BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

E.H. Henry Company

(316) 263-3175127 N Sycamore St, WichitaKS 67203-6121http://www.ehhenry.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

E.H. Henry Company is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised E.H. Henry Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on E.H. Henry Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
01/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company has failed to respond to our phone requests or look at our roof in regards to a faulty roof installation.
We purchased our house in **********, within a year of a roof replacement by EH Henry (sellers state that it was a complete roof installation around ***********). In the late **************, we noticed some staining on our ceiling but believed that the rain was coming into the roof through the roof vents. During a heavy rain on the morning of **************** our living room ceiling began leaking in two places. We immediately called ************* on the 31st and had the problem surveyed that afternoon. We were told that the roof had not been properly installed by EH Henry in that section and had caused considerable damage to the existing roof and in our attic. We were told by the other roofing company to contact the company that had originally installed the roof and that it should be under warranty or, if not, that they should repair it as it was their error. Through our realtor, we were able to determine the company that had installed the roof (the city has no record of EH Henry obtaining a permit). I contacted EH Henry immediately and was told by the receptionist that we'd be contacted by someone from the company soon. We have yet to hear from anyone to survey the damage. My husband and I have taken turns calling the company and speaking with the receptionist who tells us that they are busy and that the rain keeps setting their schedules back (it hasn't rained for a very long time). It's been almost a month and a half with no contact from the company. The weather is only getting colder and in the future, we could be dealing with snow sitting on the roof causing even further damage.

Desired Settlement
We are asking that EH Henry properly replace the section of the roof and repair the damage to the attic.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******-President
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: ********************
Mr. and Mrs. ****** did call our office a couple of times to request a roof inspection and possible leak. I will admit we did not get back to them as fast as we would like due to the weather, trying to get existing jobs completed before the holidays, and personal medical issues with our family. Roof was inspected on ***** and found to have some storm damage. The only thing that looked amiss was the sealant around the furnace flue which we sealed at that time. Per customer request we also returned on ***** and installed some step flashing at fascia board that ties into roof where none has ever been. All this was performed at no charge even though the roof was contracted with previous owner and was out of warranty. The ******** are extremely nice folks and we are sorry for their inconvenience. They have our direct phone numbers should any more issues arise.

07/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Severely leaking roof less than a year after replacement.
Hail and storm damage required a complete replacement of shingles. Roof was replaced in October 2012 by ********. Roof was said to be "Inspected" and finished by the installer so I went up to look at the work done. I found an extra bare nail shot through the shingle next to a vent flange. The flange was also badly buckled leaving over a 1/2" gap between the lower portion of the flange and the underlying shingle. I called and left a message, emailed pictures and never got a response. However, a few weeks later I went and checked it out and it was fixed. I was never contacted so I had no idea they had come out. The following summer we noticed a large yellow spot developing on the ceiling by the fireplace. I called and spoke with them and they said they would come out and check on things. They never called back or came out, so I went on the roof to investigate. It turns out that many things that should have been caulked, weren't on the new chimney cap. It was somewhat shocking to me to see how bad it was. I went out and bought caulking and did the best I could even though it seemed unlikely that this was the cause. I also caulked around the new flashing in many spots that were missed which I figured was the cause of the leak. The spot on the ceiling didn't seem to grow over the next few months, so I thought we were good. (Still no call from ********) Well, we got a few days of very heavy rain this year (early May 2014 and on) and I now have a waterfall down my fireplace wall when it rains. I immediately called ******** and left a message and they actually called me back. They came out for all of 10-15 minutes to caulk things. It rained again and I had to put towels everywhere as water was running inside the house. I called, they came out again and trimmed some of the flashing that appeared to be harboring water. At 2am a storm passed through and I was throwing towels everywhere to soak up the water. Finally on Wednesday or Thursday July 2/3 of 2014 they said they would come out and "tear in to it and see whats going on" which I was very thankful for. However, it is now 7/17/2014 two weeks later and I have yet to hear back from them. They are very nice to talk to, but very unlikely (at least in my case) to follow through on what they say they will do.

Desired Settlement
I would appreciate it if they would actually do what they promised 2 weeks ago and actually fix the roof. I'm tired of all of the "niceness" but failure to follow through.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ************************
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ********************
I had our lead man rework the flashing on 7/11. He said he left the customer a message. We're sorry about the problem our customer is having and we do want to take care of it. It's been difficult to work around the weather this year.

10/28/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contractor added additional charge to invoice for his time communicating with the insurance company in the amount of 4.5 hours @ $***** per hour.
Contractor has only completed repairs on roof and replaced glass in windows. The roof was completed several months ago and the city inspector has not signed off (not sure if he has even been contacted). Other items such as storm windows, garage door, window shades, painting of siding on west side, and replace and paint siding for roof fireplace chimney have not been started. Contractor was contacted and told to send bill for roof and replacing glass in windows. He sent an unitemized bill with additional charge for his time with a note that his additional charge would be waived if he was allowed to complete the rest of the items. We don't even know if the insurance is going to pay for the other items. What happens if the inspector does not buy off what has been completed on the roof? I am starting to worry about the contractors' business ethics. I am the daughter of ***** and ***** ***** and myself and my husband are representing my parents. My parents are elderly and have had medical emergencies recently. I feel ***** from EH Henry has taken advantage of their trusting behavior and their age. He's trying to get as much money as he can out of them and scaring them into paying.

Desired Settlement
Have the city inspection completed.
Itemized bill for work performed and agreed to by insurance company. (remove additional charge of $**/hour for talking to insurance company).

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******-President
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: ********************
First of all let me start off by saying that Mr. and Mrs. ***** are some of the best people I have met in my 34 years with our company. After the storm hit I had my crews go out to replace the roof immediately as I was concerned about the possibility of a leak. This was done even though I had 85 roofs to do in front of them. I did this out of respect for Mr. ***** and our longstanding relationship. I was disheartened to learn of his bout with cancer and did not want him to worry. I told him at the time that the insurance co. had missed a lot of damage that was not on their original scope of work and he told me to take care of it. We fixed his primary window glass ourselves (all the glass companies in town were scheduling 3-4 months out.) We also replaced his damaged guttering. After repeated attempts to contact the claims office (***************-at least 3 different adjustors) I resorted to the *************** agent- **** *****-specifically talking to ****** at least 7-8 times. Verify by calling ********. Finally adjustor emailed that they would need pictures to verify extra work not included on original scope. Then after we took the time to get all the pictures they requested I received a call from Mr. ******* stating that they were going to take over the completion of the rest of the job and to send my final billing for the work that was completed inferring that it was our fault for the lag in completing the job. He also requested that I send more information to *************** claims (some of the information the adjustor had not asked me for making it look like it was our fault again for not resolving this claim.) We sent a drawing of the actual roof measurements(Insurance co. goes off satellite measurements), copy of the permit (not sure why it had not been inspected so we called for an inspection again), code requirements for attic ventilation ( most contractors don't even do the adequate amount), and a copy of our last contract showing that we had installed valley underlayment. Our breakdown to *************** used pricing that is consistent with what the other insurer's in our area have agreed to pay us. I included a bill for all the time that I and my lead project manager spent on the phone trying to get a response from the insurance co., getting additional pictures, coordinating with ************** on the interior blinds, and preparing additional estimates for the additional work since the insurance companies don't want to waste their valuable time to meet us at the property for a re-inspection. I also included a clause that we would rescind this extra charge if we could finish the additional work. I feel that the insurance co. should pay for our time since it was through no fault of ours for their incompetency. We are not rich people and time spent dealing with these issues detracts from our time on jobs that are profitable. I'm a little taken aback by having to justify my actions to be honest. My last conversation with Mr. *******, on Monday ********, expounded on the same things that I'm writing about. I simply told him that if he was going to be upset with anybody it should be with *************** insurance co. for dragging their feet and not communicating with me. In response to his dissatisfaction on the additional charges my last statement to him was to "pay whatever he felt was fair" as to the extra charges. I don't really see how I can be any clearer. As to question the integrity of myself, my employees, or our company is unfair. I have never had a complaint with the BBB and don't expect to have any more. We take pride in our work and in our friendships that we acquire along the way. In closing I only wish the best for Mr. and Mrs. ***** (this is the 3rd roof that we've installed for them. If anybody in the family or the BBB has any questions or concerns please feel free to contact me at The # or email I have provided.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Storm Windows & Doors, Awnings & Canopies, Windows - Installation & Service, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Patio & Deck Builders, Gutters & Downspouts, Garage Builders, Basement - Finishing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/01/1991Business started: 03/01/1946
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department (MABCD)
City Hall 7th Floor
Wichita, KS 67202
(316) 268-4460
http://www.wichita.gov/Pages/default.aspx

BBB records show a license number of 872 for this company, issued by Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department (MABCD). Their web address is http://www.wichita.gov/Pages/default.aspx.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1994, KS

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Shawn Belford (Owner)
Business Category

Contractors - General, Storm Windows & Doors, Awnings & Canopies, Windows - Installation & Service, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Patio & Deck Builders, Gutters & Downspouts, Garage Builders, Basement - Finishing

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for E.H. Henry Company

127 N Sycamore St

Wichita, KS 67203-6121

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 127 N Sycamore St 

    Wichita, KS 67203-6121(316) 263-3175

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*E.H. Henry Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.