BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/03/2008

Mel Hambelton Ford

(316) 462-3673View Additional Phone Numbers11771 W Kellogg St, WichitaKS 67209-1240 Send email to Mel Hambelton FordView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Mel Hambelton Ford in Wichita KS, is proud to be an automotive leader in our community. Since opening our doors, Mel Hambelton Ford has maintained our solid commitment to our customers, offering a wide selection of cars and trucks and ease of purchas

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/03/2008

BBB has determined that Mel Hambelton Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mel Hambelton Ford's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
10/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The negligence of this company damaged my vehicle, and they want me to pay for the repairs.
On ************* I took my car to Mel Hambelton Quick Lane for a tire rotation and oil change. This service included a multi-point inspection of the vehicle. When the service was completed we left to run some errands before going home. While running these errands I noticed that the temperature gauge was registering hotter than normal temperatures. Upon arriving home I opened the hood and noticed steam and bubbles coming from the radiator cap. Upon closer inspection I found that the radiator cap had not be secured properly. I secured the radiator cap fully, and topped of the overflow tank. The next morning my wife needed to use the car and left to go do some work. The car overheated on the way to where she needed to go, and died. Later, after it had cooled off it started, so she tried to get back home. It died at least two more times while trying to get it home. It wouldn't start after that. When we contacted Mel Hambelton about the problem they sent a tow truck for the car. It has been nearly a month since the radiator cap was left unsecured on my car, and I have gotten several differing reasons from the dealership as to why it wouldn't start. They have finally done enough checking and testing to conclude that the head gasket is blown, and the engine needs to be overhauled or replaced. They told me that replacing it would cost less and would only have a thirty day warranty, but the more costly overhaul would have a 12 month warranty. This is an extremely rare car that I had hoped to completely restore some day. They told me that the replacement engine would cost a total of $3800.00, but since they were partially at fault the would discount the repairs by not charging me labor. The labor amount was $******* so I would have to pay the $******* balance. This would devalued the vehicle substantially if I were able to restore it without the original engine, and besides, I feel that all the damage can be related directly to the negligence related to the radiator cap. I feel that they should overhaul the original engine, give me the full 12 month warranty, and pay for all of the repairs. I took the vehicle in for a service worth less than $*****, and they want me to pay $******* or more to fix the problem that they caused. This seems very wrong to me, and they should be held accountable for their negligence.

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: Office of the District Attorney

Desired Settlement
I feel that they should overhaul the original engine and give me the full 12 month warranty on that repair. They have had the car for nearly a month which has made it very difficult to do several things that we needed to do. These things would not have been a problem if we had the use of both of our cars. I don't expect anything for our time lost and trouble caused, but they should accept responsibility for their negligence, and fix my car properly, and to the very best of their ability. I shouldn't have to settle for a used engine that may or may not be as good as what was already in the vehicle. I want my car back, and fixed right.

07/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was treated unfairly, inappropriate names were being used, and it was done in front of my children.
We purchased a Certified Pre owned ****************** on *************. At the time of purchase it was put in contract to replace tires with NEW ones and instead of air we paid extra for Nitrogen. we have had other problems with the vehicle that have been repaired as well. (they have invoices) we had taken the truck back in for air-condition issues and balance issues with the tires on ******** and called Wednesday the **** to check on the progress. we were told that the air condition problem was resolved but that they had some issues with balancing the tires. We were told they couldn't get the front left tire to balance properly so thy ended up taking it off of the rim and after doing that discovered a substance that "appeared to be fix a flat" inside. We found this to be a bit odd since they said they put brand new tires on the car two weeks after we bought it, we knew that we didn't put it in their so we began to question them, the quality of the tires and if they were even brand new or just slightly worn and from another vehicle. They went on to say they were brand new, said they have no reason to lie or to put used tires on it. we have had a balance issue since they were put on and now we know why. they took the tire off again for us to inspect for holes, there were none. So we asked again how this "substance had gotten in the tire", again they said nothing. We then watched as they put the tire back on the rim, put "AIR" into the tire and put it back on our truck. We then asked to speak to the person above the service man we were dealing with. so we entered the service managers office and was then joined by **** ******. Mind you our 5 and 3 year old children were in the office with us and had been with us this whole time. We again explained the situation to the manager and **** and let them know that we had no idea how anything happened to the tires since they were the only ones that have serviced our vehicle, and that because of it we wanted them to replace the tires because now they are not what we had expected. they told us no and we asked to speak to The GM and was told that it wasn't going to happen. Manager ended up calling my husband a "JERK" three times in front of my children and upsetting my 5 1/2 year old daughter because of it. We were hen told that the conversation was now over, they were not replacing the tires and were now done helping us and that if we didn't leave they would call the police. That was said a few times to us. Very upset and angry we went to go get in our truck to leave, my husband told them to clean the grease off of the driver side door because he didn't bring it in with grease on it and the manager we had just dealt with and that had called him a jerk, came out and said "being a little picky now aren't we" my husband replied with "yes" I didn't bring it in with grease on it. The manager the said "well I saw what you traded in, so you cant be too picky". We then were told to not come back or the police would be called. My mother and I went back up to speak to a manager on *********, she was speaking to a service man and was just asking to see the invoice for the new tires, her name is on the truck as well. I was explaining to ***** that we just wanted a new set of tires since we don't know the real story behind the "new" ones they had put on. As I was speaking to him **** ****** came around the corner and said "I'm not having my guys waste anymore of their time on you, this conversation is over and you both need to leave before I call the cops and they make you leave. he said that to my mother twice. I have never in my life been treated this way, and for them to call my husband a jerk 3 times AND in front of our children is completely inappropriate, and something needs to be done.

Desired Settlement
At the time we were just wanting them to replace the tires again, but after being treated the way that we were, and since they are not willing to even work with us, we want them to take the truck back and give us our money back. We will go elsewhere and buy a new truck.

Business Response
In response to this concern, we at Mel Hambelton Ford have the utmost respect for our customers, up until they become disrespectful to us and demanding what we are going to do, threatening attorneys and TV stations. This became this case with Mr. *****. Mr. ***** purchased this vehicle on **********. Mel Hambelton Ford installed new tires on ********** at ***** miles. On ********** the customer brought the vehicle in for service and indicated a vibration, this was at 35526 miles. There was no mention of this concern on the previous two visits, **********, and **********. Upon further investigation after the tire would not properly balance, we did find a substance in one of the new tires that were installed on this vehicle. Unsure what the liquid was or where it came from, we came to the conclusion that it might be fix-a-flat and questioned the customer at that point. The customer reported that they have no idea about the fluid, and we have no reason to dis-believe them since there was no punctures in the tire that would have made this either plausible or necessary for someone to put fix-a-flat in the tire. To this day it is unclear as to the type and origin of the liquid found in the tire. The moisture has been removed from the tire and installed on the vehicle with no further problems, in no way do these tires need to be replaced due to the liquid found in this one tire. As far as the comment that was made towards Mr. *****, it was said that Mr. ***** was acting like a jerk not that he is a jerk, and that if he persisted, he would be asked to leave. After being told that we were not going to put on another set of new tires, the customer escalated their behavior and language, and was then asked to leave. When the customer responded that they did not have to leave, at this point we did offer to have them escorted from the premises my the local authorities. At this point in time, we have no plans to do any future business with this customer.

07/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We called to inquire about a specific truck that was listed at a reasonable price and after we showed interest, the price changed.
On ************** we saw a **** truck on this business' website. We contacted the company online about purchase of this truck and we were told that this price was not correct. I was then contacted by a manager of the company who told me "the company is not liable for this error." However, I feel that he did not try to recover this situation. He offered this truck " in the upper ****** dollar price." which would in no way accommodate the price that they had advertised that I was interested in purchasing. He just kept telling me it wasn't his fault, but I don't know how it would be my fault, as the consumer either. I feel that the price they advertised should be honored. This type of false advertising reflects very poorly on this company and I'm very disappointed at this type of behavior.

Desired Settlement
I would like to to be able to purchase the vehicle that they listed for the price that they listed it for. I feel that they did this on purpose, because other cars on their lot were falsely priced that were then changed on **************. I feel that this is a repeated occurrence on this companies fault.

Business Response
We apologize for this issue. Mel Hambelton Ford changes its prices on a weekly basis. On ******** at 9:22 am *********** a **** Ford ************************* was priced at $******. On ********* at 11:13 am it was changed to $****** due to a clerical error. Once the error was realized, it was immediately changed to $****** on ******** at 4:46 pm. Mel Hambelton Ford, as well as most companies that advertise, has a disclaimer. We do apologize for any confusion.

05/26/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ran credit check without providing information or asking permission.
On *********, I made an appointment to get a test drive with Mr. *** of a ******************. During the test drive I informed him I had my own bank and would not need a credit check. I also said I was not looking to buy on that day as I was waiting for a substantial refund prior to signing any contracts. He said he even knew my loan officer personally. Once back inside his office, he asked how I would be able to buy his car today but I yet again informed him I could not buy today. He asked if he could do a trade appraisal at least to which I agreed and again reiterated that I would not be buying today. Mr. *** came back a few minutes later stating that he had run my credit report and said I had a *** credit rating. He also said he was able to pull up my current vehicle payoff amount. I told him that the trade in amount did not require my credit to be pulled nor did I ever give him my SSN nor Driver's Licence. He went and got a sales manager who wanted to discuss my trade in amount but when I said I was upset that my credit report was pulled without my knowledge or consent he said, "Oh well that won't hurt you too much." I told him that what he did was illegal to which he simply got up and left the room. Mr. *** came back in and said he assumed that I wanted the credit report pulled to which I said I repeatedly told him that I had my own financing and never authorized such a thing. I said I want my keys and to leave immediately as they were holding them away from me in the manager's office (a very deceptive trapping technique to keep me there longer). After waiting to get my keys back, I went out to the parking lot to find my current ****************** was still on and left in drive with the radio blaring. If I had waited a few more minutes then my car could have ended up rolling off and hitting something since it was left unattended in D. The dealership also promised me a gas card which I never received for making the trip out there which is a lie and falls under false advertising.

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: ***************

Desired Settlement
I request that Mel Hambelton Ford offer their ****************** at half of the listed price of $***** for a total sale price of $******** to include a 100,000 mile/60 month bumper to warranty, taxes, tag and licencing fees. Also, since they unlawfully looked at the payoff amount on my ****************** with this credit check, I ask they pay the full $****** amount as a "trade-in allowance" that they said they found on my report. If these conditions are not met, I will sue them under the FCRA for maximum damages to include lost money on better interest rates, mental duress due to the high pressure to purchase a vehicle despite my repeated attempts to say no and also all lawyer fees. I will also be filing with the state DOR in ****** to ensure Mel Hambelton Ford does not engage in these illegal activities with anyone else.

Business Response
Mr.******* ****** came to Mel Hambelton Ford on *********. He had a 6:00 PM appointment with ***** *** interested in a ******************. Upon arriving at Mel Hambelton Ford Mr.*** greeted and took Mr.****** for a test drive. While on the test drive Mr.****** informed Mr.*** that he had been approved for *% interest rate at his credit union. Mr.*** responded back that we used several different banks and that we are competitive and often can get a better interest rate for the consumer. Mr.****** responded and I quote "If you can beat *% then more power to you". Upon arriving back at the dealership Mr.****** told Mr.*** that he would like to look at the numbers (trade difference, payments). Mr.****** having purchased a car in the past from Mel Hambelton Ford, Mr.*** went through and updated all of Mr.******* information (Name spelling, phone number, income and social security number). Mr.*** then presented a sales price, trade-in value as well as payments to Mr.******. Mr.*** then informed Mr.****** that the payment was based on a *% rate and that if he could get that rate at his bank that he recommended him do so because we probably couldn't obtain that for him. Mr.****** then started saying that he did not authorize us to pull his credit and he was not happy about his trade-in value and that he wanted more money for his trade. At that time one of our Managers (**** *****) went to talk to Mr.****** about his trade-in value. He then started telling Mr.***** that he wanted more money for his trade that he had just bought it last month for a lot more than we were appraising it for. Mr. ***** asked him what figure he had in mind and Mr. ****** said that he just wanted his keys. Mr.***** gave him his keys and Mr.****** left. Afterwards while trying to contact Mr.****** I spoke with Mr.******* *** and he notified me that he believes everything that I have said in regards to this letter.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There are a number of incorrect things in this response that quite concern me. The phrase "more power to you" is something that I would never say and I certainly did not say it then. It is a sarcastic and rude phrase in my personal opinion. I even emphasized that I had my own financing with **** through ******* which Mr. *** said he knew her personally. Second, the trade in value was not the issue here. Mr *** asked me to make sure my name and address were correct for purposes of "contacting me later" and never stated anything about a credit check nor was my SSN even mentioned nor given. I gave him my keys to get an appraisal on the vehicle and not to go run my credit. Under the FCRA you do not need need to pull a person's credit for just a trade appraisal. I was very adamant about not running my credit. He came in first with my trade in value and I asked if that the most they could do. He said he could see what he could do and then informed me of my credit score and said they he did not believe they could beat the *%. At that point I said again that I did not want my credit report run and he said that he would grab his manager. When **** came in he started by talking about the trade in value like that was my issue. I informed him that was not my issue but rather the illegal credit check. That is the point at which he said, "Oh well that won't hurt you too much." I reiterated that I did not want my credit report run and that what they did was illegal. At that point **** got up and said he would get Mr. ***. Mr. *** returned to the office and tried to talk about the trade in amount yet again and I said that was not the issue but the illegal credit report was and all I wanted was my keys and to leave. Mr. ***, and not ****, was the person who got my keys from the managers office and returned them to me after some time. It was upon getting outside that I found my car was still running and shifted into Drive.
On a separate note, contacting my First Shirt aka "***" without my knowledge was rather underhanded and in poor taste. I am handling things with him now though. Also, I said I had gotten a wonderful deal on my trade-in allowence many months prior and not one month prior. I have multiple documents to show that have had the car for about three months at this point. I know that a trade-in allowance will not equal what I paid for a car nor did I ever try to imply that I wanted what I paid. That is simply impossible.
Thank you for the response.

Final Business Response
In addition to our initial response,in which everything and all stated prior too Mel Hambelton Ford stands behind as true and accurate. Since receiving Mr ******** BBB complaint, the General Manager of Mel Hambelton Ford has tried without success to contact Mr ****** in regards to achieving a fair resolution. In regards to calling Mr ******** "***", after Mr ****** notified Mel Hambelton Ford that the **************************** office was involved Mel Hambelton Ford then contacted his ****************.Mel Hambelton Ford does and has always supported the Armed Forces with the utmost respect and courtesy. So such complaint was not only a shock but took great priority to be handled swiftly and with great care. Unfortunately Mr. ****** is trying to take advantage of this misunderstanding by demanding such an unconscionable amount for his trade-in. Since this complaint was filed, Mel Hambelton Ford has been proactive and has taken action in contacting Trans Union which has been notified that with his assistance can permanently remove the inquiry in question. This inquiry which was made on Mr. ******** behalf and only after we updated all of Mr. ******** information (date of birth, social security number, address). Finally Mel Hambelton Ford is confident a swift conclusion can be reached if both parties involved act responsible and reasonable.

08/02/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2
01/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told an incorrect price for my service. There is incorrect information on my repair order. My transmission is now broke.
On ****************** I took my **** Ford ********** to the service department due to a slip in the transmission and a leak in the back of my truck. Customer #****** and Invoice # ******. ****** ****** was my Service Adviser. ****** called me and told me that after driving my truck they did feel the hesitation and that they had looked at the transmission fluid and it looked like it hadn't been changed in awhile and dirty. He told me that they felt if they changed the fluid it would fix the problem. He also told me I had a coolant leak and a rear axle leak. He also told me that my wheel bearings needed to be replaced. I asked the price for all of this and he said $*****. I told him I would have to call my boyfriend and check with him to see if that was okay. I later called ****** and gave him the OK to go ahead. ****** called me later and told me that the transmission flush seemed to fix my problem and that my transmission was and I quote "In great condition and would last me a long time." When I went to pick up my truck my total went from $***** to $*****. I told ****** that this was not correct and he lied and told me he did not quote me the $*****. I was tired of arguing with him and he agreed to take a little money off. My bill still ended up being $******** which is not what he told me originally. We drove our truck straight home that night. The next morning we started our truck up drove it about 15 miles down the road and all of these transmission codes starting popping up and our tow haul light started flashing on and off. I called ****** told him what was going on and that I was not going to pay to have my truck looked at when they had just taken plenty money from me and he said to bring it and we would talk money later. I was not willing to risk another $***** bill when I did not have the money. On ************* our transmission went out on us while we were driving down the road not even going 40 MPH. I called ****** told him what happened and told him that I wanted them to tow it to Mel Hambleton for free because there was no reason why our transmission should of gone out when they had just serviced not that long ago. I have been arguing with them and having problems with them ever since. ****** did get the tow paid for and he offered to knock off $*** dollars off a transmission they would put in, but honestly I don't have the money for a new transmission and I don't trust them to work on my vehicle anymore. My family has been very loyal to them and they are not being very good to us. They lied on the repair order. ****** told me he felt my transmission acting up, he told me my fluid was bad, and he also told me that they did a flush which my repair order does say. Verbally they are telling me they didn't do a flush even though that's what they repair order says. I have called around to many transmission places and they are all saying on a truck that old a flush could cause my transmission to go out. Also on the repair order it says they didn't feel anything wrong with my truck when they drove it and that's a lie. It also says my fluid was good in my transmission. Why would I pay for new fluid if my fluid was good? They are unwilling to give me my money back for my service and I am not willing to let them touch my truck again after all the lies. ****** told me that it was my fault that my transmission blew up. He said I had to be rough on my truck. I find that very insulting as I take very good care of my vehicles. I have also worked with the service manager I believe his name is **** and he will not approve me my $*** back and to tow the truck to my house. I have left a message for the general manager, but I have not heard back.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to tow my truck to my house at ************************************************ and I want my $*** back for the transmission service that I believe ruined my transmission. i would like to replace my transmission honestly, but I know that is a long shot when they don't even want to give me back the money I deserve. I would also like them to refund me the $*** some odd dollars that I had to pay on my bill that should never have been on there in the first place, but since he lied to me about the final cost it was. My biggest concern though is having it towed to my house and getting my $*** back.

Business Response
On ************ Mel Hambelton Ford wrote a Repair order on ******** ****** ********** VIN#*****************. We were not able to duplicate the customers transmission concern after several attempts. As a part of the diagnostic's we suggested to pull the transmission pan and inspect for debris in the bottom of the transmission pan. After removal of the transmission pan we found that the fluid was dark and in need of service. However the transmission pan had no signs of debris in the bottom of it. It was recommended at that time for the customer to service the transmission filters (inline and pan filter) flush the transmission fluid as a preventative maintenance due to the condition of the fluid. The customer agreed to the service's and paid $****** for this maintenance. The customer picked up the truck and the incorrect ticket was at the cashier window . After a review by the advisor the mistake was corrected and a new invoice with the quoted total was given to the customer. ******** contacted Mel Hambelton Ford a day or two after picking up the truck and spoke with *** he was instructed that the transmission was acting up again. *** told the customer to bring the truck back and that there would be no charge to look at the transmission issue again. We would let them know what we found. The truck never returned to the dealership. On ****** ******** called and said that the truck would not move. Mel Hambelton Ford towed the truck to the dealer at no expense to the customer. Mel Hambelton Ford has given the customers many options for repairs. The dealership has also agreed to discount which ever repair the customer chooses the original amount that the customer paid to complete the preventative maintenance which the truck needed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They have told me numerous times they did not do a flush, but yet they just said in their response that they did a flush. In the repair order which i have a copy of they said my fluid was fine, but yet they just said in their response that it wasn't. They have been lying since the beginning. They did NOT tell me that it would be free of charge to bring it back in. *** said we would talk prices later. That is a complete lie. All they are offering me is a new transmission that i can get cheaper else where from a reliable transmission service company here in *******. They also offered me a used transmission that I don't feel comfortable with. I do not want them to work on my vehicle again. I do not trust them. They have lost my respect and trust. I want my %****** back for my transmission service and I want them to tow my truck to my house because I do not want them to work on my vehicle again because I do not trust them. So no I do not accept their response. I am at the point now where I'm getting my lawyer involved if this doesn't get cleared up soon.

Final Business Response
**** *********** of *** called. Consumer knew had a transmission problem when brought in. *** did the flush & replaced liquids. They could not duplicate her problem. Consumer brought back in when transmission went out. *** gave her options for repair & she declined. *** discounted repairs over $***. The will not be held responsible for a new transmission. A male came in & picked up the vehicle about 2 weeks ago. She has indicated that she does not want them to do any further work.

10/03/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Service - Specialty Parts, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/01/2001Business started: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kansas Department of Revenue
915 SW Harrison St FL 1
Topeka, KS66625-0001
(785) 368-8222
http://www.ksrevenue.org

BBB records show a license number of D0146 for this company, issued by Kansas Department of Revenue. Their web address is http://www.ksrevenue.org.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1984, KS

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lisa Hambelton (Dealer Principle)Customer Contact: Mr. Phil Nightingale (General Manager)Mr. Jeff Horning (Gen. Sales Manager)Mrs. Rochelle Scharenberg (Comptroller)Mr. Dennis Young (Parts & Service Mgr.)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Service - Specialty Parts, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Mel Hambelton Ford offers a full line of service areas including:

-New Automobile Sales

-Pre-owned automobile Sales

-Auto Loans and Financing

-Certified service department

-Full selection of Ford, Ford Truck, parts and accessories

Service Area

Servicing all makes and models, now offering early bird drop off at 7:00am M-F and 8:00am on Saturday. Need a lift? Our courtesy shuttle can drop you off anywhere in the greater Wichita area!

BBB Program Participation
This company has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes through their participation in the following programs: BBB Identification, BBBOnLine.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

12 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mel Hambelton Ford

11771 W Kellogg St

Wichita, KS 67209-1240

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 11771 W Kellogg St 

    Wichita, KS 67209-1240(316) 462-3673
    (888) 388-3673

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, TheKansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mel Hambelton Ford is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 388-3673
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.