BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In North Central Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2013

Joe Cooper Toyota

(940) 322-72832213 Old Jacksboro Hwy, Wichita FallsTX 76301-5806

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2013

BBB has determined that Joe Cooper Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Joe Cooper Toyota's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
03/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: Joe Cooper Toyota employees have a problem with communication between themselves and their customers.
I have had multiple problems with the staff at Joe Cooper Toyota. My first problem with Joe Cooper Toyota is their lack of communication. Over the past month I have called multiple times and out of approximately fifty phone calls there have been zero that have been picked up by an employee. I have left voice mails for two different people and not had either one return my call. I have left a message with the receptionist for the manager to return a phone call, as I was having issues, and I never received a call back.
The second issue is with the finance department. I bought and signed my papers on September 13, 2013. I was told what my payments would be and that they would be due on the 28th of each month starting in October. On Friday October 4, 2013 I was called in and asked to resign my papers to fix a "Texas Tax" in my contract. I came in that afternoon and resigned my papers. I asked if my due date would be the same and was told that yes, the due date would still be the 28th of October. As I have good credit and have never been late with a payment ever, this was important that I know so that I could budget. I received yet another call on October 19, 2013 asking when I could come in to resign my contract papers. I explained that I already had and after a minute or two of searching the finance officer said he found my correct papers. I asked if this was why I hadn't received any papers from the bank and the finance officer said yes. The he proceeded to tell me the bank had received my paperwork and it would be processed Monday October 21, 2013 (which I later found out was a lie.) When I called the bank Wednesday October 22, 2013 to inquire about my account they had no record of me or my loan on file. After unsuccessfully trying to contact anyone at Joe Cooper Toyota (including the manager that never returned my phone call) I made a trip to the dealership (30 minutes away from where I live). The finance officer then told me that they had just sent off my paperwork that day, October 22, 2013, and that it should be at the bank by the end of the day Thursday October 24, 2013. This caused a problem for me because that would mean by the time they processed my loan I would already be late with a payment due to the staff at Joe Cooper Toyota not doing their job correctly. This has caused me a lot of emotional stress and anxiety attacks as I am very diligent about making my payments. I finally was able to speak with the finance office manager and he is currently working with me as much as he can but some of the problem is now out of his control and I am upset that I am having to deal with their mistakes.

Initial Business Response
Mrs. ***** loan was funded yesterday evening around 3:30. She was informed by ***** ******* that a payment would be do Monday October 28th and no late penaltys would be applied. If by chance any late penaltys are charged on the first payment due Joe Cooper Toyota will pay them for her. We would also like to extend a FREE detail and FREE tank of gas at her conveinance. She can contact **** ******** to schedule that. We are sorry for the inconveinance and value her as a loyal customer.

Consumer Response
I have contacted ************* multiple times about setting up times for these events but can not get a call back.I stoped by to speak with him but was left waiting. I understand that someone who just stops by doesn't have priority and should be expected to wait but don't tell me five minutes then not show up forty five minutes later. Also he would not answer
his phone nor call back to schedule a time. I feel that they have not held up their end of the deal


Business Response
After our Business Mgr. spoke with Mrs. **** all issues have been resolved. She is scheduled for a car wash and a full tank of gas that was promised to her orignally. We apologize for any inconveniences.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: Poor customer service and lacking professional business skills!
In July of this year I purchased a 2012 scion tc from Joe Cooper Toyota! At which time an extended warranty was added! Less than a week later I refinanced the above vehicle through my bank! The bank offered a better service contract, so I cancelled Joe coopers warranty! Since I had already paid for the service contract through Joe Cooper, a refund should have been issued in the amount $1,880.00, the cost of the warranty! Now almost 5 months later, I have made repeated attempts to resolve this matter in a civil manner! Neither the finance managers or general sale managers have the decency to acknowledge or return a simple phone call! I have left numerous voice mails, with little results! Since the service contract was added to the cost of the vehicle, it means I now owe $1,880.00 to my bank. Since we could not subtract the cost of the warranty from the value of the vehicle! Also, I have provided Joe Cooper Toyota with all the information they have requested from me!

Initial Business Response
I spoke with our Finance Director and he stated the customer now has received the refund. Looks like after reviewing everything we originally sent in the wrong form and then did a poor job of communicating with the customer. I do apologize for the incoveinance.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Failure to provide service as agreed to by the lease contract Joe Cooper purchased from ******** ****** in maintaining body appearance.
The lease contract dictates that the outside of the vehicle must be maintained to a suitable appearance or be penalized. I have been unable to schedule or get any work done. I have been told that there is no problem, Joe Cooper is the point of contact and would be happy to serve. I have also been told that since I did not lease from Joe Cooper there is nothing that can be done.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@cooperautogroup.com
Had no idea what the customer was even talking about. I called her directly and scheduled an appointment for Wednesday to get her vehicle in so we could look at it. The appointment is for Wednesday 9/25/13 at 8am. I will make sure we take care of her and she will be 100% happy when she leaves.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I received a response from Toyota Financial. I was told I could go to any Toyota dealer. I called Joe Cooper Toyota to cancel appointment for 9.25.13. The implications I did not know what I was talking about was unacceptable.

Final Business Response
In our response we meant We did not know what she was talking about but agreed to schedule an appointment to fix her car for her with no cost to customer. We have absolutely no controversy in our store. We have the highest customer satisfactin with Toyota and given the chanch would like to extend that to Mrs. *****. We would also like to extend to her a free oil change and full detail at her conveinance.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: After buying our 2013 Sienna (Toyota) Van. We found out from 2 different body Mechonics that there is hail damage! We took the van back to Joe Coopers Toyota's and one manager said that they hadn't had any hail! We took it back again and the sales manager said "oh yes we did have Hail" They don't seem to want to do anything about it! If they don't make this right a few years from now we will be out another major exspense - Painting. Also they said Average Milage on Hwy is 26 Mon Rd. Best we've had is 20.8

Initial Business Response
Took customers complaints into consideration. We traded them out of their current van and put them into another new van. Customers should be 100% satisfied.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: We never received a copy of our sales contract/paperwork.
We purchased a 2012 Ford Focus sedan from Joe Cooper Toyota approximately 2 months ago. We picked up the car from dealership representatives in Oklahoma City. When I signed the paperwork, the representative said we would receive a copy of all of it. After a few weeks, I contacted the finance manager who assured me the paperwork was in the mail. To date, we have not received that paperwork. I have made several attempts to contact the finance manager to follow up and received absolutely no response.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
They bought a car in July from **** ************ The customer was very happy at that time. Our buisness office states that all copies were mailed to them. After we received this complaint we left 2 messages and ***** ******** finally got a hold of Mrs. ******. In the process we have sent the paperwork again to their address in Okmulgee, Ok We apologize for any conveinance this might have caused. Thanks!
*****

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Warranty Plans, Auto Warranty Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/30/2013Business started: 01/01/1957Business started locally: 05/06/2013
Business Management
Principal: Mr. Lance Franklin (GM)

This business bought out Sullivan Toyota as of May 6, 2013. According to new GM Lance Franklin, Joe Cooper Toyota will not assume any liabilities of Sullivan Toyota.

Contact Information
Mr. David Gregg (Controller)
Number of Employees

68

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Warranty Plans, Auto Warranty Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers new Toyota vehicles and used vehicles.

Industry Tips
BBB Teams with J.D. Power and Associates to Boost Value of Information Available to Car Buyers
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Know the Facts about Auto Service Contracts
Millions Expected to Heat up the Holiday Season with Auto Purchases
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Joe Cooper Toyota

2213 Old Jacksboro Hwy

Wichita Falls, TX 76301-5806

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2213 Old Jacksboro Hwy 

    Wichita Falls, TX 76301-5806(940) 322-7283

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Central Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Joe Cooper Toyota is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 6/20/2013.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.