BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1997

Lawrence Painting, Roofing & General Contracting

Phone: (940) 631-7879Fax: (940) 855-1770View Additional Phone Numbers5311 Northview Dr, Wichita FallsTX 76306-1457

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1997

BBB has determined that Lawrence Painting, Roofing & General Contracting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lawrence Painting, Roofing & General Contracting's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lawrence Painting, Roofing & General Contracting

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
10/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We hired Lawrence Painting - based on his BBB Rating to paint 3 rooms at our home at **** ****** *** Wichita Falls, Texas XXXXX.
On 10-13-14, we hired Mr. Lawrence to come in and paint 3 rooms in our home. The agreed upon contract was $2000. We showed him in detail what needed to be painted and he told us how much paint to purchase. The next day, 10-14-14, we had the paint waiting for him. He showed up with his wife, son and grandson. He started at 9am. By 5.30pm he was still not finished and asked if he could resume the next day at 8.30am. We agreed to start at 8.30am on 10-15-14. On 10-15-14 he and his wife arrived at 9.15am. "Why are you late", I asked. "I picked up a check from one of one renters and she talked for a while..". I was not at all happy with that response. From 9.30am till 12.30pm he and his wife fixed errors in their painting and their sons painting job. They cleaned up and demanded payment at 12.30pm. My wife and I reviewed the 3 rooms again and found much of their work still "SLOPPY". Cut in's were not done properly, paint on the furniture and he advised us to over - buy $250 worth of high quality **** paint that we can no longer use. In addition he charged us extra for painting around the toilet. Mr. Lawrence and his wife argued back in forth and his sons quit their part of painting to text and facebook. We paid him his $1450 he demanded - but after considerable thought we stopped payment of the $675 check. We now must hire someone to fix the sloppy work.

Desired Settlement
Since we cancelled the down payment for agreed upon services - the remainder he received was more than he deserved.

Business Response
Mr. ***** looked at the work completed while we were there and before. He had no issues with the job and was satisfied. Why else would he give us a check?

At no time did we demand payment. Customer asked us "if we were ready for inspection." At that point we looked it over, he was fine, he paid.

All walls in the 1/2 bath were painted. Mr. ***** inspected the job 3 times and taped the concerned areas. We addressed all areas and he paid. furniture was completely covered. We did find a few spots on headboard but it was fixed. We left assuming all was satisfactory. We feel we are owed the $675 plus any fee incurred by bank due to stop payment.

As always, if there is any issue on work performed please feel free to contact us. Under normal conditions all workmanship is guaranteed and still applies.

We hope we can resolve this issue through the BBB process.

***** ********

10/29/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Painting Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Contractors - General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/05/1997Business started: 01/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Lawrence
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Painting Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Contractors - General

Industry Tips
Hiring a Roof Contractor
New EPA Rule

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lawrence Painting, Roofing & General Contracting

5311 Northview Dr

Wichita Falls, TX 76306-1457

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5311 Northview Dr 

    Wichita Falls, TX 76306-1457(940) 851-0508
    (940) 631-7879
    (940) 766-5975

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Central Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lawrence Painting, Roofing & General Contracting is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (940) 851-0508 (Disconnected)
  • (940) 766-5975
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 6/20/2013.

X

Industry Tips for Painting Contractors

Hiring a Roof Contractor
New EPA Rule
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.