BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/18/2010

Briggs Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram

(855) 346-8895View Additional Phone Numbers2300 W 29th Ter, LawrenceKS 66047-3166

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/18/2010

BBB has determined that Briggs Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Briggs Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Briggs Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
11/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

There is a recall on the dodge trucks. The dealership is not taking care of the recall.
I got the recall notice on my **** dodge truck. I took it in to get it fixed and the dealership said that they would put me on a list to have it repaired when the parts came in.This was on ******************. My girlfriend took her **** in on the same day and was told the same thing. We are still waiting on the parts to come in and for the trucks to be fixed.

Desired Settlement
Would like the trucks fixed.

Business Response
Customer was contacted and recall has been completed.

10/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

We currently have extended warranty work that needs to be finished and a federal emissions warranty repair that needs to be repaired.
On ******** we purchased a **** Dodge ************* with an extended warranty from Briggs Auto in ***************. On ********* we took the vehicle in for a list of issues which includes Transmission issue, sliding door, clunking from catalytic converter and loss of power, power steering line, and engine oil leak. They had our vehicle until ******* to repair. We were told that everything was fixed and it was ready to go. They replaced the oil pan gasket, fixed a power steering hose, performed a recall repair, and told us our muffler needed to be replaced. We went to pick it up and paid for our bill. When we got home and went over our check out paperwork we see it says there is a transmission leak. I called them to verify with ****** and he reassures me the paperwork is wrong and that it was the power steering that they fixed. Towards the end of ******** we notice in fact there is a transmission leak so we took it in there on ****** and they verified that it in fact was leaking and had been since last service when they assured us that it was not leaking. At that point they said sorry about that the paperwork was right it was leaking and we will get that fixed and then they repaired it. On ****** we go and pick it up they inform us of an oil leak (which I was assured was already taken care of) in the lower intake manifold gasket and that we would need to pay to get it repaired. I asked them why it was not taken care of when they had it in there for an oil leak and they said they didn't catch it and it wasnt covered now because our warranty had expired and they would not fix it. I told them it was covered in the beginning by my extended warranty and they told me sorry call Chrysler. So we did that and have gotten nowhere with them. We have taken our vehicle to a muffler shop in our city and they have inspected the muffler and catalytic converter and showed us personally that it is in fact the catalytic converter that is bad. It is actually overheating to the point that it is cracked and discoloring in spots and the inside of it is rattling. Briggs does not want to finish the original oil leak repair that we took it in there for in ***** and wants us to pay for that repair that was covered by our extended warranty. They are also not standing behind a Federal Emissions Warranty and are wanting us to pay for a muffler that is not needed. We feel like they took advantage of us and they are trying to get over on us for repairs that were covered by our extended warranty and are currently covered a Federal Emissions Warranty. We dont get anywhere with anyone there and are treated with no respect. We have spoke with ****** and ****** about these issues and they will not offer any help only to call Chrysler customer service. We have tried to give this company and Chrysler a chance to resolve these issues with no response.

Case is being handled by another organization: Chrysler Customer Service

Desired Settlement
We want our van repairs taken care of. We want them to finish the oil leak repair they started in ***** and we want them to repair the catylatic converter that is bad and covered under warranty. We want this done as soon as possible as it is causing more damage to our vans engine and it is a safety hazard driving my 3 children around in a vehicle that has a overheating catylatic converter that could catch on fire. I want them to repair the oil leak that it was brought in there for in ***** without us having to pay for it as it was covered under our extended warranty.

Business Response /* (***0, 5, 2014/08/29) */
Briggs Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram is more than willing to perform repairs and maintenance on any and all makes. I want to outline some parameters of warranties and extended contracts. All factory warranties on the ************ vehicle has expired with the exception of "some" federal emissions items. A service contract was purchased and has expired. A service contract is underwritten by an insurance company. Once the contract is expired it is expired, no exceptions. Chrysler Corporation will no longer provide any good will assistance. There have been several goodwill considerations extended to the ************ for out of warranty concerns. Briggs is willing to inspect the vehicle for current concerns at no charge for diagnosis one time. Briggs has suggested repairs in the past that were either ignored or performed elsewhere. If in fact a covered component has failed Briggs will replace the part and collect from Chrysler provided all required maintenance has been performed and documented. My contact info is listed below and prefer e-mail correspondence.

Fixed Operations Director

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The extended warranty/service contract was still valid when we brought our vehicle in to have it repaired for an oil leak and catylatic converter on *******. Had the repair technicians properly diagnosed and repaired our vehicle the oil leak that we have currently have would have been covered by our service contract because it was not expired at that time. The "good will" repairs that were done were actually done without our permission to begin with and now are being held against us after we told them not to do those repairs as they werent safetey concerns. The only "good will" repair that was done was a flash on our doors computer that was $***** and not a safety concern that we told them not to worry about. Everything else that was done was either covered by our service contract or was a recall. The last time our vehicle was in their shop was in ******** to have our tires looked at and we chose to buy our tires elsewhere. Other than that our vehicle has not been in their shop since **** because of these kind of issues we have had with them in the past. As far as ignoring services that were suggested by Briggs the only services we have ignored were a set of tires we purchased somewhere else and the muffler they said we needed for over $****** that we know we dont need because we have taken it and had it diagnosed at a muffler shop as the catylatic converter and have seen the damage ourselves. All maintenance and repairs have been done by Briggs other than getting the oil changed and tires and things we can repair on our own like our brakes. The only repairs that have been ignored are the repairs that Briggs needs to finish on our vehicle that consist of the oil leak they still havent completely repaired that was covered by our service contract and the catylatic converter that is covered by a federal emissions warranty. They had our vehicle for 2 weeks and should have had ample time to diagnose and repair. We have had the oil leak looked at as well and were told that it has been there for a while and that it should have been caught when it was in there ******* if it was looked at and diagnosed properly to begin with. We feel like we got taken advantage of by this company and were lied to by the service techinicians and service advisors so they could make money on us as our service contract would have only required us to pay $*** deductable for all repairs we brought it in there for. I dont even know who ********** is to tell you the truth. We have never dealt with him nor heard of him so I am not sure he knows what has transpired in the last 5 months. We want this company to finish repairing the oil leak they didnt diagnose and repair properly and to replace our catalatic converter that is covered by a federal emissions warranty that is a federal law. This problem needs to be solved in a timely fashion as it is our only vehicle and we have 3 children 2 of whom are disabled that we have to transport to appointments and this companies negligence is causing extra unneeded damage to our engine.

Final Business Response

Sorry for the rather slow response and going forward on this case please reply to **** ******* and myself.
As stated before we are happy to schedule an appointment, make diagnosis and come to a resolution after diagnosis. A half day should be allowed for diagnosis. If the customer wants a third party involved that is also okay with me. *

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information


The BBB has requested basic information from this company. The BBB has not received a response.

BBB file opened: 06/22/2009Business started: 01/01/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kansas Department of Revenue
915 SW Harrison St FL 1
Topeka, KS 66625-0001
(785) 368-8222

BBB records show a license number of D-0026 for this company, issued by Kansas Department of Revenue. Their web address is

Type of Entity


Incorporated: April 2009, KS

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Boyd Johnson (Controller)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Briggs Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram

2300 W 29th Ter

Lawrence, KS 66047-3166

To | From


1 Locations

  • 2300 W 29th Ter 

    Lawrence, KS 66047-3166(785) 856-8889
    (855) 346-8895

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Briggs Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (785) 856-8889

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.