BBB Accredited Business since

The Power Shop

Phone: (360) 825-9400 Fax: (360) 825-9209 1920 Garrett St, Enumclaw, WA 98022 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.thepowershop.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers performance upgrades, maintenance, and repairs on full size trucks.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Power Shop meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Power Shop include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Power Shop
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 23, 2002 Business started: 06/01/1997 in WA Business started locally: 06/01/1997 Business incorporated 06/16/1997 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Owens, President Ms. Diane Owens, Office Manager Mrs. Diane E Owens, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Diane E Owens, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. John Owens, President
Business Category

Truck Repair & Service

Method(s) of Payment
PayPal, Visa, Mastercard, Discover, & Cash
Refund and Exchange Policy
Return Policy
New, un-opened parts may be returned without incurring a restock fee. If the part has been opened and/or installed a 20% restock fee may apply. There are no returns after 30 days. Returns will not be accepted without prior authorization. Meaning, don't just send back your parts and expect us to process your return.
- If you cancel your order and your parts have not shipped there is no restock fee, but a 3% credit card processing charge will be assessed.
- If you cancel your order and your parts have been shipped but not delivered then you will be charged the original shipping cost, re-direct fee and a 3% credit card processing charge.
- If you cancel your order and your parts have been shipped & delivered you will be charged the original shipping cost, a 3 % credit card processing charge, and be responsible for the expense of return shipping.

Alternate Business Names
The Powershop Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1920 Garrett St

    Enumclaw, WA 98022 (360) 825-9400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dropped my truck off for diagnostic of a power problem on February 27th 2015. Knowing they would get to it by 2nd week of March. After the third week went by an no one called I called left several messages. No return calls. I drove up on the 4th week. I got a song and dance about a fired tech that looked at my truck an they needed to redo everything. They promised to call the next day with an answer. Never heard from them. I called the next day they told me I had an egr cooler issue and needed replace than would have to check the heads. But he did not have a quote an would call the next day with a quote. Something sounded wrong so I called several other shops and that said that is the wrong way to diagnose. The heads can be checked before egr replacement and they are trying to get you for labor to take the truck apart twice. So I finally went and picked my truck up nearly a month later. Lose of use of my truck for a month and have to take it to another shop that knows how to fix. This place felt like a scam tring to screw me in labor twice. Plus I had to cancel a trip because I did not have my truck. What a joke. They never once contacted me and they nearly had my truck of a month.

Desired Settlement: I am not sure at this point just have to get my truck fixed.

Business Response:

I will say that I **** ***** Owner of the PowerShop Hired a new service writer the week that **** dropped off his truck. My new service writer missed correctly tagging the key's for this truck and this caused a delay in getting the Diagnostic work completed. After the error was detected we did complete the Diagnostic on this truck and was working on getting **** an Estimate ready for him that day, the next day I believe **** picked up the truck without me knowing.  Ford 6.0 have a great deal of problems and require some time to properly Diagnose. The time spent of more than 3.0 Hrs. was never charged. He never paid anything and never asked to talk to management when he picked up the truck. If I would have gotten the chance to work with **** we would have had things turn out much better than they did for him. I would like to talk with him & give him something to make up for the issue. I pride myself in great customer service & will do what it takes to make up for the error. We have 1,000's of customers over the years that will tell you we are a very ethical company. Sometimes things happen that you don't want to have happen. It's how you handle them after the fact. I'll stand up and do the correct thing every time....I just need the chance to do that.

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *******

at this point this is a waste of time I have gotten my truck fixed elsewhere.  I will take my business elsewhere and will not recommend.  

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've taken my vehicle in for repairs and the nightmare started. They did work on a senor to the charging system on the cam shaft, at the cost of 800.00,they took my fuse box under dash out to check something else. they didn't install that back securely, it fell down while crossing railroad tracks slowly, truck started running bad. called them, I had it towed in again. I CALLED THEM AFTER COUPLE DAYS, now they say I need another sensor on the cam shaft that is a aux pump to the injector pump, that'll be almost 500.00. Well I need my truck so do it. they ended up keep my truck for 6 1/2 weeks, forgetting it was there. then after five messages and 6 th call they answered my call. saying they forgot my truck was there because it was parked behind an rv in the lot, I go pick up truck and they say a long story my truck still running horrible. Talked to few auto repair persons, with my story, they all say isn't right what they're doing to me. They said when I picked up truck, that it needed to be ran to lube up the Injector pump, it'll get better. It turns out that after it sat in their lot for 6 1/2 weeks, in our hot weather temperatures, not being driven had already ruined the chance of lubing up the injector pump. I did as they said for 586 miles, until I talked to ******* ********* and they said damage is done, not going to get better, but they wouldn't do work because of didn't know other shop really did, that wouldn't cost me a fortune and wouldn't warranty the work. Which left me no choice but to tow my truck back to place that did previous work. Now they want 2100.00. I want it known My truck ran terrific, as I have countless people that can verify that it did. I took great care of it. I'm a single woman, with limited income and I don't think I would've been treated this way if I wasn't a woman. Not getting in touch of me, after all these messages I left and saying they forgot, driving it to make it better, it not running better after they did work the second time. If fuse box falls and interrupts the electrical system does that interrupt sensors or aux pumps.. ? If they told you just drive it it'll get better after sitting outside in high outdoor temps not getting lubed for 6 1/2 weeks. I need help. One more thing, I called them before having it towed in again. That was October 2nd. I've called them 3 time. October 4th 1st time, they said they'd let me know Monday Oct 7, no call. I called said mechanic on my truck sick a week. I called October 14, now they double checking what it needs, we'll call at end of day, no call. I call at 8:22 AM this morning October 15th. I waited o talk to *****, I did ask why they double checking when they already told me what I needed to do if driving it didn't work . I again told him I'm not wealthy person, to be doing whatever sounds good to my truck. To a truck that ran almost perfect before it went there. I hope you can help me.

Desired Settlement: I would like my truck back in timely manner, running like it was when went in the 1st time. I would like to be reimbursed for the repair costs for last 2 fixes or at least this last one, since there was no way to lube injector pump parts that had already hardened after 6 1/2 weeks of sitting in hot outside temps because they forgot it was there and 3 towing I've done. and maybe why they forgot they had my vehicle that long since it was vital it be used, even though I after my 5 weekly messages and it wasn't until 6th call that I got someone ?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/30) */ Dear Sirs, Regarding BBB Complaint Case # XXXXXXXX Please refer to PDF copies of Invoices and the Estimate attached. --Invoice # XXXXX --Invoice # XXXXX --Estimate # XXXXX which will be very close description and costing of the repairs now being done on Service Order # XXXXX. I have waited to respond to this complaint until I was in possession of the failure report on the injector pump from *** *****' engine so that I could provide a complete set of data. It is unfortunate for *** ***** that her truck has had problems but her assertion that the various problems are in some way connected is without merit. --The first service the PowerShop provided to *** ***** on Service Order # ***** (December 2012) was to correct electrical issues, replace the battery, replace the engine RPM sensor (to get the alternator working) and verify the ignition switch function. It should be noted that the Fuse panel in this model of vehicle is designed to be able to drop down for access and is supposed to sit in some plastic retainers. The design was poor and most fuse panels were not very secure in these trucks by the time they were 10 years old. When the truck arrived the fuse panel was being kept in place with duct tape and our technician put it back like he found it. --The second service performed by the PowerShop on Service Order # XXXXX was completely mechanical in nature except for the work to fashion a better support for the fuse panel than duct tape. The fuel supply pump on the engine failed in a major way which resulted in the engine running problem *** ***** complained of. The high pressure injection pump is a fuel lubricated component. Damage commonly occurs to the injection pump in cases of insufficient fuel flow for lubrication. After the fuel supply pump was replaced the engine ran OK on the highway but had poor idle quality. The PowerShop did recommend that *** ***** operate the truck for a time to see if the injection pump would improve with proper supply pump pressure and lubrication restored. (we were hoping she could avoid an expensive injection pump repair) --It is true that during this service visit the PowerShop lost track of the vehicle. We are a busy shop, repairing 40 to 50 vehicles a week. Organizing this much work requires software tools. The combination of the lot person parking the ***** truck behind some motorhomes which were being stored in our yard and not moved and a software glitch which dropped the ***** truck from the in progress work list resulted on our failing to work on Service Order XXXXX in a timely fashion. --The vehicle arrived on 6/25/13. Authorized work was completed on 7/11. The vehicle dropped off the work scheduler and sat idle but completed till ** ***** questioned the delay on 8/9/13. *** ***** picked up the truck on 8/12/13. --The PowerShop did discount Service Order # XXXXX by $150.00 to compensate *** ***** for the slow service issue. --The third service being done by the PowerShop on *** *****' vehicle is now finishing up on Service Order # XXXXX. --The vehicle was towed in on October 2nd at a time when the shop schedule was full for the upcoming week. --The injection pump was removed from the engine and sent to ******* ******** ******* for diagnosis and repair of the cause/s of the bad running at idle symptom. We expected to find damage caused by lack of lubrication as the cause of running issue but in fact the spring which causes the pumping element of the injection pump to return to the idle flow rate had broken and permitted the fueling to jump around erratically with no throttle applied. This failure was an unrelated random mechanical failure to a 20 year old part and in no way connected to the other two issues. In summary the 20 year old vehicle had three unrelated failures. The PowerShop gave poor speed of service on the 2nd visit but compensated the customer $150.00 for this and will finish the repair of the 3rd issue on 10/31/13. *** ***** request to have her vehicle repaired for free and the money already paid refunded is unreasonable and will not be honored. *** ***** did authorize the injector pump repair based on PowerShop Estimate # XXXXX for the tax in of $2,164.11 during phone conversation with ***** of the Powershop on 10/15/13 at 08:33 in the morning. There was no discussion at that time of the BBB complaint being filed. The BBB complaint arrived at the PowerShop on 10/16/13. --After confirming that the injector pump performance had gotten worse (rather than improved ***** of the PowerShop discussed the issues with this truck with *** ***** on 10/20/13 by phone and came to the understanding that the issues with the truck were not related to each other and that the PowerShop would proceed with repairs with the expectation of be paid on completion. Sincerely ***** ****** Service Manager ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

10/25/2012 Billing/Collection Issues