BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Matthew Thomas & Associates, LLC

Phone: (785) 422-1342

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues11
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints17

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)
12/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Called me at work
I was at work this morning and I got called to the office because I had a phone call from Matthew Thomas & Associates LLC asking for money when I have been making payments to them online. My boss wasn't to happy they called me at work and interrupted my work.

Desired Settlement
Don't call me at work. I'm willing to make monthly payments.

Business Response
phone call to Matthew Thomas & Assoc, ******* answered the phone. I asked him to remove the work number for Mr. ****** and he reported that he did remove that number.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


09/23/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received a phone call on ****** from Matthew Thomas and Associates from a man named *******. He transferred me to someone who was abusive.
I was transferred by ******* to a Mr. ******* because I said I am disputing this debt and requesting verification and validation before moving forward. I would like this information mailed to me. Mr. ******* got on the phone and started yelling at me saying "this is past that, I don't care what you want or need". I explained if he could not be professional then I would not speak with him further. He said he wasn't being unprofessional and when I explained I did not appreciate being interrupted and yelled at he continued to be verbally abusive and disrespectful. I explained I would let the BBB and the **** AG's office know of their unwillingness to demonstrate the validity of the debt. I am a professional and I do my best to handle my affairs but I am a hard working person and will not tolerate disrespectful, rude individuals that make their living bullying people through collections.

Desired Settlement
I would like verification and validation of the debt from ********** per my request. I confirmed my address with ******* before he transferred me to Mr. *******. I would like all information removed from my credit report and any agency which reports financial information. I would like no more phone calls to my personal phone or work regarding this matter. I expect verification of this debt immediately as it is my right. I would like the opportunity to resolve this matter immediately and professionally.

Business Response
Attached. Case to be closed as "Resolved" as there was no yelling or unprofessional behavior as stated in the complaint.

10/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Daily harassment from phone numbers with a different state area code each time, and it's not even me they're looking for.
This company apparently buys old debts, and doesn't realize that some of the reasons debts don't get paid include the fact that they were falsely or erroneously reported in the first place, the alleged debtor is no longer at the address or phone number they were at, and ********** like Matthew Thomas will continue to call the new owners of the phone number or residence, or, as in my ccase, I have the same last name as twelve million other Americans and MT&A apparently thinks we are all related, have dinner together every Sunday, and exchange phone messages.
They have been calling for months and are now calling EVERY weekday. But they always call when I'm not home, and they are obviously robocalling anyway.
They call from a different phone number in a different state each time, and request that I call back yet a different number in yet a different state each time. So I wouldn't know where to begin to contact them. They also show up on caller ID under different names each time. It has been "Matthew Thomas, "Thomas", "MTA" and "*************".
As I stated, they are looking for someone else. I have been through this **** for decades now, with some collectors calling me looking for males named *****, and some looking for females. Obviously I'm not both, and among people who have outstanding debts, I am neither. But of course the ****** who sell the lists of uncollected debt to the next ******, who, due to the aforementioned migration of alleged debtors, have even less chance of collecting anything, might possibly forget to cross off the names of dead ends and errors, because a longer list is no doubt more valuable than a shorter one.
I would like to think that I live in a country where I cannot just say to you "I hereby pronounce you in financial arrears" and then be legally justified in commiting crimes against you, including harassment and stalking. Plus tying up your phone for a period of time every day. This is tantamount to a Bill of Attainder, which is strictly forbidden in the U.S.Constitution.
They are barking up the wrong tree. In not call have they ever even named the party they are chasing, and there cannot possibly be a law on the books that allows them to harass me to the grave, which is their obvious strategy. It won't get them any money though, because I don't owe anybody any.
Much thanks for your help.

Respectfully,

*** *****

Desired Settlement
That they stop calling. And that they are further investigated for shady practices. There are numerous complaints against them online (made more difficult by their constantly changing phone numbers), including a complaint from one party who said that a collection agency, I'm pretty sure it was Matthew Thomas, understood that they were calling the wrong party but that didn't mean that they were going to stop calling. Which is another reason not to deal directly with these ********, they don't believe what anyone tells them anyway.

Business Response
We are in receipt of Mr ******* complaint. Our records show his name as **** and living in ***********. He has received a number of calls but not daily. MTA does own and utilize phone numbers in various states. This account has now been placed into a cease and desist status which means the account is dead and he will receive no further calls. ******* *****

10/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid this office in full over two months ago. The office told me to expect my release letter in the mail 30 days after my last payment. No letter
The original creditor was *************. The original file number was ******. The account number for MTA is **********. My last payment was ***************. I have not heard back from this agency. I was told in ********* that I would receive a Paid in Full Receipt. That has not happened and they have not/ will not reply back to me.

Desired Settlement
I need a Paid in Full letter ASAP. I am currently removing negative items from my credit report and this is the last one. Please help.

Business Response
A paid in full letter was mailed to Ms ******** on *****************, to ******************, *************************. If address is not correct please advise as to correct address for remailing or an email address where we can scan and send. ******* *****

06/17/2015Billing / Collection Issues
02/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I requested validation of debt and it was refused. I was told they were going to criminally prosecute me for a bad check.
I was contacted today regarding a payday loan debt from ****. I was told they were going to proceed with criminal charges for a bad check. I have a background in criminal justice and explained I didn't believe you could prosecute for a bad check from a payday loan company and that I no longer lived in that state and didn't understand how you could press criminal charges in a different state. I was then told because I was questioning all those things that I must be saying I intentionally wrote a bad check and acknowledging criminal intent. I multiple times explained that this was in no way true that I have never been notified of this debt before and was simply trying to understand why 5 years later I was getting a phone call with no prior notification. He read off an address to me of ***********************, I explained to him this was not now nor had it ever been my address. I again requested validation of debt to be mailed to me at my correct address. He refused and stated I was just prolonging the inevitable charges that "he wasn't going to play games". I again explained under the fair debt collection act I had a right to debt validation and for a copy to be mailed to me, that I was willing to resolve the issue if the debt was indeed accurate. He again refused, would not take down my correct address, told me to get an attorney that since I was a nurse and this was going on my criminal record that I better get ready. He refused to give me his information and hung up on me. I called back and recorded the phone call, again told him I was willing to resolve the debt I was just attempting to validate its authenticity. I told him I was attempting to give him my correct address and would like a hard copy mailed to me, that nobody would pay ***$ over the telephone without more information. He refused again and implied that I had criminal intent when writing the check. He offered to email me information. I explained that these are serious accusations he was making and that I would like a copy mailed to my home as they did not have the right address listed. He refused stating since they didn't get the mail returned I should check with the people who lived at the house he sent it to. I do not know or have any association with the people who live at that home. The other address they had for me was a house I lived in several years ago in ********, I never received anything there either. He refused to tell me his name and hung up. I was called from an ************, however when I looked up the company they appear to be located in Kansas. I simply wanted to verify if this debt was accurate as I have no recollection of taking out a payday loan in that amount in **** and certainly wasn't going to pay somebody who wouldn't give me his name or information $****** over the phone, providing him with bank account details when he didn't even know my correct address. Threatening criminal prosecution and refusing debt validation is a violation of the fair debt collection act.

Desired Settlement
I will be contacting an attorney in regards to my rights being violated and inappropriate attempts to collect a debt. At this time until I receive a hard copy of this debt it is my understanding that the company has 5 days from todays initial communication to provide me with information regarding my rights to dispute this debt. I would like to be contacted and provided with information in writing of this information as at this point I believe it is a scam and would like the bbb to investigate.

Business Response
Matthew Thomas & Associates contacted ******* ***** **** regarding information that was received regards to ***********. The first time our office contacted ******* to notify her of the situation she immediately became hostile with our office. After seven phone call in one day of yelling and cursing our staff we have decided not to engage in any further conversations with Mrs. **** . For any further information ******* is welcome to contact ***********.

***********
*************************
**********
***********************
************


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is a highly unethical business. As a ****************, I could probably produce hundreds of character witnesses that would attest to the fact that I never, EVER, curse. So that's a pretty huge flaw in the response. I have the recordings that an attorney is reviewing of the way this business threatened me, which definitely shows me being cooperative basically begging for a verification of debt, which was refused. This has been filed with the state attorney general, the fcc, and now a private attorney working with the attorney generals office. Had this been a valid debt, I would have paid it no problem. This is a fraudulent debt and more fraudulent company. I've never been more thankful to have recorded documentation, that I made sure I let the staff member know I was recording prior to. They have violated the fair debt collection act multiple times. I'm insulted at this response. I would never curse at anyone and on top of everything else I'm owed from this company, an apology tops the list.

12/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Called, the v.m. claiming to be "***** calling on behalf of Mr. *******". When I attempt to return call it's auto dialer # and it drops all calls.
I don't have any debt collections nor any legal representation from a law firm this person claims to be calling on behalf of. When I attempt to return the voice mail contact number the caller left me, the phone line goes to an auto answer voice operator system that rings 8 times then tells me I'm
"Caller number 2 in line waiting for a representative"... Then several rings and minutes later I am advanced to "you're the next caller holding to speak to an agent" then
Several rings and minutes later the phone line hangs up.
I called back 3 times and each time the same scenario occurs in the same sequence. This is spam and illegal business practices since the caller has no intention of ever being reached and has no

Desired Settlement
I want this illegal business and collection practices violator fined and the ability to dial unsolicited consumers (ie:, do not call list; fax auto-dialer), from being able to buy phone lists and harass consumers that don't have any affiliation to this call violator/illegal business practices/harassing collection violator who claims is from a law firm; and yet cannot be reached at the contact number the caller left my voice mail... so I can inform them they have incorrect information, and need to remove and update my contact information, nor am I able to advise I'm on a "DO NOT CALL" list and they are in violation

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *****, legal sect
Contact Email: ***********************
We are in receipt of Ms ******** complaint. Matthew Thomas & Associates LLC is a collection agency and we called ************, as that number was associated with a personal reference for a delinquent purportedly living in ****************, the name of that reference is ***** *****. The *** number has been deleted from our system.

The only time our voice mail system hangs up on a pending call is after we have left for the day and given the time difference between ** and ** am assuming the call came in after hours.

******* *****

10/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Received a threatening leading voicemail from a "me ********" after I called back he Threatened to sue me
I received a message 'this is me ******* I'm closing documents on your file today return my call at ********** again This is me ******** I'm closing documents on your file today ..." He lied his name is not 'me ********' that is the company name he tried to act like an attorney. He threatened legal action asked me for my attorney's information to start proceedings not knowing who or what he is talking about. He did not give me a mini Miranda or state his name I had to ask and before he confirmed he was talking to me I asked what it was about he said "in reference to a client he represents that ******* has business with" which was adisclosure of my debt. He acted like an attorney he was not. He has never sent me a letter from Matthews and associates I don't know what they are talking about . And he aid it was about a breach of contract he's acting on from *************** . All violations of fdcpa every statement was leading that he had already used me when I haven't even received a letter from him . I have the voice mail still and am able to play it for anyone who would like to hear the deceit. Clearly stated two times he was mr ******** trying to act as if he was the company attorney.

Desired Settlement
Close the file plus amicable compensation on top.

Business Response
We are in receipt of your letter of *********** enclosing the complaint of Ms ******. There was a call placed to the consumer on *** and a message was left by our collector that ************** had called as that is the name of our company. The consumer called in to our business at approximately 6:00PM CDT and did not immediately disclose her name but did inquire of our collector if he was an attorney and the collector immediately her that he was not an attorney.

The collector did not give the mini Miranda and did not disclose the underlying debt until after the consumer disclosed her identity. The consumer denies having received a debt validation letter but one was mailed to her on ******.


Respectfully,



****************


07/28/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have advised this company that I am unable to receive personal phone calls at work. They have continued to call.
I have advised this company that I am unable to receive personal phone calls at work. They have continued to call.

Desired Settlement
I request that this company cease trying to contact me at my place of employment phone number ************.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: **************
I would advise Mr. ****** to contact our office and update our office with better information. Otherwise there is nothing I can do to help him with the situation.

06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
debt collector keep sending lettres even thogh my last 4 digits ssi # dose not match ther records
this debt collectors has sent letters several times .. the first time they called me they asked for th last 4 digits of my social security number i gave it to them . they opo and informed me that it dose no match ther records i asked them not to call or send more letters thy corresponded by saying they will not send or call any more.. i am still receiving letters and calls from them ..

Desired Settlement
for them to stop calling me or sending letters i am not the per son that they are looking for this isharasment

Business Response
please provide copy of the letter from my office. Also provide the phone number we contacted date and time. I show no calls have been made to this person sense ******* . thank you

01/31/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company contacted me and threated me with criminal proceeding in order to scare me into paying this debt.
This company called me this morning and left a voice mail on my phone. I called them back and asked what the call was about. They proceeded to tell me that I had a bad check in collections from **** from **********. I informed the agent I would like the info so that I could set up payments. I asked if he could mail me the bill so I could see it. He stated he wasn't going to mail me any information and he was simply contacting me to get information in order to file criminal actions against me if I did not pay this. I notified him I was aware of fair collection proceeding and I knew that in order for me to be prosecuted they had to prove that I had intent to defraud the company at the time I took the loan. I also am aware that companies cannot use these scare tactics in order to get payment. He became very hostile and told me he would see me in court and then hung up on me.

Desired Settlement
I am not seeking anything. I would like just to have this complaint on public record that way anyone in the future knows that this is not how companies are allowed to collect.
http://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0149-debt-collection

Business Response
In response to the consumers' complaint we never said anything about criminal proceedings or court to the consumer. The call was recorded and we would be happy to share this with the consumer.
We asked the consumer if he had an attorney to put on file for our records. Notification had already been sent to the consumer by our client and by our company as well.
There seems to be miscommunication on what was said by both parties but we do now have the consumers' correct address and have sent out another notification to the consumers' correct address. Never once did we ask the consumer to pay the debt. We where only gathering information for the file we had for the client.
At this time Matthew Thomas & Associates has gathered all information needed. We will continue to view this as no voluntary resolution.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What they are stating is incorrect. They made it very clear that I was going to be facing criminal charges.

Page 1 of 2
08/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Harassment phone calls
I get 3 to 4 phone calls a day using different phone numbers and tell me to call back yet a different number. They say I owe for a pay day loan which I have never gotten, you have to have a job and bank account they have my address from **** as my mailing address but said I received a payday loan using my ex-husband address. I ask for them to put it in writing a mail to me they tell me that they are not obligated any longer and will not. They call my ex-husband telephone number as well leaving messages for me to call them back. This company is harassment.

Desired Settlement
I want this company to stop harassing me. I owe nothing for a payday loan.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.