BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2011

Vernon Auto Group

Find a Location

(940) 552-2555View Additional Phone Numbers2803 Wilbarger St, VernonTX 76384-4569View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2011

BBB has determined that Vernon Auto Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Vernon Auto Group's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Vernon Auto Group

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
10/21/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were not told how to remain compliant with our warranty. The vehicle was delivered to us and no contracts were reviewed with us at time of purchase
I purchased a 2014 Chevrolet Duramax from Vernon Auto Group in late 2013. I informed m salesperson, ***** *********** that the reason I was purchasing from Vernon was because of the lifetime warranty that came with the vehicle. He assured me that it was a good warranty. He did not inform me that, in order to remain compliant with the warranty regulations, I would need to call into the warranty company before every maintenance visit to have the maintenance facility approved. I live in ****** Ok and purchased the vehicle via the internet and telephone. The vehicle was delivered to me by two men whose sole job for Vernon Auto Group is delivering vehicles. These men were not finance or sales specialists. They did not review the contracts with me and said our sales and finance people would explain all pertinent information to us. No one, in the entire purchasing experience, ever mentioned this crucial bit of information about our warranty. If we had known this, we simply would have complied and would not still have our warranty. Once I explained this problem to **** ******, an employee at Vernon, she said she could not reinstate the warranty without a fee. I agreed to pay a fee of $300 on 7/29/14. I have since sent emails, called, and left messages on her answering machine with no contact. I have also tried to reach others at Vernon Auto Group and no one will answer me or return my calls. I realize now that they have no intention of correcting this error.

Desired Settlement
I want the lifetime warranty provided by Warranty Forever to be reinstated.

Business Response
We worked with customer to resolve the issue. Their warranty has been reinstated as a customer consideration.

08/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Got truck appraised at a value and we made a trade then they backed out and left me and wife a foot with no answers. But had a deal!!!!
Took mywas f 350 truck to be worked on. On 7/16/2014. Truck needed work done started looking at other truck they said we could make a deal found one I liked was going to trade mine in so they did appraisal On mine quoted me 331500 and found financing. Deal was made ready to signs papers ** ok in financing Then ***** same same department back out at closing and left me a foot.

Desired Settlement
The deal they made me

Business Response
The customer originally came into service to have his vehicle diagnosed. He was having issues with it. While waiting on the vehicle to be diagnosed, the customer expressed interest in purchasing a new vehicle. We worked out a deal and gave a continent trade in value on his vehicle based on what the diagnosed issue was. The customer's trade ended up have issues that devalued the appraisal amount.

The customer then took his truck, not paying for any of the diagnostic work done on the vehicle.

Again, we were more than happy to give the trade value quoted to the customer based on the condition of the trade being good. Instead the vehicle needed substantial mechanical work done to it, therefore it was devalued. This determination was made before any sales agreement or contract was every signed. This all happened in the negation phase of the the deal.

05/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company failed to return refund for the cancelation of GAP insurance after proper cancelation time as per the contract
Purchased a vehicle 2013 Dodge Ram 3500 , date of purchase was 11/15/13 , a cash payment of 10,000 was made plus a trade in of a 2013 Cadillac (36,500) total purchase payment was 46,500 , vehicle I purchased from Vernon was 54,381. While in the finance office I was told that I needed to purchase GAP insurance and I would not be able to leave with the vehicle if I did not purchase ( Traveled from N.Y. ) I was told that I could cancel if I need to
I had contacted a *** **** ********* who set up all the paper work and received all the proper work on 12/09/13. To date I have not received any refund and the finance or Ms. ********* fails to answer my calls

Desired Settlement
Refund of the 695.00 dollars for the cancelation of the GAP insurance

Business Response
Customer\'s cancellation has been refunded. Documents for verification have been sent to the customer.

This was an over site on our part. Customer canceled extended service warranty and gap, we failed to cancel the GAP contract. We apologize for this clerical oversight.

12/09/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Dealership was suppose to mail me my aftermarket radio and never did. I have sent emails asking for my radio and they said it would be shipped.
When I traded my 2009 Chevy silverado I had a Aftermarket, touch screen radio in the pickup. The salesman asked for the OEM stock radio and I provided that to them. The salesman and I made an agreement that he would mail me the Aftermarket radio along with the extra set of keys for my new truck. After patiently waiting I sent an email about it and he replied saying he would send it with the keys. Since August I have sent 3 emails and placed numerous calls asking when he would send the items. Finally I sent a complaint to customer service. They responded back saying they would send my keys but misplaced my radio. When I asked for a solution they emailed me saying there is nothing they can do and they are sorry even though its not fair to me. I have made numerous calls to the manager and they keep telling me he is busy. I do have every email saved. In each email I ask for my possessions and they reply back they will send them. Yesterday is when I received the email that they would not replace or refund my radio even though they were obligated to send it and we made a deal. I will be more than happy to show proof of the emails they sent and I sent. I'm not asking for money. What I want is my Touch Screen radio replaced since they lost it.

Desired Settlement
I want my touch screen radio/DVD/ navigation/ backup camera replaced since they lost it and failed to send it to me. I saved all emails of them saying they would send it and then finally saying they lost it and would not replace it. I will be more than happy to show proof of all the emails

Business Response
Prior to this complaint, we have already agreed to purchase and send a radio to the consumer.

12/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The agreement to purchase a vehicle was not upheld by Vernon Auto. Funds for travel have not been reimbursed when the agreement was canceled by Vernon
I entered into an agreement to purchase a truck from Vernon Auto, stock ******* with Salesman ***** ******* In order to hold the vehicle until my arrival, I had to put deposits of 3 seperate $500, for a total of $1500. After purchasing airfare for myself and my wife, total of $623.80, I received a call, 6 days before we were to arrive, from ***** ******* that Vernon Auto made a decision not to hold the vehicle and it was sold to another buyer. The deposits were refunded and I was told that the airfare would also be refunded by ***** ******* To date no refund has been sent.

XX-XX-XX Agreed to purchase vehicle and first $500 deposit made.

XX-XX-XX Purchased airfare for travel on 11-08-13
Sales agreement faxed to my Credit Union to secure financing. Fax sent from Credit Union to Vernon Auto confirming financing obtaied.
Phone call from ***** ****** discussing the sales agreement and the 3 seperate deposits that needed to be made in order to hold the vehicle for my arrival. Advised ***** that I had purchased the airfare and my wife would be traveling with me. He would send a driver to the airport to pick us up and bring us to the dealership.

XX-XX-XX Sent e-mail to ***** ****** outlining our purchase agreement and conversation on 10-23-13. Received confirmation of the same from ***** *******

XX-XX-XX Second $500 deposit made to Vernon Auto.

XX-XX-XX Phone call from ***** ******* sales manager asking if I had returned the paperwork sent to my home. Explained I did not receive any paperwork. Informed ***** I would arrive on XX-XX-XX to purchase the vehicle and the airfare was purchased.

XX-XX-XX Phone call from ***** ****** indicating that a decision was made to sell the vehicle I had paid to be on hold for purchase.
Spoke to ***** ******* sales manager who indicated the vehicle was sold and that my airfare and deposits would be refunded.

XX-XX-XX Sent airfare purchase receipts to ****** ****** and received confirmation of the same.
Received refund of the $1000 deposit to my credit card.

XX-XX-XX to present. I have had several phone calls and e-mails with ***** ****** and ***** ****** concerning the refund of the airfare. To date, neither ***** or ***** have honored the refund of the purchased airfare. The airfare purchased was non-refundable from the airlines as this was the least expensive way to travel.

Copies of the sales cofirmation e-mails and purchased airfare, have been sent to ***** ******* Vernon Auto has copies of the sales agreement sent to my Credit Union as well as the confirmation fax for the secured financing.

If necessary, I am able to provide all e-mails and records of all conversations with Vernon Auto, including the original internet listing of the vehicle.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund for $623.80 for the airfare purchased to obtain the vehicle.
I have complied with all requests from Vernon Auto, from the deposits to hold the vehicle, securing financing, and providing copies of the purchased airfare. It was Vernon Auto that made the decision not to honor the purchase agreement entered into in good faith. Based on all the purchase guidelines set forth by Veronon Auto in order to purchase this vehicle, I purchased airfare for travel to Texas to obtain the vehicle. Since Vernon Auto decided not to honor the agreement, and I am unable to obtain a refund from the airlines, I have requested a refund of the airfare. ************ advised me that a refund would be sent on 11-02-13. I have not received the refund.

Business Response
11/20/13 consumer was provided with a tracking number in regards to a check that is being sent overnight for reimbursement on airfare.

Consumer is fully aware of this. He was notified around 10:00 A.M. the morning of 11/20/13.


Page 1 of 2
10/17/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealership Advertised a price of the vehicle, with vin and stock number on both autotrader.com and vernonautogroup.com and refused to honor price.
On September 20th, today, I located a 2007 Chevrolet Tahoe on autotrader.com (autotrader id# AT-XXXXXX**, VIN # *****XXXXXJXXXXXX, Stock # ******* the vehicle was listed for sale at $5,750.00. I visited their website, vernonautogroup.com same vin# same stock # and same price. contacted the dealership via phone and they refused to sell the vehicle for the advertised price. Spoke with salesman ***** and the manager on duty. I have screen shots of both auto traders website and Vernon auto group's website.

Desired Settlement
Sell me the vehicle as described for the price as advertised. The manager claims this to be a clerical error, which I could believe if it was only autotraders website, but they were advertising the vehicle on their own website for the same price. I simply want to purchase the vehicle for the price that they advertised. I will pay cash.

Business Response
This was a clerical mistake. We use the same program to publish vehicle to our website as well as other websites. This vehicle was entered in with the wrong price. Similar vehicles with the same year make model trim options and mileage sell between upwards of $21,000. A price discount of nearly 75% is clearly a clerical error.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No resolution has been offered. Vernon Auto Group is simply stating they made a clerical error, that I found on both their site and autotrader.com. They advertised a price for a vehicle and I want to purchase that item for that price.

Similar mileage vehicles are listed on autotrader, where i located this vehicle, for less than $10,000. Thus when I found the listing and verified the price on your website, it appeared to be legitimate and substantiated. Dealers low ball prices to move vehicles all the time. You're right, you made a mistake and I the customer saw the advertised price and want to purchase the vehicle.

What I am discerning from this is a company can advertise any price and then just claim a clerical error. This is not right. This was not a clerical error on one site and correct on their site. This was a vehicle advertised in two places.

Good business used to be doing the right thing. It disappoints me that a Texas company will not honor their word. Used to be a spoken word was good enough, and written word that was unbreakable. Here we have written word, mistake or not, and they are unwilling to honor their word. Disgraceful.

If this deal is not made right, I plan to run and ad in the ***** ******* **** and the ****** ****** letting the locals know that Vernon Auto Group lacks the competency to verify their advertised price and does not have the integrity it takes to honor their word.

Final Business Response
Attached are both the NADA and Black Book Valuations of this vehicle. This just help to calibrate that the price was a mistake. Regardless, this was a clerical error that was caught by a customer. We apologize for the mistake but it was a mistake. As a company we cannot sell this vehicle for a price that is almost $10,000 off our cost basis.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Warranty Service, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/25/2004Business started: 06/01/2004New Owner Date: 01/01/2009
Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Ashley Hernandez
Contact Information
Customer Support Mr. Dan Gomillion (General Manager)Ms. Terra Rodriguez Mr. Chris Slaydon
Number of Employees

92

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Warranty Service, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Vernon Ford, Vernon Ford Dodge Crysler Jeep, Vernon Chevrolet Buick GMC Cadillac
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Vernon Auto Group

2803 Wilbarger St

Vernon, TX 76384-4569

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2803 Wilbarger St 

    Vernon, TX 76384-4569(940) 552-2555
    (888) 469-6533
    (940) 552-2556

  • 3405 US Highway 287 W 

    Vernon, TX 76384-3339

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Central Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Vernon Auto Group is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 469-6533
  • (940) 552-2556
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 6/20/2013.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Buying a New Car
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.