BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In North Central Texas

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/15/2007

Air Smart, Inc.

Phone: (940) 549-0929

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/24/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bought new air cond. it has broke down every yr since which they tell us they install defective pts we ara dis abled and are charged and taken advanta
advantage of they refuse to come out because we refuse to pay them anymore money we have had new co come out and tell us all the things they installed wrong myself my husbund and my grandaughter are disabled and suffer from tx heat each yr because of this issue when ask for our mony back to pay for our new unit air smart owner ***** ******* laughed at us

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******, President,
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@sbcglobal.net
This customer purchased an air conditioning system from us to be installed during construction of a house in a new housing development on Possum Kingdom Lake. Construction of the home took place during the last half of 2008 and all of 2009 with the equipment being put into operation December 15th, 2009. We responded to a call from the customer May 17th, 2010. During this call we repaired a leak on the outdoor unit and recharged it. There was no cost to the customer; the repairs were covered by our 1st year parts and labor warranty. We had no further contact from the customer until almost 2 years later on April 25th, 2012. We responded to a call of no cooling and found the unit to be low on refrigerant. It was determined that the evaporator coil had refrigerant leaks that were associated with formicary corrosion and needed to be replaced. We replaced the evaporator coil on May 3rd, 2012. The coil was covered by the factory 5-year parts warranty, the customer was billed for the labor and materials used to replace the coil. This bill totaled $1164.67. No payment was ever received for this work. The next contact was August 14th, 2012. We responded to a call that the system was not cooling again. The customer was informed that they had a past due balance for the previous repairs and we requested some form of "good faith" payment when we sent the technician to the jobsite. We were given a check for $100.00 to go towards their balance. The service technician determined that the compressor had failed. The compressor was replaced on August 20th, 2012. The compressor was covered by the factory 10-year compressor warranty. The customer was billed for the labor and materials necessary for installation of the compressor. This bill totaled $616.55. We received a check for $50.00 on November 2nd, 2012. No payments have been received since then and the customer now has a past due balance of $1631.22. The customer has not contacted us since that time until they left a message on our after-hours service phone Sunday evening June 16th, 2013. At that time they had contacted another service company to come look at the system and they have determined that the system has had another compressor failure. No attempt was made to contact us to diagnose the failed compressor and we are acting on the diagnosis of the other service company. I had a phone conversation with the customer Monday morning June 17th, 2013. I was informed they wanted us to remove the A/C system from their home and refund their money. They also indicated that the other service company had informed them of some apparent incompetence in our previous work. I never laughed at them; I did inform them that a refund was not likely. I have also spoken to a person from the other service company about any incompetent work he may have discussed with the consumer. The only things the other company mentioned to me was the presence of what they diagnosed as an extra filter drier in the system and a broken wire connection in the control wire going to the condensing unit. It was determined during our conversation that the component they thought was an extra filter drier was actually a muffler that the manufacturer installs in the discharge line of the compressor to reduce pulsations from the compressors operation. The broken wire connection had to have been a recent occurrence since it had been working for 3-1/2 years. This is not a sign of any type of incompetence, but is most likely a result of the corrosive environment around this lake. At the time of this message (4:00pm on Wednesday June 19th, 2013) I have attempted to contact both the consumer and the other service company to offer our solution and am awaiting a return call from both parties.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Bought new outside unit installed 12-15-09 $3840.90 Broke 5-17-10 6 months later because of bad soldering when first installed leaked out all freon.No charge there fault.4-25-12 No air service tech determined evaporator coil in attic had leaks caused by manufactuer defect,was full of holes.Fixed 5-3-12,9 days without air in tx.heat.Parts under warranty.Service call $1164.67.8-14-12 No air,Air smart would not come out unless we paid them money so we paid $100,service tech determined compressor failed outside unit.Part under warranty,fixed 8-20-12.7 days without air.Service call $616.55.Since we are disabuled and on a budget we paid what we could when we could,paid $50 10-26-12 meaning to pay it off in time,until 6-10-13 No air.We could not afford another service call from air smart so my wife called another AC company to come out.The new tech determined outside compressor burnt up for the third time.We can not afford to pay $1000.00 every year for AC repair.So i called ************ to get some kind of resolution to this problem.I ask him to do what he thought was right by the customer,us.No response so here we are.On 7-17-13 we had carrier unit removed and had a different unit installed by another company.Cost$3000.00. Air smart says we owe some outrages service charges of $1631.22 for two service calls.We think someone should check there billing practices.My cost for new ac $3000.00.Air smart outrages service charges $1631.22.Air smart should pay us the difference of $1368.78,and stop saying there going to put lean on our home and turn us into collection agency.This would be the customers resolution to the problem at hand.

Business' Final Response
As I indicated in my previous response, I called both the customer and the representative from the other service company to offer our solution. Neither party returned my call. Now it would appear that even though the customer could not pay the bills owed to us, they could afford to replace the A/C unit for $3000.00. The solution we will offer is to send the customer a check for $750.00. This would have covered the cost to install a new compressor. The old compressor was still under warranty and would have been covered by the manufacturer. The decision to replace the unit was their choice. We will not pursue collection of the outstanding balance the customer owes us provided there is no need for further interaction between us. Should it become necessary for us to become involved again for any further complaints by the customer we will then pursue collection of the balance due. I would also like to mention that at no time during our interactions was it ever brought to my attention that any disability was involved, or that this was their reason for not paying their bills. The customer also made no attempt to contact us in regards to paying out their bill. Their are also programs available to help people with disabilities and on a fixed income to pay for services they can't afford.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Repair, Sheet Metal Work, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Contractors

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.