BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/23/1995

Laird Noller Automotive, Inc.

Find a Location

(785) 843-3500View Additional Phone Numbers935 W 23rd St, LawrenceKS 66046-4410View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/23/1995

BBB has determined that Laird Noller Automotive, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Laird Noller Automotive, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Laird Noller Automotive, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
04/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Windshield replacement took over 2 months to complete. Should have been done correctly. Dealership was very hard to communicate with.
This is the email that I sent to Laird Nollar on ****:
In ********, we purchased a car with the understanding that the windshield was going to be replaced (had a rock chip in the driver's view). The purchase of the car went very well, and we have been satisfied with the purchase, for the most part.

After we got back to ********* and started getting into the cold weather, we noticed that the car's windshield de-icer for the front wipers was not working. After some investigation, I found out that the windshield that was installed was not the correct one for the car. I tried to get in contact with ***** ****** about this, we finally got in touch with each other around the first of ******* to resolve this issue. It has now been over two months and we are FINALLY getting the windshield replaced with the proper one. This has been a huge headache for me as it seemed like I was needing to do all the research and calling to get this windshield replaced. I talked to ***** last week, and he gave the information from ******** to me so that I could call and make an appointment for the replacement, I noticed on his forward that he had received this infomation on ***********. Why did he wait more than 3 weeks for me to call him to give me this information?

I know that everyone is busy, but the waiting game has been rediculous. Now that the weather is warming up, it will not be until next year when we need it again. This is something that should have been taken care of upon purchase of the car. How this oversight happened is beyond me, it seems like a pretty simple procedure to make sure that the correct windshield goes into the car.

I appreciate that ***** was willing to work with me on getting the windshield replaced. However, I think that it taking more than two months to get resolved is completely rediculous. The fact that I had to keep trying to call him back as he would not call me with updated inormation as to the status of my claim was rediculous. It should not have been up to me to check on ***** for the information, he should have been able to get the information to me within a week of when I initially contacted him.

I am willing to discuss this more with someone, to see if we can come to some sort of conclusion, as I feel that I am owed something for all of the running around that I received for an item that we were agreed to have upon purchase of the car.

To be honest, this has left a pretty sour taste in my mouth about this dealership. Which is unfortunate, because I thought the purchase went very well.
The windshield was finally replaced on ****.

As of ****, I have recieved no response. I sent another email to them today asking for a reply to my original email to them.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the dealership to contact me to settle this. There was no reason why I should have been doing the running around to get this windshield replaced. It took several phone calls from me to the dealership and to Safelite to get this squared away. It should have taken all of 5 minutes to get this set up with Safelite from the dealership, then have me call them to book the appointment. This way I could have used the windshield with the defroster during the winter months.

I feel like I am owed due to the time to find the dealership's original mistake in putting in the wrong windshield, the several calls to the dealership for updates/status reports, and needing to find the nearest safelite in my area.

For example:
On Friday, March 7, I recieved an email from the dealership with the info to Safelite to call to book the apoointment. The dealership recieved this information on February 13. Why the wait for me to call for the dealership to finally get this info to me.

This is why I feel I am due some sort of compensation. The correct windshield should have been ordered and replaced when we took delivery of the car. None of this should have happened and I spent a lot of time dealing with this.

10/09/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Verbally agreed on both sales price and financing rate of new vehicle. Once we arrived at dealership, they were dishonest and raised financing rate 4%
During verbal phone negotiations for new ********* vehicle, we agreed upon both the sales price and financing rate of 0.9%. The financing rate of 0.9% was explicitly discussed and confirmed on at least two separate occasions. $*** credit card deposit was made to hold the car. We drove 45 minutes from *********** to dealership in ****************. After inspecting car, we were reviewing the closing paperwork and noticed that the dealer dishonestly and under-handedly increased financing rate from 0.9% to 4.9%. We pointed out this discrepancy and the sales representative, **** *****, said "Really? I'm at a loss". "I handle the cars, but don't know much about the financing".
I told him that the deal was off. He then went back to discuss with the office and reported the rate could be lowered to 3.9%. Again I reaffirmed that the agreed upon rate was 0.9%. **** said that we probably would not qualify for that 0.9% rate because we were first time car buyers. He stated this as a matter of fact without even verifying. In actuality we were not first time care buyers. Also, he said that he made a mistake and the 0.9% rate applied only for 2014 vehicles and not *********. After 2 hours in the dealership we left without buying the car as the dealership dishonestly raised the agreed upon financing rate which would have effected the bottom line by several thousand dollars. **** ***** told me that $*** deposit would be refunded. The following day I called **************** whom informed me that the $*** deposit was not refunded yet. I filed a compliant with **************** whom started investigation into the matter.
The next day I called **** ***** to inform him of my disgust with the dealerships business practice. I again requested that my $*** credit deposit be immediately refunded and he agreed to do so. Three weeks later, I noticed that the charge still had not been refunded. I called **** ***** again on ************** and for a third time assured that the $*** deposit would be refunded

Desired Settlement
Immediate refund of $*** deposit for car.

Business Response
Mr ******** and salesperson **** ***** communicated this transaction by phone as Mr ******** was not in the ******** area. After speaking with the Sales Manager, **** ****** and salesperson, it sounds as if the best available interest rate was available to the customer- with approved credit. Customer never did complete an online credit application to verify that they were indeed going to qualify for the rate that was discussed as available with approved credit. Customer came to the dealership to close the car deal and din't qualify for the rate discussed for whatever reason. Another factor that added top the confusion was that multiple vehicles were discussed including 2013 and 2014 model years which don't have the same incentives from the factory (interest rates)
Customer was refunded his deposit by *********.

05/04/2015Problems with Product / Service
04/13/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
06/28/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Renting & Leasing, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 03/01/1978Business started: 03/01/1978
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kansas Department of Revenue
915 SW Harrison St FL 1
Topeka, KS 66625-0001
(785) 368-8222

BBB records show a license number of D-45 for this company, issued by Kansas Department of Revenue. Their web address is Kansas Dealer License.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: March 1978, KS

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Bill Egan (General Manager - Laird Noller Lawrence)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Renting & Leasing, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Laird Noller Automotive, Inc.

935 W 23rd St

Lawrence, KS 66046-4410

To | From


3 Locations

  • 2829 Iowa St 

    Lawrence, KS 66046-4157

  • 935 W 23rd St 

    Lawrence, KS 66046-4410(785) 843-3500

  • PO Box 38 

    Lawrence, KS 66044-0038

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Laird Noller Automotive, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 281-1105
  • (785) 843-3500
  • (785) 838-2327
  • (785) 838-2344
  • (855) 979-5634

Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.