BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/20/2012

Midwest Kia

(316) 652-2201View Additional Phone Numbers8725 W Kellogg Dr, WichitaKS 67209-1816 Send email to Midwest Kia

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/20/2012

BBB has determined that Midwest Kia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Midwest Kia's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 15

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
12/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
they are refusing to honor the referral advertisement they promised when the vehichle was purchased. they also lied and told me i had a downpayment
when i purchased my vehicle the salesman (****) told me that for every referal that i sent in that purchased a vehicle they would make a car payment on my loan and give me $***. i had 2 different people come in and purchase a vehicle, in which that time they told the salesman they were refered by me. now that it is time for a payment they are saying they cant find where it says i referred them. i was there when one person came in and i seen the salesman write my name down. they are now saying they will give me the ******* dollars for each referal by not make the payment as promised. they also told me i had a $*** down payment, and when i went to sign the final paper work at the credit union the lady(*****) told me i didnt have a down payment, in which i talked to the car lot prior to going to the credit union and they said i had 30 days to pay it. ***** at the credit union told me they were lieing to me. i feel like they lied and cheated me on every issue

Desired Settlement
i think they owe me two car payments and an apology for lieing and trying to cheat me out of a $*** down payment i fee they were trying to pock my money

Business Response /* (***0, 8, 2014/12/12) */
Hi *******,

We do not "pocket" a customers' down payment. If your contract states you are making a down payment then we collect for it. If you sign a new contract and the new lender does Not require a down payment and you had already paid for a down payment a refund would have been issued to you.
Unfortunately, we are not able to process a check request for a car payment reimbursement for you because when your referred people came to the dealership they did not have the proper referral documents that are required in order for us to make a loan payment on your behalf. The referral document states clearly that it must be presented at time of purchase. We did, however, pay you the $*** referral (x2).
That being said, I do apologize that you have these concerns. I hope I have offered an explanation to help make sense of this situation.
Thank you, we appreciate your business!
Midwest Kia



11/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ALL contracts and agreements are voided that were made on **********
On ****************, I entered into a contract with Midwest Kia for VIN # VIN#***************** which included an extended warranty contract and also in exchange for my *****************. I was told that I could not pick up my new Kia because Kia needed to work on it and get it ready for pickup. Therefore, I left my ***************** with Midwest Kia and was given a loaner car. On **********, I returned to Midwest and asked that all contracts and agreements be voided. The representatives did agree to void all contracts but did not furnish me with any statement that all had been voided. On **********, I returned again to Midwest and requested a Release from all contracts and agreements - I even provided the one below for them to sign. A sales representative by the name of ****** ***** ***** did sign this Release statement - however, no manager would sign this release or provide me with any their documented Release. I am concerned that I would NOT be obligated to the original terms of any of the contracts or agreement dated ****************.

(On ****************, I had a conversation with the BBB representative, ****** Phone #************ and she did initially advise me to get a signed Statement of Release from Midwest Kia and that if I could not get this that ****** would provide a Support Representative to assist me. After getting a signed Release from the Midwest Kia Sales Representative, I telephone ****** again and she stated that this signed may be satisfactory but she was NOT sure. I then inquired if the Support Rep could take of this matter but ****** informed me to get help from Legal Aid - I have not heard anything yet from Legal Aid and I am not sure if they will be able to help me.) Could your office provide with any assistance or advise me accordingly?

The problem is that I don't want my credit ruined, etc. and I hope I am not obligated for a car that I did NOT accept. However, Midwest Kia may be reputable.


Release Statement:
This is a statement to MIDWEST KIA that the Contract for the Kia (VIN#*****************), Vehicle Wrap Coverage, Vehicle Ownership Transfer Agreement and lending statement dated **************** are now null and void.

________________

________________

Desired Settlement
To be determined

Business Response
Hi *****,
Thanks for speaking with me.
As I stated, the release that you have, signed by ****** ***** *****, is valid. Mr. ***** is a manager and is certainly able to sign that document with you. I also have supplied you with an additional release by email and I had asked you to let me know when a good time would be for us to sign it together. I have called and left you a voice message twice last week but with no return call. I am considering that you have decided that the orignal release signed with Mr. ***** is good and that you don't need another.
Please let me know if you would like to proceed with the 2nd release. You have my email information and my direct line if you would like to contact me.
Thank You *****!


10/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sales manager made promises to retain the sale then lied to get out of following thru with them.
Sale date ******* Kia Motor Company/ConsummerAffairs case #********* I attempted to resolve with above but dealership would not follow thru with them either. Sales manager was in such a hurry to make the sale before his weekend promotion was over that he submitted a false contract that was rejected a few days later by Kia Company (I already had the car) and had to be reformulated at which time they promised to make a ******* payoff to ************************ and a ****** cash back for first year tags due to they had told me on first contract I did not have to buy tags on a lease which was not true in ******. It ended up taking them at least 30 days to make the ****** payoff which they told me would only take about 7 days so I ended up having to make a ****** payment myself to stay current. At about the 45 day mark when they did Finley make the payoff they only paid what was owning at that time and told me to come to the dealership on Monday afternoon they would have a check ready for me to make up the rest of the ******* payoff ($******) and because it has taken so long to wind up this contract they would also cover and make the ********* payment of ****** that was due also on that Monday I was to come for the cash back checks. When I arrived the sales manager greeted me then went upstairs to get my check and kept me waiting for approx 50 minutes past the agreed on meeting time. He and a female office associate came to where I was waiting and handed me a $***** check then proceeded to tell me that was all I had coming back after they made the payment which was not as I was promised. Should of been ****** remainder of ****** payoff, ****** for first year tags = $****** check and Midwest to pay the $****** payment due that day *******. They had all sorts of excuses and down right lies to not pay. I refused the $***** check and left! During the whole process over the 30 days after the first contract was refused I was in very close contact with Kia Motors Consumer Affairs Dept ************** with a fella named ***** and one other as well during each agreement with Midwest and they would in turn contact Midwest to confirm verification of agreement. In the end the consumer dept was unable to make (their words) Midwest follow thru with agreements made due to KiaMotor does not own Midwest Kia just simply supplies a product to the private owner dealership. Midwest did not make the payment that was due on ******* either so by my calculations the still owe me $****** I was not even able to access my account to pay it myself until a later date because they had not even submitted my contract to Kia Motors therefore each time I contacted Kia Motors Financial Department there was no account # or any record containing my name or personal information for approx 45 days after my first contact with Midwest even tho I had the car and the bill was accruing. On my first statement from them I owed 2 months of payments. On the financial statement it shows a payment was made ******* $****** which is what they call a down payment on a lease at "drive off" but they rigged it around into my total price to finance. That was NOT they payment they agreed to make a month later. Fell free to contact me at ************, ************* or at ***************************** if u have any questions and please contact the Consumer Affair Dept with Kia Motors to confirm all information supplied here. They can probably send u written verification with date, times and the sales managers name as I am not sure, it may of been *****, **** but I have blocked it out tho I can still see his crooked back peddling face in my mind!

Desired Settlement
$******

Business Response
Hello ******,
I have read your letter and I have researched your concern. I have spoken to Kia Motors Consumer Affairs Department, the manager at Midwest Kia, and several other people concerning this letter.
We were not able to get the ****** payoff funded on your new lease. We did not collect $**** for the payoff of the ****** loan. And even though we were not able to collect any money towards the ****** payoff, we still sent *************************** a check for $******* for the payoff of that loan. Midwest Kia made sure that you will not have a lease payment and a ****** payment at the same time by paying off the ****** loan, even though we were not paid for it.

I do hope that you see how many benefits you did receive with your new lease, your monthly lease payment is lower by $***** Per Month because the $**** ****** payoff is Not funded on your lease contract and you have only one monthly payment because we paid off the ****** loan, even though we were not funded for it.

Unfortunately, we are not able to reimburse you for registration, a second payment, or the difference between $**** and the $******* that we sent to ***************************.
I apologize I cannot help you with a check for $******.

Midwest Kia


07/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
It has been 30 days since I traded in my vehicle for a new vehicle and has yet to be paid off due to neglect in the finance dept.
I purchased a new Kia **** on ****. I was not notified that my financing was denied until I went to Midwest Kia 4 days later to find out what had happened. I signed the new contract four days after the original purchase and was told that the new loan was approved and I only needed to provide proof of income, which was provided before I left. Since then I have tried to contact the dealership daily to see the status of the account since my trade had not been paid off. I finally went back to Midwest Kia on ********* to ask why the deal had not been finalized. The finance department then told me that the paperwork had not gone through because the tax information was incorrect. We signed new papers that day. When I arrived on ********* they had told me they would hand deliver a check for my past due amount (on the vehicle I traded) the next day, *********. They had also told me the new paperwork would be expedited and the payoff would be received by *********. I went back to Midwest Kia on ********* to inquire why the payoff had not been received and why the hand delivered check for the past due amount had also not been submitted, they could not provide any updates other than the information was "sent". Today *********, no funds or correspondence has been received from Midwest Kia. They have continually dodged my telephone calls and voice mails (I have left at least 20 to the finance department and finance director).

Desired Settlement
I will be seeking legal action for punitive damages to my credit score for negligence and breach of contract.

Business Response
Hi ******,
I apologize that you have had difficulty with this purchase. I hope I can help.
As you know, your trade in has been paid off. Unfortunately, we cannot pay off a trade in until the deal for the purchase has been funded. I am not clear what delayed your funding but I understand you are concerned because it leaves you with a derogatory on your credit bureau for the late payment. I will reach out to that lender and ask for any assistance they might be able to give us.

Thank you for speaking with me, you have my contact information now, please let me know if you have any other concerns happen that I might be able to assist you with.
***** ********

07/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a new/used car and on the 2nd day it already had problems
I bought a car at Midwest Kia. It was a used car. The business said every Kia goes through a extensive point check before they are sold, I got the car home and on the 2nd day the steering was really hard to turn. I called the business and told them about the issue and also the brakes weren't working well either. I was told to bring it in to them and have their mechanic check them out. I explained to them i live almost 2 hours away and work Mon-thru sat. They then told me to take it to a mechanic here where i live and have the car repaired under the warranty i bought with the car. I did and the garage wouldnt do it because they had no recored of me having a warranty. Called back again and was told that the warranty does not go into effect until after 30 days and it wont cover these issues anyway. The business wanted me to bring it to ******* again and take it to their mechanic after 3 weeks had gone by already. In order to do this i will have to take a day off from my job since i live almost 2 hours away and the cost of gas. IF the car went under the KIA 20 whatever point check this would of or shouldn't have happened in 2 days. I don't have the time to take off from my job for the whole day and spend the gas money so they will only maybe cover the rotors for the brakes. I asked the company if they forgot my Kia Inspection check for these issues should of not gone unnoticed.

Desired Settlement
I am going to take the car in where i live and have these issues fixed because i don't have the time and also have to give my job a 3 week notice before i can have off and by then the warranty will be expired and ill be SOL either way by the time i can get off and get down there. I think KIA should be responsible for these repairs and also for giving me the " Run Around" with who's going to pay for it. If they do a 20 whatever point check these issues should of never been issues, Brakes and steering are a BIG part of driving a car!!!!!!I did notify my salesman on the 2nd day of the problem!! almost 4 weeks later its getting taken care of by me.

Business Response
Hi ******,
Thanks for speaking with me about your **** Kia ****** that you recently purchased.

I can see that you did get some repairs made at the dealership on ********, I hope that it has taken care of your concerns. If not, I will work with you to try to get your concerns addressed where you live instead of driving it here to *******.

I apologize that you feel like you got the runaround prior to getting that assistance.

You have my email address and my direct line so you will be able to get in touch with me easily if you need me.

Thanks ******,

***** ********

Page 1 of 3
05/20/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/23/2012Business started: 01/01/1953New Owner Date: 07/20/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kansas Department of Revenue
915 SW Harrison St FL 1
Topeka, KS66625-0001
(785) 368-8222
http://www.ksrevenue.org

BBB records show a license number of D-012 for this company, issued by Kansas Department of Revenue. Their web address is http://www.ksrevenue.org.

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Ryan Eck (General Manager)Customer Contact: Mrs. Vicky McMillin (Customer Relations Director)Mr. Les Eck (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers new and used car dealership, service and repair.

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Midwest Kia

8725 W Kellogg Dr

Wichita, KS 67209-1816

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8725 W Kellogg Dr 

    Wichita, KS 67209-1816(316) 652-2201

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Midwest Kia is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (316) 685-9211
  • (316) 691-5578
  • (316) 689-4401
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.