BBB Accredited Business since

Cloudy Sky Tree Service

Phone: (206) 354-9491 View Additional Phone Numbers ____, Kent, WA 98031

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers tree landscaping services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cloudy Sky Tree Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cloudy Sky Tree Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Cloudy Sky Tree Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 03, 2008 Business started: 04/01/2007 Business started locally: 04/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Heath Hampton, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Heath Hampton, Owner
Business Category

Tree Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Cloudy Sky Tree Service has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • ____

    Kent, WA 98031 (206) 276-5189 (206) 354-9491


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My neighbor and myself contracted withthe company to trim a tree on the borders of our property. The work was not done per our intial conversations and agreement. When I called to discuss my concerns I was told I was a bad neighbor and they had made additional agreements with my neighbor and if I wanted the work done as originally agreed upon it would be an additional 700. I did not agree to pay an additinal 700 i did agree to paying 700 in total for all previous work and additional work being requested. He laughed at my request and mentioned I was abad neighbor and he advised me to not call him again. He left a very rude message about the work being satisfactory to INS companies but not to my satisfaction and thats all he was worried about. He was paid by my neighbor the entire amount of the project even when both of us have agreed this was not the original agremment for my side of the property.

Desired Settlement: I have 3 branches that still are sitting on my property that I would like removed and or a refund of my share of the bill 450, which has already been collected and paid by my neighbors. I am reimbursing my neighbor so they are not our of pocket anything but I will still have to pay to have these additional branches removed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/08/18) */ Initially the tree had been discussed about being completely removed because ***** was unable to obtain insurance due to branches touching the roof of her house. But that was not an option as it is considered a "signifacant tree" by the city of seattle and therefore cannot be removed. So the owner of tree agreed to have cut whatever necessary for her to obtain ins. Which was quoted to the owner and her at $900 to be split between the two of them. Ins standards for roof clearance are 8' above roofline. We cut the trees 20' above roofline to guarantee no problems with insurance. The owner of the tree did not want anymore cut as it would start to look lopsided. And since he owns the tree he has the final say. When the phone call came in that she wanted more cut we told her we are unable to do so because of cutting restrictions on "significant trees" and the owners request but we did assure her that if she is unable to obtain insurance then we would come back free of charge to cut anything that the insurance agent finds to be an issue. And the "extra charge" she is referring to is anything extra she wants outside of satisfying the insurance adjuster. After the job was completed the tree owner paid the full amount for the job, and shortly after we got the phone call stating how the neighbor is not going to pay her half. The very next morning the owner of the tree was refunded $450 from us that he paid on the neighbors behalf. Our offer still stands to cut anything necessary to obtain insurance since that was the main reason for having the work done. She does not own the tree and is not a paying costumer so she does not have the final say in what is to be done. The owner of the tree and the insurance adjuster are the only ones that have any say in the matter. And also the limiting restrictions on cutting a significant tree come into play. In closing I'll just remind you that the money was already refunded to the owner of the tree so just consider the work done on her half was for free. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/08/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I do accept the response but there are significant inaccuracies within the reponse that I would like to address. I am the paying customer as I was the one who did reasearch and met with several tree trimmers and contracted with this company based on an agreement I made with my neighbor. Since he owned the tree and wanted additional work done he had additional conversations and contracted with the business. If a different agreement was made I should have been notified before the work was completed based on all conversatins I had with the company. This response does not address the inappropriate way I was dealt with by Bill who was rude and dismissive of my concerns. He left me a voicemail that I can forward to the BBB or owner if they would like to hear the way Bill speaks to people. I will continue to voice my disatisfaction with **** and company to ensure no one else has to deal with such unprofessional and dishonest behavior.