BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1989

Westmoreland Pool Co.

Phone: (940) 692-0810Fax: (940) 692-89214505 Wyoming Ave, Wichita FallsTX 76310-2421

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1989

BBB has determined that Westmoreland Pool Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Westmoreland Pool Co.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Westmoreland Pool Co.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Westmoreland was contracted to redo our pool in 2011. Since then we have had to have it acid bathed and tile and concrete are falling off in chunks.
Westmoreland was hired and paid $12000 in cash to redo our pool in 2011. I complained to no avail at the time that I was not happy with the coloring of the plaster, which I was asked about. Even though I voiced my displeasure, it was not corrected. When we uncovered the pool for the 2012 season it was full of an in plaster algae that required an acid bath to get rid of. Also, several tiles were falling off and the grout was cracking and falling out. Mr. Westmoreland told us it was because it was hot. Again when we uncovered the pool for the 2013 season, we have an algae problem and not only are the tiles falling off and the grout cracking but, now the concrete behind the tiles is falling out in chunks. We have contacted the Westmoreland several times since April. In the beginning ***** came out and said he would fix it as soon as he could. After waiting 4 weeks my husband contacted him again and was again told he would get to it. It has now been 12 weeks. Our phone calls are being dodged and our pool is slowly caving in. We have spoken to other pool experts and have learned that the plastic strip that is placed behind the tile when a pool is built serves as a shock absorber between the tile and the deck. We were also informed that when redoing a pool it is necessary to insert a certain caulking that will cure into sort of rubber tubing behind the tile. This tubing will add fluidity and keep the grout from cracking and keep the tile in place. This means to fix this problem we are now going to have to have the entire pool retiled with the proper materials in order for us to not have a problem forever! The plaster was low grade and looks like bleach has been splashed on it. We desire a speedy reimbursement of all monies it will cost to make right this huge mistake!

Desired Settlement
We desire a speedy reimbursement of all monies it will cost to make right this huge mistake! We do not wish to do business with Westmoreland pools in any way ever again!

Business Response
Heat moves the ground.
Issue has been repaired once already.
Issue will come back and won't stay fixed.
This consumer is not the only one having issues with this heat and concrete and movement.
Pool is around 20 years old.
We are willing to come back out and will have to charge.

Final Consumer Response


Final Business Response
Business is working with consumers and will try to reach a resolution.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Concrete Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1987Business started: 01/01/1948
Business Management
Mr. Frank Parkinson
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cynthia Schaffner Customer Contact: Mr. Jon Parkinson
Number of Employees

11

Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Concrete Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Westmoreland Pool Co.

4505 Wyoming Ave

Wichita Falls, TX 76310-2421

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4505 Wyoming Ave 

    Wichita Falls, TX 76310-2421(940) 692-0810

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Central Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Westmoreland Pool Co. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 6/20/2013.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.