BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1969

Davis-Moore Auto Group

(316) 618-2000View Additional Phone Numbers7675 E Kellogg Dr, WichitaKS 67207-1613View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1969

BBB has determined that Davis-Moore Auto Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Davis-Moore Auto Group's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Davis-Moore Auto Group

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
07/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After 6 weeks and 3 visits to the service center issue has not been fixed. The issue now is one that was created while fixing the original problem.
On ******* I purchased a **************** from the Davis Moore Pre-Owned Super Center at ******************** *************** from ****** ******. The sales managers name was *****. The vin # is ***************** and the vehicle had ***** miles on the odometer. At 59758 miles I noticed some cluth issues so I called Davis Moore Nissan, since sold to **************************, and made an appointment to have the clutch checked out. The service advisers name was ***** **** (****). I took my car in on ******* and was told it needed a new clutch, approximately $*******. I told ***** to hold off until I notified the lot at 5500 E. Kellogg. I called and talked to ***** he called the ****** service department. I was called back and was told by ***** that they would cover the charges for the new clutch. They replaced the cover asmy-clutch, flywheel asmy, bearing release, bush 1st shaft, cylinder asmy-c, brake flush kit, clutch pressure plate and another cylinder asmy-c. According to the service department an aftermarket clutch had been installed and they replaced it with all ****** parts. I was told the car was fixed and I could pick it up. I went to get the car, got in it and drove it out of the service area and turned around and drove back in the service service area. When shifting, the clutch pedal would not return all all the way. It would stick about 2 inches from a full return and I had to use my foot to bring it back up. This was not part of the original problem. ***** told me to leave the car and they would check it out. A few days went by and I was called by ******* *****, who eventually took over my repair, and was told it needed a new master and slave cylinder because the clutch fluid was orange in color and had debris in it. After replacing the master and slave cylinder I was told it was fixed and to pick the car up. I picked it up and it still did not feel right. I was told to drive it and see if it got better, well it did not, so I took it back again. This time I was told the clutch pedal assembly needed to be replaced. They replaced it and I was assured it was fixed. Well it is not fixed. The cluth pedal still sticks and will not return. I paid $******** + $******* sales tax S******** cash down balance of $******* + $******* for MAP CHOICE + $****** Davis Moore admin fee = $******* financed. Granted the repairs were at no charged but my car still is not fixed and the problem is one they caused. Keep in mind, this whole time I have kept *****, the sales manager in the loop. I even took the car to his lot and let him drive it so he could see the problem. My last call to ***** was not returned. (***) ********. I am a ******************************* with ***********************. I saved a long time to get the vehicle of my dreams. I am not looking for sympathy just an old man that wants to drive is car safely. The people involved in this have all been very nice but the bottom line is, my car is not fixed. When this all started it was Davis Moore Nissan and now it is **************************. This all started on approximately ******* and today is *******.

Desired Settlement
I want my car fixed to where I can safely drive it. If it can't be fixed I would like to trade it for another car or a refund. I love the car and would really like to keep it.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***, Treasurer
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ********************
We have been unable to repair the customer's vehicle as replacing the clutch and a number of related parts did not resolve the problem. Therefore we have been working with the customer to find a satisfactory replacement vehicle. It appears he will make a decision this week and we will trade him into another vehicle.

We apologize for the problems this vehicle purchase has created. Our pre-sale inspection did not disclose the issues and we will work diligently to find a vehicle that will satisfy the customer's needs.

03/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service department incorrectly diagnosed three problems with the vehicle over two separate visits for a total over $***** in quoted price.
Brought **** Nissan ********* to Nissan service department for Airbag light, VDC/Slip light, and alignment on **********. Was told it may be a couple hours to diagnose and perform work. After 6 hours, we were told our driver's side airbag was bad and needed replaced for $*****, that they didn't know what caused the VDC/Slip light so they cleared the code, that we had a bad tire pressure sensor that needed replaced for $***, and that our alignment was complete. We declined repairs of these items (excluding alignment). Told to bring vehicle back in if VDC/Slip light came on again.
I personally researched the issue with the airbag and discovered that the code they claimed was for a failed airbag actually related to a number of things and may not actually be a failed airbag. I performed the replacement of the spiral cable/clock spring for the vehicle for $*** and the airbag light went away.
VDC/Slip lights came back on. Called Nissan Service Manager **** *** to discuss the issue. He claimed that there was no fault on their end for airbag mis-diagnosis. Made appointment to have VDC/Slip light diagnosed with the understanding that a "Master Tech" would be waiting for my vehicle on that day at that time. Took vehicle in and waited over an hour and a half for any technician to look at vehicle. Then they stated the ABS Module was bad and would need replaced for $*****.
I told them I did not trust their diagnosis after the problems the first time and requested a refund of initial services rendered. **** *** declined at the time and I have since tried to work with the General Manager **** *******. I have called and talked with him on two occasions with his assurance that he would return my call the following day with a resolution. So far, he has not returned my call and I have had to contact them.
I have also taken my vehicle to a local tire shop who re-checked Davis-Moore Nissan's initial alignment and stated it "looked like the previous shop only adjusted the front and didn't fix the rear alignment issues." They also reset the steering angle sensor as a standard part of the alignment process for a Nissan ******. This cleared the VDC/Slip light issue.
The tire pressure sensor also started working after disconnecting the battery, so that sensor was not bad as the dealership had stated.
So, in summary, the TPS for $*** did not need replaced, the Driver's airbag for $***** did not need replaced, and the ABS Control module for $***** did not need replaced. If I had not done a substantial amount of investigative work on my own, I would have not known the difference and had to pay Davis-Moore Nissan over $***** for repairs that would not have even fixed the problems I was having.
I fear that other customers of this dealership may be getting charged for work that does not actually need done to fix the problems they bring the vehicle in for. I would not trust this service department for any repairs. Period.

Desired Settlement
I paid $****** for the initial work performed that I had to have every bit of re-performed at other locations to correct the problems. I gave Davis-Moore Nissan a second chance to take care of me and they mis-diagnosed another $***** of repairs that were not needed.
I would like a refund of $****** for my troubles. I have spent over 30 hours on this problem with diagnostic services and had to pay other shops to correct work that Davis-Moore had already charged me for. I am not seeking payment for any of those services, just the original amount spent at this dealership.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***, CFO
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ********************
We are sending today in the mail a check to the customer for $****** representing his payment to us for the work performed. We apologize for the troubles.

10/28/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Active Army in ******* wishing to purchase a vehicle and ship it over to self. General Manager making personal call not to allow sale.
On **********, I contacted Davis Moore in Wichita KS about a new ************** that I want to purchase and ship over to myself in ******* (where I am currently stationed as an active duty US Army Soldier). I spoke with **** ******, a sales rep, and he asked me all the questions he needed and said he would assist with getting the ball rolling. I asked if they could assist with shipping and he said he did not know, but would find out. I informed him that I already had an approval from **************** and was ready to make this happen. The next day I get a hold of **** and he informs me that **** *******, the General Manager/Owner, has decided not to allow me to purchase a vehicle just to have it shipped overseas to myself. He also says that the GM has said that ***** would not allow it. I know ***** would allow it as I am over here now and there are plenty of new ****** from personal shipments and through the Exchange New Car Sales (ENCS). ***** is a supporter of the armed forces and I know that this dealer is lying about ****** view and I feel that the GM has an issue with me being active military. After asking **** to inquire once more, I received the following response from the **** from the GM, "I asked him again and he said he does not want to do it." I am not saying I couldn't buy from the ENCS, but I like the truck they have and if I were to purchase one from the ENCS I would have to get a **** and I want the **** I see on their site.

Desired Settlement
I want the dealership to understand that unless its illegal for me to purchase the truck, have it picked up by a family member with a power of attorney and then shipped over here, they have no right to make a call based on personal opinion. I have no issue putting this behind us if they would just realize that once i purchase it, the call of what I do with it is out of their hands. I just want to purchase the truck I have inquired about.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***, ***********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ****@davis-moore.com
We would be delighted to sell the customer a vehicle but can not. We are prohibited by our franchise agreement with ******** from exporting vehicles. It specifically states we can only sell to customers located within the United States. We understand this is consistent among all *********** dealers in the U.S.

The fact that other franchised U.S. dealers may have violated this agreement with people he knows does not change this. ********** requirement is "all vehicles sold must be licensed and titled in the U.S. at the time of sale and must be retained for a minimum of six (6) months." There is no exclusion for military personnel under our franchise agreement.

The customer refers to Exchange New Car Sales. This is a completely separate distribution system from franchised new car dealers such as Davis-Moore. ENCS is the "only on-base, factory-authorized distributor for ******** to military personnel stationed, or on TDY assignment, abroad for at least 30 days." They have "been exclusively selected to perform that role since the AAFES/NEXCOM program was authorized by the U.S. Congress in the mid-1960's." ENCS has rights to sell and deliver vehicles to military personnel stationed overseas we do not have. He can confirm this directly with ENCS.

The customer states we are lying and that we have an issue with him being active military. This is insulting to us and is not correct. Many of our employess are former military or spouses of current active duty military. One of our managers is the volunteer chairperson of Friends of McConnell the civilian group in Wichita that supports our local Air Force Base and our dealership spends tens of thousands of dollars annually directly supporting military families in our community. This can easily be confirmed by contacting McConnell Air Force Base.

There is no further assistance we can provide, we are prohibited as a franchised Dodge & Ram dealer from a transaction such as this, have not lied and have not discriminated against anyone in our military. The customer is welcome to take his complaint directly to ******** as they will only echo our position outlined here and in previous email exchanges.

03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a car from their used location from a salesman that no longer works there, the car has a list of issues.
I purchased a *************** from them, I was sold on the car thinking it was a certified inspected vehicle ( I asked the salesman and he told me it was I also asked if the car had any issues and he told me no. the car visually appeared flawless) , with in 2 days of owing the vehicle I started noticing issues, the parking break did not work, the transmission was having issues shifting, I had brought the car in about a week later after calling the sales rep to complain, they were to put on a better exhaust as part of the sale, I then told the sales rep I was having issues with the car a second time, he said I had to take it to the service dpt, when the car was returned to me I did take it to the service dpt, I had the oil changed and tried to discuss with the person who I thought was in charge the issues of the car but he said the person I needed to speak to was on vacation.They gave me his card, i then aggravated took my car over the corse of a bout a month and a half or so (while trying to deal with my fathers death which happened before I bought the car I was just having trouble coping) i made various phone calls trying to get ahold of someone but no one would call me back when i left messages and or answer their phones, some phones had voice mail boxes not set up. right before ********* i had had enough and got ahold of a sales rep while attempting to speak to someone who told me to bring the car up so i did, they had no time to look at the car and talked about selling me a new car. i left after making an appointment. i returned for the appointment to find out what was wrong with the car they wanted me to pay a diagnostics fee on every issue which totaled over ***$, i argued with them and finally a sales manager agreed to fix everything free i had listed. everything got fixed except they checked into the transmission and Basically told me their was nothing wrong with the clutch or transmission. i drove the tech around for a little while and it never acted up, i took the car home and it started acting up again, the next week i called them and brought the car back reported the issue once again. left the car with them and they called me the next day saying it needed a new clutch assembly (now they just told me they took it apart and it was fine yet 3 days later it was destroyed), they would pay parts if i paid labor. i came in and argued but instead we talked about trying to do a trade so they tried to sell me a *********** dollar car for about *********** dollars they would not give me the value I paid for the car only what they would take as a trade in and would not refund the ********** dollars I put down on the other vehicle.They found me one the color i like and showed me one on the computer, which turns out was not the actual car i was buying for about the only thing the cars had in common was both v8, both green and both an r/t. mean time my car sat in service, after a week of back and forth with sales, i spoke to a lender at a bank i use who basically told me they were trying to rip me off again which i had already suspected, being that i had to have a car i agreed to pay the *** to fix my car which took a week so i had not had the car for 2 weeks. i got the call friday to come pick it up and i did however about half way home the car started acting up again and the issue is not fixed with a brand new clutch. i notified them this morning they want me to bring it back in as i will again be making payments on a car i can not drive. now i would think that if the car was really a certified inspected car as the salesman told me it was and that as I asked are there any problems with the car him saying no, i would not be having this issue. i think they ripped me off when they sold me the car, they pretended to make it right by attempting to rip me off a second time, and now i am still paying to fix the car and make payments on a car i don't get to drive. My issue with them has been a nightmare, their costumer service is a j

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: Office of the district attorney

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: Office of the district attorney

Desired Settlement
I am open to options and am willing to allow them to make it right but at this point i would prefer to receive all my money back, my payments, my investment in fixing the car and my ********** dollar down payment i put in the car. reasoning is because i fear the car will continue to have issues, and i feel as though no matter what i do if i am dealing with them they will be trying to take advantage of me i would prefer to go somewhere else and purchase a car from someone i can trust.

Business Response
The customer has been in twice in the past week for six different managers and technicians to drive the car both with him and without him. We struggled to duplicate the customer's concern of an intermittent shifting problem on the manual transmission. We have performed a transmission service and have asked the customer to drive the vehicle for a few days to see if any issues develop. He will call this week and update us.



02/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Walk away being restored back.

I ******* **** purchased a ****************** along with my roommate who bout a ****************** on ***********. Everything was fine until the final paperwork , a lot of things were rushed and changed when we were there. One of the main things that the sale person told us we have is what's called walk away , and for us being military if we ever got orders we could turn the car back in no problem. A few months ago my roommate got orders to ***** and he couldn't take his car. He started the process to turn it back in and they told us that we don't have walk away that we declined it. The dealership that we bought it from is no longer Davis Moore and so they pushed it off to the other store which they seem to have little interest in helping us. The orders got canceled thankful but the fact remains is we were told we had walkaway along gap , now they gave us our paper back and showed us that we didn't buy it but they have it circled differently on both papers and we had. The same sale person. After talking to ********** she was unwilling to help or assist and told us we cannot add it back or anything of that nature. When we go to there main website it says right in the bottoms right corner of the fiancé page that you get walk away for one year and then you have to buy it, but **** said no we don't have it at all which isn't right. Along with that I am having trouble with them canceling a extended warranty that I never wanted and I went two days later on ************ to cancel that same warranty and it was never canceled.

Desired Settlement
All we want from Davis Moore is just for them to acknowledge and add the walk away that we not only were entitled to but at least our one year complemtary walk away and to cancaled the extended Warranty

Business Response
The customers are asking for two things. Cancellation of their service contracts and inclusion of a product allowing for elimination of up to $***** of negative equity for the first 12 months of the vehicle loan should the buyer have certain life changing events including involuntary unemployment, physical disability, international employment transfer, accidental death and other life-altering circumstances. We offered this product at no charge to customers for several years up through **************.

Complimentary 12 month Walkaway was discontinued on ************* at all of our locations. The customers purchased their vehicles on ************. The customers both signed Product Disclosures that clearly outline the products they purchased and the products not purchased. Walkaway was available to purchase for the full term of their loan but was in the highlighted list of products not purchased. There was no charge for this product in any of the sales documents. We furnished the Product Disclosure and Vehicle Purchase Contract to the customers on *********** showing this.

The customer pointed out a web site for another Davis-Moore dealership addresses complimentary 12 month Walkaway in *************. This was a manufacturer site for ********, not for ****** and removal of this reference should have been done in *************. The oversight was just that, a mistake and the removal was made when identified. We have sold thousands of vehicles since we no longer offered complimentary 12 month Walkaway and this is the only instance where any customer has indicated thinking they received it.

We can't go back in time to ******** and provide something retroactively that was no longer available.

We can't cancel the customer's extended service contract for them. On *********** we provided them the cancellation form to do so directly with ******. We are unaware if they have done this but are certainly willing to assist in the process should they have any questions. Given they both have loans on their vehicles any refund will most likely be applied to their loan balance and not given directly to the customer.

WE apologize for the confusion and challenge to the customer and will remain available to help them as needed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The walkaway was never stated and the disclouser do not match either in terms of what was circled and we had the same person. The walkaway was not discontinued because thats the first thing your sales person offered and it wasnt until The davis moore ****** was changed to the current owners was the policy changed on *************. Now as far as the website is concerned it was then general manger from another dealership who had shown me it and it was from the company davis moore themsseleve and we called and spoke to someone prior to make sure the info was correct on the website stating any davis moore vechile bought was to have one year completintary and it would be offered if you wanted to extend. When I pointed this out to the Davis moore people they had no idea what I was talking about and it was theere main website and instread of talking to us about it they quickly removed it and told us it was wrong info even though we called walkaway usa themselves and said yes they still do that. We have already applied again for our extended serivce to be canceled and we still have no answer. There are alot of mislead information and the fact that as soon as I brought it up it was on the website I was of course made out to be wrong. I do not acccept that fact and cannot believe there not even a hint of were sorry or anything just that the people we bought it from says your out of luck and the davis moore seems to have no intreast in compsentating us and thiswill be brought up to the our legal team on base and review it. We just want what we were enttitled to and not play these games.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. ***

The reason i am still dont agree is because your response was not only contradicted by other mangers but in fact have some of it in writing. First the walk away we were told ended after the ****** was taken over and then when we asked your manger they said it ended it in *** which was not true beacause they still offered it in ***. Why would they offer it if they weren't going to do it. The complimentary walk away was discovered until we went on the main page and it was offered and we were like oh this wasnt even told that we had it and again we never truly saw that paper that we signed as it has differnt circle and it dosent match up because we did it the same day. When i mentiontiod the walkaway complimetary your manger said they have no idea what your talking about and i showeed them the page and instead they said oh we look into it and then like i predictied it was taken off within a few hours. Then in your response ****** you said that page had no afflitation with you if that being said why take it off in the first place because other davis moore compnays i spoke to said they stil offered it. I also talk to the company walkaway usa and talked to them and they told us the dealer would have to make that change but it can be added back. In regards to the exteneded warranty I have sent in the paper twice the first time was right after i bought the car no later then two days and it still hasnt been taking off. I be more then happy to send you our request directly and you can resolved that issue. Our main issue is we have been lied and told many differnt things about our walkaway and we just want it added back like it should of been. We were told you had video recording of the day we signed and yet its been failed to produce the video of the day we signed. I am already in contact with legal on base and they are looking at blacklisting your dealership so no military members will buy from you as it will be consider a place that we cannot go. I ask you as i know there is a way to put it back, i have done my research and I just dont see why your not willing to help out two people that bought brand new cars from your company.


thank you for your time

sincerly

****

Final Business Response
We have nothing to add to our initial response of **********. The customer is asking we cancel their extended service contract and we can't, they have to do it themselves. We previously sent them a cancellation form to accomplish this but they can call ****** Security Plus at ************** to check on the status if they have completed the form.

We can't add the 1 year Complimentary WalkAway product retroactive to their purchase date. We discontinued this 1 year complimentary product three months before their purchase and the only equivalent product that was available to the customers was declined in writing by them at the time of purchase.

Sincerely,

****** ***

10/29/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Went to purchase a vehicle from Davis-Moore and agreed to a price, left to get the financing and insurance,returned to find they had increased the price.
I agreed with the Davis-Moore **** sales manager on a price on a vehicle, and after financing and insurance was acquired for this vehicle, I was informed that the price had increased another $******. I was told by the manager that he forgot to inform me that there was a $****** fee that he should have mentioned and that I would have to pay this before I could finalize the purchase. This is after I spent more than two hours going over everything with both the salesman and manager, left and acquired financing and insurance, returned to purchase this vehicle and was given the news of more money they needed for this vehicle. Very poor business practice and professionalism shown by this manager as he was very rude and was an embarrassment to the salesman who did a great job of describing everything to me. I did speak with a general manager whom apologised for his employees actions, but said that they had to have their money ($***) prior to selling this vehicle. What I did learn since I left this dealership is that it seems to be a practice of Davis-Moore Auto Group to impose this fee if a customer does not choose to use the financing option offered by the dealership. It seems that the dealership gets a kick back from the financial institution which they lose if you choose to acquire your own financing. I guess it's a penalty to the customer for the customer to try and save money by searching out their own services?

Desired Settlement
I feel that a formal letter of apology and a $****** refund for the time I spent in hours acquiring what was asked of me by the sales manager and to have my daughter take time out of her day to come and be treated like she was by this individual. The sales manager at Davis-Moore **** should be FIRED for what he said and his actions that led up to this letter.

Business Response
The customer left the dealership to pick up a family member before so they both could be included in the vehicle loan process. When he returned he had an insurance draft to purchase the vehicle for $xx,xxx that did not include sales tax or our administration fee. The document signed by the customer indicates the $xx,xxx price Plus Applicable Taxes + $*** Administrative Fee.

There was no intent to deceive the customer. Every Davis-Moore customer pays the administrative fee whether they obtain their own financing, pay cash or have us arrange their financing. This was communicated in person and by phone to the customer by our General Manager after he left.

We apologize for the misunderstanding but are not willing to make any settlement with the customer.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
All the fees were explained except for the $*** fee which was never mentioned until I came back with the check to purchase the vehicle. It wasn't until I said that I would not be using their financing that the $*** fee was brought up. You could tell the shock on the Salesman's face when the manager mentioned it, but did not say a word and almost looked fearful to say anything.

I understand that this is common practice with this dealership (Davis-Moore) as I was warned that this exact scenario would pop up when I returned. That is that they would ask for some type of extra fee. At that time is when they showed me in very small print that the "Administrative Fee" applied.

Public awareness is really what's important here and that getting knowledge to the public about this practice is really what this complaint is all about. Davis-Moore is more about getting your $$$ and not admitting failure than admitting guilt and sending an apology back to once was a customer.

Thank you for your time in getting this handled BBB!

Final Business Response
The customer never completed a purchase transaction with our company. Unfortunately we were unable to earn his business. There is no refund due. WE apologize for any misunderstanding and have expressed our sincere apologies to the customer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The transaction was complete as we were there to pick the vehicle up. It was when I mentioned that I would not be using their financing that they ask that I pay a $****** processing fee before I could take the vehicle. This was never mentioned prior through out our conversations, but I now understand why they have it in such fine print so it can be brought up after the fact and before they'll let you take the vehicle. As far as I'm concerned this is complete as I dont see Davis-Moore changing their ways until more customers complain or walk away and find a reputable dealer to purchase their vehicle from.

Thanks,

07/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Davis Moore told me they would sale me a certain van at a certain price and they didn't. They refused to make it right
On Saturday, ******** my only running car caught on fire. It had liability insurance only. On Friday, ********* I went to the Davis Moore Chrysler lot and looked at a ************** Minivan. I talked to ****** **** (salesman) there at that time. I did not complete a finance application at that time because I have my own financing through ***********************. I was originally looking for a **** minivan, but ****** wanted to know if I would consider a **** if I could get one at around the same price as a ****. I agreed to consider it. I called SEVERAL times on Friday trying to get the information I needed from ****** so I could go to my credit union and see if they would extend my credit so that I could purchase the vehicle. When I finally received the email from ****** regarding the van, he hadn't sent me the window sticker. So I called him again. (My husband is gone on active duty at this time, so I was trying to get all the necessary information so that discuss it with him before applying for credit.) Later ****** sent me the window sticker. I then talked to my husband about it and we thought it was a great deal. So we completed a credit application on Friday. I was anxiously waiting to hear what they said because I told ******/****** in the BEGINNING that our credit was not good. Finally, ****** let me know that I was probably going to need a cosigner. So, Saturday morning I went back to Davis Moore and told ****** that I shouldn't have to beg them to sell me a car. I'm upset with their customer service, but that is another issue. I ended up talking to ****** ******** that morning regarding my issue with the customer service after ****** stormed out like a child. ****** called me back himself and told me that they couldn't find a lender that would beat my credit union. So, I went back to my credit union (met with *****) with the window sticker that ****** sent me. We both thought it was a steal...So I texted ***** (the finance guy at Davis Moore) and confirmed again that we were talking about the same vehicle. He said YES. I had him fax the buyer agreement over to *** while I was there. ***** noticed the buyer agreement had a different VIN than the window sticker (which earlier was confirmed by *****). ***** then said she would have to let her supervisor deal with that discrepancy if they approved the loan. When I got back home I called ****** to discuss the van. At one point I commented that I could live with the color being different than I really wanted since I was pleased that it does have a sunroof. He immediately said NO it doesn't, I said YES it does. I reminded him that on the window sticker that he sent me it clearly says sunroof. He argued with me and then pulled up the information on his computer and then got silent. He didn't immediately apologize --I had to ask for the apology. Then I asked to speak to ******, and of course he couldn't find him. I never got a call back that night. Monday morning I called ****** ******** and he acted as if he didn't know what had happened. Later he called me back and basically said they made a mistake and he would sell me a different van (one that I had no interest in owning) for the amount that I was approved for by the credit union. As I told them the credit union was considering increasing my loan amount based on the vehicle that his company said they would sell me for ********* which the Finance employee, ***** at ************, texted me and confirmed was the correct price of that specific vehicle while I was meeting with ***** at my credit union. ****** ******** let me know up front that they had NO intention of making good on what they promised and confirmed (more than once) for price on the vehicle. He also let me know that he didn't care who I talked to about it. This leads me to believe that he thinks that he's untouchable.

Desired Settlement
The settlement that I am seeking is simple. That Davis Moore is made to keep their word. They said and confirmed several times that we were talking about the same vehicle. It is NOT my fault that they made a mistake. A business of this magnitude should just take the loss and move on. Instead they want me, the customer, to take the loss and move on. I think it is rude and disrespectful to me as a customer and I also think that it shows a very poor business practice. If they treat me this way and get by, they will do it again and again....

Business Response
We discussed several different vehicle purchase options with the customer.

Unfortunately we were unable to earn the customer's business. During the course of our communications with the customer over the phone and by email we inadvertently emailed the customer the wrong vehicle information on one of the vehicles. When we realized our mistake we told the customer and apologized for the error. The customer decided to not buy from us. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience we may have caused them.

03/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Being put on hold for a long time with no answers. When made aware of time constraints, promises made were not kept.
I always get my cars serviced from them and last few times I had some appointments to keep. So made them aware that they will be able to give me back the vehicle in the stipulated time. The complimentary ride was not sent on time even after several reminders and being on hold forever. Finally when the ride arrived and took me to the service center, the car was not ready and I had to wait another 1 & 1/2 hours. When I shared my frustration with them, they were less that courteous and even did not follow up with the issues on service for which I had to make another visit the next day.

This time my car is being repaired again by Nissan Service and there has been total lack of communication by Nissan Service with my insurance company and myself. I was put on hold for 15 + minutes as that person was looking for paperwork. I gave up and called back again. I was AGAIN put on hold for 7+ minutes and finally when I could speak to the person in question, he said I need to look for paperwork. When I shared my frustration that I have been holding waiting for him to locate the paperwork, he said "you are not the only customer I'm working with".

My insurance company has been trying to get hold of Nissan Service for the last few days without any luck. I have extremely disappointed and frustrated by the utter lack of concern about customer's time and comfort.

They should rename the Davis Moore Nissan Service as Davis Moore Nissan Disservice

Desired Settlement
Just need better service! Else I'm not coming back to nissan service ever!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***, Treasurer
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ********************
There is no excuse for our poor communication with the customer. The vehicle was towed to our body shop on **********, on the 4th our body shop determined all the damage was suspension and no body work was required. We communicated our findings with the customer's insurance company and had the vehicle towed to our Nissan service department on the 4th. There it sat until the 10th when we called the insurance company for authorization which was received on the 13th. We ordered parts that day and are still waiting (the 24th) for a new wheel from the factory. It has been shipped but Nissan is unable to confirm an ETA.

I believe we are in regular talks with the customer with the status of their vehicle. I can be reached at the number listed below should further communication with our service department be unsatisfactory. We apologize for the time it is taking to repair the vehicle.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1969Business started: 01/01/1969
Business Management
Mr. Sean Tarbell (President/CEO)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stuart Ray (Treasurer) Devin Archibald (Manager)Ms. Michele Hill (Secretary)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Auto Body Repair and Painting

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Davis-Moore Auto Group

7675 E Kellogg Dr

Wichita, KS 67207-1613

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7675 E Kellogg Dr 

    Wichita, KS 67207-1613(316) 618-2116

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Davis-Moore Auto Group is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (316) 749-4000
  • (316) 618-2000
  • (316) 618-2000
  • (316) 685-4848
  • (316) 618-2116
  • (316) 262-5511
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.