BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
North Central Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2013

Joe Cooper Toyota

(940) 322-72832213 Old Jacksboro Hwy, Wichita FallsTX 76301-5806

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2013

BBB has determined that Joe Cooper Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Joe Cooper Toyota's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service8
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)BBB Closure Definitions
08/01/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Guarantee or Warranty Complaint Issue

Complaint: We got a warranty with our car loan however we cancelled that warranty yet have not received the promised money back from the warranty.
We bought a 2007 Honda Odyssey in August of 2013 and were told that we could not get a loan without buying the warranty. We purchased the warranty along with the car. We were told it was a "bumper to bumper warranty". However, when the a/c went out in the van after having it only 6-8 months, the company stated that the warranty would not cover the repairs and they would change us $2400 to repair the a/c. We decided to trade in the van. We cancelled the warranty and were supposed to receive about $2000 back from the cost of the warranty within 10 business days from that day in April. We still have not received the check. We have contacted multiple people at Joe Cooper who all promise the same thing yet we still have not received the money. Most recently we spoke with **** ********* who once again promised we would receive the check within 10 business day. Nearly 3 months has gone by and we still have no check in the mail.

Initial Business Response
The customer has been reimbursed for the warranty cancellation. Thanks!

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Was sold a hail damage vehicle and not disclosed about it.
I thought I bought a good car until I noticed chips of paint falling off. Then there was wind noise coming from the windshield and the driver's side door. It was brought to my attention that my car was apart of the hail damage we had back in May. I talked to one of salesman about it and he was nice enough to tell me it was one of the cars that was on the lot. He even pointed out the ripples on the hood from the cheap paint job they had done on the car .
He asked me if I signed any papers stating I was buying a hail damage car and I told him no. I told him my sales man did tell me anything. So I asked another salesman why didn't they tell me. He replied we don't have to nor do we have to put it on the car fax. At this point I was upset , I went to the new car manager and told him I wanted this fix . He told me to take to service and have the work warranty . I said no. I wanted another car because I purchased a new car without damage . He just laughed. So I went to a few people and none of them were any help. All they did was give me the runaround. So I dropped it for a few weeks then tried again. They told me they would trade me out of it for $4000.00 down. Once again I told them no. I told them I wanted a new. I told them it was there fault for not telling me about it and I refused to give anything down. They didn't care about helping me or trying to make things right. The sad thing about all this I worked for them . I still have the car and now I am stuck with a car that has no value in it and I have to hear wind coming through my windshield and door. I should of known better to trust them. I do not care for this place. So if you want to purchase a Toyota I suggest you go elsewhere. I suggest if anyone did purchase a car there around that time you should do some research

Initial Business Response
This customer was an employee at the time she purchased this car. She was here when every car on the lot was damaged with hail. We sold her the car losing over $1500. We've tried to trade her out of the car but due to credit challenges we were unable to. We have done everything we could to help her. Just because she has a problem with an employee is no reason to attack this store. If you would like to discuss any further please contact our GM. He is fair and will do what he can to help you.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When I wrote this its a complaint on your dealership. I never stated anything about an ex co worker. My issues are, you did not disclose this to me nor did i sign anything. I was already approved at ************ for a car. Where i have bought 2 others, You are trying to do everything you can to void the whole thing. This is not my first time buying a vehicle at a dealership.The GM was trying to sell his 100 vehicles for the month . so my credit had nothing to do with it. It will be ignored like it has been for the last year. I will just file with Toyota also .

Final Business Response
Would you be interested in making an appointment with one of our sales mgrs so they can try and trade you out of it?

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: Purchased used vehicle May 23, 2014 now vehicle is undriveable. Keeps dying and leaking oil and battery dead. Was sold '' AS IS ''
Problem began May 24 2014, vehicle was purchased on May 23 2014, 2002 Town & Country van, Deal #XXXXXX, salesman was ***** ******** paid $1000 cash down, total purchase price was $4712. Vehicle was a purchase "AS IS" but salesman said the finance dept always offers an extended warranty- THE FINANCE DEPT DID NOT OFFER US AN EXTENDED WARRANTY. There are major costly issues with the vehicle. Gas and oil leaks, keeps dying, battery goes dead. I spoke with Mr. ******* on May 26 2014 and was told he would talk to his boss and call me back. He did not call me back. I called him back and he said they were busy but would call me first thing Tues morning May 27. He did not call. I went to the dealership and spoke with Mr. ***** (general sales mgr) I explained we had purchased the car for my daughter who lives in Dallas and after 2 days they can not even drive the car without it dying. He said he was sorry and said he wished the vehicle was here in Wichita Falls so they could check it but when I asked iff we were able to get the car here could they fix it he said it would be better for my daughter to take it to a Chrysler dealer in Dallas and have diagnostics run on the vehicle and they ( Joe Cooper Toyota ) might consider paying some on the repair cost. My son in law took it as mentioned and there is over $3000 worth of things wrong with the vehicle.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: To whom it may concern,
I am contacting you seeking help with an issue with Joe Cooper Toyota. I first experienced issues with my vehicle in February and took my car to a different shop and after diagnosing the issue(according to the owner), I just needed a tune-up. I was still experiencing the same issues with the car after the tune up and I chose not to drive my vehicle.
On March 24, 2014, I took my car into Joe Cooper Toyota at 8:13 a.m. to get the mechanical issues diagnosed. I spoke with **** **** concerning my issues and informed him of what had taken place with the other shop and that someone had told me that it could be the Engine Control Module. **** informed me that they would do a diagnostic test to find out what the problem was.He called me and told me I needed an air fuel sensor and brakes so I told them to fix it. He called me on March 25th to inform me that my car was ready. I paid them $555.60. I picked my car up, and I returned my car to Joe Cooper on March 26th with the same issues; engine light on and the engine was still miss firing.
On the March 27,2014, **** **** called me and stated that the tune up that had been done was the issue. They replaced the plugs and I took them to the man who originally did the tune-up, because **** had stated that he had done the tune-up wrong. When I can to pick up my vehicle up, they said that the tune-up was not the issue that I needed an Engine Control Module. I asked him how much it would cost and he said he wasn't sure, he would call me back. **** called me back shortly and said the cost of the ECM would be $949.79 not including the labor and they would not charge me for the tune-up. I told him to go ahead and order it and he told me it would take 3 to 4 days to come in. I let him know that was fine. **** called me on April 02, 2014 to inform me that the ECM had come in. The next day **** called and said when they installed the ECM it fried the coils and that they need to be replaced, I asked **** how much that would cost, he suggested that they use aftermarket ones that cost $91.12 and that I need four (4) of them. I told **** that was fine to go ahead and order them and that my car would be ready the following morning. On April 04 I called **** to see if my car was ready,but **** wasn't there, so I spoke with ***** ******* and he told me my car was ready. So I called my brother ***** ******* *** to take me to get my car, once we got there to pick up the car ***** ******* stated that the mechanic said I needed a Catalytic Converter. I stated to ****** why would you call me if the car is not fixed. He then stated the car is running fine that the engine light was off. The cost for me to get my car was $1529.27. Once they brought my car around, I got in my car to find that it was still miss firing the check engine light was flashing, the light to the alarm was flashing, and my gas light was on. I went back inside spoke to **** ****** the service manager and expressed to him that I was told my car was ready and that I could pick it up. I expressed to Mr. ****** that this was not acceptable, that I have spent over $2000.00 dollars trying to fix my car, and that everything that you guys said could be the problem I got fixed.
Mr. ****** got in my car and rove and came back in the building and instructed ***** to put me in a rental car at no charge. This is the first time I had been given transportation in the 3 weeks they have had my car, I have been paying a friend to use her car. On April 07, 2014, I went back to Joe Cooper with Mr. ***** one of my church members, to speak with **** about my car. We went into Mr. ********* office, **** proceeded to tell us that my car need a Catalytic converter. I asked **** how much that would cost, he said it would cost a lot more to get that repaired at the dealership but that it would be cheaper at a Muffler shop. I told **** that 's fine get it fixed and he told me I could take it to a muffler shop. I told him no, you guys can take it. **** said he would take it to ****** ******* on Jacksboro Highway, and that he would call me and let me know what they said. By Thursday, April 10th, I hadn't heard anything from **** or the dealership so I went out to ****** ******* myself. When I arrived at ****** ******** my car was there parked with the window down. I asked a young man who worked there (******) , how long had that gold Toyota Avalon been there? He stated that they had brought it two days ago and parked it there and said nothing to them. So ****** told me that he just looked inside for some paper work from the dealership. There was none, but he saw my paperwork that I left in the car, where **** from Joe Cooper Toyota said it need a Catalytic Converter. I asked ****** how long would that take, ****** state about an hour, I also asked him how much it would cost, he said $180.00. I asked ****** when its ready who is supposed to come get it, he stated someone from Joe Cooper. I called **** and asked him about the car and if they had picked it up, **** informed me that either he or Mr. ****** would personally go to ****** ******* Friday, April 11, 2014 to make sure that the Catalytic Converter was not heating up. Friday morning I called ****** ******* to see if they had been there and I was informed that they hadn't been there.
Late Friday, around 4:30 p.m., **** called me to inform me that they had picked up my car and he thought the problem with the car was in the motor. He said that they would need to break down the motor and that it would be more cost. I told him that him that I have been very patient with them in getting everything fixed that he said was the issue and now you say you need to break down the motor. I also told ***** after spending over $2000.00 now you say it's something else. I expressed to **** that I felt they had taken advantage of me, and that I wasn't going to give him permission to break down the motor. **** stated I know you are a Christian woman that you would make the right decision, so think about it over the weekend. I told him I would think about it but I still felt they have taken advantage of me. **** called me on April 14,2014 at 1:02 and asked me what I decided to do about them breaking down the motor, I told him how disgusted I was and that I would be checking on some other options.
I feel as though I have been patient and fair with the dealership. I feel that they have taken advantage of me due to my gender, race and weight. My car was a gift to me and due to my disability, I am unable to purchase a new vehicle and and the only way I have been able to pay for the repairs has been through the generosity of friends and church members. If they had been honest with me from the beginning I might not feel as used. They said they diagnosed the problem but they keep guessing at what the issue is. I feel that I have been scammed with all that has been done thus far. Not only have I been dealing with the issues and stress concerning my car but on April 01, 2014 I lost my sister.
Please contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX and let me know what my options are in getting a resolution to my problem.
Sincerely,
**** *******

Initial Business Response
Looks like this came in after the fact. I spoke with our management staff in Service and they have taken care of Mrs. ******* and she is now happy. On behalf of Joe Cooper Toyota we just want to apologize for any inconvience we may have caused. If Mrs. ******* has any other issues she can contact the General Mgr. at anytime.
Thanks!

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: JOE COOPER TOYOTA REQUESTED A REFUNDABLE $500 DEPOSIT FOR A VEHICLE THEY FAILED TO DELIVER AND HAVE NOT REFUNDED MY DEPOSIT.
I PROVIDED JOE COOPER A $500 DOLLAR DEPSOIT SO THE COMPANY COULD ORDER A SPECIFIC TRUCK WITH FEATURES THAT I REUQESTED. THE DATE OF THE TRANSACTION WAS ON 21 MAR 2014. JOE COOPER STATED THEY COULD HAVE THE TRUCK DELIVERED IN LESS THAN ONE WEEK. AFTER THREE WEEKS THEY COULD STILL NOT DELIVER THE TRUCK I REQUESTED. THE SALESMAN CONTINUED TO OFFER MODELS THAT I DDIN'T NOT WANT. I HAVE LEFT MESSAGES WITH THE SALES MANAGER TO RETURN MY DEPOSIT BUT THE SALES MANAGER DOES NOT RETURN MY CALLS. ALL I WANT IS MY DEPOSIT BACK FOR A VEHICLE THEY COULD NOT DELIVER.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Warranty Plans, Auto Warranty Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/30/2013Business started: 01/01/1957Business started locally: 05/06/2013
Business Management
Principal: Mr. Lance Franklin (General Manager)

This business bought out Sullivan Toyota as of May 6, 2013. According to new GM Lance Franklin, Joe Cooper Toyota will not assume any liabilities of Sullivan Toyota.

Contact Information
Mr. David Gregg (Controller)
Number of Employees

68

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Warranty Plans, Auto Warranty Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers new Toyota vehicles and used vehicles.

Industry Tips
BBB Teams with J.D. Power and Associates to Boost Value of Information Available to Car Buyers
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Know the Facts about Auto Service Contracts
Millions Expected to Heat up the Holiday Season with Auto Purchases
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Joe Cooper Toyota

2213 Old Jacksboro Hwy

Wichita Falls, TX 76301-5806

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2213 Old Jacksboro Hwy 

    Wichita Falls, TX 76301-5806(940) 322-7283

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Central Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Joe Cooper Toyota is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 6/20/2013.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.