BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1987

Euro Tech SAAB

(316) 263-2247View Additional Phone Numbers1122 E Central Ave, WichitaKS 67214-3923 Send email to Euro Tech SAABView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1987

BBB has determined that Euro Tech SAAB meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Euro Tech SAAB's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Took car in for engine repair and it resulted in many damages seen and unseen at time of pickup.
I took my car in to get a new engine replaced for $****. It took over a month to get it back. While being repaired they admitingly broke my shifter cable and replaced it. To do that, they pulled up my console. When they put it back together the console was not screwed down. THe ignition was not popping up and down properly. The seats were covered in oil and dirt and the seats were broken. They tried to send it home in this condition. I refused. They fixed the above and I picked it up another day. I picked it up drove it home, got 1/2 way home and it was making a horrible noise. Called and told the and brought it back on Monday. They readjusted stuff and the noise went away. I was concerened about their workmanship and asked them what assurance did I have that they did not mess up anything that I couldn't see and they said they would honor it for 90 days. My ignition was still not popping up and down correctly but I was living with it until one day when I got in and it would not turn off. I turn the ignition off and I could pull the key out with the car in park but the car was still on (lights, radio, not engine) thus running my battery dead. It lost power at the same time, check engine light came on and check gear box. I drove directly to Eurotech. Once there the skinny tall guy said ignition was not aligned properly and it shouldn't do that. Blamed the guys that did it and said it just slipped. He bashed **** and his skills saying too many hands working on the same vehicle and things got messed up. That my car came in at a really bad time, too many things going on with the company and wasn't fixed right. They ran a code reader and reported it was the neutral safety switch. It would come and go as a problem. I left my car there to get repaired, they said at that time it was covered under the 90 day warranty. They removed the console, repaired the ignition and replaced the console. Called me the next day and said none of it was their doing they only worked on the engine and had nothing to do with the other stuff and they would not install the $*** Neutral safety switch. But the ignition had already been fixed so they would eat the cost on that. I talked to the owner and said skinny guy said it was their fault and it happened when putting it back together. Owner said skinny guy was an idiot I asked why did he employee idiots? He had no answer. When I picked my car up, it ran. I found a package of ******** in my car (not mine) and my intertior light did not work. I called and comlained about lights but did not have time or trust to return it to get lights on. It did not even make it home before it died. I did not get a check engine light or gerabox, just went limp. I assumed it was the neutral safety switch. I replaced the NS switch $***. They told me the part was $***. Bought one online (used) for $***. In the process of replacing that we had time to look under the hood and found the following problems. The battery tie down was missing. The battery was just sliding around in there. Which broke the windshield washer container. It is cracked. There was also 2 bolts missing from the bracket that holds the plate that the battery sits on. There was a pipe near the front that was not screwed back down, it was just hanging on. There was also another line(vacuum line that was broken. Inside, we opened the console up to find it was missing several bolts bolting it down and found the cord that controlled the interior lights.The console had been put back together on top of it and it was hanging out underneath. We also found a red oil rag and a relay of some sort (not sure where it belongs or where it even came from).I took pictures and video of all of the above.The above was all stuff they had to remove when replacing the engine.It was not in that condition when given to them or they would have mentioned it. We found this hose broke,we found missing screws, battery was shifting and they would have charged/ fixed it at the time of service.

Desired Settlement
I would like partial refund as the errors you have caused me has made me spend several hundred in rental car fees because you did not fix the car the first time and I have had to keep returning it. I would also like for you to pay to fix the things that you broke. I do not trust your workmanship so I do not want you to do the job but it needs to be fixed correctly. I have pictures, your twinkies, your rag and some mysterious relay if you would like any of it back.

Business Response
In response to ***** ******** complaint I would like to say that it is most unfortunate that she has from the begining perceived us as an enemy instead of an ally on her team to correct the problems of her automobile.
It is correct that her bill was approximately $******* which I felt was VERY FAIR to replace an engine assambly in her SAAB with a used one. She was quoted an new and a remained unit and she choose to buy the used motor. The written warranty on the used motor is a 6 months parts only warranty and 90 days on our workmanship. I fear that she somehow thinks (no matter what she has been told) that now she has a new car and every part on it should be covered under a warranty. It is also correct that the repairs took around a month. However, it took approximately a half of a week for us to look the car over make the estimates and about a week for her to determine how she wanted it fixed and for the motor to be shipped in took another week and a half.
It is also correct that we broke her shift cable and we told her that and ordered her a new one and replaced it at no charge to her. We did pull up her console in order to replace the cable. However, the Saab factory trained Tech left the console like he found it. The back cover was missing and the rear bolts were missing as well. I asked him why he didn't replace them and he said he thought that the customer or another shop was working on the console because the ignition switch was sticking and still had the other parts to the car somewhere.
This is a 17 year old car with 173,289 miles on it and it is not uncommon for the ignition switches to stick due to age and wear. The plastic pieces also become very brittle and break if you try to move them.
She did come in with a wipe and wiped the seats and showed me that the drivers seat was dirty. All of the seats were dirty as well, both front and back so we cleaned the car for her. My Techs are not covered in oil and do not get our customers seats oily. Then she stated that we broke the plastic trim pieces on her drivers seat and the handle for the lumbar on the drivers seat back as well. I agreed to order the parts for her and told her she could bring it back when they were in and we would replace them for her. AT NO CHARGE. My Tech stated that there was no way he broke 2 of the 3 pieces that she said we broke. He didn't even touch the lumbar. The front lower piece he said is possible that he could have broken it when he leaned over it but he was unaware of that if he did. (It should be obivious that if we would have broken them we would have told her just like on the shift cable).None the less she had to have a car and didn't want to bring it back so We loaned her a vehicle to drive while we ordered her parts. One of the plastic parts was not available from Saab due to the age of the car. All of the salvage parts cars had the same parts broken on them so we ordered them new. We were able to find the no longer supplied part by SAAB on a used vehicle as well as the back cover for her console that was missing. We replace the console cover, bolts, and all of the plastic parts for her an NO CHARGE even though we didn't break or lose them. After we finished her car we had to call her 3 times to get her to bring our car back and pick up her car. I'm not sure but it appears she put over 1000 miles on our car in that time period.
I think the noise she was refering to after she drove it for a while was an idler on her fan belt that was defective. That was not a part we had replaced as we transferred it from her old motor. Nevertheless, we replaced it. Also at NO CHARGE.
Sometime later the ignition switch failed that we told her about and she choose not to fix when we delieverd the car to her. Also she had a code for a faulty safety neutral switch on the transmission. Neither of these parts were a part of the engine job and were not replaced. Once again however we repaced her ignition switch at NO CHARGE. We told her however that we would not replace the safety neutral switch for free and gave her a quote to do that work. She declined to do the work and went home and orderd a used one and replaced it. She then determined that the car would not go into gear and called very upset and filed this complaint. She wanted to know if I was going to pay for that and I said that if we caused the problem we would fix it and if not we would not. I asked her if she had adjusted the switch and I never got an answer. This was about a week and a half ago. She said she was going to tow it in and we could look at it for her. I'm guessing she got it adjusted as she has not brought it in yet and I see that she has it is for sale on ************.
I have never and will never say that one of my employees is an idiot so I'm not sure where that came from. I can't answer about the conversations that she had with others but I can tell you that we did not have the ignition switch out of her car and even if we did it wouldn't function if it wasn't installed correctly as it is tied to the steering lock on the car as well. Apparently, according to ***** when we installed her free ignition switch we didn't hook up her dome light switch properly. I'm not sure if that's the case or not or if the bulb was burned out. I told her once again that if we failed to function properly we would take care of it.
Our quote on the safety neutral switch was for a new one including labor and not a used one. We had loosened the batteery box as we thought we were supposed to replace the switch. I'm not sure if we didn't get it put back together before she came back to get it or what happened in that regard.
In summary I think that our record speaks for itself. Over our 40 years in business we have very, very few complaints. We have lost money on this repair due to all of the items we have repaired at no charge for her. We were hoping to make her happy however I doubt that we are capable of doing that. We called ***** after she had had her car for a week or so and she said she was happy and she had been on a trip and it was running and working well. We work on 3 to 10 cars a day and for the most part our customers are our friends and are very happy with our work and prices.
I'm not willing to give ***** any MORE FREE STUFF. If a problems arises that is under the part warranty or with our craftmanship I will be happy to help her. Otherwise, I'm afraid that our shop will never be able to meet her requirements and I would prefer to not continue working on her vehicle once our obligation to her is met.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did not want FREE stuff from Eurotech! I just want them to fix what they broke! I do not want to pay them to fix anything! I will pay someone who I trust in their work.

They did give me 2 loaner cars. The first one they gave me I had for a few days and they did have to call me a few times to trade cars with them because I teach and I have to be at school at 6:00 am until 6:00 to run latchkey and teach. Which is after their hours. The first car they gave me was a white 4 door. They said it was already sold and the lady was coming back to pick it so drive it carefully, it was already sold! Seemed like a very weird practice but that is what they did. The next time they gave me a wagon. I had it about 2 weeks. I live in ********, kids go to *******, I teach on the far South West side of ******* and own a business in ********* so I easily put 100 miles on a car a day!

My car is not fixed, it is not running! I posted it on ** the day I left your shop and it stopped running the next time I started it and never took it off **. You told me to tow it in but we haven't had time. My hubby has been gone the last 2 weekends and I do not tow trailers! By the time I get home at night it is 7:00 and I don't feel comfortable parking it outside your shop on protected over night, it is not the safest area.
You told me to bring it in and if it was something you caused you would fix it. However you don't seem to take responsibilty for your workers' action no matter what so there is no way you would find yourself responsible. So, my lawyer suggested I take it and get another opion before taking it in to your shop so they can document the car's condition. I realize that it is a 17 year old car but it had dome lights when it went in, they were not sticking out from under the console, the battery was tied down, the transmsission had the proper level of fluid. These things do not happen because of age!

You did call ****** an idiot, I had the speaker phone on during this call so there are witnesses. ****** did talk about **** and ****** was a witness to that. Everytime I talked with ****** he had something bad to say about ****. He said he was in the process of being let go, my car was a result of "too many hands in the kitchen and that it just came in at a bad time". Yuy that was there when I dropped it off but was gone by the time I picked it up.

You fixed those things because YOU broke them! My car is little, your men are big, accidents happen. You did reinstall my ignition switch which ****** admitted was installed wrong was arching as a result of your installation (****** was a witness) that is when you called him an idiot. When you reinstalled the console at some point you did install the bolt. 1 bolt! there should have been several but you left them all off. There was only 1 bolt holding the console down. You did not tell me that an idler was defective or that you replaced it. You said that something just needed tightened, it had worked itself loose as it happens often when installing an engine. You gave me no paper showing anything was replaced! You did not leave the console as it was, the back cover was missing off the consoleht it in. We had taken that off to allow more air to flow, in the back to my son for medical reasons. When we got it back they put a different back cover on it, which was not needed. I just want the car back the way they found it!

I do not suggest anyone to go to this business. They may have been back in the day but they are not good! I will not return as soon as my car is back to its normal running condition!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/1987Business started: 01/01/1973
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kansas Department of Revenue
915 SW Harrison St FL 1
Topeka, KS66625-0001
(785) 368-8222
http://www.ksrevenue.org

BBB records show a license number of D-0139 for this company, issued by Kansas Department of Revenue. Their web address is http://www.ksrevenue.org.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1983, KS

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ron Fortune (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Euro-Tech Motor Werks, Inc.
BBB Program Participation
Euro Tech SAAB participates in the BBBOnLine Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Euro Tech SAAB

1122 E Central Ave

Wichita, KS 67214-3923

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1122 E Central Ave 

    Wichita, KS 67214-3923(316) 263-2247
    (877) 887-0734
    (316) 390-1909

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Euro Tech SAAB is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 887-0734
  • (316) 390-1909
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.