BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Abry Brothers Foundation Repair

Phone: (940) 855-4000 (Disconnected)Fax: (713) 472-5003

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
08/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I am filing a complaint with Abry Brothers (Foundation & Structural Solutions) who did foundation work at my house at **** ******** **** ****** Iowa Park, Texas. While there they punctured a main electrical line to my house resulting in me having to pay ****** ******** to come and replace the main line leading into my house.

Desired Settlement
My resolution is for Abry Brothers to pay for the electric bill in the amount of $3257.61.
Thank You,
***** *****
You should have the emails that were sent to Abry Brothers ( ***) from
myself explaining the details.

Business Response
Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us. We have every desire to address your needs.

We will be mailing out a check today in the amount of $2800.00 and sending it to your home located at **** ******** **** ***** Iowa Park, TX XXXXX. To get this to you quicker we will Fedex this to your home. I have a tracking number for you of # XXXXXXXXXXXX

Please accept our sincerest apology for any trouble or inconvenience we have caused you. Again, Abry Brother's highly appreciates your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It's Abry Brother's goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and hope to serve you again in the future.

Should you need to reach anyone at our office please contact ********* ****** who handles production scheduling and knows about your file. You can reach her from 7am-6pm Monday-Friday at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Have a wonderful day.

10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

After foundation was worked on, the west brick wall waynescoat was damaged because when the men lifted the foundation they found they had lifted the brick ledge instead. South side brick wall pulled away from window. Both sides of one window corner paped out because of too much pressure, we were told. We have paid a home inspector, foundation man & structural engineer to get their opinion.
This is a longer version if you want to use it. Thank you ** 5-3-13
In good faith we hired Abry Brothers to correct our foundation through their sales person ***** ******
Unbeknowing by us the foundation, though not perfect, was not in so bad of shape that it needed worked on. We hired Abry Brothers. The widening of a second brick ledge was found on the west side of the house which was waynes coated. Work was stopped & a manager from Abry came in & told us we would have to spend a lot more money to fix house right. When we said "no" within thirty mins He came back & said they were wrong about brick ledge all around the house & they would fix it at no extra cost. In summary we allowed them to continue. The brick on the west & south of the house is messed up. Damage was done to south brick wall & break to SE Brick corner & eastwall a corner of front porch. Plus not cracks but fissure cracks in bedrooms.
**** ******* from your co. came to see damage. He looked at our house & said I can see why you folks are unhappy & you have liability & later says you will repair only the west waynes coat brick but not the other walls.
We have gone to the expense of hiring three different men to come in & give their opinions. A home inspector, a foundation repair man & a structural engineer.
We believe you lied to us about there being only one brick foundation.
So, this is what we are asking for damages, our money that we paid Abery Brothers. Ten Thousand Nine Hundred & Twenty Dollars. We don't know if this sum will restore this home, what it a least was, before Abry Brothers was hired.
With no animosity felt.
***** & ***** *******

Desired Settlement
We would like to have our money reimbursed to us. 10,920.00 We would like to be able to restore the damage that was done after Abry Bros. came.

Business Response
In response to the above mentioned case filed against us I would like to first respond with that we went out to visit with the customer on 4-18-2013 to review the issues, my associate Mr. Troy ******** went to there address and viewed the project. With in approximately less than a weeks time we then called the customers direct and spoke with Mr. and Mrs. ******* in regards to what we are offering to do to help rectify the problem. We offered to redo the project and also contacted the local brick company ***** ****** and obtained a list of local reputable brick masons and offered to redo the brick wall that is in question at no charge and do other repairs that are needed. At that time the customers told both **** and I that they did not want us to do anything and that they wanted to think about what there next step was. We all agreed that they would contact us when they decide what they wanted to do. Have not heard from them since, until now for this case# ***** We feel that we have done our diligence to be helpful and offer to make repairs. They are asking for a full refund and we feel that they are being unreasonable. I am also including a copy of our contract clause which clearly states issues with "RIGID MATERIALS" direct. Should you have any questions please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. Thank you in advance.

***** ******

Final Consumer Response

Final Business Response
Spoke with ****. Business will arbitrate and fax in paperwork.

05/18/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Abry Brothers fails to honor their warranty. Looks like not returning calls and the excuse of personnel change has become a pattern with them.
Dec 1, 2014 - Two men came from Abry Brothers in reply to our phone call that the foundation ,which was under warranty, needed repair. They took pictures and notes and said the office would call to set an appointment to fix it.
Jan 16, 2015 - No one ever called. I called and left a message with the person who answered the phone. She told me she would have the owner call as soon as he came back in. No one called back.
Jan 21, 2015 - I called again. Talked to ******, she said all the lines were busy to production. She said she would have someone call as soon as they were off of the phone. No one called back.
Jan 23, 2015 - Called and talked to ****** She said she would find out what is going on and call me back today or Monday for sure. No one called back.
Jan 29, 2015 - I filled out the "warranty request" form on their website. It allows you to complete the fields but does not submit. I also completed a form for questions, no one ever responded.
Feb 5, 2015 - I called and spoke to ****** She put me on hold, then came back and said they would schedule the repair for Feb 19 and she would talk to the production manager and call me back with a time by the end of the day.
Feb 13, 2015 - got a voice mail from *****. I called back and she said they would be here on Feb 19 at 1:00 to look at the foundation. She said they needed to look at it again, to estimate the time it would take to fix it. I told her about no one calling back and she said to call her directly as this is her area.
Feb 16, 2015 - we received a voice mail asking if they could come today instead of the 19th. I called back and said that would be fine. The same technician that originally looked at the damage came later today. He talked with us in detail about what needed to be done. He said he would try to get the work scheduled for this week and that we would hear from the office.
March 17, 2015 - I haven't heard anything from Abry Brothers. I called and asked for ***** and was told she wasn't in today. I talked to *****. ***** told me **** is no longer with the company and they would have to start from scratch. I said he had taken notes and pictures and what happened to them and she said that they just had to start over because he was no longer there. I told her I had called several times over 3 ½ months and they seem to have a problem with returning calls. She said she was sorry and she was new and wasn't working there then. She said **** would come on March 24. He will look it over and call the office, while he is here, to get the work approved. I told her that if it wasn't repaired within 2 weeks, I would complain to the BBB, the FTC and take any other steps I felt were necessary.
March 24, 2015 - **** from Abry Brothers came. He took some measurements and looked at the damage and told me that, in order for the foundation to be repaired correctly, I would need to have more pilings put in. That would cost an additional $3,400. If not, then it would keep settling and I would need to have the foundation repaired every 2 to 3 years. **** asked that if we talk to the office, we also call him so he knows what's going on. I called again, ***** wasn't available, so I left a message that we only wanted covered work done. I called **** and let him know I had done this. **** called back and said that he also tried to call ***** and she wasn't available. He said that he sent the paperwork right to her and she should get it and call me back today.
March 26, 2015 - I called **** and told him that ***** never called me. He said he would get ahold of her and call me back when he knows something.
April 14, 2015 - I am now filing a complaint with the BBB as I have heard no more from Abry Brothers.

Desired Settlement
I want my warranty honored as it should have been 4 months ago when this problem began. If that is not possible I want them to pay another company to complete their warranty work and fix my home as I trusted them to do when I first did business with them.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ***** - Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******
Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why our foundation repair work did not meet your expectations. We have every desire to address your needs and provide the best solution available to resolve your issue as soon as possible.

We would like to schedule a meeting between you and our senior operations manager, ********* and his working Supervisor ****** ******** to repair the work necessary to meet your expectations.

Please accept our sincerest apology for any trouble or inconvenience we have caused you. Again, Abry Brother's highly appreciates your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It's Abry Brother's goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and hope to serve you again in the future.

Should you need to reach anyone at our office please contact ******** ***** who handles production scheduling and knows about your file. You can reach her from 7am-6pm Monday-Friday at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all let me say that your reply is an insult to my intelligence and to the intelligence of anyone reading this review. I would have to be a fool to think that doing the same thing that I have done over and over and over, and it didn't work, would now work because a company that has been lying to me for 5 months says that now it will work.
I have called you so many times that the BBB comments section wasn't big enough to let me list them all. I've called at least 6 times and was told someone would call me back and they didn't and now your solution is for me to call you? Why, because that has worked so well for me before?
You even have a reputation in town for not calling back. I went to a home show and spoke to someone from another foundation company. When I told them I had problems with your work and was having trouble getting it repaired, the guy said "let me guess, they won't call you back?"
You had no complaints on the BBB site when I had the work done in 2012 but, obviously your company is going downhill as you do have complaints now, and they are the same complaints I have with you.
The last time I was told someone would call me was March 26, over a month ago. I haven't even received a call since I filed this complaint. Is that how you show that you want to correct your lack of communication, by still not calling? If you were really sorry, someone would have called me as soon as you had knowledge of this complaint. I don't accept your apology as 6 times isn't an error, it is intentionally not calling back.
You say you want to complete the work to my satisfaction, yet you have had over 5 months to do that. How long did you want exactly? Two of your employees have been here, for a total of 3 times, taking pictures making notes and talking to me about what needed to be done. Now you say I need to talk to the Operations Manager? If I needed to talk to him to get this done, why didn't someone mention that 5 months ago?
You say you want a meeting? What for? You have pictures and notes on exactly what I need to have done to repair this. You have had 5 months to do it. My calls have been largely ignored. You have a major problem with communication, obviously, but that is just a symptom. The real problem is that you are willfully refusing to abide by your warranty and I will not accept that.
My opinion is that you are just trying to buy more time until I just give up and pay for someone else to fix it. That isn't going to happen. I think that because your poor customer service , no return phone calls, excuses that employees have left the company, has become a noticeable pattern.
The only acceptable way to conclude this now (and just barely) is to get a work crew over here to fix my foundation, either your crew, or you can pay for another company ,of my choosing, to do it.
Anything less will cause me to take more drastic steps and I will not wait another 5 months to do it. In fact, I expect this to be taken care of within a month (by June 6) or I will move on to the next step of legal recourse.

03/19/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Failure to uphold a lifetime warranty agreement by avoiding repairs shown by a former employee to be required, doing so with poor customer service.
We purchased a home with a slab foundation partially repaired by Abry Brothers Foundation Repair with a lifetime transferrable warranty. We noticed cracks in our ceiling, floors and walls, and problems with closing doors over the summer 2013 months. We contacted Abry Brothers and scheduled an appointment that was rescheduled, as the inspector did not show at the original appointment time. This occurred more than once, but we were not yet keeping records of missed appointments. Upon complaining, we were given a Saturday appointment time. A representative from Abry Brothers carefully measured the foundation elevations. He told us the portion of our home not yet repaired showed changes in elevation that need repair, but also told us of an area in the previously repaired section that required attention under the warranty. He showed us his notes and drawing of our home, noting the areas that required attention. We were told the company would contact us concerning a warranty repair.
When we did not hear from Abry Brothers, we contacted the company and were scheduled for a warranty repair. Twice we re-scheduled repair appointments, the second appointment for October 29, 2013 at 10:00 am. Both times we had to miss work to meet a crew at our home, as times outside of our work schedule were not available. Both times 30 minutes AFTER the scheduled appointment time WE contacted the company and were only then told a repair crew would not make the appointment and we needed to reschedule. At the third attempt on November 8, 2013 at 1:00 pm a crew came to our home and after visually inspecting the outside of the home told us the warranty area was "perfect" and did not need to be repaired. I asked the crew lead to look at the notes made by the inspector and was told he did not have those notes. Standing in my living room the crew lead again told me he did not "feel" any change in the foundation in the area under warranty, but we would need to contact the company for a repair of the remainder of the home. Never did he measure the elevation, performing only a visual and "feel" "inspection" to tell me the warranty area was "perfect".
I immediately contacted Abry Brothers insisting I speak with a supervisor. I spoke to ***** ******* who made an appointment with us for November 13, 2013 at 4:30 for another inspection. I again questioned why the original inspection was not sufficient and was not answered. When he neither showed for the appointment, nor called to cancel, I contacted him and was told he was running late. He showed over 1 hour past the appointment to again perform a visual and "feel" "inspection" by bouncing on my living room floor to tell me the warranty area was "perfect", but I did need repairs to the portion of the home not yet repaired. In fact, I needed to perform other modifications to my home to ensure the foundation stopped shifting, services also provided by the company. He offered me a "special" price for the additional foundation repair, giving me one day to decide before the repair would cost the regular price. When asked about the detailed information gathered by the original inspector I was told that inspector is no longer with the company and the company does not have his forms. When asked why another detailed inspection was not then performed the supervisor told me that with his years of experience, his visual "inspection" was sufficient to determine the area under warranty was "perfect."
Because of the consistent problems with Abry Brothers Foundation Repair, we had our home inspected by another company. This company performed detailed elevation measurements and inspection of cracks and door problems just as the original inspector from Abry Brothers. This new inspector found the same problems found by the original Abry Brothers inspector. When I again attempted to contact the supervisor from Abry Brothers concerning these findings, my telephone call was not returned. It has been over 2 weeks.

Desired Settlement
We request reimbursement for cost of repair of warranty area to be performed by another company. Because of our extensive trouble we have lost all confidence in Abry Brothers Foundation Repair and do not wish to have that company touch our home again.
We also ask for an investigation by the BBB to ensure Abry Brothers Foundation Repair is providing the necessary warranty repairs under their lifetime transferrable warranty agreements. "Visual" and "feel" inspections are not adequate to determine the need for repair. We believe Abry Brothers uses this tactic to aquire repair jobs that may not be necessary as well as deny warranty repairs that may be required.
I wish to warn other consumers of the unprofessional disregard Abry Brothers Foundation Repair has for both the customer's time off work required to meet scheduled appointments and more importantly the lack of adherence to warranty agreements.

Business Response
We sincerely apologize for the lack of communication of this matter and would like the opportunity to open this case back up and get it resolved. Abry Brothers will warranty its own work on MrS. *******'s home and would like the to do so at their convenience. We can have a crew out there this week if that would be acceptable.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Abry Brothers Foundation Repair did not provide an answer to our complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau until after 3 contact attempts and 7 weeks, responding just after the deadline. This lack of action represents the difficulty we have had in working with this company. Foundation problems are serious and we were not able to wait for this company to decide whether or not they would uphold their lifetime warranty. We decided to go with a better company proven to be specialists in foundation repair, *********, employing a geologist to measure and analyze our foundation rather than just stand in the living room and look around like the representatives from Abry Brothers. We do not wish to have Abry Brothers Foundation Repair ever touch our home again and will never recommend them to anyone else. We will continue to warn others of the way Abry Brothers Foundation Repair does not uphold its "lifetime" warranty.

Final Business Response
Abry Brothers will uphold our lifetime warranty on the work that was done on the home. There has been changes in our staff and unfortunately that is who was being contacted about this BBB case. Abry Brothers would like to make any and all efforts to resolve this matter and regain your trust. Please allow us to send out one of the General Managers to discuss this matter with you further.

02/04/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/27/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

The warranty appears to be a sales gimmick and a scam to me.
Synopsis of what happened at ************ Wichita Falls Texas concerning Abry Bros. in January 2015

A salesman for Abry Bros House Leveling, 17300 Saturn Lane, Suite 109, Houston, TX 77058 talked my 90 year old step-father into leveling his house. Under questioning, the salesman admitted that the house had moved because of the drought in this area. He then continued the sale by telling us that the leveling was guaranteed FOREVER, and when the house moved back, Abry Bros. would come back and fix ANY problems it had. This warranty was good for the life of the house and transferable to future owners.
After my step-father died the rains came in sufficient quantities to move the house back. This caused cracks on the walls. I called **** at Abry Bros. on December 22, 2014 to have them schedule a time come out to do the repairs. He said he would call me back. I have to continue to call to get an appointment, but Abry Bros. never calls me back. I tell everybody that answers the phone that something is wrong, and that I want to speak to someone else. I do not get to talk to **** or his boss. The girl who answers the phone, feels sorry for me, and even tells me she will call me back. When I call again, she gives me a day and time to meet their agent at the house. When the Abry Bros. agent ****** gets to the house, I can tell that he is already making excuses why this cannot be a warranty job. I expect to hear back from Abry Bros. when management gets the report. They do not call, and I must call again. They promise again to call me back, but it does not happen. When I call again, they schedule another appointment. I meet **** at the house again and one of the men with him goes under the house. I show him holes on the outside of the house where the dirt has sunk, and water is running under the house. He promises to bring some dirt today and fill the holes. **** will have **** call me today, January 21 2015. **** does not call. At the end of the day I call ****. He tells me that the warranty does not cover the repair. He will charge to do the work required to fix this house. **** does not bring dirt or fill in the holes as promised. I send a certified letter to **** stating my complaint on Feb 24, 2015, and give him 10 days to answer. He calls me on March 16 and promises to work on the house by April 14. He does nothing to date, May 2, 2015. In my opinion this house would have been better off if we had never spent the $8980.00 to have it leveled.

The Warranty says: If any adjustments are required during the life of this structure due to settling, our company will adjust all areas previously underpinned without cost to the owner.
This warranty appears to be a sales gimmick and a scam to me.

I had another house leveling company give me a bid. They said that their opinion was that most of the movement was caused by water running under the house from where the holes were dug by Abry Bros to install the little blocks they used.

We want our money back.

Desired Settlement
We want our money back.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Foundation Contractors, Drainage Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.