BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/28/2007

Lipscomb Auto Center

Phone: (940) 872-5455

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
01/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a 2009 Sierra with 72k miles. Drove truck less than a week before was diagnosed with camshaft and lifter failure. Manager refused to help.
1-2-15 Drove to Bowie TX from Amarillo TX to purchase truck.Drove truck back in the rain (could not hear engine noise over weather).Truck was parked for 4 days due to weather.Ticking noise upon start up.By the 6th day the noise was much worse and lasted all time running at this point had been driven less than 600 miles).Called dealership Tria requested me to take to service shop for a diagnosis.1-14-15 I dropped the truck off and left it over night so the noise could be heard from cold start the next morning.1-15-15 Local dealership calls with diagnosis.Camshaft and lifters need to be replaced.Estimated cost $5200.Called Lipscomb was told by **** to bring truck back to Bowies TX because they believe local dealership is overcharging.Advised her the truck is not drivable and I have no way of towing to their dealership.She then tells me to see what I can do and that if it is going to cost that much to find another truck for possible trade.She believes that will be the best thing to do. Only truck close 3 years newer and $6k more than broken truck.Tell her did not find anything comparable to trade for would just like to return truck and cancel deal.She tells me she will talk to her general manager and call back in about an hour.No return call that day.Called bank 1-15-15 to advise them of situation.Funds already released to dealership.Called **** at local dealership he states truck will not drive that far and should be transported back to Lipscomb and believes they should pay the expense.1-16-15 Called **** at 0:40am to ask about bringing truck back to cancel deal, said she "got busy" day before would get answer from general manager in an hour and call back.3 hours no call. 1:45pm I call Lipscomb and ask to speak to general manager. He tells me that the only offer he had made was to have the truck looked at in his service department because local dealership as "overcharging" and "$5200 would cover a new motor in this truck". I tell him truck not drivable and if he wants it looked at in his service center that he would need to trailer it. "He doesn't have to do anything" and since I could not prove the truck was making noise when I left in it was my fault for not purchasing an extended warranty and that if I could not get the truck to his dealership they would be of no help.Told him this was supposed to be a family vehicle I have 3 kids did not spend $20k for a new truck to sit in a shop.He proceeded to tell me he will look through paperwork to see if I was offered an extended warranty that he "knows is offered to everyone"(Later spoke with my husband to confirm if it was offered and t was not, if something is signed saying it was it WAS NOT explained to me). Told him I have no way to bring truck to him.He said was not paying another service center to fix it. Asked him if truck could just be returned and deal cancelled asked who financed the truck and if they had paid said local bank and yes. He replied "then it's no longer my contract and "I'm not going to take the truck back".Called local dealership and advised them Lipscomb believes they are overcharging and won't help unless truck is delivered to Lipscomb. Called Lipscomb service center they would not price job unless I sent detailed sheet from local dealership so they could "compare prices". Would not even give a ball park figure.

Desired Settlement
I would like the price of parts refunded in the amount of $2442.54.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@lipscombautocenter.com
I spoke to ******* ****** on Jan. 20, 2015. I told her that we would take care of the repairs on the truck, it is at a dealership service dept in Amarillo, Tx. The repairs are to be completed on Thursday the 22 of Jan. ******* ****** was pleased with this outcome. It will not cost her any money out of her pocket. We want the complaint resolved, we have fulfilled our obligation to satisfy the customer.

*** ******* Mgr at Lipscomb AUTO Center

03/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The letter I sent the General Manager, Mike M****** on Feb 4 with no answer (over 2 weeks later) :
Dear Mr M******:
I brought my 2003 GMC Yukon into the service department on January 29. I told the gentleman at your service desk I had a problem with my horn. It worked yesterday, but not that morning. I told him I had already checked the relay, but there might be a fuse that I had missed, as I am not a car guy.He told me he would have to put it on the diagnostic machine for $50.00.

Then he came out and told me he would have to replace 2 horns for about $450.00. I told him I was not interested in paying that. He said he could do it for $200.00. I told him I don't think the horn was the problem.He told me the 2 horns were rusted completely through, the quarter panels would have to be taken off, and both horns replaced. Since he was already in the engine, he could save me the $250.00 in labor. I said no thank you, paid my $50.00 and left.

On February 3, I took my vehicle to Kurt's Kwik Lube in North Richland Hills. The mechanic on duty said it was a probably fuse, replaced the fuse in less than 3 minutes, the horn worked and they didn't charge me at all.


Desired Settlement
I am pretty upset about the way your service manager handled this. I feel like he attempted to take advantage of, and defraud, me. I would like my $52.14 refunded to my credit card.

However, this could have all been a misunderstanding. I wanted to give you a chance to address this. I have included a copy of my credit card bill for your reference.

If you want to get robbed, this is the place! Otherwise, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!

Business Response
Lipscomb Auto Center has refunded $52.14 to Mr. Brad M*****'s credit card, this is the full amount that our service department charged him on his service ticket.

We hope that this fully satisfies Mr. M*****, we are sorry for any inconvenience that this might have created.

Thanks,

Ken R******

Lipscomb Auto Center

02-25-2016



01/04/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After receiving ad envelope from above dealership showing 4 of 5 nice prizes with a printed
5 digit no. above each, above those were 5 large scratch-off circles, which mine matched the
$2000.00 cash prize no. I then called ph.no. listed
& entered no. listed on front of envelope &
was told "Congrat. you are a winner: at dealer-
ship in Bowie an employee assited in
taking personal information then informs
the "winning" is a $5.00 Walmart Card. I
told her that was very misleading and
deceiving. She said it should have
been worded differently. Nothing in small
print indicated not winning the nicer
prize.
If they had to pay all of the people who came
in with "winning envelopes" - They might
think twice before doing it again,

Desired Settlement
Enough potential customers were deceived
by false ad,that they would not do
business nor recommend them to family/friend, plus
$2,000 cash!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Rik L*******
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: r**@l*******autocenter.com
I apologize if the mail piece appeared deceptive as that was not our intention. In reviewing the piece itself, all the terms conditions and chances of winning are disclosed properly. Unless mistaken, the winning number matched one of four prizes but, if I could be provided with a copy of that piece that indicates $2,000 was the prize then I will see that the money is paid if it is warranted. I'd also welcome a phone call from Freda to discuss this in more detail and can be reached at ******** which is a local call from Wichita Falls.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.