Silver & Platinum Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.