Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing and water heater services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fast Water Heater Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Fast Water Heater Company include:

  • 13 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Fast Water Heater Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Fast Water Heater Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 20, 1995 Business started: 07/01/1989 Business started locally: 07/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Department of Consumer & Business Services
350 Winter St NE, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/DCBS
Phone Number: (503) 378-4100
dcbs.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Jordan, Member Ms. Rene Anies, California Branch Manager Mr. Steve Berkley, Field Supervisor Mr. Steve Brotton, Oregon Branch Manager Mr. Jason Hanleybrown, Member Mr. Raymond Jennson, Member Mr. David Johnson, Member Mr. Alex Preciado, Southern California Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Rene Anies, California Branch Manager
Principal: Mr. Jeff Jordan, Member
Business Category

Water Heaters - Dealers Water Heater - Tankless Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies Water Heaters - Wholesale & Manufacturers Plumbers Water Heaters - Repairing Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fast Water Heater Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 11715 N Creek Pkwy S

    Bothell, WA 98011 (425) 814-8381 (800) 454-8955 (425) 818-4090 (253) 862-6086 (425) 996-4090 (360) 867-0275 (425) 643-3464 (253) 627-4966 (425) 738-4092 (253) 872-6511 (425) 939-4098 (253) 269-4091 (206) 464-0106 (425) 258-1306 (206) 219-4090 (206) 219-4091 (206) 219-4092 (206) 219-4093 (206) 219-4094 (206) 219-4095 (206) 219-4096 (206) 219-4097 (206) 219-4098 (206) 219-4099 (206) 243-6921 (206) 453-2544 (206) 455-6317 (206) 575-6707 (253) 200-1774 (253) 200-5004 (253) 238-4090 (253) 238-4091 (253) 238-4092 (253) 238-4093 (253) 238-4094 (253) 238-4095 (253) 238-4096 (253) 238-4097 (253) 238-4098 (253) 238-4099 (253) 239-4091 (253) 239-4092 (253) 239-4093 (253) 239-4094 (253) 239-4095 (253) 239-4096 (253) 239-4097 (253) 239-4098 (253) 269-4091 (253) 269-4092 (253) 269-4093 (253) 269-4094 (253) 269-4095 (253) 292-2316 (253) 321-4090 (253) 321-4091 (253) 321-4092 (253) 321-4093 (253) 321-4094 (253) 449-4090 (253) 449-4091 (253) 627-4966 (253) 777-3065 (253) 777-3071 (253) 872-6511 (253) 922-8389 (253) 948-1256 (253) 948-1278 (360) 339-4453 (360) 362-4187 (360) 362-4189 (360) 362-4191 (360) 362-4315 (360) 403-0719 (360) 450-3188 (360) 464-9884 (360) 474-4587 (360) 474-4588 (360) 539-4090 (360) 539-4091 (360) 615-4090 (360) 618-4090 (360) 618-4091 (360) 618-4092 (360) 618-4093 (360) 867-0275 (425) 214-1038 (425) 223-3638 (425) 223-3732 (425) 296-0425 (425) 296-0426 (425) 296-0427 (425) 296-0428 (425) 296-0431 (425) 296-0432 (425) 296-0434 (425) 296-0438 (425) 296-0439 (425) 296-0440 (425) 296-0441 (425) 296-0442 (425) 296-4982 (425) 296-4983 (425) 296-4986 (425) 296-6206 (425) 296-6211 (425) 329-6190 (425) 329-6854 (425) 336-1620 (425) 336-1623 (425) 336-3574 (425) 336-3616 (425) 336-3617 (425) 374-4867 (425) 440-0087 (425) 533-0726 (425) 533-2162 (425) 533-2419 (425) 605-4090 (425) 605-6001 (425) 605-6002 (425) 605-6003 (425) 605-6004 (425) 605-6005 (425) 605-6006 (425) 605-6007 (425) 605-6008 (425) 605-6009 (425) 605-6010 (425) 609-4090 (425) 609-4091 (425) 609-4092 (425) 609-4093 (425) 609-4094 (425) 636-5403 (425) 636-5404 (425) 636-5405 (425) 636-5406 (425) 636-5407 (425) 636-5408 (425) 636-5409 (425) 363-5410 (425) 363-5411 (425) 636-5412 (425) 636-5413 (425) 636-5414 (425) 363-5415 (425) 636-5416 (425) 636-5417 (425) 636-5418 (425) 636-5419 (425) 636-5420 (425) 636-5421 (425) 636-5422 (425) 636-5423 (425) 636-5424 (425) 636-5425 (425) 636-5426 (425) 636-5427 (425) 636-5428 (425) 636-5429 (425) 636-5435 (425) 636-5436 (425) 636-5437 (425) 636-5440 (425) 636-7020 (425) 636-7021 (425) 636-7022 (425) 636-7023 (425) 636-7024 (425) 636-7025 (425) 636-7026 (425) 636-7027 (425) 363-7028 (425) 636-7029 (425) 636-7030 (425) 636-7031 (425) 636-7032 (425) 636-7034 (425) 636-7036 (425) 636-7037 (425) 636-7038 (425) 636-7039 (425) 636-7040 (425) 636-7041 (425) 636-7042 (425) 636-7043 (425) 636-7044 (425) 636-7045 (425) 636-7046 (425) 636-7047 (425) 636-7048 (425) 636-7049 (425) 636-7050 (425) 636-7051 (425) 636-7052 (425) 636-7053 (425) 636-7054 (425) 636-7055 (425) 636-7056 (425) 636-7057 (425) 636-7058 (425) 636-7059 (425) 636-7060 (425) 636-7061 (425) 636-7062 (425) 636-7063 (425) 636-7064 (425) 636-7065 (425) 636-7066 (425) 636-7067 (425) 636-7068 (425) 636-7069 (425) 636-7070 (425) 636-7071 (425) 636-7072 (425) 636-7073 (425) 636-7074 (425) 636-7075 (425) 636-7076 (425) 636-7077 (425) 636-7078 (425) 636-7079 (425) 363-7080 (425) 636-7081 (425) 636-7082 (425) 636-7083 (425) 636-7084 (425) 636-7085 (425) 636-7086 (425) 636-7087 (425) 636-7088 (425) 636-7089 (425) 636-7090 (425) 636-7091 (425) 636-7092 (425) 636-7093 (425) 636-7094 (425) 636-7095 (425) 636-7096 (425) 636-7097 (425) 636-7100 (425) 636-7101 (425) 636-7102 (425) 636-7103 (425) 636-7104 (425) 636-7105 (425) 636-7109 (425) 636-7110 (425) 636-7115 (425) 636-7117 (425) 636-7119 (425) 636-7121 (425) 636-7122 (425) 636-7123 (425) 636-7124 (425) 636-7125 (425) 636-7126 (425) 636-7128 (425) 636-7129 (425) 636-7130 (425) 636-7131 (425) 636-7132 (425) 636-7133 (425) 636-7134 (425) 636-7135 (425) 636-7136 (425) 636-7137 (425) 636-7138 (425) 636-7098 (425) 636-7099 (425) 636-7106 (425) 636-7107 (425) 636-7108 (425) 636-7111 (425) 636-5431 (425) 636-5432 (425) 636-5433 (425) 636-5434 (425) 636-5438 (425) 636-5439 (425) 636-5442 (425) 636-7112 (425) 636-7113 (425) 636-7114 (425) 636-7116 (425) 636-7118 (425) 636-7120 (425) 636-7127 (425) 636-7139 (425) 646-7546 (425) 654-0426 (425) 672-3775 (425) 738-4093 (425) 738-4094 (425) 738-4095 (425) 814-3124 (425) 814-9516 (425) 814-9858 (425) 818-4091 (425) 818-4092 (425) 818-4093 (425) 818-4095 (425) 825-0525 (425) 828-0141 (425) 939-4090 (425) 939-4091 (425) 939-4092 (425) 939-4093 (425) 939-4094 (425) 939-4095 (425) 939-4096 (425) 939-4097 (425) 939-4099 (425) 996-4091 (425) 996-4092 (425) 996-4093 (425) 999-4690 (866) 319-3220 (866) 319-4118 (866) 443-9225 (866) 574-2963 (866) 748-5221 (866) 969-5118 (877) 301-7511 (877) 445-1177 (503) 252-3717 (503) 342-7098 (503) 342-7110 (503) 342-7121 (503) 342-7125 (503) 342-7132 (503) 343-4308 (503) 360-1726 (503) 360-1728 (503) 360-1729 (503) 360-1730 (503) 360-1731 (503) 360-1732 (503) 360-1733 (503) 360-1734 (503) 360-1735 (503) 360-1736 (503) 360-1737 (503) 360-1738 (503) 360-1739 (503) 360-1740 (503) 360-1740 (503) 360-1742 (503) 360-1743 (503) 360-1744 (503) 505-6321 (503) 505-6411 (503) 608-4078 (503) 608-4079 (503) 667-1352 (503) 684-2968 (503) 693-2647 (503) 766-4228 (503) 766-4229 (503) 766-4230 (503) 766-4231 (503) 766-4232 (503) 766-4233 (503) 766-4234 (503) 766-4235 (503) 766-4235 (503) 766-4236 (503) 867-8388 (503) 867-8403 (503) 928-8559 (503) 928-8652 (503) 928-8653 (503) 928-8654 (503) 928-8660 (541) 497-7729 (866) 455-3660 (877) 233-4480 (971) 238-1050 (971) 238-1051 (971) 238-1052 (971) 238-1053 (971) 238-1054 (971) 238-1055 (971) 238-1056 (971) 238-1057 (971) 238-1058 (971) 239-0465 (971) 270-4531 (971) 270-0532 (971) 270-4533 (971) 270-4534 (971) 270-4535 (866) 673-1783 (425) 814-8381

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted Fast Water Heater Company to repair our water heater on March 29th. Was charged $238 for parts and labor. Unfortunately the problem was not fixed. The company asked us to contact GE for replacement parts, after receiving these replacement parts Fast Water Heater Company came back out on Apr 1st and required that we pay another $99 to install the parts. I don't feel I should have to pay twice when the first effort to fix the water heater did not work. I essentially paid Fast Water Heater Company $238 and they did not provide the service (fixing the water heater to provide hot water) that they asked us to pay for.

Desired Settlement: I feel I should be reimbursed the original $238 I was asked to pay for services not rendered

Business Response: On 3/29 we sent out our tech to service a water heater at **** ***** ***, Mountain View, CA.  We charged the Customer $238, which covers the diagnostic fee of $139 and the labor fee of $99 to fix the tank.  On 4/1 we were called back out for the same problem.  Unfortunately, the tank needed a whole assy. instead of the part we used, which normally fixes the problem 90% of the time.  Knowing that the part we used in the first visit did not work, I instructed our tech to waive the $99 return trip fee, to cover the $99 labor charge for the part that did not work.  We only charged the customer $99 to install the whole Pilot Assy., which normally cost $149.  We feel the $149 discount that we gave the customer is more than fair.  

3/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our water heater recently stopped working. I called 1-800-454-8955 as listed on the sticker on our tank. Per the sticker, out tank has a 10 year tank and parts warranty. When I called this company they requested our model number. Once I gave them this number they informed me that the product is 8 years old and they do not offer services on products that are 8 years old. Furthermore, they do not service the brand of tank we have. Unfortunately, the homeowners before us purchased this item so I do not have records of this contract. But the sticker on the tank that lists model number, serial number, etc, also lists build date which is 7/31/2007. They gave me the number to the manufacturer of our tank. I called back later to ask why they would not honor their warranty. I was shuffled around to three different people. All of which told me the same thing. They do not work on tanks older than 8 years and they do not work on this tank. Fortunately, I was able to find a local company to come and do the work. The technician who came to our house laughed when I told him this story and said, "they don't do work on these." So, it is clear that this company does not honor their obligations, as it is known in the community.

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to amend its practice. It would certainly be nice to have the $425 it cost to replace the part that was broken, but I do not have any faith this would happen. Honestly, I am so frustrated with this company that I do not really want to hear from them. But I certainly don't want this to continue to happen to other people.

Business Response:

Hello ****,

I'm sorry that you had an unsatisfactory experience when you called us earlier this week. Hopefully I can shed some light on our policies and address your concerns in regards to our practices here at Fast Water Heater.

Here at Fast, we are a Warranty Service Provider for several manufacturers of water heaters and we also offer extended nontransferable warranties on products that we install.

Generally speaking, most water heaters last 8-12 years and we find that it's ultimately not worth it to the homeowner to pay for the parts and repairs on water heaters that are over eight years old, as there is usually another repair needed in a short time span.

We will service water heaters over 8 years old that are still under the original manufacturer's warranty if we are a Warranty Service Provider for that manufacturer. We will also provide service to water heaters that are over 8 years old if they are under one of our extended warranties. Because we are not a Warranty Service Provider for AO Smith, we are not able to service manufacturer's warranties on their products.

I was able to locate the original installation record for your address at **** ** ** *** (done on 9/10/07) and found that in addition to the original manufacturer's warranty a nontransferable 10 year warranty was purchased through us. When you spoke to us, you indicated that you purchased the home in 2010.

It's possible that this paperwork is still attached to your water heater. If so, you'll be able to find it in a plastic envelope that's taped to the tank of your water heater. The paperwork does state that the warranty is only applicable to the original owner of the water heater and is not transferable to future owners of the home.

Because this warranty is not transferable and we are no longer a Warranty Service Provider for A.O. Smith, our representatives suggested that you contact the manufacturer for assistance. A.O. Smith would be able to determine if your water heater was still covered by their warranty and to help you locate someone who would be able to service your water heater.

After listening to the calls, I did notice that our representatives did not address the fact that this warranty is non-transferable to you. I apologize that they didn't discuss this with you and will review this with them. I understand that you are looking for some reimbursement for the expense of repairing your water heater, but as this was no longer under our warranty we are not able to do so.

I hope that I've helped to address your concerns in regards to our policy and am happy to answer any additional questions you may have.

Thank you,

Jeanie S******

Manager, Customer Service & Satisfaction Department

Fast Water Heater Company

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I do not feel this was much of an apology. At no time, did someone tell me that because our water heater was 8 years old it would be worth our while to purchase a new hot water tank. That would be helpful information. It also still does not make sense to me that you would not offer a warranty on an item that has a 10 year warranty when it is only 8 years old. Additionally, I do not understand why your company would offer a warranty to a consumer that you are not able to service.

I appreciate that the warranty is not transferrable and that is certainly understandable. It would have been helpful for one of your representatives to inform me of this policy, especially because  I mentioned that I wasn't sure if the warranty would be transferrable as we did not purchase this item, but that it came with the house when we bought it.

Certainly, your lack of knowledge on your customer service shed light on the fact that you offer warranties on items you will not and cannot service. And you do not honor 10 year warranties on 8 year old items. I do not believe that your company acts in a responsible and honest manner and I cannot condone your behavior or your bad business practice.

Sincerely,

**** *********

1/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3 years ago, Fast Water Heater recommended a VERY expensive "top of the line" tankless water heater. We called them back within weeks because the water went from hot to cold to hot again. The technician told us our house didn't have enough water pressure for a tankless water heater! They didn't check before they installed it! We're stuck with a not functioning very well incredibly expensive water heater. Water heater starts leaking about a year ago. We find out that there was a recall on the unit and Fast Water heater did not notify us. We called Fast only to be told that the manufacturer of our water heater is out of business and we can only talk to one "guy" at Fast that deals with issues with this brand. His name is Sean. He NEVER calls us back after multiple attempts! We finally pay a plumber to fix the problem because it's leaking so bad and damaging the house. We have called for months because the water heater is not getting the water very hot. Sean "the one guy" that deals with this brand never calls us back after multiple attempts. On Sunday 11/29/2015 water heater breaks down completely. On Monday, after waiting on hold for close to hour and escalating with three reps we finally get to talk to the elusive Sean. He says a technician can't be at our house until Wednesday but he knows the part that the tech needs because of the error code. We say - don't send the tech unless he has the part. Tech shows up without the part! No guarantees of when they will be back to fix it because the "tech has other jobs to run." Then we check the water heater and it's leaking like crazy. We call Fast back to notify them the technician not only didn't fix our water heater now it's leaking. They refuse to send a tech back today to stop the leak!

Desired Settlement: Fast Water Heater needs to not only repair the unit so that we actually have hot water. We have not had hot water for 3 days. They also need to get the unit working as it was originally described it would work or replace it free of charge.

Business Response: The problem the customer was having was a warranty issue.  Unfortunately, this company went out of business so this customer felt we were still responsible for a warranty issue since  the manufacturer went out of business.  We were able to obtain a new unit and replace her old one.  This customer is happy and this issue is closed.  I followed up with an email yesterday and the customer responded that she is very happy.

7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had water heater, from FAST water heater company, installed on 1/21/15. Paid for the permit to have the water heater inspected and have never received the permit from Fast water heater company.Called FAST customer service on 3/6/15 and was told to call back if I hadn't received the permit information by 3/20/15. Called customer service, again, on 3/24/15 and the rep spoke with FAST bookkeeping and they told customer service rep that it was mailed that day.Called FAST customer service, again, on 4/8/15 because I never received the FAST permit and asked to speak to the office manager. I was told that she was in a meeting and would return my call.Called FAST customer service, for the 4th time on 4/14/15, and told the customer rep, again, what I needed and that even though bookkeeping said it was mailed I never received it and the office manger never called me. He spoke to the same office manger that I told him was going to call me and he said she was going into a meeting and would call me. He then asked if I wanted to speak with the permit department. I said "NO" because I wanted to speak with the office manager to let her know that customer service was not up to par and said I feel like contacting BBB. Today is 4/16/l5 and no call from Fast water heater company......................I need the permit so I can have my water heater inspected so I will not be fined. How does this get resolved.I will NEVER recommend FAST water heater company to anyone.Thank you and I hope this will get the results I need.

Desired Settlement: I need the permit for my FAST water heater so I can contact the appropriate people and have the water heater inspected. I paid $76.00 for the permit and it has to be inspected..........................

Business Response: ****,

I apologize for the problems you have been having with
getting your permit and the run around you got from our office staff, you
should have had your permit within 2-4 weeks. You certainly were not provided
with good customer service. Your permit was obtained in January, but then
nothing else was done at that point. We have been replacing some of our permit
staff and are in the process of catching up. Our permit department is mailing
you a copy and I will email you a copy as well. Once again I do apologize; this
is not the way we intend to have our staff treat our customers. We will use
your complaint as a training opportunity with our staff. We do value your business
as a lot of our business comes from repeat customers or referrals and we would
like to earn your trust back. I will also have my accounting staff refund $150
back to your credit card for your inconvenience.

Thank You,

***** ********

Fast Water Heater Company                                                                       
Washington Field Supervisor                                                                                            
Direct Tel:  ************                                                                                       
 Mobile:      
************

1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I initially called the company they advised me that they would get the required permit for a water heater installation. The heater was installed promptly the next day, and I paid for the permit as part of the total bill. I was told it could take up to six weeks for the permit to arrive, so I waited. The heater was installed on June 18, 2014. By mid-August no permit had arrived. I called the service number and was told permit dept had put in notes saying no permit required for my address. I advised them I was inside Kent city limits and per Kent, I needed a permit. Our entire complex was doing new heaters and other owners had gone to get permits themselves. The permit dept was supposed to be advised I needed one. Again I waited several weeks, then again called....permit dept had said no permit. I made sure customer service rep saw on invoice I had paid them a permit fee....again nothing happened. By mid-October I called again and a supervisor got involved. Someone named **** left me a message I would be receiving a permit and he would call back the next day to touch base with me. I never heard from him again and there were no missed calls on my phone. Again, I waited 6 weeks to see if the permit arrived.....nothing! It is now January 8, 2015. At this point, they have had my $66.74 permit fee for 6 1/2 months......I would consider this fraud, and possibly theft, since they have not returned money they are not entitled to.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I want the money back that I paid for the nonexistent permit of $66.74.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/13) */ Hi ****, I do apologize for the problems with getting your permit to you. The city does require a permit. Apparently the individuals you have talked to here did not follow up with getting this resolved. I have discussed this with my permit department and they are on top of it. They will be purchasing the permit today through the City of Kent and we should have it to you in 2 weeks. In the meantime I will have my accounting department issue you a refund check for $66.74 for the cost of the permit. If you have any further questions you can contact me. Sincerely, ***** ******** Washington Regional Manager Fast Water Heater Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/01/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am satisfied that the company does acknowledge that they weren't on top of things. I appreciate that they will not only be getting the permit, but will also be issuing me a refund. Thank you. Everybody I dealt with prior to the permit problem was pleasant to deal with. As long as that particular department does their job in the future, I have no problem recommending them.....thank you for the prompt response.

10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We found my tenant's old water heater is leaking (address: XXXXX ***** *** ****** ********** CA XXXXX) and I went to ********** Rancho Cucamonga for a new one on 9-4. They connected me with Fast Water Heater and they sent someone next day on 9-5 to install the new water heater. After the installation, their technician(********) spend 20 mins and still couldn't start the water heater. We finally figure out the plastic protecting the starting wire is broken, and the starting electric spark would "jump" to the metal body of the heater instead of igniting the combustion chamber. We had to start heater manually by pulling the wire away from the water heater body. The technician agreed they would come back to replace the wire, and I asked my tenant to contact them to arrange a time for the fix. My tenant contact them but they have no record of the incident. But they agreed to contact the technician and get back to our tenant. But not a single word from them after two week. Their phone number is always busy (I waited 40+ mins today and still couldn't reach them).

Desired Settlement: I just need them to arrange a time with my tenant to replace the faulty wire for my NEW water heater.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/23) */ Customer was called this morning and we left a detailed voice message to call me to schedule a visit. When he calls I'll send our technician back to find out what the problem is with the water heater. **** ******** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/10/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

8/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Fast Water Heater Company via ********** website to replace my water header at home today. They provided a quote over the phone for $999 to replace a 50 gallon water heater tank yesterday. That was cheaper than another quote I got. When their technician **** came, he gave me a detail quote with a total of $1985.78 which is more than double of the initial price quote. Among other items, **** quoted to replace 2 feet of vent that was easily reached at an open area of my garage for $340 and a new stand to place the water heater for $129. When I questioned the big price differences, he stated the additional charges were items needed to fulfill required code. And it would be very difficult to replace the vent. Not only that, he asked to pay the entire among up front before he could even start the job. He stated all these are required by **********. I could blame that on ********** and raised my concern there. I don't have much plumbing or home repair knowledge. My impression of ********** was trustworthy and reliable. So even though I found the quote was very pricy and their advance charging practice was very odd, I went along. **** only took ~20 mins to replace the vent. So I questioned him why the charge was so much. He told me that he estimated that it would take 1.5 hours for some technician. He just did it fast. But he had to charge me for 1.5 hours as a company standard "Fix fee" pricing. Given the credit card was charged already, no pricing adjustment could be done. Then I talked to another professional plumber (who is a husband of my good friend but live far away). When I told him about the situation, he told me that I shouldn't have to replace the entire stand even if the top plate was old. I could have just get a new plate. And the stand should probably cost like $50. And sure enough, I found that the exact stand is selling for $49.98 online. My plumber friend also said that Fast Water Heater was obviously ripping me off as they shouldn't have estimated replacing 2 foot of venting in open space would cost 1.5 hours and charging a simple water heater stand for more than a double is unreasonable.

Desired Settlement: This company should be banned from forcing customers to pay all charges up front before the work is completed. They should provide honest and reasonable price estimation and labor hours break down their estimations. Also, I request to refund the differences on the over-pricing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/07/23) */ When the customer called in to order a water heater and installation they were quoted price of the water heater and basic install of $999.00 plus permit price of $67.50 the customer was also made aware this was not the final price. It was explained to the customer that when the installer arrives, he will look the job over and if there is anything additional that needs to be done to bring it up to current code standards, the technician will give them a price in writing before any work is done. (It is impossible for us to give a customer a firm price with everything included for a safe and up to code standard installation over the phone until we see the existing water heater and how it was installed). It is our technician's job to make the customer aware of all code requirements and give a quote to repair them. Once the technician has explained any additional work to the customer, they are given the total price including tax. If the customer accepts the price, the technician has the customer sign the work authorization portion of the invoice giving us their approval to do the work for the agreed upon price. If the customer pays by credit card, the technician enters the info and swipes the customer's card to secure payment on the spot. This practice is not unusual nowadays. Many contractors do this to assure the credit card being used is valid and has funds available on it so they can be paid for their services. Finding out after the job is already done that the customers card is invalid or has no funds available has happened to us in the past and we have either had to remove all the equipment at our expense, end up waiting 6 or more months to collect or eventually taking it as a loss. This is a policy and will not change If customer feels the price is too expensive and they would like to get bids from other contractors, we leave them a copy of the invoice as their estimate and our installer leaves. Customer pays nothing, it is just a free estimate. In this case the customer accepted our price, signed the work authorization and told our technician to go ahead and perform the work. Venting: It was more than 2' of venting. The customer's existing water heater was spilling C0 gas out of the diverter because the vent was undersized. The vent needed to be increased to a 4" vent connector. I do have before and after pictures of the install showing the corrosion and melted insulation on top of tank from the C0 spillage. We replaced 2' of vent pipe with 4' pipe. Removed the Wye adapter in the common vent and replaced it with a larger one. This also involved removal and reinstall of furnace vent connector. Added a 4" X 5" vent increaser. Added 2 4" elbows. All of these vent pieces were double wall vent as required, which is more expensive than the regular vent you see in hardware stores. Of course the customer could have gotten the vent pieces cheaper if he ordered them on line, but when a contractor delivers them to your door, provides the labor and the know how to install them and provides a 1 year parts and labor warranty to the venting, you will pay more. Water heater stand: The customer's existing stand was a flimsy sheet metal box with a piece of water logged plywood on it that was smaller than the diameter of the tank. Our technician felt it was unsafe and offered to replace it. The stands we use are much more than $50, they are heavy duty stands that will support over 600 pounds and require assembly. There are over 40 companies in the Puget sound are that install water heaters, Fast is not the cheapest, but we are certainly not the most expensive. As a licensed contractor we are liable if we install a piece of equipment incorrectly or in an unsafe manner. The venting was a safety issue and so was the stand. In good faith for customer satisfaction I will give the customer a $35 discount off the stand and a $125 discount off the venting. Sincerely, ***** ******** Fast Water Heater

5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have been trying for 5 months to get the permit for the installation of the water heater with no success

Desired Settlement: I want the permit that I paid for and the work inspected by the county inspector.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/16) */ We have a copy of the permit. For whatever reason my team thinks they mailed it to the customer (one or more times.) The customer's request is more than reasonable and I personally apologize for his hassle. We keep scanned copies of all of these for audit purposes in our system. So, I pulled a copy of the permit and e-mailed it to the customer. I don't know why our team didn't just e-mail this. And, we apologize to the customer for his hassle. I will research further what the issue was here. I believe there is a chance they had a problem pulling it initially because they contacted the wrong jurisdiction. Regardless, we are happy to comply with customer's request. The permit clerk responsible will be meeting with her manager to understand why this took so long to resolve. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Received the permit

2/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid$1200 in July 2012 for new water heater installation. It started leaking in Nov 2013 where the new pipe was hooked to the old. I called & was told it was under warranty. When tech arrived, he said previous service tech did not install correctly but we still had to pay $198 to have it done correctly. Tech stated directly to me, "Well, I would have done it if I had installed it." when I asked why it was not done the first time. So how many times must we pay to have it done correctly???

Desired Settlement: Refund of our $198 paid for the first tech shoddy installation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/28) */ I am sorry that you have an issue with our company and I wish that we could have gotten a call from you to discuss the issues and resolved them right away. I did go back to review our paperwork from the installation date of 07/20/12 for a water heater and it looks like we checked this ball valve as okay. This was some time ago but I am sure since we did not hear back from you that there was no leak upon completion of the job. If the leak was apparent after the installation and you notified us we surely would have returned to fix it. When you called us back in 11/22/13 about a year and half later for a plumbing leak near the water heater we did mention that it could be under warranty if it was the water heater we installed. When our plumber arrived he found that it was not the water heater and that it was a valve from your house plumbing feeding the water heater that has gone bad. We gave you a quote to repair the problem and you accepted the job. We did not quote to replace it when we replaced the water heater as it was fine then. We would not try to sell you or tell you to replace something that is still working. As far as a comment made by one tech about another, we do not allow bad talk with in or out side of our company. I am hoping it was a just miscommunication about how this was discussed and I apologize for that. We should always present things in a clear and precise manor. Again I just wish that you had called us at the time to let us know how you felt about this about two months ago. So all in all as you are presently upset with how this turned out I am willing to rebate you half of the repair bill from the last visit of $198. It is apparent that you needed the valve on 11/22/13 and we did render the service and materials that were accepted by you. Total rebate will be $99.00. I hope that this will help us past this hurtle and please if there is anything you would like to talk about or discuss further I am always available for our customers. Please call our Fast Water Heater office at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, ask for accountiong to start the rebate process and please reference this complaint. If you have any issues or problems please ask for me (*****, Manager of Oregon and SW Wa.) and I will help you. Thank you and again I am sorry that we did not perform 100% to your satisfaction. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/01/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/01/30) */ On 1/28/14, I spoke with Fast Water Heater at the provided number and was told $99 would be refunded to our credit card. Of course, they did not say WHEN that would be so I will be closely monitoring our card. One week should be amply time to process the simple two second transaction. I am a little uncomfortable with this company still having all customers credit cards on file after two months. Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2014/02/03) */ We have been promptly refunded $99 as the company stated and we are satisfied with the result. Thank you, Better Business Bureau!

1/30/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought, and had installed, a new gas water heater from Fast Water Heater Company back in 2005. We were told at the time that the water heater was installed to code. The water heater was installed with the gas vented out underneath our deck in the front of the house. Due to deterioration of our front deck, we needed to have it replace last year at significant expense. During the replacement of the deck, we found wooden support beams charred from the heat of the venting. We were told by the company that installed the deck that the water heater venting had been installed incorrectly and had created a fire hazard. In short, we were lucky that our front deck had not caught on fire. we still have the charred pieces of wood and pictures to prove it. Repeated attempts to contact Fast Water Heater for a suggested solution have come up empty. Someone came out last spring claiming to be the manager of the installers. He admitted that the water heater was installed incorrectly, said he would get back to us with suggestions and we have heard nothing since. The hazard still exists. We want action and accountability on the part of Fast Water Heater. Product_Or_Service: Gas Water Heater

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement We would like our water heater properly placed and vented. We would like the cost of the original installation refunded to us and we would like the new installation to be done free of charge in lieu of Fast Water Heater having placed our home in jeopardy for the past 8 years due to their negligence, both in the original installation as well as in their ignoring of our attempts to hold them accountable over the past year+.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/15) */ This was an improper install by one of our former employees. We were made aware of this last year by customer. We surveyed the job last spring and determined we would need to use a different type of equipment for the application. It is our fault that this slipped by and was not followed up on to schedule the replacement. We will honor the customer's desired resolution and refund original invoice price and install a powervent type of water heater and pipe a new vent underneath deck and terminate outside. We will contact the customer to schedule the work. Sincerely, ***** ******** Fast Water Heater

11/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was not home when he came but my daughter was. Over the phone he told me one price but then charged my daughter $100 extra.

Desired Settlement: I would like the bill to be what he told me it would be.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/29) */ When the warranty claim was set up for this customer it was based on a possible manufacturing defect with the water heater. ***** (the manufacturer) will pay authorized warranty service agents to go out to customers homes to perform warranty work on their equipment as long as it is a manufacturer defect with the equipment. They will not pay us if the water heater is not working properly due to being installed incorrectly or a problem with the customer's electrical circuit that supplies power to the water heater. In these cases the homeowner would be subject to service call fees for non-warranty issues.This was explained to the customer by ***** when they called in requesting warranty service. In this case the customer installed a 5500 watt electric water heater on a 20 amp breaker. Since a 5500 watt water heater will draw 22.91 amps, it was tripping the breaker thus shutting off the power (no hot water). A 5500 watt tank can only be installed on 30 amp breakers with 10 gage wire per code requirements and the manufacturer's installation instructions on page 8 of the manual. The homeowner will need to install a 30 amp breaker for the water heater to work properly. Since this was not a problem with the water heater and was non-warranty, we had to charge the customer our service call rate of $139 + tax of $13.07 for a total of $152.07 for driving out to their house and diagnosing the problem. Sincerely, ***** ******** Fast Water Heater


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Fast Water Heater Company
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart