BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/28/2007

Pruitt Ford

Find a Location

Phone: (940) 569-5226Fax: (940) 235-3098912 Sheppard Rd, BurkburnettTX 76354-3637

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/28/2007

BBB has determined that Pruitt Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pruitt Ford's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Pruitt Ford

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
10/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Trouble w/repair was sent to another dealership they have been sent threr tranys on a extended warrenty all were bad. They have car over two months
The extended warrenty sold not lived up to any standard. They keep blaming there agent and not making. The right demand on them to send a suitable trany or a rebuilt one . Have our vehicle over two months and not offered a loner. Where bought could not properly service our car. Vehicle taken into service repeatly for the same. Problem and was told they could not find problem. Extended warranty now expired and they are not wanting to cover the trouble that we were having for sometime

Desired Settlement
Car trany fixed correctly and quickly. Now i want a new ot a proper rebuilt trany

Business Response

01/24/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/16/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I called Melissa and explained what I wanted to do with getting new car and told her not to run my credit seven time she promised me she wouldnt
I checked my credit on 5/15/15 saw they ran my credit seven times and ran it once on 5/16/15 after I told them to pull my application they still are running my credit when I was there I was told it only went to ford credit financing

Desired Settlement
I want them to remove all unauthorized credit pulls I was told they only pulled once not true

Business Response
Mr. K***** gave us authorization to pull his credit, which we did. He is mistaken when he says we ran his credit 7 times. We submitted his credit report to several banks in an effort to try and help him obtain financing. Mr. K***** might believe that submitting his information to more than one bank is somehow detrimental to his score, but this is not the case. He can use the resources at to explain this in more detail. We did what we could to help the customer. Unfortunately, we could not find a bank willing to finance his transaction.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have proof on my credit report that they pulled 7 times and I only said to do it twice

Final Business Response
Credit Inquiries cannot be erased.

We did everything that we could to help Mr. K***** find financing for the vehicle he agreed to purchase from us. In attempting to help him obtain credit for that vehicle, it was necessary for us to pull each of the three major credit bureaus one time to get a full understanding of his credit situation to know what lender(s) would consider his application. After our finance department reviewed his credit situation, we submitted Mr. K*****'s transaction to the banks we felt could help him pay for the vehicle he indicated to us he wanted to buy. We are fully aware that excessive credit inquiries do negatively affect a customer's credit score and take every consideration to not "shotgun" an application to all of our potential lenders for that reason.

We did nothing differently to help Mr. K***** purchase a vehicle than we have done for so many years with any number of customers in similar situations without a complaint of this nature being filed in any form. If Mr. K***** somehow communicated to an employee at the store that he did not want his credit information reviewed by us and that we only submit it to one lender, then that message was not received by the correct personnel at the store and we apologize for a break-down in communication if that is what occurred. Regardless, we appreciate the opportunity Mr. K***** gave us to help him establish credit to purchase this vehicle.

08/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

they sold us a car that did not exist, after we insured the vehicle they stated the vehicle was not avalible.
purchase/problem date: 07/10/2014

Explorer 2012

Desired Settlement
We want to get compensated for the time and the waste of insurance cost. (1550)

Business Response
We have since sold the customer a different vehicle. The issue is resolved.

01/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Pruitt Ford advertised a Ford F-150 for three business days after it had been sold. List price was below market value, with no explanation why.
Pruitt Ford advertised a 2010 Ford F-150 on for $3900.00 for three business days after the vehicle had been sold. This vehicle, stock#GD5477, VIN#1FTMF1EW4AKE35001, would sell for $10,000 more in many places. I thought this was a mistake. At no place in the listing was there any indication of any damage or repair required to the vehicle and images represented the vehicle to be clean and damage-free. When I called this morning, it was to advise them that I had viewed the listing and the price was very low. I wanted to know why. When I was told the vehicle had been sold three days ago, when ****** told me he didn't know why the price was so low. He then immediately tried to start selling me on other vehicles they had without explaining why a vehicle not in inventory was still showing there, or why the price was so low. Legally I cannot expect a vehicle with the features listed to be priced as this one was unless it lacks and engine or transmission. I feel that this vehicle was misreprented in the listing and has been used to attract callers to their internet inventory. Instead of apologizing and explaining, the immediate sales tactic makes me feel that this was a bait and switch and that the vehicle was never available for the price represented. I am concerned about Pruitt Ford's business practices. My shopping habits open up the world to me and I am willing to travel and spend money in other states for the right deal. It just needs to be honest.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Pruitt Ford to review their practices and ensure that sold vehicles are removed from sites like in a timely fashion - perhaps the next business day - so that consumers like me do not waste their time calling.

Business Response
Concerning the 2010 F 150, Ms. ********* is unfortunately un-informed. Her feelings concerning this vehicle are also incorrect. We did in fact; sell this vehicle at the advertised price as we explained to her. In no way, was the vehicle used as a "bait and switch" form of advertising. Our process concerning CARS.COM is entirely automated(as it is with all dealers). Typically, CARS.COM ads are removed within two business days of being sold, this particular unit evidently took three. Our salespeople are taught that they should help to find another piece of inventory to fit our customers' needs when the particular unit they are inquiring about is not available. We review all of our marketing practices routinely and are diligent to conform to all changes in state and federal law. We are also very proud of the fact that we do NOT engage in deceptive marketing such as supposed by Ms. *********. While I understand Ms. ********* to de disappointed that someone else got the great deal on this particular vehicle, we will be more than happy to try and find just the right vehicle to fit her needs.

12/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

2012 ford focus. Owner has 'premium' package. Took car to service for transmission problem.
Took ford focus to Pruitt ford, in Burkburnet. Common transmission problem. Service manager said car could not be fixed. Scared me so I thought I better buy new car. My car was never even put on the rack. Service manager assurred me no FIX. Went and picked out new car and salesman padded my income to qualify for a trade in. Thr contract I have with Ford is the best packAge a customer can by. Pruitt ford said they did know what that was.. Well,what it means is if can't car.. I have retrieved my car back. Ford iN Wichita Falls has a fix. Dealership knows exactly the
Problem and will fix tomorrow.I have never dealt with such dumb and dishonest folks.

Desired Settlement
I want this dealership to be investigated for fraud...padding applications to push a deal through..

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***
The complainant came to our service department concerned about a "clicking or grind noise" coming from her Ford Focus. Our service manager, *************, went on a test drive with complainant. The vehicle had no warning lights illuminated and the complainant was advised Ford had some updates out but none that would address the noise she was hearing which, ******* explained, was coming from the transmission and that this particular transmission was known to make this noise, Ford did not have a fix for it, and the transmission was not going to fail. Upon returning to the dealership, the customer stated that "if the noise was normal from this transmission that she would not drive it and she would just trade if they (sales dept) can keep my payment the same". Complainant went on to point at her friend whom was with her while telling *******, "ask her because she knows I'm not going to drive this. I will just trade". She finished her visit with our service manager by commenting "Let's go talk to sales" at which point ******* introduced her to our salesperson whom began the sales process. At no time was she told by us that she needed to trade or that we would not attempt a repair but, when advised that it would still have noise that is considered normal, she headed for the sales department.

Ford is aware of similar complaints about this transmission and there is a list of items they recommend to the dealer but only if a "Diagnostic Trouble Code" (aka DTC or check engine light) is indicated or a leak is present. Her vehicle has neither. Following is the Ford Service Division bulletin to dealers relating to her complaint:


We have no explanation nor did we ever understand complainants reference to "Premium package" in the BBB file. All new Ford vehicles come with a bumper to bumper warranty that covers the cost of a repair if necessary in the event of a part failure. Without a more thoroughly detailed complaint, we have nothing to offer on that matter.

Complainant took delivery and contracted for a new Ford vehicle and was subsequently apparently told either by another Ford dealer or the dealer in Colorado where she purchased the Focus that she was advised improperly by our service department. We did not pressure her to purchase the vehicle in the first place nor hold her obligation to the purchase commitment which she convinced herself into. She returned, the deal was rescinded, her 2012 Focus returned to her and she left. If her transmission noise is eliminated by another Ford dealer, we would really appreciate confirmation that it could be done so we can advise Ford and fix the issue for past and potential future customers with the concern.

Regarding another issue on complainants message, lenders ask for household income and not just individual applicants income. The finance manager asked the salesperson if there was any additional household income that could be shown on the credit application which complainant signed and the only thing that was added was rental income she claimed. This "fraud" portion of complainant's file also lacks detail that, again, we cannot very well defend given the brevity of the comment - not to mention how "dumb" we are.

07/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Unable to honor warranty for transmission repair. Not refunding full price paid.
I have a 1997 Ford Taurus SHO that has been in Pruitt Fords hands for 9 of the last 18 months. It began with a transmission problem. The first time they had the vehicle for 3 months and returned it. We paid the $3600 for the repair and were given a 3 year/100,000 mile warranty. Less than a year later the transmission began to slip. It was taken back to Ford and they have had it now for 6 months. They are telling me they cannot repair the vehicle and they will return the vehicle and refund the $1900 cost of the transmission. Total cost of repair was $3600 with labor.

Desired Settlement
I would like the full refund of $3600.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ********
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ***
This is a specialty vehicle approximately 16 years old so parts availability and having a technician on staff that has experience from that time repairing these transmissions is an issue. Their Craigslist post brought the issue to my attention prior to receiving this notice. I have a good friend that lives in N Texas now and was a Ford technician in the 90s for a very big Ford store in the southwest U.S. and he is willing to work on the transmission for us on his next day off. Heretofore, we have sourced remanufactured transmissions from an after-market supplier and the extent of our repairs was removing and replacing same which has been done about three times to this point. While disappointed the ****'s felt it necessary to post to Craigslist and file with the BBB rather than ask to speak with the service manager or owner first, I am sympathetic to their issue and believe the vehicle can and should be fixed. It is my understanding that ******* ****** our service manager, spoke with the ****'s at the end of last week and they will bring the vehicle in again for us to attempt a repair with this technician's assistance. They are also understanding that he has another non-auto job and works a varied schedule but will drive from the Bowie area to Burkburnett on his next day off, attempt to diagnose the problem, hopefully get the parts ordered necessary to repair it, then return on his subsequent day off to execute the repair. This could take two to three weeks and the ****'s understand this based on what I've been advised. If there is anything the ****'s feel I need to know, they are more than willing to call me on my cell at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 12/18/2006Business started: 06/01/2006New Owner Date: 06/01/2006
Type of Entity


Business Management
Principal: Mr. Rik Lipscomb (Owner)
Contact Information
Mr. Travis Bohannon (Comptroller)Mr. Jeff Kindt (General Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Pruitt, Lipscomb Ford LP
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pruitt Ford

912 Sheppard Rd

Burkburnett, TX 76354-3637

To | From


2 Locations

  • PO Box 1699 

    Bowie, TX 76230-1699

  • 912 Sheppard Rd 

    Burkburnett, TX 76354-3637(940) 569-5226
    Fax: (940) 235-3098

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Central Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pruitt Ford is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 6/20/2013.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Buying a New Car

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.